Political Theory
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Find Books
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Digital Dissertations
Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Find Journal Articles
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Citations, mostly with abstracts, 1989 to the present. Updated quarterly.
- JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the field of Political Science from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- Left Index
Provides a diverse literature of the left, including on politics and economics.
- PAIS Archive & International
Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, 1915 to the present. - Philosopher's Index
Covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of related fields such as education, history, law and religion. - POIESIS
Provides full text to hundreds of issues of participating philosophy journals.
- Social Sciences Full text
Citations from 1983 to the present with abstracts starting in 1994. Updated monthly.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Bibliographic information and cited references in articles in social sciences journals. Coverage 1965 to the present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in ca 1000 political science journals. Coverage 1975 to the present.
Find Book Reviews
- Book review index plus
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language jounals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews
- International bibliography of book reviews : IBR
An interdisciplinary index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals.
- Law & Politics Book Review
Sponsored by the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association, it provides thematic essays that address important substantive, theoretical, or methodological issues about the legal process and politics.
- Political ReviewNet
Povides reviews in all the major sub-disciplines of Politics and International Relations.
Conference Proceedings/Working Papers
- PaspersFirst
Provides access to indexes of published papers presented at conferences worldwide since in 1993.
- ProceedingsFirst
Contains citations to proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
- Social Science Research Network
SSRN contains abstracts and full text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Background Information
- Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage includes: Ancient Theory, Medieval Theory, Early Modern Theory, Enlightenment, Modern Theory, Constitutionalism, Liberalism, Critical Theory, Continental Theory, Empirical Theory, and Comparative Political Thought. - The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory
Oxford University Press, 2006. JA71 .O84 2006g - Oxford Handbooks Online. Philosophy
Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in philosophy. The handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides an alphabetical index to the publication's contents, as well as a site search engine. Contains information on individual philosophers and their beliefs.