The final reports of the 1970 Census were published in four series: one for Population and one for Housing, one for Joint Population-Housing, and one for Additional Reports. There are also additional series of evaluation and procedural reports. The reports in Lehman Library are essentially complete, including tract maps with blocks indicated.
Volumes which contain tables specifically about New York City and State are highlighted.
Decennial Census Information: 1970 Census Detailed Holdings
Population
- Volume 1
Characteristics of the Population, PC(1).
HA 201 1970 .A4 v.1, pt.A,pt.1-58 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This volume consists of separate reports for the U.S., each of the 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Canal Zone, and Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. Each report contains four chapters: Number of Inhabitants, General Population Characteristics, General Social and Economic Characteristics, and Detailed Characteristics. Part A consists of all of the chapters on Number of Inhabitants, combined and published as one volume.Each volume contains maps showing Counties, County Subdivisions, Townships and Places, and Urbanized Areas. - Volume 2
Subject Reports, PC(2).
HA 201 1970 .A4 v.2 - Lehman Non-Circulating- pt.1A: National Origin and Language
- pt.1B: Negro Population
- pt.1C: Persons of Spanish Origin
- pt.1D: Persons of Spanish Surname
- pt.1E: Puerto Ricans in the U.S.
- pt.1F: American Indians
- pt.1G: Japanese, Chinese, and Filipinos in the U.S.
- pt.2A: State of Birth
- pt.2B: Mobility for States and the Nation
- pt.2C: Mobility for Metropolitan Areas
- pt.2D: Lifetime and Recent Migration
- pt.2E: Migration Between State Economic Areas
- pt.3A: Women by Number of Children Ever Born
- pt.3B: Childspacing and Current Fertility
- pt.4A: Family Composition
- pt.4B: Persons by Family Characteristics
- pt.4C: Marital Status
- pt.4D: Age at First Marriage
- pt.4E: Persons in Institutions and Other Group Quarters
- pt.5A: School Enrollment
- pt.5B: Educational Attainment
- pt.5C: Vocational Training
- pt.6A: Employment Status and Work Experience
- pt.6B: Persons Not Employed
- pt.6C: Persons with Work Disability
- pt.6D: Journey to Work
- pt.6E: Veterans
- pt.7A: Occupational Characteristics
- pt.7B: Industrial Characteristics
- pt.7C: Occupation by Industry
- pt.7D: Government Workers
- pt.7E: Occupation and Residence in 1965
- pt.7F: Occupations of Persons with Higher Earnings
- pt.8A: Sources and Structure of Family Income
- pt.8B: Earnings by Occupation and Education
- pt.8C: Income of the Farm-Related Population
- pt.9A: Low Income Population
- pt.9B: Low Income Areas in Large Cities
- pt.10A: Americans Living Abroad
- pt.10B: State Economic Areas
- Population Supplementary Report, PC(S1).
HA 201 1970 .A6 Suppl.1-108 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of 108 reports on a variety of topics, mostly on a national level. Many are reprints from other final census reports, or extracts compiled from other reports. Some of the reports with unique information, or which are of more interest for research on New York, are:- 9: Population of Places of 10,000 or more by Wards (for NYC: Assembly Districts)
- 28: Population of Congressional Districts for the 93rd Congress
- 30: Persons of Spanish Ancestry
- 45: Patterns of Commuting in Large Metropolitan Areas
- 47: Characteristics of Negro Immigrants to Selected Metropolitan Areas
- 54: Household Income in 1969 for States, SMSAs, Cities, and Counties
- 55: Graphic Summary of the 1970 Population Census
- 62: Distribution of Foreign Stock Population
- 63: Per Capita Income, Median Family Income, and Low Income Status in 1969 for States, SMSAs, and Counties
- 65-103: Reports on Low-Income Neighborhoods in Large Cities:
- 104: Race of the Population by County
- 105: Poverty Status in 1969 ad 1959 of Persons and Families, for States, SMSAs, Central Cities, and Counties
- 108: Population and Land Area of Urbanized Areas, for the U.S., 1970 and 1960
- Alphabetical Index of Industries and Occupations.
HA 201 1970 .A4 Oc 1 - Lehman Non-Circulating - Classified Index of Industries and Occupations.
HA 201 1970 .A4 Oc 1/2 - Lehman Non-Circulating
Housing
- Volume 1
Housing Characteristics for States, Cities, and Counties, HC(1)
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.1, pt.A, pt.1-58 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of 58 reports -- one each for the U.S. each State, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Canal Zone, and Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. Each report contains two chapters: General Housing Characteristics and Detailed Characteristics. Part A consists of all of the chapters on General Housing Characteristics, combined and published separately.
Each report contains a State map showing Counties, SMSAs, and Selected Places.- Pt. 34: New York State
- Volume 2
Metropolitan Housing Characteristics, HC(2).
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.2, pt.1-248 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of 248 reports -- one for each standard metropolitan statistical area (SMSA), presenting data for the SMSA and its central cities and places of 50,000 inhabitants or more, as well as a national summary report.
Each report contains a State map showing Counties, SMSAs, and Selected Places.- Pt. 149: New York SMSA
- Volume 3
Block Statistics, HC(3).
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.3, pt.1-278 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of 278 reports -- one for each urbanized area showing data for individual blocks on selected housing and population subjects. The series also includes reports for the communities outside urbanized areas which have contracted with the Census Bureau to provide block statistics from the 1970 census.
Block maps and index sheets are filed in slipcases in the back of each bound volume.- Pt. 159: New York Metropolitan Area
Maps (1-137) in filing cabinet - Pt. 163: Selected Areas in New York State
Maps (1-90) in filing cabinet
- Pt. 159: New York Metropolitan Area
- Volume 4
Components of Inventory Change.
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.4, pt.1-16 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series contains data on the disposition of the 1960 inventory and the source of the 1970 inventory, such as new construction, conversion, mergers, demolitions, and other additions and losses. There are separate reports for the U.S. and 15 selected SMSAs.- Pt. 11: New York SMSA
- Volume 5
Residential Finance.
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.5 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This volume presents data regarding the financing of privately owned nonfarm residential properties. - Volume 6
Plumbing Facilities and Estimates of Dilapidated Housing.
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.6 - Lehman Non-Circulating - Volume 7
Subject Reports.
HA 201 1970 .A6 v.7, pt.1-9 - Lehman Non-Circulating
Each volume in this report concentrates on a particular subject. Detailed information and cross-classifications are generally provided on a national and regional level; in some reports, data for States or SMSAs are also shown.- Pt.1: Housing Characteristics by Household Composition
- Pt.2: Housing of Senior Citizens
- Pt.3: Space Utilization of the Housing Inventory
- Pt.4: Structural Characteristics of the Housing Inventory
- Pt.5: Mover Households
- Pt.6: Mobile Homes
- Pt.7: Geographic Aspects of the Housing Inventory
- Pt.8: Cooperative and Condominium Housing
- Pt.9: Housing of Selected Racial Groups
- Housing Supplementary Report, HC(S1).
HA 201 1970 .A6 Suppl.1-20 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of reports on a variety of topics, mostly on a national level.- 1: Summary Housing Characteristics for the U.S., Regions, Divisions, and States
- 2: General Housing Characteristics for the U.S., by Metropolitan and Urban-Rural Residence
- 3: Characteristics of Occupied Housing Units by Household Composition and Tenure, for the U.S.
- 4: Characteristics of Occupied Housing Units by Plumbing Facilities and Tenure, for the U.S.
- 5: Characteristics of Occupied Housing Units by Rooms and Tenure, for the U.S.
- 6: Detailed Housing Characteristics for the U.S., Regions, Divisions, and States
- 7: Occupied Rural Housing Units and Rural Population by Farm-Nonfarm Residence for Counties in the U.S.
- 8: Characteristics of Occupied Housing Units by Year Structure Built and Tenure, for the U.S.
- 9: Characteristics of Occupied Housing Units by Units in Structure and Tenure, for the U.S.
- 10: Income in 1969 of Families and Primary Individuals in Owner and Renter Occupied Housing Units for the U.S.
- 11: Year Household Moved Into Unit for the U.S.
- 12/corr.: Plumbing Facilities by Persons Per Room and by Income in 1969 of Families and Primary Individuals, for the U.S.
- 13: Characteristics of Second Home Owners for the U.S.
- 14: Characteristics of Spanish Language Households for the U.S.
- 15: Value and Rent by Household Composition for the U.S.
- 16: Graphic Summary of the 1970 Housing Census
- 17: Real Estate Tax Data for Homeowner Properties for the U.S. and Regions
- 18: Holder of First Mortgages (on Homeowner Properties) Made in 1967-1071 and in 1957-1960, for the U.S.
- 19: Income of Homeowners of Mortgaged Properties Acquired in 1967-1971, for the U.S.
- 20: Purchase Price of Mortgaged Homeowner Properties Acquired in 1967-1971, for the U.S.
Joint Population-Housing Reports
- Census Tract Reports, PHC(1).
HA 201 1970 .A5, v.1, pt.1-241 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series contains one report for each SMSA, showing data for most of the population and housing subjects included in the 1970 census.Tract maps are bound in volumes. Additional tract maps for the NYC boroughs are filed in the Lehman Map Room.- V.145: New York SMSA
- General Demographic Trends for Metropolitan Areas, 1960 to 1970, PHC(2).
HA 201 1970 .A5, v.2, pt.1-52 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of one report for each State and the District of Columbia, as well as a national summary report, presenting statistics for the State and for SMSAs and their central cities and constituent counties.- V.34: New York State
- Employment Profiles of Selected Low-Income Areas, PHC(3).
HA 201 1970 .A5, v.3, pt.1-76 - Lehman Non-Circulating
This series consists of 76 reports, each presenting statistics on the social and economic characteristics of the residents of a particular low-income neighborhood in 51 cities and seven rural poverty areas. New York:- V.2: New York, NY -- All Survey Areas
- V.3: New York, NY -- Puerto Rican Population of Survey Areas
- V.4: Manhattan Borough, New York City -- Summary
- V.5: Manhattan Borough, New York City -- Area I
- V.6: Manhattan Borough, New York City -- Area II
- V.7: Brooklyn Borough, New York City -- Summary
- V.8: Brooklyn Borough, New York City -- Area I
- V.9: Brooklyn Borough, New York City -- Area II
- V.10: Brooklyn Borough, New York City -- Area III
- V.11: Bronx Borough, New York City
- V.12: Queens Borough, New York City
Other Reports
- Index to Selected 1970 Census Reports.
HA 201 1970 - Lehman - Index to Selected 1970 Census Reports.
HA 201 1970 .A5 IN 2 - Lehman
Publications About the 1970 Census
The Bureau of the Census published two series of publications about the 1970 Census of Population and Housing -- Evaluation Reports and Procedural Reports. Volumes in both series are useful to researchers interested in the census process itself.
The Bureau of the Census also published another series, Data Access Descriptions, some of which relate specifically to data collection in the 1970 census. The volumes which contain such content are listed below.
Evaluation Reports, PHC(E)
- The Quality of Residential Geographic Coding
C 3.223/16:970/1 - U.S. Government Documents - Tests of Birth Registration Completeness, 1964 to 1968
C 3.223/16:970/2 - U.S. Government Documents - Results and Analysis of the Experimental Mail Extension Test
C 3.223/16:970/3 - U.S. Government Documents
HA 37 .U52 1970d - Offsite - Estimates of Coverage of Population by Sex, Race, and Age: Demographic Analysis
C 3.223/16:970/4 - U.S. Government Documents - The Coverage of Housing in the 1970 Census
C 3.223/16:970/5 - U.S. Government Documents
HD 7293 .A5 1973d - Offsite - Effect of Special Procedures to Improve Coverage in the 1970 Census
C 3.223/16:970/6 - U.S. Government Documents - The Medicare Record Check: an Evaluation of the Coverage of Persons 65 Years of Age and Over in the 1970 Census
C 3.223/16:970/7 - U.S. Government Documents - Coding Performance in the 1970 Census
C 3.223/16:970/8 - U.S. Government Documents - Accuracy of Data for Selected Population Characteristics as Measured by Reinterviews
C 3.223/16:970/9 - U.S. Government Documents - Accuracy of Data for Selected Housing Characteristics as Measured by Reinterviews
C 3.223/16:970/10 - U.S. Government Documents - Accuracy of Data for Selected Population Characteristics as Measured by the 1970 CPS-Census Match
C 3.223/16:970/11 - U.S. Government Documents - The Employer Record Check
C 3.223/16:970/12 - U.S. Government Documents - Enumerator Variance in the 1970 Census
C 3.223/16:970/13 - U.S. Government Documents
Procedural Reports, PHC(R)
- Procedural History
HA 201 1970 .A5 PHC(R)-1 - Lehman - Data-Collection Forms and Procedures
HA 201 1970 .A5 PHC(R)-2 - Lehman
Includes copies of all forms and questionnaires, including the short, 15-percent long, and 5-percent long questionnaires. - Geographic Identification Code Scheme
C 3.223/13-2:970/1-4 - U.S. Government Documents - Surveys of Components of Inventory Change & Residential Finance: Principal Data-Collection Forms and Procedures
HA 201 1970 .A5 F76/2 - Lehman
Data Access Descriptions, DAD
HA 201 1970 [no.] - Lehman Non-Circulating
- 13: First Count Summary Tapes from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing (no holdings)
- 14: Items Contained in the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 15: Contract Block Statistics Program
- 16: Fourth Count Summary Tapes from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 17: Printed Reports from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 18: General Information About Summary Tapes
- 19: Printed Reports from the 1970 Census -- Housing, Volume II
- 20: Availability of Place of Work Data in the 1970 Census
- 22: Fourth Count Summary Tapes from the 1970 of Population and Housing
- 23: Fifth Count (ZIP Code) Summary Tapes from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 24: Public Use Samples of Basic Records from the 1960 and 1970 Censuses
- 25: Third Count (Block) Summary Tapes from the 1970 of Population and Housing
- 26: Second Count Summary Tapes from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 27: Printed Reports from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 28: Delineation of Problem Housing Areas
- 29: Low-Income Data from the 1970 Census
- 30: Sixth Count Summary Tapes from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 32: Subject Reports from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 33/2: 1970 Census Geography: Concepts, Products, and Programs (Revised, May 1979)
- 36: 1970 Census Fifth Count for Zip Codes, Counties, and Smaller Areas
- 39/2: Reports Related to the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
- 41: Data on the Spanish Ancestry Population Available from the 1970 Census of Population and Housing
