Key Resources | Guides & Indexes | Comprehensive
Agriculture, Hunger, & Poverty | Business, Economics, & Finance | Environment | Health
Military | Population & Demography | Religion | Trade | Women & Children
General Statistical Sources: International Statistics
The following is a selective guide to some of the major resources used to locate statistics about foreign countries and regions, both in print and on the internet. These sources are both general and subject-specific. For sources of statistics in other subject areas, please consult CLIO under the appropriate subject headings.
Statistical yearbooks for individual countries are not listed here (with a few exceptions) - check CLIO for their locations, or use the microfiche collection, Current National Statistical Compendiums, the first item listed in the Guides section. Also, consult IGO Publications Ready Reference Collection for citations to specific IGO titles, many of which contain statistics.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Key Resources
- AidData: Tracking Development Finance
AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, provide data in an accessible format, and strengthen efforts to improve donor and recipient strategic planning and coordination. The core of the AidData database currently encompasses multilateral and bilateral donor projects spanning the years 1945-present. - EIU Country Data
EIU Country Data, from the Economist Intelligence Unit, is an analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 317 statistical variables in series for each of 201 countries and 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years. Data can be manipulated, displayed, graphed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators. - Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. It covers more than 250 countries and territories, with a statistical section for each country. - United Nations:
- Social Indicators: Contains statistical tables for key social topic with each listing the most recently available indicators for countries world-wide.
- undata: More than 60 million records in 33 databases for data on countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. Sources: UN, FAO, ILO,IMF, ITU, OECD, UNESCO, UNWTO, WHO, WIPO, and World Tourism Organization, plus other international agencies.
- OECD iLibrary
The online publications portal for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases.
- World Bank:
- Open Data: The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. The Data Catalog provides download access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. You can also browse data by country, topic, or indicator.
- World Bank e-Library: The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
- World dataBank: World dataBank is a comprehensive database on development data covering 1157 indicators, 228 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty-five years (1960 to the present, where data are available).
Guides & Indexes
- Current National Statistical Compendiums. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Congressional Information Service, 1974-2007.
Call Number: HA 42 .C87
A microfiche set of the statistical yearbooks for every country which produces them, from the mid-1970s to 2007. The fiche and printed guides are located on the bottom level of Lehman Library. - Foreign Statistical Yearbooks: University of California, Berkeley
No online statistics, but a handy reference for the titles of foreign statistical yearbooks; check the titles in CLIO for print or online versions. - Gryn, Thomas A.
Internet Resources for Demographers
This paper, from the Population Index, provides a description of demographic resources available on the Internet. These resources include census data, online databases, and home sites of demographic organizations. The description of demographic Internet resources is divided into five sections: North American demography, international demography, general interest items, health-related sources, and geography-related sources. - Instat: International Statistics Sources: Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics. 2 vols.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1995.
Call Number: Z 7551 .I42 1995
- International Statistical Agencies
Links to the official statistical offices of foreign countries and IGOs, from the U.S. Census Bureau. - Kurian, George Thomas.
Global Data Locator.
Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1997.
Call Number: HA 36 .K87 1997g
Provides annotated and descriptive reviews of 240 statistical publications, both official and commercial, print and electronic (CD-ROM, tape, online). - ProQuest Statistical Insight
Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1973-
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. - Statistics Sources.
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1962-
Call Number: Z 7551 .S84 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Comprehensive Statistics & Compendia
United Nations Sources
- Charting the Progress of Populations.
New York : United Nations, 2000.
Call Number: HA 155 .C437 2000g
- Human Development Report. Annual.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1990-
Call Number: HD 72 .H8 (Copies available in multiple locations)
National and regional reports also available. - The Least Developed Countries ... Report. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1984-
Call Number: HC 59.7 .L3219
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations).
NY : UN, 1947-
Call Number: Serials M - National Accounts Statistics. Main Aggregates and Detailed Tables. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1985-
Call Number: HC 79 .I5 U53a (Copies available in multiple locations)
Continues: Yearbook of National Accounts Statistics. - Social Indicators
Social indicators covering a wide range of subject-matter fields are compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, from many national and international sources in the global statistical system. - The State of the World's Cities. Triennial.
Nairobi, Kenya : UNCHS (Habitat), 2001-
Call Number: HT 151 .S73
- Statistical Yearbook (United Nations).Annual.
NY : UN, 1948-
Call Number: HA 42 .Un35 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- UNdata
UNdata provides a vast array of statistical data from numerous sources, both UN and otherwise. - United Nations Statistics Division
The Statistics Division compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics. Unrestricted free access is provided to selected global datasets, such as the Millennium Indicators Database, which presents 48 social and economic indicators and related series by country and year since 1985, and the Social Indicators data set.
Other Sources of General International Statistics
- AidData: Tracking Development Finance
AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, provide data in an accessible format, and strengthen efforts to improve donor and recipient strategic planning and coordination. The core of the AidData database currently encompasses multilateral and bilateral donor projects spanning the years 1945-present.
- BASEIND (BAsic Social and Economic INDicators) Database
BASEIND provides data on 256 socio-economic variables under 17 categories for the 57 Organisation of the Islamic Conference member countries dating back to 1970. The content of this database is regularly updated and enriched essentially on the basis of information collected from the national statistical sources. You can display the desired data in HTML, Excel or CSV formats.
- Key Development Data & Statistics
The data presented here are the most widely-used, official-source development data from the World Bank and other international agencies. Country profiles are drawn from the World Development Indicators (WDI) database—the World Bank's primary are drawn from the World Development Indicators (WDI) database—the World Bank's primary database for cross-country comparable development data. Quick Reference tables show the most recent World Bank estimates of total population, gross domestic product (GDP), and gross national income (GNI). The tables include a ranking of countries both by total size and in per capita terms. Quick Query offers 54-indicators segment of the World Development Indicators (WDI) database. - eiu.com
eiu.com provides access to all of the publications of the Economist Intelligence Unit. It includes the Economist, Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country Forecast, Country Monitor, Contry Report, and CountryData. - EIU Country Data
EIU Country Data, from the Economist Intelligence Unit, is an analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 270 statistical variables in series for each of 115 countries. Data can be manipulated, displayed, graphed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators. - Eldis Regional and Country Profiles
Links to hundreds of authoritative sites for developing countries, in the areas of: agriculture, environment, poverty, education, gender, health & population, governance, trade, economics, aid, microcredit, and security. - Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. It covers more than 250 countries and territories, with a statistical section for each country. - Fitzpatrick, Gary L.
Direct Line Distances: International Edition.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1986.
Call Number: G 109 .F53 1986 (Copies available in multiple locations) - General Data Dissemination System (GDDS): from the International Monetary Fund
This site provides information on economic, financial and socio-demographic data disseminated by countries participating in the GDDS. - General International Data: maintained by Paul Hensel, at the University of North Texas
Links to an astounding number of statistical and data sites, many created by university faculty in conjunction with their research and teaching roles. Categories include General International Relations, International Conflict and Cooperation, International Economic, International Social, International Political, International Environmental. - Kurian, George Thomas.
The Illustrated Book of World Rankings. 5th ed.
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 2001.
Call Number: HA 155 .K87 2001 (Copies available in multiple locations) - NationMaster.com
Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from numerous sources. All sources are documented. - OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
OFFSTATS lists web sites offering free and easily accessible social, economic and general data from official or similar "quotable" sources, especially those that provide both current data and time series. In the country lists, these are mainly web pages provided by statistical offices, central banks and government departments and agencies, whereas the topics list is comprised of links to the statistics pages of international organizations and associations and a few commercial sites. - Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
- Society at a Glance: OECD Social Indicators.
Paris : OECD, 2001.
Call Number: HN 25 .S63 2001g
- SourceOECD
- Society at a Glance: OECD Social Indicators.
- Statistical Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World.
Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1999.
Call Number: HC 59.72 .P6 S73 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations) - U.S. Census Bureau. International Programs Center
The International Programs Center conducts demographic and socioeconomic studies and provides a large number of statistical products with an international scope. They include:- International Data Base (IDB)
IDB is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for all countries of the world - Publications and Reports
- International Data Base (IDB)
- World Factbook Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Central Intelligence Agency, 1981-
Call Number: G 122 .U58 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Agriculture, Hunger, & Poverty Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- FAO Yearbook. Commerce. Annual.
Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 1976-2003.
Call Number: HD 9000.4 .F7311 (Copies available in multiple locations) - FAO Yearbook. Production. Annual.
Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 1976-2003.
Call Number: HD 1421 .F731 (Copies available in multiple locations) - FAO Statistical Yearbook. Annual.
Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2004-present.
Call Number: HD 1421 .F363 - FAOSTAT Statistics Database
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. - Hunger: Annual Report on the State of World Hunger, from the Bread for the World Institute on Hunger & Development
- OECD-FAO Agricultural Outlook
- Poverty Assessments
Poverty Assessments (PA) are key instruments of the World Bank's poverty reduction strategy. They are designed to assess the extent and causes of poverty in a given country and to propose a strategy to ameliorate its effects. PAs review levels and changes over time and across regions in poverty indicators, assess the impact of growth and public actions on poverty and inequality, and review the adequacy of a country's poverty monitoring and evaluation arrangements. - The State of Food and Agriculture. Annual.
Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 1947-
Call Number: S 401 .F73 (Copies available in multiple locations)
The State of Food and Agriculture is FAO's annual report on current developments affecting world agriculture. It reviews policy factors underlying recent agricultural performances at the world and regional levels, highlighting the experience of selected countries in each region. - The State of Food Insecurity in the World
The State of Food Insecurity in the World raises awareness about global hunger issues, discusses underlying causes of hunger and malnutrition and monitors progress towards hunger reduction targets established at the 1996 World Food Summit and the Millennium Summit. - U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service
Import & export data, and market reports, for agricultural products. - Where the Poor Are: an Atlas of Poverty
Maps showing poverty rates, hunger and infant mortality around the world, from the Center for International Earth Science Information Network, The Earth Institute at Columbia University.
- World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture
Business, Economics, & Finance Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
Economist Intelligence Unit Sources
The Business Library has extensive print holdings of publications from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU). Check CLIO under the author, Economist Intelligence Unit. Beginning with 2000, all of the print publications were replaced by electronic full text access. Use the following EIU databases:
- eiu.com
Includes full-text databases, e.g. Country Reports, regional newsletters, and a time series database providing information and data on over 190 countries. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts. The time series database provides 270 series for 115 countries. - EIU Country Data
An analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 270 statistical variables in series for each of 115 countries. Data can be manipulated, displayed, graphed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators.
International Monetary Fund Sources
- Balance of Payments Statistics Database
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities. - Direction of Trade Statistics Database
The Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund (the Fund), current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Data is available from 1980 onwards for annuals/quarters and months. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well. - Global Financial Stability Report Semiannual. 2002-
Global Financial Stability Report replaces the annual International Capital Markets Report (published since 1980) and the quarterly Emerging Market Financing (published since 2000). - Government Finance Statistics Database
GFS Online contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Coverage is from 1990 to the present. - IMF Country Information
- International Capital Markets. Annual. 1980-2003.
Print copies are in the Business Library; check CLIO under individual title for call numbers. - International Financial Statistics Database
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. - Special Drawing Rights
- World Economic Outlook Databases
The WEO Database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the WEO publication, which is released in May and October. Selected series that are available in the publication are now available on this website at the time of the release of the WEO press version (late April and September). If necessary, these figures will be revised in order to maintain consistency with the published World Economic Outlook.
World Bank Sources
- Global Development Finance. Annual.
Call Number: HG 4517 .I581
Formerly World Debt Tables (Call Number: HG 4517 .I58). The most detailed data available on debt in developing countries. A comprehensive presentation of data and a review of developments on external debt of and financial flows to developing countries. - Trends in Developing Economies. Annual, 1989-1996.
Call Number: HC 59.7 .T739 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Trends in Developing Economies (TIDE) provided brief reports on most of the World Bank's borrowing countries. This compendium of individual country economic trends complements the World Bank's World Development Report, which looks at major global and regional economic trends and their implications for the future prospects of the developing economies. TIDE digests information from national sources and adds staff commentary to explain recent developments for the benefits of readers who are familiar with macroeconomics but not, perhaps, with every country under review. - World Bank Projects and Operations
The site includes information about all World Bank projects, and includes more than 9,500 lending projects (1947 - present) and more than 3,500 documents. - World Development Indicators. Annual.
Call Number: HC 59.15 .W656 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Formerly Social Indicators of Development (Call Number: HC 59.69 .S63).
World Development Indicators features 600 indicators in 80 statistical tables, organized in six sections: overview, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. It provides an expanded view of development for 148 economies and key indicators for 61 more, small economies.- World dataBank
World dataBank is a comprehensive database on development data covering 1157 indicators, 228 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty-five years (1960 to the present, where data are available).
- World dataBank
Other Sources of Economics & Finance Statistics
- Global Insight
This service provides access to time series, economic, and business data for the United States and international economies. - Global Market Information Database
The Global Market Information Database (GMID) provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. It includes: country statistics - demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries from 1977- , market data - 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts, lifestyle indicators - information and models of lifestyle indicators such as eating and drinking habits, home ownership trends and crime patterns for 71 countries worldwide, lifestyle analysis - reports for 65 countries, market analysis - over 4,500 market reports for consumer, industrial and service sectors (global, country and company reports) company profiles, market shares and performance indicators - profiles of 3,000 leading consumer goods companies . - Handbook of International Economic Statistics. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Central Intelligence Agency, 1975-1998.
Call Number: HA 40 .E3 U51 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Index of Economic Freedom
Published by the Heritage Foundation in cooperation with the Wall Street Journal, the Index of Economic Freedom is a practical reference guide to the economies of 161 countries, with detailed information about economic policy. - International Economic Trends, the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- International Labour Organization:
- Key Indicators of the Labour Market: KILM is a collection of 20 key indicators of the labour market, ranging from employment and variables relating to employment (status, sector, hours, etc.) to the lack of work and the characteristics of jobseekers, education, wages and compensation costs, labour productivity and working poverty.
- LABORSTA: View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories.
- International Marketing Data and Statistics. Annual.
London, Euromonitor Publications, 1975/76-
Call Number: HA 42 .I56
- ISI Emerging Markets
EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. - Joint External Debt Hub (JEDH)
The Joint External Debt Hub (JEDH)—jointly developed by the Bank for International Settlements, the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the World Bank (WB)—brings together external debt data and selected foreign assets from international creditor/market and national debtor sources. - Jones-Obstfeld Saving and Investment Data for 13 Countries
Lotus wk3 files for the following countries: Australia, Canada, Denmark,Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway,Russia, Sweden, UK, USA. Data is from the mid-19th century to the mid-20th century only. - Liesner, Thelma.
One Hundred Years of Economic Statistics: United Kingdom, U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Sweden.
New York : Facts on File, c1989.
Call Number: HC 106 .L68 1989 (Copies available in multiple locations)
A large number of annual tables for each country, many covering 1885-1987. - Maddison, Angus.
The World Economy.
Paris, France : Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, c2006.
Call Number: HC 21 .M285 2006 - OECD iLibrary
Provides full text for all OECD publications. - Statistical Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World.
Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1999.
Call Number: HC 59.72 .P6 S73 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations) - UNIDO Industrial Statistics Database. Annual.
New York : UNIDO, 1998-
Call Number: CD-ROM HD 2329 .I492
Education Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Education at a Glance. Annual.
Paris: OECD, 1992-
Call Number: LB 2846 .E247 - Global Education Database
The GED was developed by USAID's Center for Human Capacity Development to provide the Agency and its development partners with selected stat istical data on international education in an easy-to-use electronic format. ED provides an interactive program for accessing education data compiled by USAID from UNESCO sources. Users can access data to measure the performance of a specific country over time in areas such as school enro llments, public expenditure on education, and gender equity. For most of the 115 indicators, time-series data begin in 1980 and are presented as single years through 1996 or 1997. With over 200 countries represented, the database is also a useful tool for cross-country comparisons of education indicators. - NCES International Activities Program
NCES produces indicator reports of international data on education, such as the biennial Comparative Indicators of Education in the United States and Other G8 Countries. It also hosts a library of international data tables and is developing a web-based International Data Explorer to allow users to analyze data and customize tables and figures from PISA, PIRLS, and TIMSS. - International Education Indicators
Education Indicators: An International Perspective is a compilation of indicators from a multitude of data sources which provides a rich array of information on the current state of education internationally. They are intended to provide snapshots of the U.S. education system in comparison to systems in countries around the world. - Unesco:
- Education for All Global Monitoring Report
Every year, the EFA Global Monitoring Report assesses where the world stands on its commitment to provide a basic education to all children, youth and adults by 2015. - Global Education Digest: 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
- Statistical Yearbook. Annual.
Paris : Unesco, 1963-
Call Number: HA 40 .C8 Un43 (Copies available in multiple locations - Unesco Data Centre
Access data and build your own statistical tables related to UNESCO's fields of action.The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries and territories from Member States and international organizations. - World Education Report (1991-2000)
- Education for All Global Monitoring Report
- World Data on Education
Produced by the International Bureau of Education.
Energy Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
From the European Union:
From the International Energy Agency:
- Energy Statistics and Energy Balances
Select from a menu of regions, countries, and products to create your own customized tables or color graphs. - Key World Energy Statistics: 2008, 2009, 2010
From the U.S. Energy Information Administration:
From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development:
- World Energy Outlook
Paris : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 1977-
Call Number: HD 9502.A2 W6694
Environment Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Climate Analysis Indicators Tool
The Climate Analysis Indicators Tool (CAIT) is an information and analysis tool on global climate change developed by the World Resources Institute. CAIT provides a comprehensive and comparable database of greenhouse gas emissions data (including all major sources and sinks) and other climate-relevant indicators. - Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN): Data
A private, nonprofit corporation, located at Columbia, with members from leading universities and non-government research organizations. It provides data sets in numerous areas. - Environmental Performance Measurement : the Global Report 2001-2002.
New York : Oxford University Press, c2002.
Call Number: HD 75.6 .E575 2002g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Environmental Performance Index, from CIESIN
The EPI utilizes a proximity-to-target methodology focused on a core set of environmental outcomes linked to policy goals. - European Union: EuroStat: Statistics: Environment
This section provides statistics, indicators and meta-information on environmental pressures and the state of the environment. - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. It was established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of knowledge in climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic impacts. At regular intervals it publishes assessment reports and other material. - OECD iLibrary
Contains full text of all OECD publications. Use the dropdown menu "Themes" to choose "Environment." Older editions of OECD publications are in the Business Library, including The State of the Environment (Call Number: HC 79 .E5 S77) - Prescott-Allen, Robert.
The Wellbeing of Nations: a Country-by-country Index of Quality of Life and the Environment.
Washington <D.C.> : Island Press, c2001.
Call Number: GE 140 .P74 2001 - State of the Environment Reporting System
SERIS is an inventory of national state of the environment reports. The database contains brief publications details for recent (1997 onwards) reports for countries included in the EEA's third assessment report. SERIS contains links to the reports and to the main organisation involved in the report. Reports can be identified by their geographic coverage or the year of publication. National and multi-national reports are included in the database. - The State of the World: a Worldwatch Institute Report on Progress Toward a More Sustainable Society. Annual.
New York : Norton, c1984-
Call Number: HC 59 .S73 (Copies available in multiple locations) - The State of the World's Forests (FAO)
- UNEP Annual Report (United Nations Environmental Programme)
- U.S. Global Change Research Program
The program publishes a number of data reports, including Our Changing Planet (annual) and the annual NOAA State of the Climate report. - Vital Signs: the Environmental Trends That Are Shaping Our Future. Annual.
New York : W.W. Norton, c1992-
Call Number: TD 193.2 .V58 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Numerous compact chapters, dealing with topics from fertilizer use to solar cells to private capital flows, each with time series statistics in both tables and graphs. - World Resources. Annual.
NY : Basic Books, 1986-
Call Number: HC 14 .W67 (Copies available in multiple locations)
An authoritative primary reference volume on global environmental and natural resource conditions and trends for the United Nations, World Bank, and related international organizations.
Health Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Agesource / Agestats
These two databases have been created by AARP to facilitate the international exchange of policy and program-relevant information in aging. AgeSource Worldwide identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. The resources include, among others, clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training modules, major reports, and Web metasites. AgeStats Worldwide provides access to comparative statistical data that compare the situation of older adults across countries or regions around a variety of issues areas. The most recent data and projections as far ahead as 2050 are provided where available. - An Aging World: 2001, 2008
U.S. Census Bureau, International Population Reports. - AIDS in the World.
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, c1992.
Call Number: RA 644 .A25 A36358 1992 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Followed by a 2nd ed.(1996), at: RA 644 .A25 A363582 1996 - AIDSinfo
The aim of AIDS Info is to facilitate data use in countries and globally by allowing you to explore HIV and AIDS data in innovative ways. It consists of 3 interactive tools which will allow you to easily view and display the latest data pertaining to the HIV and AIDS epidemic. Using this tool, you will also be able create your own tables, charts and maps in just a few clicks. AIDS Info contains multisectoral data from several agencies, including WHO, Measure DHS, UNICEF, and UNAIDS. - The Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke (WHO)
The Atlas addresses the global epidemic of heart disease and stroke in six parts: cardiovascular disease; risk factors; the burden; action; the future and the past; and world tables. All topics of contemporary importance have been addressed through pictures and few words. The Atlas is designed for use by policy makers, national and international organizations, health professionals and the general public. - Demographic and Health Surveys
Data on population, health, and nutrition for countries in the developing world, funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development. - Global Health Atlas
In a single electronic platform, the WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. The analysis and interpretation of data are further supported through information on demography, socioeconomic conditions, and environmental factors. - Health at a Glance.
Health at a Glance provides the latest comparable data and trends on different aspects of the performance of health systems in OECD countries. It provides striking evidence of large variations across countries in indicators of health status and health risks, as well as in the inputs and outputs of health systems.
2001, 2003, and 2007 versions also available in print -- check CLIO - HIV/AIDS Surveillance Database (USAID)
The online HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base is an international compilation of HIV prevalence and incidence data resources from various sources for countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania. - International Health Data Reference Guide. Irregular.
Hyattsville, Md. : National Center for Health Statistics, 1983-
Call Number: HE 20.6208/13:
Provides information on the availability of selected national vital, hospital, health manpower resources, and population-based health survey statistics for numerous countries. - International Narcotics Control Board:
Selected Statistical Tables in Respect of Narcotic Drugs - OECD iLibrary
Contains full text of all OECD publications. Use the dropdown menu "Themes" to choose "Social Issues/Migration/Health." Older editions of health-related OECD publications are in the Health Sciences Library. - Tobacco Control Country Profiles
The country profiles provide information about tobacco prevalence, preventive measures, cessation and tobacco economics (2011) - Vital and Health Statistics, Series 5: International Vital and Health Statistics Reports Serial V - Health Sciences Library
- Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The aim of the GHO is to: compile and verify major sources of health data; provide easy access to country data and metadata; and present scientifically sound information in user-friendly formats. GHO theme pages cover global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity and health systems. Users can download data sets in various formats, display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format. - World Health Report. Annual.
Geneve, World Health Organization, 1995-
Call Number: Serial W - World Health Statistics Annual.
Geneve, World Health Organization, 1962-
Call Number: Serial W - World Health Statistics Quarterly.
Geneve, World Health Organization, 1978-
Call Number: Serial W
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
Military Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Arms Sales Facts and Figures , Federation of American Scientists
- Avakov, Alexander V.
Quality of Life, Balance of Power and Nuclear Weapons: a Statistical Yearbook for Statesmen and Citizens.
New York : Algora Pub., 2009-
Online versions: 2009, 2010 - Clodfelter, Micheal.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts : a Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1494-2007. 3rd ed.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2008.
Call Number: D 214 .C54 2008 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
The integrated database system contains clearly documented information from research institutes around the world. It covers areas in the field of international relations and security, such as hard facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data. - Jane's Online
Jane's content provides news and analysis on global issues relating to security and defense issues. Jane’s Defence Equipment Library is a comprehensive portfolio of information bringing together 23 Jane’s products that provide defence equipment-related reference, news and analysis covering air, land, sea and industry. - The Military Balance. Annual.
London: International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1959-
Call Number: UA 15 .M53
- Small Arms Survey. Annual.
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001-
Call Number: HD 9744 .F55 S62 - Lehman
- SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament. Annual.
Cambridge, MA.: MIT Press, 1971-
Call Number: UA 10 . I551 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Press release and chapter summaries, 1993-present, at the SIPRI Yearbooks Web page.
SIPRI Arms Embargoes Database
SIPRI Arms Transfers Database
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database - U.S. Arms Sales: Agreements with and Deliveries to Major Clients, 2003-2010,Congressional Research Service, December 2011
- U.S. Dept. of Defense.
DSCA (Facts Book): Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales and Military Assistance Facts. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Data Management Division, Comptroller, DSAA, 1973-
Call Number: UA 12 .U4613
- World Military and Social Expenditures. Annual.
Leesburg, VA.: WMSE Publications, 1974-1996.
Call Number: HJ 7469 .W6
- World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, 1974-
Call Number: UA 17 .U423
Population/Demography Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
United Nations Sources
- Charting the Progress of Populations.
New York : United Nations, 2000.
Call Number: HA 155 .C437 2000g
Tracks 12 variables used to assess international development matters. - Demographic Yearbook. Annual.
NY : United Nations, 1948-
Call Number: HA 17 .D39 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Global Study on Homicide (2011)
- International Migration Report.
Call Number: JV 6019 .I56
Online versions: 2002, 2006 - Sex and Age Distributions of Population. Biennial.
New York : United Nations, 1991-1996.
Call Number: HB 1741 .G56
- The State of World Population. Annual.
New York, N.Y. : United Nations Fund for Population Activities, 1992-
Call Number: HB 848 .S73 - United Nations Population Information Network: Data
Links to population data web sites from the United Nations. - UN Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division: Publications
Includes publications and data on fertility, marriage, mortality, ageing, population monitoring, population policies, population prospects, and more. - UN High Commissioner for Refugees: Statistics
Includes links to several recent sources of statistics, including:- Refugees and Others of Concern to UNHCR. Annual.
Geneva: Office of the UNHCR, 1996-1999.
Call Number: HV 640 .R4319 - State of the World's Refugees. Annual.
Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 1993-2000.
Call Number: HV 640 .S678
- UNHCR Statistical Yearbook
- Refugees and Others of Concern to UNHCR. Annual.
- World Population Prospects. Biennial.
New York : United Nations, 1963-
Call Number: HA 155 .W68
The online versions provide Excel tables for data on population, fertility, mortality and migration. The online database provides detailed indicators and country profiles. - World Urbanization Prospects: Estimates and Projections of Urban and Rural Populations and of Urban Agglomerations. Biennial.
New York : United Nations, 1990-
Call Number: HB 2161 .P76
Provides detailed demographic statistics and growth rates for urban areas.
Other Sources
- Asylum-seekers and Refugees: a Statistical Report. 2 vols.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1994.
Call Number: HV 640.4 .E8 A7 1994g
- European Social Statistics. Migration .
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2000.
Call Number: HB 2041 .E976
- Handbook of Population.
New York : Springer, c2006.
Call Number: HB 871 .H3447 2006
- Migration Policy Institute Data Hub: Migration Facts, Stats and Maps
Get instant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries. The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the US; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and Oceania. Track historical immigration trends, see which global cities have the the largest immigrant populations, and learn more about refugee and asylum patterns. - International Labour Migration Statistics
A database from the International Labour Organization -- search by country or statistical tables, compare countries, or view charts of statistical data. - Keyfitz, Nathan.
World Population Growth and Aging: Demographic Trends in the Late Twentieth Century.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1990.
Call Number: HA 155 .K49 1990 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Long-Term Global Demographic Trends
A 2001 report from the CIA Directorate on Intelligence, which provides background information and analysis of major demographic trends in the world. - Ness, Immanuel.
Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics. 2 vols.
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 1998.
Call Number: HB 871 .N43 1998 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Population Index.
Princeton, N.J., Office of Population Research, Princeton University, 1935- Quarterly.
Call Number: Z 7164 .D3 P83
An index to journal articles on population-related topics, many of them are statistical in nature. The web version covers 1986 to the present. - Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues. PRB produces Data Sheets and the Population Bulletin. Also very useful is the Graphics Bank, a collection of PowerPoint presentations on population and health. The PRB DataFinder lets you create custom tables by searching on location, indicator or topic. - Ross, John A.
Family Planning and Population: a Compendium of International Statistics.
New York : The Population Council, 1993.
Call Number: HQ 763.5 .R77 1993
- Rothenbacher, Franz.
The European Population, 1850-1945.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2002.
Call Number: R314.1 R743
- Rothenbacher, Franz.
The European Population Since 1945.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
Call Number: HB 3581.A3 R684 2005
- Rummel, R. J.
Statistics of Democide : Genocide and Mass Murder Since 1900.
Piscatway, NJ : Transaction Publishers, 1998.
Call Number: HV 6322.7 .R868 1998g
- U.S. Census Bureau. International Programs Center
The International Programs Center (IPC), part of the Population Division of the U.S. Census Bureau, conducts demographic and socioeconomic studies, including the International Data Base (IDB), International Briefs, International Population Reports, and World Population Reports. - World Population Information
Information from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes World Population Profile, World Population: 1950 to 2050, World POPClock, and Historical Estimates of World Population (up to 1950). - World Migration Report. Annual.
Geneva : International Organization for Migration : United Nations, c2000-
Call Number: JV 6006 .W67 - World Population Projections. Biannual.
Washington, D.C. : World Bank, c1984-1995.
Call Number: HA 154 .W66 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Worldwide Refugee Information
Provided by the U.S. Committee on Refugees.
Religion Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Adherents.com
Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 18,000 adherent statistic citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 1,300 religions, churches, denominations, faith groups, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. Search by geographic location or denomination/faith. - NationMaster.com: Religion Statistics
Various categories of religious statistics, by country and region. Many stats are also illustrated with charts and maps. - United States. Department of State.
Annual Report on International Religious Freedom
The report contains an introduction, executive summary, and a chapter describing the status of religious freedom in each of 195 countries throughout the world.
Trade Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Big Emerging Markets. Annual.
Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1995-
Call Number: HF 1379 .B55 1995g
For each country covered: key economic indicators and U.S. trade statistics. - Direction of Trade Statistics. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : International Monetary Fund, 1981-
Call Number: Serials D
Call Number: CD-ROM HF 1016 .I652
- Export.gov: Helping U.S. Companies Export
Includes: Country & Industry Market Reports, Video Market Reports Library, Trade Agreements & Statistics, Customized Market Research Services. - Foreign Trade Statistics, from the U.S. Census Bureau
- International Trade Statistics Yearbook. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1983-
Call Number: HF 91 .Y33
Continues Yearbook of International Trade Statistics, 1950-1982 (Call Number: HF 91 .Y32) - International Trade Administration (U.S.)
- International Trade and Tariff Data, from the World Trade Organization
- International Transportation
From the U.S. Dept. of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics; provides links to BTS programs on transborder surface freight, border crossings, and North American transportation statistics, as well as several statistical products related to international trade, travel, and transportation. - League of Nations. Secretariat. Financial Section and Economic Intelligence Service.
International Trade Statistics. Annual.
Geneva: the League, 1931/32-1938.
Call Number: 140 L4711
- UNCTAD Commodity Yearbook. Annual.
New York : United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, 1986-
Call Number: HD 9000.2 .Y431 - UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 2000-
Call Number: HF 54 .A11
Continues Handbook of International Trade & Development Statistics., 1969-1999 (Call Number: HF 54 .A1 (Copies available in multiple locations))
Web versions: 2002, 2006-2007, 2008, 2010 - United States Foreign Trade Highlights: Trends in the Global Market. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Bernan Press, 2005-
Call Number: HF 3000 .U174 - U.S. Trade & International Transactions
Downloadable time series data for imports, exports, income payment & receipts, trade balance, and U.S. international finance, from FRED II, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Women & Children Statistics
This section only includes resources about this topic. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources and Comprehensive Statistics. For statistics on specific areas of the world, look in the regional sections below.
- Abortion Policies: a Global Review (2001)
Info on policy worldwide, but also data on Abortion rate, Married women using contraception, Total fertility rate, and Maternal mortality ratio. - Child Poverty in Rich Nations (2000)
From UNICEF; ranks the performance of the rich, industrialized nations against critical indicators of child well-being. - The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies, at Columbia University
The Clearinghouse provides cross-national, comparative information about the policies, programs,benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth, and family needs. It includes social indicators and background data. - Innocenti Research Centre
The Innocenti Research Centre pursues research in two thematic areas: (a) Social and economic policies and children, and (b) Child protection and implementation of international standards for children. - Progress of the World’s Women
Progress of the World’s Women is UNIFEM’s biennial investigation of progress made towards a world where women live free from violence, poverty and inequality. - Kaul, Chandrika. Statistical Handbook on the World's Children.
Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2002.
Call Number: HQ 767.9 .K385 2002g (Copies available in multiple locations) - Statistical Charts and Indicators on the Situation of Youth, 1980-1995.
New York : United Nations, 1998.
Call Number: HQ796 .S823 1998g - Statistical Record of Women Worldwide.
Detroit : Gale Research, 1995.
Call Number: HQ 1150 .S73 1995 (Copies available in multiple locations) - The State of the World's Children
Each year, UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World's Children, closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics. - UNICEF Statistics
UNICEF offers a database of statistics related to the welfare of children, which can be searched by country or region. The site also offers world maps with data mapped, and the entire database can be downloaded. - World Youth Report
A biennial report from the UN Division for Social Policy and Development. Each edition contains an extensive statistical annex. - The World's Women, 1970-1990 : Trends and Statistics.
New York : United Nations, 1991.
Call Number: HQ 1154 .W96 1991g (Copies available in multiple locations) - The World's Women, 2000: Trends and Statistics.
NY : United Nations, 2000.
Call Number: HQ 1154 .W675 2000g (Copies available in multiple locations)
The web version includes main findings, chapter highlights, and statistical tables. - The World's Women, 2005: Progress in Statistics.
New York : United Nations, 2006.
Call Number: HQ 1154 .W95 2006g - In 1996-1998, the United Nations published a series of statistical profiles of women in various countries: Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Korea,the Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu. Check CLIO under the title: Women in [country name]
Africa Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
- African Development Indicators. Biannual.
Washington, D.C. : World Bank, c1995-
Call Number: HC 800.A1 A35 (Copies available in multiple locations)
See the World Bank e-Library for the most recent editions. - African Development Report. Annual.
Abidjan, Ivory Coast : African Development Bank, 1989-
Call Number: HC 800 .A1 A354 - African Economic Outlook. Annual.
Paris, France : OECD, c2002-
Call Number: HC 59.69 .A37
This fact-filled annual reference book brings the reader the latest available economic information for most of the economies of Africa. The statistical annex presents 24 tables comparing economic and social variables across all the countries of Africa. - African Socio-economic Indicators. Biannual.
Addis Ababa : United Nations, Economic Commission for Africa, 1983-1994
Call Number: HC 502 .U5483 (Copies available in multiple locations) - African Statistical Yearbook.
Addis Ababa: Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations, 1974-
Call Number: HA 1955 .A37 - Afristat: Observatoire Economique et Statistique d'Afrique Subsaharienne
Presents basic statistics for many sub-Saharan countries; in French. - Economic and Social Survey of Africa. Annual.
Addis Ababa : Economic Commission for Africa, 1994/1995-1995/1996.
Call Number: HC 502 .U547
Continues: Survey of Economic and Social Conditions in Africa. - Economic Report on Africa. Annual.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia : UN Economic Commission for Africa, 1996-
Call Number: HC 800 .A1 A353a
Web versions:
1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 - Gender, Poverty and Environmental Indicators on African Countries
This annual publication provides some information on the broad development trends relating to gender, poverty and environmental issues in the 53 African countries. - Mitchell, B. R.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Call Number: HA 4675 .M552 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Poverty Mapping for Selected African Countries (2003)
- Selected Statistics on African Countries, African Development Bank
- Statistics in Africa
This site brings together information and resources related to statistics in Africa, both from within the World Bank and from many other sources identified by World Bank staff. It includes the current African Development Indicators, the Africa Live Database, and the Africa Household Survey Databank, among other sources.
Asia/Oceania Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
- Association of Southeast Asian Nations:
- Asian Development Outlook. Annual.
Manila : Asian Development Bank, 1989-
Call Number: HC 411 .A76 - Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific
The Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific is the flagship annual statistical data book of the Asian Development Bank (ADB). It presents the latest available economic, financial, social, environmental, and Millennium Development Goals (MDG) indicators for regional members of ADB. - Mitchell, B. R.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Call Number: HA 4675 .M552 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations) - SEAMIC Health Statistics
Annual publication (1980-2002) of detailed health statistics for Brunei, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. - United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP):
- ESCAP Statistics Division
- Asia-Pacific in Figures. Annual.
New York, N.Y. : United Nations, Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 1995-
Call Number: HA 4551 .A853
- Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific. Annual.
Bangkok, Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 1974-
Call Number: HC 411 .U556 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Web version includes statistical tables for each country in Lotus .wk4 format.
- Statistical Indicators for Asia and the Pacific. Quarterly.
Bangkok, Thailand : Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 1977-
Call Number: Serials S (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
Bangkok, Thailand : Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 1973-
Call Number: HA 1661 .A152
- ESCAP Statistics Division
Europe Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
European Union Sources
EuroStat: Statistical Office of the European Communities
EuroStat is the primary source for most statistics on the European Union. The titles below are just a sample of the data that is available from EuroStat.
- EuroStat Yearbook/Europe in Figures. Biennial.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Union, 1995-
Call Number: HA 1107 .E89
Available in both PDF and Excel formats. - European Business: Facts and Figures. Biennial.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Union, 2002--
Call Number: HC 241.2 .P3132
- EuroStat Country Profiles
An easy way to look at all major statistical indicators for the European Union (13, 15, 25, or 27 countries) or each individual country, and to do comparisons. The data generally goes back 10 years, and can be displayed as a table, graph, or on a map. - EuroStat Regional Yearbook. Biennial.
A broad set of regional data are presented on the following themes: population, European cities, labour market, gross domestic product, household accounts, structural business statistics, information society, science, technology and innovation, education, tourism and agriculture.
- Europe in Figures / Eurostat. Irregular.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1992-2000.
Call Number: HC 241.2 .E81297
- European Central Bank Statistics
Statistics include: key Euro area indicators; exchange rates; monetary and financial statistics; monetary operations; banknotes and coins; balance of payments and international investment position; Euro area accounts, prices, output, demand and labour; government finance; payments and securities trading, clearing, settlement; financial integration indicators. - EurLIFE
EurLIFE is an interactive database on quality of life in Europe, offering data drawn from the Foundation's own surveys and from other published sources. The data provided deals with the objective living conditions and subjective well-being of European citizens. Today there are 27 EU Member States and the candidate countries Croatia and Turkey in the database. Indicators are in the areas of health, employment, income deprivation, education, family, social participation, housing, environment, transport, safety, leisure, and life satisfaction. - The Life of Women and Men in Europe: a Statistical Portrait.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2008.
This report provides a general review of statistics on gender-related issues by way of comparisons, showing the situation of each sex in terms of income and influence, as well as their respective roles in society. - Panorama of EU Industry.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1994-1997.
Call Number: HC 241.2 .P3131
- Portrait of the Regions. 10 vols.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1993-2001.
Call Number: HA 1107.5 .P67 1993g
- Social Portrait of Europe. 3rd ed.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1998.
Call Number: HC 241.2 .S538 1998
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Sources
- Economic Survey of Europe (1998-2005)
- Statistical Agencies in the UN/ECE Region and WWW Links
- Trends in Europe and North America. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1995-2005.
Call Number: HA 1107 .T746
Web versions: 2003, 2005 - UNECE Member Countries in Figures
Construct a table by country, indicator and year (1980-present). - UNECE Statistical Database
Includes economic, forestry, gender, and transport statistics, available in several file formats.
Other Sources
- European Marketing Data and Statistics. Annual.
London : European Research Consultants Ltd., 1962-
Call Number: HC 241.2 Eu75 - Flora, Peter.
State, Economy, and Society in Western Europe, 1815-1975: a Data Handbook in Two Volumes. 2 vols.
Chicago : St. James Press, 1983.
Call Number: HA 1107 .F56 1983 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Mitchell, B.R.
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2005. 6th ed.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Call Number: HA 1107 .M5 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Political Data Handbook: OECD Countries.
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Call Number: HA 155 .P65 1997 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Shoup, Paul.
The East European and Soviet Data Handbook : Political, Social, and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975.
New York, N.Y. : Columbia University Press ; Stanford, CA : Hoover Institution Press, 1981.
Call Number: HA 1446 .S53 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Stat@las Europe: an Interactive Atlas of the European Regions
The atlas currently contains 152 maps (last update 2008) relating to 6 theme areas: Population – Society, living conditions – Economy, labour market – Environment – Agriculture – Tourism. - World Health Organization Regional Office for Europe
Includes country profiles, and access to the health-for-all and causes of death databases.
Latin America Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
Inter-American Development Bank Sources
- Central American Trade Statistics System, from the Inter-American Development Bank
- Countries
Provides basic information about each country and information about its relationship with the IDB, includng current projects. - Economic and Social Progress in Latin America (IPES). Annual.
Washington : Inter-American Development Bank, 1972-
Call Number: HC 60 .E32 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Latin America In Graphs: Demographic, Economic and Social Trends.
Washington, D.C. : Inter-American Development Bank, 1995.
Call Number: HC 125 .L3445 1995g - Latin America In Graphs: Two Decades of Economic Trends, 1971-1991.
Washington, D.C. : Inter-American Development Bank, 1992.
Call Number: HC 125 .L3438 1992g - Statistics and Databases
The Bank has compiled and organized over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, creating a comprehensive dataset for the region.
Pan American Health Organization Sources
- Basic Health Country Profiles for the Americas
- Health in the Americas. Quadrennial.
Washington, D.C., : Pan American Health Organization, 1961/62-
Call Number: Serial H
Comprehensive statistics on child & adult health, diseases, health system infrastructure, and science & technology in health, for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Web versions: - 1998, 2002, 2007
- Health Statistics from the Americas (latest issue only), from the Pan American Health Organization
United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLA) Sources
- Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
Santiago, Chile : United Nations, 1984-
Call Number: HC 161 .Un411 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Foreign Investment in Latin America and the Caribbean
Santiago, Chile : United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1998-
Call Number: HG 5160.5 .F674
- Observatario Demográfico
- Social Panorama of Latin America
[Santiago, Chile?] : United Nations ECLAC, [1993?-
Call Number: HN 110.5 .A49
- Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. Annual.
Santiago, Chile : Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1986-
Call Number: HA 755 .A681
Other Sources
- Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Economic and Social Data
This web site provides both the annual publication Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Economic and Social Data and socio-economic data on countries in Latin America and Caribbean, from USAID. - Latin American Statistical Sources
For each country, provides links to the national statistical agency and other official statistical providers. Also, links to international agency statistics related to Latin America. Provided by the Latin American Information Network at the University of Texas at Austin. - Mitchell, B. R.
International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2005. 6th ed.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Call Number: HA 175 .M55 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Resúmenes Sobre Población en América Latina (Latin American Population Abstracts). Semiannual.
Santiago, Chile, Centro Latinoamericano de Demografia, 1977-1999.
Call Number: HB 3530.5 .R48
- Statistical Abstract of Latin America. Biannual.
Los Angeles : UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1955-
Call Number: HA 935 .St29 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Trends in Latin America Networking
Includes internet, cable-TV subscriptions, and economies. - Wilkie, Richard W.
Latin American Population and Urbanization Analysis: Maps and Statistics, 1950-1982.
Los Angeles, Calif. : UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1984.
Call Number: HA 935 .St29 Suppl. no.8 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Middle East/North Africa Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
- Arab Monetary Fund: Statistics
Includes statistics for balance of trade, cross exchange rates, economic indicators, foreign trade, money and credit, and national accounts for the 22 members of the AMF.
- Statistical Bulletin of Arab Countries (2010)
- BASEIND (BAsic Social and Economic INDicators) Database
BASEIND provides data on 256 socio-economic variables under 17 categories for the 57 Organisation of the Islamic Conference member countries dating back to 1970. The content of this database is regularly updated and enriched essentially on the basis of information collected from the national statistical sources. You can display the desired data in HTML, Excel or CSV formats, from the Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries (SESRIC). - Central Asia, Facts and Figures 2007.
Peshawar : Area Study Centre (Russia, China & Central Asia) University of Peshawar ; Washington : Central Asia-Caucasus Institute & Silk Road Studies Program, 2008.
Call Number: DS 327.5 .C468 2008g - International Finance Corporation: Middle East & North Africa Information
- McCarthy, Justin.
The Arab World, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914) : a Handbook of Historical Statistics.
Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, c1982.
Call Number: HA 4556 .M35 1982 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Middle East and Central Asia Databook.
London : Europa, c2004.
Call Number: HA 4556 .M53 2004g (Copies available in multiple locations) - Mitchell, B. R.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed.
Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Call Number: HA 4675 .M552 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Unified Arab Statistical Abstract.
Baghdad : al-Amanah, 1980-88.
Call Number: HA 4666 .U554
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia:
- Bulletin on Population and Vital Statistics in the ESCWA Region (2007)
- ESCWA Country Profiles (2009)
- ESCWA Statistical Information System (ESIS)
- Compendium of Social Statistics and Indicators.
New York : United Nations, 1993-
Call Number: HA 4666 .A22
Web versions: 2007 - Statistical Abstract of the ESCWA Region. Irregular.
Baghdad : United Nations, 1985-
Call Number: HA 4666 .A2a
Web Versions: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011 - Survey of Economic and Social Developments in the ESCWA Region. Annual.
Baghdad : United Nations, Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, 1986-
Call Number: HC 415.15.A1 S85
Web Versions: 2003-2004, 2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009 (Summary)
- Women and Men in the Arab Region : a Statistical Portrait, 2000.
New York : United Nations, 1999.
Call Number: HQ 1726.5 .W664 2000g
Soviet Union, Russia, & Central Asia Statistics
This section only includes resources for statistics exclusively on this region of the world. Useful statistics may also be found in the sections above, Key Resources, Comprehensive Statistics, and for specific subjects.
- Commonwealth of Independent States. Statistical Committee.
The Statistical Handbook of Social and Economic Indicators for the Former Soviet Union.
New York : Norman Ross Pub., 1995.
Call Number: HA 1444 .C66 1995
- East View UDB Statistics
Covers Russian and English language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Also the All Russia Population Census of 2002.- Demograficheskiĭ Ezhegodnik Rossii = The Demographic Yearbook of Russia.
Moskva : Goskomstat, 1995-
Call Number: HA 1450.12 .A141
- Regiony Rossii Informat͡s︡ionno-Statisticheskiĭ Sbornik
- Russia in Figures: Concise Statistical Handbook.
Moskva : Goskomstat, 1998-
Call Number: HA 1450.12 .A335
- Regiony Rossii. Osnovnye Sot͡s︡ialʹno-ėkonomicheskie Pokazateli Gorodov
- Regiony Rossii. Sot︠s︡ialʹno-ėkonomicheskie pokazateli. Annual.
Moskva : Goskomstat Rossii, 2002-
Call Number: HA 1450.12 .A2726
- Demograficheskiĭ Ezhegodnik Rossii = The Demographic Yearbook of Russia.
- European Union and Russia : Statistical Comparison.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2007.
- The First Book of Demographics for the Republics of the Former Soviet Union, 1951-1990.
Shady Side, Md. : New World Demographics, L.C., c1992.
Call Number: HB 3607 .F47 1992g
Provides baseline data on population, nationalities, employment, education, family size, working age status, housing space, and vital statistics. Also has maps of population size, change, density, etc. - Maternal and Child Health Statistics: Russian Federation and United States, Selected Years 1985-95
A report from the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics. - Mickiewicz, Ellen Propper.
Handbook of Soviet Social Science Data.
New York, Free Press, 1973.
Call Number: HN 523.5 .M5 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Middle East and Central Asia Databook .
London : Europa, c2004.
Call Number: HA 4556 .M53 2004g
- Russia & Eurasia Facts & Figures Annual.
Gulf Breeze, Fla. : Academic International Press, 1993-2002.
Call Number: HA 1446 .U17
- Russian Economic Trends. Quarterly, with monthly updates.
London ; Lawrence, KS : Whurr Publishers, c1992-
Call Number: HC 336.27 .R87
- Ryan, Michael.
Social Trends in Contemporary Russia: a Statistical Sourcebook.
New York, N.Y. : St. Martin's Press, 1993.
Call Number: HN 530.2. A85 R9 1993
- Shoup, Paul.
The East European and Soviet Data Handbook : Political, Social, and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975.
New York, N.Y. : Columbia University Press ; Stanford, CA : Hoover Institution Press, 1981.
Call Number: HA 1446 .S53 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Statistical Handbook: States of the Former USSR. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : World Bank, c1992-1996
Call Number: HC 331 .S7
- TransMONEE Database
TransMONEE is the database associated with the UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre’s MONEE project. The TransMONEE database captures a vast range of data relevant to the social and economic situation and well-being of children, young people and women in the countries of Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CEE/CIS). Updated annually. - United Nations Economic Commission for Europe: Statistics
Note: The UNECE covers the countries of Central Asia, as well as Europe.- Economic Survey of Europe
- UNECE Statistical Database
Includes economic, forestry, gender, and transport statistics, available in several file formats.
- Statistical Agencies in the UN/ECE Region and WWW Links
- UNECE Member Countries in Figures
Construct a table by country, indicator and year (1980-present).
- Economic Survey of Europe
- USSR Facts & Figures Annual.
Gulf Breeze, Fla. : Academic International Press, 1977-1992.
Call Number: HA 1446 .U17 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Vital and Health Statistics: Russian Federation and United States, Selected Years 1985-2000 With An Overview of Russian Mortality in the 1990s