Polling, Surveys, & Public Opinion
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Find Books
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Educat: Teachers College Catalog
The online catalog for includes for books on Education. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
- Encyclopedia of Evaluation.
Call Number: H62 .E583 2005
- Encyclopedia of Social Measurement.
Call Number: H62 .E564 2005g (Copies available in multiple locations) - Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
- Handbook of Interview Research.
Call Number: H61.28 .H36 2002
- The SAGE handbook of online research methods
Call Number: ZA4228 .S34 2008g
- The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research.
Call Number: H62 .H2455 2005 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Internet, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys: The Tailored Design Method 3rd ed.
Call Number: HM538 .D55 2009 - Public Opinion and Polling Around the World.
Call Number: HM1236 .P83 2004 - The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods.
Call Number: H62 .L456 2004
- The Survey Research Handbook.
Call Number: HN29 .A46 2004
Tracking Polls
- Economic Policy Institute
- Harris Interactive
Harris Interactive is the internet-based successor to Louis Harris Associates, provider of the Harris Poll. The site offers access to Harris news releases, which contain some data from various polls. - Marist College Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO)
MIPO is a survey research center at Marist College. MIPO provides educational opportunities for students and information on elections, policy, and popular issues for the public. MIPO regularly measures public opinion across the nation, in New York State and New York City. - The National Centre for Social Research
Economic & Social Research Council and the University of Southampton (UK) - National Opinion Research Center
NORC is a non-profit corporation affiliated with the University of Chicago that conducts survey research in the public interest for government agencies, educational institutions, private foundations, non-profit organizations, and private corporations. - Poll Track
- PollingReport.com
A compilation of public opinion polls from various sources. - Public Agenda Online
"The Inside Source for Public Opinion and Policy Analysis."
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization based in New York City. Its web site provides briefings on policy and polling -- a digest of news, legislation, and studies -- covering numerous topics, including abortion, the environment, crime, and welfare.
Polling Organizations
- CBS News Polls
- The Gallup Organization
Provides public opinion on political, social, and economic issues.
- Health Poll Search
Health Poll Search is a searchable archive of public opinion questions on health issues. The Health Poll Search archive holds approximately 40,000 questions on health issues such as Medicare, Medicaid, the uninsured, women's health, and HIV/AIDS, dating back to 1935. Response percentages and source information are provided for all questions. It is provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation. - The Los Angeles Times Polls
International Public Opinion
- Canadian Public Opinion Archive
Contains over 350 surveys on Canadian public opinion, covering a wide range of social, cultural, economic, political, and environmental issues and span in date from 1977 to the present. Queen's University. - European Public Opinion
- International Opinion Poll Resources