The 1954 Census of Business was issued in six volumes. Detailed holdings are described below.
Volumes which contain tables specifically about New York are highlighted.
1954 Census of Business
Retail Trade
- Volume 1
Retail Trade. Summary Statistics.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Contains seven chapters: U.S. Summary, Sales Size, Employment Size, Single Units and Multiunits, Legal Form of Organization, Miscellaneous, Alaska and Hawaii. Each of the first six chapters includes tables by state and Standard Metropolitan Area. - Volume 2
Retail Trade. Area Statistics. 2 pts.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Includes maps of Standard Metropolitan Areas: 1954, Standard Metropolitan Areas in the Northeastern part of the U.S.- Pt. 1: U.S. Summary & Alabama-Mississippi
- Pt. 2: Missouri-Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii
Wholesale Trade
- Volume 3
Wholesale Trade. Summary Statistics.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Contains eleven chapters: U.S. Summary; Size of Establishment or Firm; Credit, Receivables, Bad-Debt Losses; Sales by Class of Customer; Warehouse and Cold Storage Space; Commodity Line Sales; Legal Form of Organization; Petroleum Bulk Plants & Terminals; Miscellaneous; Alaska & Hawaii; Public Warehouses. - Volume 4
Wholesale Trade. Area Statistics.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Includes maps of Standard Metropolitan Areas: 1954, Standard Metropolitan Areas in the Northeastern part of the U.S.
Selected Service Trades
- Volume 5
Selected Service Trades. Summary Statistics.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Contains ten chapters: U.S. Summary; Receipts Size; Employment Size; Single Units & Multiunits; Legal Form of Organization; Hotels, Motels & Tourist Courts; Power Laundries, Cleaning & Dyeing Plants, & Related Services; Motion Pictures; Miscellaneous; Alaska & Hawaii.Includes maps of Standard Metropolitan Areas: 1954, Standard Metropolitan Areas in the Northeastern part of the U.S. - Volume 6
Selected Service Trades. Area Statistics. 2 pts.
C 3.202/2:954 - U.S. Government Documents
HF 3007 .Un31 1954 - Offsite
Includes maps of Standard Metropolitan Areas: 1954, Standard Metropolitan Areas in the Northeastern part of the U.S., and a map of each State showing counties and standard metropolitan areas.- Pt. 1: U.S. Summary & Alabama-Mississippi
- Pt. 2: Missouri-Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii
Related Publications
The Bureau of the Census also issued:
- Central Business District Bulletins. 96 pts.
HF 3007 .Un3 1954 - Business
Pt. 49: New York, NY
Pt. 94: Brooklyn, NY
Central business district statistics were published in a series of separate bulletins comprising a report for each of 95 selected large cities. - Puerto Rico Census of Business, 1954: Retail, Wholesale, and Selected Service Trades.
HF 3341 .Un3 1954 - Business