American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association (ASA) is a scientific and educational society founded in 1839 to foster excellence in the use and application of statistics to the biological, physical, social and economic sciences.
What is Statistics?
Definitions, careers, opportunities for minorities and women in statistics, a day in the life of a statistician.
Includes links to their publications, with Tables of Contents and Abstracts:
Journal of the American Statistical Association (JASA)
Call Number: HA 1 .A61 (Copies available in multiple locations)
For links to full text, see CLIO record.
Berinstein, Paula. Finding Statistics Online: How to Locate the Elusive Numbers You Need.
Medford, NJ : Information Today, 1998.
Call Number: HA 33.5 .B47 1998 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Cramer, Duncan. The Sage Dictionary of Statistics: a Practical resource for Students in the Social Sciences.
London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, 2004.
Call Number: HA 17 .C73 2004g (Copies available in multiple locations)
Electronic Statistics Textbook
A hypertext book which covers all aspects of statistics, from elementary concepts to multidimensional scaling to variance components. Provided by StatSoft, a software publisher.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences (2005)
Reference tool covering statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey methodology, and other client disciplines. This 2nd edition collects the entire original edition, plus supplements and updates.
This website contains activities, worksheets, overhead transparency masters, datasets and assessment to support data exploration. It also contains an extensive collection of articles designed to enhance the statistics knowledge of the teacher. There is a resources page that gives a select list of the finest resources available to support introductory statistics, including texts, websites, datasets, java applets and mailing lists. Presented by Education Queensland.
Glenberg, Arthur M. Learning from Data: an Introduction to Statistical Reasoning. 2nd ed.
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1996.
Call Number: HA 29 .G57 1996 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Graphing Statistics & Data: Creating Better Graphics.
Newbury Park, CA : Sage Publications, 1996.
Call Number: HA 31 .S8313 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Making Data Meaningful, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
The Making Data Meaningful guides are intended as a practical tool to help managers, statisticians and media relations officers in statistical organizations use text, tables, charts, maps and other devices to bring statistics to life for non-statisticians. The first guide provides guidelines and examples on the use of effective writing techniques to make data meaningful. The second guide provides guidelines and examples on preparing effective tables, charts and maps, and using other forms of visualizations to make data meaningful. It also offers advice on how to avoid bad or misleading visual presentations. The third guide aims to help producers of statistics find the best way to get their message across and to communicate effectively with the media. It contains suggestions, guidelines and examples.
Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms. 6th ed.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Call Number: HA 17 .K4 2003g
SOCR: Statistics Online Computational Resource
This resource, from UCLA, specifically provides portable online aids for probability and statistics education, technology based instruction and statistical computing. SOCR tools and resources include a repository of interactive applets, computational and graphing tools, instructional and course materials.
Statistics on the Web
This site, created by SPSS statistician Clay Helberg, is a broad resource for statistical information. Especially good for links to online courseware and statistical techniques.
Spirer, Herbert F. Misused Statistics. 2nd ed.
New York : M. Dekker, 1998.
Call Number: HA 29 .S65574 1998
Presents many examples of misused statistics and discussion of how to present and interpret statistics correctly.
The Statistics Department at University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) has provided a collection of free statistical calculators. The calculators available at the site can be used to calculate the power of a test, a regression and generalized linear model, two sample tests, and correlation.
StatLib is a system for distributing statistical software, data sets, and statistical information via email, ftp, and the Web. Maintained by Carnegie Mellon University, it contains browseable and searchable selections of tools and data for numerous statistical applications.