CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Arms Control and Disarmament Agreements : Texts and History of Negotiations.
Washington, DC : U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, 1990.
Call Number: JX 1974.A1 A7 1990g
It contains the text of the Geneva Protocol of 1925 and, in chronological order, all major arms control agreements concluded after World War II in which the U.S. has been a participant up to May 1988.
Consolidated Treaties & International Agreements. Current Document Service: United States. 1990-
Call Number: KZ 235.5 .U55
Text of U.S. treaties and international agreements, but more quickly than the official source, TIAS, below.
Detente : a Documentary Record.
New York : Praeger Publishers, 1978.
Call Number: JX 236 1972 .D47
Provides the text of bilateral agreements between the U.S. and the USSR, May 1972-November 1977.
Income Tax Treaties
From the Internal Revenue Service. Includes both the text of the treaties and the technical explanations.
United States. International Narcotics Control and United States Foreign Policy: a Compilation of Laws, Treaties, Executive Documents, and Related Materials.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O.,1997.
Call Number: Y 1.3:S.PRT.105-32
United States. United States Statutes at Large. Annual. 1789-
Call Number: AE 2.111:
Citation Example: 15 Stat. 1020
Treaties were included in this publication from 1799 to 1949, when they began to appear in United States Treaties and Other International Agreements, below. Volume 8 contains the text of all treaties, 1776-1845. Executive agreements are included in volumes 47-64. For a complete list of the international agreements included in the Statutes, consult Volume 64, Part 3.
United States. Congress. Senate.
The Senate's Treaties page identifies treaties received from the President, treaties on the Executive Calendar, treaties approved by the Senate, and listings of other recent treaty status actions.
United States. Dept. of State. Executive Agreement Series. 1929-1946. 7 vols.
Call Number: JX 235.9 A3
Citation Example: EAS 206
Consists of Executive Agreements 1-506; after 1946 these agreements were included in the Treaties and Other International Acts Series, next item.
United States. Treaties, etc. Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS). 1946- .
Call Number: JX 235.9 .A4
Citation Example: TIAS 2017
Published by the U.S. Dept. of State. Individual treaties, declarations, constitutions, and charts of international organizations since 1950. Prior to 1950, treaties were included in the United States Statutes at Large, above. Generally, there is a 5-year time lag before publication. Then they are cumulated into United States Treaties, below.
United States. Treaties, etc. United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST). Annual.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1950-
Call Number: JX 231 .Un34
Citation Example: 2 UST 315
The official place of publication for U.S. treaties and international agreements. Before 1950, treaties were published in the United States Statutes at Large. Generally, there is a 10-year time lag before publication.
Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America,1776-1976. 9 vols.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1976-
Call Number: JX 236 1976
A compilation of the texts of unratified treaties.
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents.
Washington, D.C. : Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, 2009-
Issued daily, it is the most comprehensive source of presidential materials, including addresses, vetoes, signing statements, and actions on legislation. Replaces the Weekly Compilation. Online versions: 1993-2009, 1965-2009
Washington, DC : Office of Public Communication, Bureau of Public Affairs, 1990-1999.
Call Number: S 1.3/5:
The record of official activities dealing with U.S. Foreign affairs. Contains current treaty actions. Dispatch supplements often reprint the text of major treaties. A weekly publication 1990-1996; monthly, 1997-1999. The predecessor to Dispatch was the monthly Department of State Bulletin, previous entry.
A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force. Annual.
Buffalo, N.Y. : W.S. Hein Co., 1982-
Provides additional information: subject index, list of additions and deletions to the current Treaties in Force, chronological guide, and citations to published texts of treaties.
Treaties in Force. Annual.
Washington : GPO, 1944-
Call Number: JX 236 1955 (Copies available in multiple locations)
A listing of all treaties and other international agreements of the United States which are currently in force. In two parts: bilateral treaties and multilateral treaties.
Treaty Actions (1997-present), from the U.S. Department of State
A monthly listing of treaty actions, both bilateral and multilateral, with citations to TIAS, UNTS, and UST, as appropriate.
Dupuy, Trevor Nevitt. A Documentary History of Arms Control and Disarmament.
New York, T. N. Dupuy Associates, 1973.
Call Number: JX 1974 .D92
The texts of major documents, esp. treaties, 546 B.C - 1972.
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
ENTRI is an international, collaborative effort hosted by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) charged with providing "information about environmental treaties and national resource indicators." These treaties are organized into nine issue areas which cover land use change and desertification, transboundary air pollution, and trade and the environment, among others. Treaties can be searched or browsed by seven pre-written, basic questions. Free text searching of the treaties and treaty summaries is also available.
Global Legal Information Network
The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN), provided by the Library of Congress, is a public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations. These GLIN members contribute the full texts of their published documents to the database in their original languages. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and, in many cases in additional languages, plus subject terms selected from the multilingual index to GLIN. All summaries are available to the public, and public access to full texts is also available for most jurisdictions.
League of Nations. Treaty Series. 205 v. in 169
London : Harrison & Sons, 1920-1946.
Call Number: JX 1975 .A1 Of21
Contains the text of 4834 treaties ratified between 1919 and the creation of the United Nations. Indexed chronologically, and by country and subject.
The Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: a History and Guide with Texts. 2 vol.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
Call Number: KZ 64 .M35 2001
Multilaterals Project, from the Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy at Tufts University
Provides the texts of international multilateral conventions, mostly from the second half of the twentieth century. Keyword-searchable, or browse chronologically or by ten major topic areas.
Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC)
CEC is an international organization created by Canada, Mexico and the United States under the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC). The CEC was established to address regional environmental concerns, help prevent potential trade and environmental conflicts, and to promote the effective enforcement of environmental law. The Agreement complements the environmental provisions of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).
Organization of American States (OAS):
Includes the texts of all bilateral investment treaties between countries of the Western Hemisphere.
Parry, Clive. The Consolidated Treaty Series. (CTS) 231 vols.
Dobbs Ferry, New York, Oceana, 1969-1981.
Call Number: JX 120 P35
The texts of more than 10,000 treaties, bilateral or multilateral, in their original languages and any existing translation into English or French. Coverage is from 1648 to the beginning of the League of Nations in 1919.
Register of International Treaties and other Agreements in the Field of the Environment.
Nairobi : United Nations Environment Programme, 1991.
Call Number: K 3583 .A1 R34 1991g
Soviet Treaty Series: a Collection of Bilateral Treaties, Agreements and Conventions, etc., Concluded Between the Soviet Union and Foreign Powers. 2 vols.
Washington, Georgetown University Press, 1950-1955.
Call Number: JX 756 1950 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Translations into English of every bilateral diplomatic instrument to which the Soviet Union was a party, 1917-1939.
Transboundary Freshwater Dispute Database
The database is a project of the Oregon State University Department of Geosciences. It contains asearchable database of summaries and full text of 150 water-related treaties. The summaries are catalogued by basin, countries involved, date signed, treaty topic, allocations measure, conflict resolution mechanisms, and non-water linkages.
Bowman, M. J Multilateral Treaties : Index and Current Status.
London : Butterworths, 1984-
Call Number: JX 161 B68 1984
One of the most comprehensive and current indexes for multilateral treaties. Includes chronologies, status, subject and keyword indexes.
Gilbert, Amy M. Executive Agreements and Treaties, 1946-1973: Framework of the Foreign Policy of the Period.
Endicott, NY : Thomas-Newell, 1973.
Call Number: JX 1417 .G54 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Concise chronological discussions of American international agreements, with a bibliography.
Inter-American Treaties and Conventions : Signatures, Ratifications, and Deposits with Explanatory Notes.
Washington, D.C. : General Secretariat, Organization of American States, 1993.
Call Number: JX 1980 .A6 T711 no.9 1993
Kalley, Jacqueline A. Index to the Republic of South Africa Treaty Series, 1961-1979.
Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1980.
Call Number: JX 1040 .A75 K34 1980
Kalley, Jacqueline A. Index to the Union of South Africa Treaty Series, 1926-1960.
Braamfontein : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1978.
Call Number: JX 1040 .A75 K345
Kalley, Jacqueline A. South Africa by Treaty, 1806-1986 : a Chronological and Subject Index.
Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1987.
Call Number: JX 1040 .A75 K347 1987g
Kavass, Igor I. Current Treaty Index. Annual.
Buffalo, N.Y. : W. S. Hein & Co., 1982-
Updates the next item, below. Lists U.S. slip treaties and agreements not published in TIAS.
Kavass, Igor I. United States Treaty Index: 1776-1990 Consolidation. 11 vol. and supplements.
Buffalo, N.Y. : Hein & Co., 1991-1993.
Call Number: KZ 235 .U58 1991
Volumes 1-5 contain a numerical listing of treaties and agreements; each entry has explanatory information and citations to locations of the complete text. Volumes 6-7 are arranged chronologically, volumes 8-9 by country, volumes 10-11 by subject.
Parry, Clive. An Index of British Treaties, 1101-1968. 3 vol.
London, H.M.S.O., 1970.
Call Number: JX 636 1892 Index 1101-(Copies available in multiple locations)
Renoux, Yvette. Glossary of International Treaties. In French, English, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, German and Russian.
New York, Elsevier, 1970.
Call Number: JX 1226 R25
Rohn, Peter H. World Treaty Index.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-Clio Information Services, c1983-84.
Call Number: JX 171 R631 1983
Indexes treaties appearing in both the League of Nations and U.N. treaty series, as well as in the national treaty collections of 120 countries. Coverage is 1900-1980.
Slusser, Robert M. A Calendar of Soviet Treaties, 1917-1957.
Stanford, Calif., Stanford University Press, 1959.
Call Number: JX 756 1917
Slusser, Robert M. A Calendar of Soviet Treaties, 1958-1973.
Rockville, Md. : Sijthoff & Noordhoff, 1981.
Call Number: JX 757.5 .G56 1981
Treaties and Alliances of the World. 6th ed.
Harlow, Essex, U.K. : Longman, 1995.
Call Number: JX 4005 .T72 1995
Good background on international treaties, with separate sections on the agreements by international organizations, regional agreements, and other types. There is a brief description and current status of each agreement, and basic information about each organization.