Introduction | Code of Federal Regulations | Federal Register | Other Regulatory Information
U.S. Government Documents Federal Guides
The Regulatory Process
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research on the U.S. Federal regulatory process. Most of the print items included are available in Lehman Library.
Introduction
When Congress passes a law, often it cannot describe every detail of the implementation of that law. Instead, it authorizes various executive departments and agencies to write the rules and regulations which implement the intent of the law. Congress will describe the broad area of regulatory mandate, but the executive agency is responsible for filling in the specifics and administering the regulations, via the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and other administrative decisions.
For a more detailed description and background of the Federal Register and CFR, consult A Research Guide to the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, prepared by Richard J. McKinney for the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
Another detailed, useful tool is Tracking Current Federal Legislation and Regulations: a Guide to Basic Sources, prepared by the Congressional Research Service, updated 2010. Also of interest: Analysis of an Estimate of the Total Costs of Federal Regulations, CRS, April 2011.
- Reginfo.gov
The Regulatory Information Service Center has established the REGINFO.GOV site to assist users who want to find information about Federal, state, and local regulation. The Center is a Federal Government office located in the General Services Administration, with responsibility for gathering and publishing information on Federal regulations. The Center provides this information to the President, Congress, agency officials, and the general public to help them better understand and manage the regulatory process.- The Reg Map is a chart that gives a detailed overview of the "informal rulemaking" process.
- Regulations.gov
Regulations.gov is the U.S. Government web site that makes it easier for you to participate in Federal rulemaking - an essential part of the American democratic process. On this site, you can find, review, and submit comments on Federal documents that are open for comment and published in the Federal Register, the Government's legal newspaper. You can also sign up for email alerts and subscribe to RSS feeds.
The Code of Federal Regulations
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Annual. 1936-
Print version not available.
S A.3 C642 - Law Microfiche (1938-present)
Online versions: 1996-present, 1936-present
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
- About the Code of Federal Regulations, from the Government Printing Office.
- e-CFR: Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a prototype of a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The e-CFR prototype is a demonstration project. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. - List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA). Monthly. 1966-
Call Number: AE 2.106/2-2:
The LSA lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title.
The Federal Register
- Federal Register. Daily. 1936-
Print version not available.353 Un43 - Offsite (1939-1959)
AA 158 - Law Microfilm (1950-1983)
FN 3280 - Offsite Microfilm (1979-1994)
Online versions: 1994-present, 1936-present
The Federal Register records the daily activities of executive agencies, including rulings, hearings on proposed regulations, changes in regulations, grant availability and awards, Presidential proclamations, nomenclature changes, and other notices; it also includes a list of CFR sections affected at the end. The Unified Agenda is a wonderful tool for identifying future regulatory actions, by the issuing agency, topic or CFR part affected. Executive Order 12866 and the Regulatory Flexibility Act (5 U.S.C. 602) require that agencies publish semi-annual regulatory agendas describing regulatory actions they are developing. The agendas are published in the Federal Register, usually during April and October each year.
- About the Federal Register, from the National Archives and Records Administration.
- About the Federal Register, from the National Archives and Records Administration.
- The Federal Register: What It Is and How to Use It.
AE 2.108:F31/992 - Offsite
- CIS Federal Register Index. Weekly. 1984-1995.
KF 70 .A2 - Lehman
- The Federal Register Index (1936-present)
Other Regulatory Activity
Although the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations are the primary repositories for federal rules and regulations, many agencies also publish their own regulations separately, which can be more convenient. Additionally, there are certain administrative actions which fall outside the scope of the FR and the CFR. Finally, there are other agencies and research groups which monitor and report on federal regulatory activities.
- Administrative Decisions & Other Actions - By Agency
Provides links by agency to specific regulatory and administrative action web sites, from the University of Virginia Library. - Administrative Decisions & Other Actions - By Subject
Provides links by subject to agency-specific regulatory and administrative action web sites, from the University of Virginia Library. - Administrative Decisions Under Employer Sanctions, Unfair Immigration-Related Employment Practices and Civil Penalty Document Fraud Laws of the United States, 1988-present
- Administrative Decisions under Immigration and Nationality Laws, 1940-present
- Administrative Conference of the United States. Office of the Chairman.
A Guide to Federal Agency Rulemaking. 2nd ed.
Washington, D.C. : Administrative Conference of the United States, 1991.
Call Number: Y 3.Ad 6:8 R 86/991 - Cato Institute: Regulatory Studies
Cato's regulatory studies program sets forth a market-oriented vision of "regulatory rollback" that relies on the incentive forces of private property rights to create competitive markets and to provide consumer information and protection.
An analysis of the Office of Management and Budget's reports on the benefit-cost test of federal regulations. - Center for Regulatory Effectiveness
The Center for Regulatory Effectiveness (CRE) was established to provide Congress with independent analyses of agency regulations. From this initial organizing concept, CRE has grown into a clearinghouse for methods to improve the federal regulatory process.
- Competitive Enterprise Institute: Regulatory Reform
The Competitive Enterprise Institute is a non-profit public policy organization dedicated to the principles of free enterprise and limited government. It believes that consumers are best helped not by government regulation but by being allowed to make their own choices in a free marketplace.
Ten Thousand Commandments is an annual publication that seeks accountability for the costs of regulatory activity. - Congressional Budget Office: Regulatory Analysis
The CBO examines the fiscal impact of some regulatory actions. - Federal Regulatory Directory. Biennial. 1979/80-
Call Number: JK 901 .F4
Discusses each of the regulatory agencies, with background and process, as well as contact information for individuals responsible for the regulatory process. - FedThread
FedThread is a new way of interacting with the Federal Register. FedThread gives you:
- collaborative annotation: Attach a note to any paragraph of the Federal Register; start a conversation.
- advanced search: Search the Federal Register (back to 2000) on full text, by date, agency, or other fields.
- customized feeds: Turn any search into an RSS or email feed; FedThread notifies you when new items match your search query.
- GAO Federal Rules Database
Pursuant to section 801(a)(2)(A) of title 5, United States Code, the Government Accountability Office provides a report to the standing committees of jurisdiction of both Houses of Congress on major rules proposed by Federal agencies. Copies of these reports are available and can be obtained from this site. A database of information (but not the text) on major rules and on non-major rules for which a report has not been written is also available at this site. - govpulse: the Federal Register at your Fingertips
Govpulse pulls together Federal Register notices by agency, topic, location affected and dates published. You can also search in a variety of ways. - The Mercatus Center Research Area: Regulation, George Washington University
The Center closely monitors regulatory activity on the Federal level, issues regular reports and studies, and files comments on proposed regulations. - OMB Watch: Rulemaking
OMB Watch is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization dedicated to promoting government accountability, citizen participation in public policy decisions, and the use of fiscal and regulatory policy to serve the public interest. - Report to Congress on the Benefits and Costs of Federal Regulations and Unfunded Mandates on State, Local, and Tribal Entities, Office of Management and Budget, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
The Report summarizes estimates by Federal regulatory agencies of the quantified and monetized benefits and costs of major Federal regulations reviewed by OMB over the last ten years. - United States. Atomic Energy Commission.
Reports, Opinions and Decisions of the Atomic Energy Commission with Selected Orders, 1956-1975 - United States. Office of Management and Budget.
Regulatory Matters, includes:- Regulatory Program of the United States Government. Annual. 1986-1992/93
Call Number: PR EX 2.30: - Report to Congress on the Benefits and Costs of Federal Regulations and Unfunded Mandates ...
- Regulatory Program of the United States Government. Annual. 1986-1992/93