Terrorism: Information Resources
This is a selective guide to library materials and Internet resources on terrorism and terrorist activities. For suggestions to other material, please check with Lehman Reference staff. A Columbia University e-seminar series, Covering Terrorism, presented by Associate Professor Brigitte L. Nacos, examines the marriage of convenience that exists between terrorists and the media.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Find Books
Book Catalogs
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Books
- CQ Homeland Security
CQ Homeland Security is a one-stop, Web-based intelligence service that brings subscribers the most up-to-date and comprehensive homeland security information. A dedicated team of CQ reporters and editors provide real-time daily news and analysis on the latest homeland security spending and policy issues, as well as homeland security legislation, informative status reports on all homeland bills and custom CQ bill analyses.
- ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database of U.S. congressional publications, enhanced with links to full text documents, bill tracking features, and other new features; an excellent product and the best place to start for legislative research on any topic.
- Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Thomas is a source for much Congressional information and publication, including full text of bills, public laws, and the Congressional Record.
- Public Law No: 107-40: A Joint Resolution to Authorize the Use of United States Armed Forces Against Those Responsible for the Recent Attacks Launched Against the United States
Congressional Research Service, January 4, 2006
- Authorization For Use Of Military Force in Response to the 9/11 Attacks (P.L. 107-40): Legislative History
Congressional Research Service, January 16, 2007
- Babkina, A. M.
Terrorism : a Bibliography with Indexes. 2nd ed.
Huntington, N.Y. : Nova Science Publishers, c2001.
Call Number: Z 7164. T3 B33 2001
- Berry, LaVerle Bennette.
Bibliography on Future Trends in Terrorism, U.S. Library of Congress, September 1998
- Mickolus, Edward F.
Terrorism, 1980-2004 : a Selectively Annotated Bibliography. 5 vols.
New York : Greenwood Press, c1988-2006.
Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 M
- Newton, Michael.
Terrorism in the United States and Europe, 1800-1959 : an Annotated Bibliography.
New York : Garland, 1988.
Call Number: R016 .3358 N485
- Prunckun, Henry W.
Shadow of Death : an Analytical Bibliography on Political Violence, Terrorism, and Low-intensity Conflict.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1995.
Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 P78 1995
- Rand Corporation.
A Bibliography of Selected Rand Publications. Terrorism (1980-2004).
Santa Monica, CA : Rand, 1985-
Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 R364
- Schmid, Alex Peter.
Political Terrorism : a New Guide to Actors, Authors, Concepts, Data Bases, Theories, & Literature
New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, [2005]
Call Number: HV 6431 .S349 2005
- Terrorism and Counterterrorism: an Annotated Bibliography
Combating Terrorism Center, U.S. Military Academy, West Point, 2004
- Terrorism and Crime Studies
A series of current, online bibliographies prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Background Information
- Advisory Panel to Assess Domestic Response Capabilities for Terrorism Involving Weapons of Mass Destruction
Also known as the Gilmore Commission, the panel's site, hosted by the Rand Corporation, includes the reports to Congress, minutes, and news releases. - Anderson, Sean.
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism. 2nd ed.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 2002.
Call Number: HV 6431 .A537 2002 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Atkins, Stephen E.
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups. 2nd ed.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Call Number: HN 49 .R33 A85 2004 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Atkins, Stephen E.
The 9/11 Encyclopedia.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2008.
Call Number: HV 6432.7 .A85 2008 - Ball, Howard.
U.S. Homeland Security : a Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, [2005].
Call Number: HV 6432.4 .B35 2005 - Burns, Vincent.
Terrorism : a Documentary and Reference Guide.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
Call Number: HV 6432 .B87 2005 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Congressional Research Service Reports on Terrorism, provided by the Federation of American Scientists
- Criminal Terrorism Enforcement in the United States During the Five Years Since the 9/11/01 Attacks , September 4, 2006
An analysis of case-by-case Justice Department data obtained by the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) for 2,681 individuals who had been subject to investigative referrals
Terrorism Enforcement: International, Domestic and Financial, March 19, 2007 - Digest of Terrorist Cases
The digest is a compilation of legal experiences relating to actual terrorist cases and it is organized in eight chapters: Introduction; Offences for terrorists acts already committed; Offences to prevent terrorist acts; The relationship between terrorism and other forms of crime; The statutory framework for terrorism prosecutions; Investigation and adjudication issues; International cooperation; and Innovations and proposals. - Domestic Preparedness Against Terrorism: How Ready Are We?
Call Number: Y 4.G 74/7:T 27/10
Report from the National Commission on Terrorism (Bremer Commission), June 7, 2000, commissioned by Congress (P.L. 277, 105th Congress). - Encyclopedia of World Terrorism. 2 vol.
Armonk, N.Y.: Sharp Reference, 2003.
Call Number: HV 6431 .E53 2003 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Call Number: R033.625 En19 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Foreign Terrorist Organizations, U.S. State Department Fact Sheet, April 8, 2008
- Halliday, Fred.
Shocked and Awed: a Dictionary of the War on Terror.
Berkley : University of California Press, c2010.
Call Number: HV 6432 .H344 2010g - Herbst, Philip.
Talking Terrorism : a Dictionary of the Loaded Language of Political Violence.
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, c2003.
Call Number: HV 6431 .H455 2003
- Henderson, Harry.
Global Terrorism : the Complete Reference Guide.
New York : Checkmark Books, c2001.
Call Number: HV 6431 .H42 2001 - Homeland Security: a Documentary History.
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2004.
Call Number: UA 927 .H657 2004 - Jane’s Terrorism and Security Monitor
Key contents include: Regional coverage of terrorist activity, the root causes of terrorism and insurgency, terrorist use of weapons of mass destruction, biographies of terrorism leaders, intelligence on the growing links between terrorism, insurgency and organized crime. - Military Policy Awareness Links: Terrorism
MiPALs are published by the National Defense University (NDU) Library as a current awareness service; the objective is to provide access to key U.S. policy statements on the country or topic of the MiPAL. While MiPALs emphasize U.S. military policy, each MiPAL includes resources analyzing the topic from governmental and non-governmental sources, including think tanks and scholarly journals. - Publications from the Strategic Studies Institute of the Army War College
Search for "terrorism" or other keywords. - The September 11th Sourcebooks: National Security Archive Online Readers on Terrorism, Intelligence and the Next War
Includes: Terrorism and U.S. Policy; Afghanistan: Lessons from the Last War; BIOWAR: the Nixon Administration's Decision to End U.S. Biological Warfare Programs; The Once and Future King?: From the Secret Files on King Zahir's Reign in Afghanistan, 1970-1973; Anthrax at Sverdlovsk, 1979; The Hunt for Bin Laden: Background on the Role of Special Forces in U.S. Strategy; The Taliban File. - Significant Terrorist Incidents, 1961-2003, U.S. Department of State, Office of the Historian
- Terrorism. Quarterly.
Minneapolis, Minn. : J.L. Scherer, c1986-2001.
Call Number: HV 6431 .V481
A current awareness service, with calendars, profiles of terrorist groups, country profiles, and more. - Terrorism Terminology, from NewsLab
- Terrorism: Issue, from the Council on Foreign Relations.
- The Terrorism Threat and U.S. Government Response: Operational and Organizational Factors
A 284 page report by James M. Smith and William C. Thomas, for the U.S. Air Force Institute for National Security Studies, March 2001. - Terrorist and Insurgency Groups:
Information on the following three links is provided by Jane's. - Timeline of Terrorism, 1969-present, from the U.S. Dept. of Defense
- United Nations Counter-Terrorism Online Handbook
This site has been created to provide Member States with current and relevant information on the United Nations' and its entities' work and resources contributing to countering terrorism. Browse by theme, UN entity, geographic region, or keyword. - U.S. Commission on National Security in the 21st Century, January 2001
The Hart-Rudman Commission reports. They stress the need for an Office of Homeland Security.- The Hart-Rudman Commission and the Homeland Defense, by Ian Roxborough
Carlisle, PA : Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College : 2001.
- The Hart-Rudman Commission and the Homeland Defense, by Ian Roxborough
- U.S. Terror History Map, from the Investigative Project on Terrorism
- United States. National Commission on Terrorism.
Countering the Changing Threat of International Terrorism
Call Number: Y 1.1/7:106-250
- United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Intelligence.
Joint Inquiry Into Intelligence Community Activities Before and After the Terrorist Attacks of September 11, 2001.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 2003
Call Number: Y 4.IN 8/19:S.HRG.107-1086/V.1-2
Find Journal Articles
Journals
- Aakrosh : Asian Journal on Terrorism and Internal Conflicts. Quarterly.
New Delhi : Forum for Strategic and Security Studies, 1998-
Call Number: HV 6433 .A8 A3 - Early Warning
William M. Arkin on National and Homeland Security; Early Warning will report daily on the comings and goings of the national security community -- military, special ops, intelligence, homeland security -- part blog, part investigative journalism. - Global Security Newswire
Daily news on nuclear, biological and chemical weapons, terrorism and related issues. - GovExec.com: Defense and Homeland Security
- Homeland Security Affairs
Access to full-text of a subset of the entire Jane's Online databases. Titles include: Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's International Defense Review, Jane's Intelligence Review, Foreign Report, Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Jane's World Defence Industry, Jane's Sentinel Security Assessments, Jane's Intelligence Watch Report, Jane's Terrorism Watch Report, Jane's Counter Terrorism, Jane's World Insurgency and Terrorism, Jane's Chem-Bio Handbook, Jane's Chem-Bio Review, Jane's Geopolitical Special Reports. - Journal of Homeland Security
- Studies in Conflict and Terrorism. Quarterly.
London : Taylor & Francis, 1992-
Call Number: HM 136 .S85 - Terrorism and Political Violence. Quarterly.
London : Frank Cass, 1989-
Call Number: HV 6431 .T6 - Terrorism Focus
Journal Articles Databases
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Quarterly.
Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.: Air University Library, 1949-
Call Number: Z 5063 .A2 U8
You can also Search AULIMP. Click on "web-based catalog" then select "AUL Index to Military Periodicals" from the menu. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.- The War on Terrorism: a course pack of readings from CIAO
- Historical Abstracts
Provides citations to articles on topics in world history, in all western languages. - International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Jane's Online
Access to full-text of a subset of the entire Jane's Online databases. Titles include: Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's International Defense Review, Jane's Intelligence Review, Foreign Report, Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Jane's World Defence Industry, Jane's Sentinel Security Assessments, Jane's Intelligence Watch Report, Jane's Terrorism Watch Report, Jane's Counter Terrorism, Jane's World Insurgency and Terrorism, Jane's Chem-Bio Handbook, Jane's Chem-Bio Review, Jane's Geopolitical Special Reports. - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A database of government reports, journal articles, books, and other research in topics in criminal justice. - PAIS International. Monthly.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations) - EINIRAS Database Network
The EINIRAS database makes available several databases of citations to security-related articles, 1990-present. They can be searched by English, French, Spanish, and German keywords. - Terrorism and Crime Studies
A series of current, online bibliographies prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Annual Reviews
- Annual Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism
A report from the Office of Management and Budget. - Country Reports on Terrorism, formerly Patterns of Global Terrorism. Annual.
Washington : U.S. Dept. of State, 1983-
Call Number: HV 6431 .P377
This annual report is submitted in compliance with Title 22 of the United States Code, Section 2656f(a), which requires the Department of State to provide Congress a full and complete annual report on terrorism for those countries and groups meeting the criteria of Section (a)(1) and (2) of the Act. - Political Violence Against Americans. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of Diplomatic Security, 1988-
Call Number: CLIO Record - Terrorism in the United States. Annual.
Washington : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, 1987-
Call Number: J 1.14/22:
Annual report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, detailing incidents of terrorism in the U.S.
U.S. Government Agencies
- National Security
Outlines the George W. Bush administration initiatives in several areas: diplomatic, Federal recovery, financial, homeland security, humanitarian, investigative, and military - Homeland Security and Counterterrorism: the Barack Obama administration initiatives
- For terrorism-related legislation, refer to LexisNexis Congressional and Thomas, both in the "Indexes & Abstracts" section.
- Coordinating the War on Terrorism: a RAND report, 2004
This report addresses how the war on terrorism should be coordinated within the executive branch of the federal government, in particular within the White House. The authors survey the historical record, lay out the critical choices, and recommend changes. - Central Intelligence Agency
- National Strategy for Combating Terrorism, September, 2006
- Department of Commerce
- Department of Defense
- Combating Terrorism Center at West Point
- CTC's Harmony Document Database
Original Al-Qa'ida and Taliban documents with English translations and summaries
- CTC's Harmony Document Database
- International Contributions to the War Against Terrorism, June 2002
- National Military Strategic Plan for the War on Terrorism, February 2006
- Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security
- Homeland Security Digital Library
The HSDL collection provides quick access to over 50,000 important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources from universities, organizations and local and state agencies
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- Combating Terrorism Center at West Point
- Department of Homeland Security
- Executive Order Establishing Office of Homeland Security, October 8, 2001
- Homeland Security Presidential Directives (HSPD)
- The National Strategy For Homeland Security, October 2007
Call Number: PR 43.14:H 75 - Securing the Homeland, Strengthening the Nation: homeland security policy and budget priorities
- Leaving the Nation at Risk: 33 Unfulfilled Promises From the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Homeland Security - Democratic Staff, December 27, 2005
- Department of Labor, Occupational Safety & Health Administration
- Department of State
- Department of the Treasury
- Federal Emergency Management Agency, National Preparedness Directorate
- Concept of Operations Plan (CONPLAN), January 2001
CONPLAN is designed to provide overall guidance to Federal, State and local agencies concerning how the Federal government would respond to a potential or actual terrorist threat or incident that occurs in the United States, particularly one involving WMD - NPD Annual Operating Plan, April 2009
- Concept of Operations Plan (CONPLAN), January 2001
- Government Accountability Office: Reports on Terrorism, 1979-present
- National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States , also known as the 9-11 Commission
- Hearings and Reports, 2003-2004
- National Conference of State Legislatures
- National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC)
- Executive Order National Counterterrorism Center, August 27, 2004
- National Counterterrorism Center, House Report 108-796 - Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004, December 17, 2004
- The National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC)–Responsibilities and Potential Congressional Concerns, Congressional Research Service Report, January 15, 2010
- Office of Management and Budget
- Annual Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism 2001
- Annual Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism 2002
- Annual Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism 2003
This report provides funding and programmatic information on the Federal government's efforts to combat terrorism, as required by the 1998 National Defense Authorization Act (P.L. 105-85).
- United States Institute of Peace
- Options for Prosecuting International Terrorists, November 14, 2001
- Global Terrorism after the Iraq War, October, 2003
- www.terror.net: How Modern Terrorism Uses the Internet, March 2004
- The White House
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
- European Union
- NATO
- Organization of American States:
- United Nations
- UN Action to Counter Terrorism
A web site which pulls together all the major UN responses to terrorism, including resolutions, reports, and other actions by the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Secretary-General - United Nations Treaties Against International Terrorism
- Uniting Against Terrorism: Recommendations for a Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy, May 2006
- UN Action to Counter Terrorism
Research Centers & Think Tanks
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - Brookings Institution
- The Cato Institute
- Center for Biosecurity, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
- The Center For Defense Information:
- Center for Strategic and International Studies
- Center on Global Counterterrorism Cooperation
The Center on Global Counterterrorism Cooperation is a nonpartisan research and policy institute that works to improve internationally coordinated responses to the continually evolving threat of terrorism by providing governments and international organizations with timely, policy-relevant research and analysis. - Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence, University of St. Andrews
- Council on Foreign Relations
- Issues by Topic: Terrorism
- America Still Unprepared - America Still in Danger, October 25, 2002
Call Number: UA 927 .A5 2002g
Report of an independent task force sponsored by the Council on Foreign Relations
- The Federation of American Scientists
- FindLaw.com: War on Terrorism
A legal overview, with sections on News, Commentary, Cases, Documents, and Laws - Foreign Policy In Focus
- Foundation for the Defense of Democracies
Unlike think tanks that address a range of policy issues, FDD focuses exclusively on the ideologies and movements driving terrorism.It seeks to identify and develop the best policies and approaches to defend America, Israel, and other democratic societies, both established and emerging, from the militant Islamist threat. - Heritage Foundation:
- Homeland Security Policy Institute, George Washington University
- Institute for Biosecurity, Saint Louis University School of Public Health
- The International Institute for Strategic Studies
- The Investigative Project on Terrorism
- MIPT: Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
Includes bibliographies, calendars of terrorist events, research publications, and information for first responders. - Monterey Terrorism Research and Educational Program, Monterey Institute of International Studies
MonTREP conducts in-depth research, assesses policy options, and engages in public education on issues relating to terrorism and international security. The focus of the program is on the study of violence-prone extremist groups and their historical evolution, ideological motivations, organizational structure, demographic profile, operational methods, and potential interest in carrying out mass casualty attacks (including through the acquisition and use of so-called "weapons of mass destruction" [WMD]). - National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism, University of Maryland
START will provide homeland security policy-makers and practitioners with the highest quality, data-driven research findings on the human causes and consequences of terrorism in an effort to ensure that homeland security policies and operations reflect these understandings about human behaviors. - RAND
To update, search the RAND Publication Database by keyword; recent publications are available online. - The Terrorism Research Center (TRC)
TRC has a focus on homeland defense and chem/bio terrorism. The site contains original analysis, profiles of terrorist organizations, and links to other documents and essays.
Primary Source Documents
- International Conventions and Other Treaties Relating to Terrorism, U.S. Department of State, November 13, 2001
- International Instruments Related to the Prevention and Suppression of International Terrorism.
New York : United Nations, 2004.
Call Number: K 5256 .A35 I576 2004g - International Terrorism: a Compilation of Major Laws, Treaties, Agreements, and Executive Documents
Call Number: Y 4.IN 8/16:T 27/3 - International Terrorism Agreements: Documents and Commentary.
Dobbs Ferry, NY : Oceana Publications, Inc., c2004.
Call Number: K 5256.A35 M87 2004 - Legal Aspects of Terrorism in the United States.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, c2000.
Call Number: KF 9430 .A95 2000 - Terrorism: Documents of International and Local Control.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1979-
Call Number: JX6731 .T4 T192
Related Resources & Guides
- Atkins, Stephen E.
Terrorism : a Reference Handbook.
Denver, CO : ABC-CLIO, 1992.
Call Number: HV 6431 .A87 1992 - Henderson, Harry.
Global Terrorism. Rev. 2nd ed.
New York : Facts on File, c2004.
Call Number: HV 6431 .H43 2004 - A Military Guide to Terrorism in the Twenty-First Century
A Military Guide to Terrorism in the Twenty-First Century is a reference guide prepared under the direction of the U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC), as a capstone reference guide on terrorism. This informational handbook supports institutional training, professional military education, and operational missions for U.S. military forces in the War on Terrorism, providing an introduction to the nature of terrorism and recognition of terrorist threats to U.S. military forces. - Global Studies Collection
Columbia University Libraries - International Security Policy & Military Affairs Subject Guide
Columbia University Libraries - World Trade Center Attack: the Official Documents
Columbia University Libraries