Lehman Library does not collect government documents from states other than New York, or cities other than New York City. Some documents from other states and cities may be found in other Columbia libraries, and located through CLIO or the card catalogs.
U.S. Government Documents State & Local Guides
Documents of Other States and Cities
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
- Open States
Open States is a collection of tools that make it possible for citizens to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. Using the site is simple: enter a U.S. address or select a state to start to research bills, review voting records, contact elected officials and more. - Index to Current Urban Documents
Provides the full text of official government publications by city governments and agencies. The starting date varies by municipality; coverage for NYC begins in 2000. - Local and Regional Government Information: How to Find It, How to Use It.
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2005.
Call Number: Z 1223.5.A1 L63 2005
Links to web sites for state and local governments and their publications:
- FindLaw: State Resources
Links for each state, which include the constitution, code, bills, court opinions, and other legal materials. - Municipal Codes Online
- State and Local Government on the Net
- State and Local Officials: from the National Political Index
- State Blue Books: from GODORT
"Blue books" are the official publications which describe state government organizations and agencies. - State Legislatures, State Laws and State Regulations: from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
- State Utility Regulatory Agencies
- StateScape: Policy Tracking and Analysis
Provides: Legislative and regulatory monitoring; Coverage of all 50 states, Puerto Rico, over 2,000 localities and the federal government; Issue analysis and political intelligence; Bill version comparison capabilities.
- StateList: The Electronic Source for State Publication Lists: from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- U.S. States and Territories
The Law Library of Congress maintains this site, which provides links to legal materials for each State and Territory in the U.S., including constitutions, historic documents, branches of state governments, courts, elections commissions, and more.
For information about state and local governments:
- The Book of the States. Annual.
Chicago: Council of State Governments, 1935-
Call Number: JK 2403 .S77
The Book of the States has been the reference tool of choice since 1935, providing relevant, accurate and timely information, answers and comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States. - Council of State Governments
- County and City Data Book. Quadrennial.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1949-2007.
Call Number: HA 202 .Un311 - County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book. Annual.
Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1992-
Call Number: HA 203 .C68 - CQ's State Fact Finder. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 1993-2007.
Call Number: HN 60 .C68 - Dubin, Michael J.
Party Affiliations in the State Legislatures : a Year by Year Summary, 1796-2006.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2007.
Call Number: R328.73 D852 - Dubin, Michael J.
United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1776-1860 : the Official Results by State and County.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2003.
Call Number: R353.9 D85 - Dubin, Michael J.
United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1861-1911 : the Official Results by State and County.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2010. Call Number: JK 2447 .D83 2010 - Education Commission of the States
ECS keeps policymakers on the leading edge of what's happening in the states by gathering, analyzing and disseminating information about current and emerging issues, trends and innovations in state education policy. - Fiscal Policy Report Card on America's Governors: 2010, from the Cato Institute
- Governing: the Magazine of States and Localities. Monthly.
Washington, DC : Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1987-
Call Number: JK 2403 .G68 - International City/County Management Association
- Municipal Year Book: an Authoritative Resume of Activities and Statistical Data of American Cities. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Int. City Management Association, 1934-
Call Number: JS 342 .M925
Preceded by the City Manager Yearbook, 1915-1933. - National Association of Counties
- National Association of State Budget Officers
- Budget Processes in the States
This report is a state-by-state compilation of data on gubernatorial budget authority, budget agency organization and functions, balanced budget requirements and other aspects of the state budget process. It is a significant reference for state budget officers and others interested in the organization and operation of state government. - Fiscal Survey of States
This survey is published jointly with the National Governors Association twice a year in the spring and fall. Narrative analysis of trends and significant developments on the fiscal condition of the states, along with tabular summaries of state general fund revenues, expenditures, and balances are included in the report. It includes both individual and aggregate totals based on states' responses to a survey conducted by NASBO. The spring survey details governors' proposed budgets while the fall survey details enacted budgets. - State Expenditure Report
This annual report examines spending in the functional areas of state budgets: elementary and secondary education, higher education, public assistance, Medicaid, corrections, transportation, and all other. It also includes data on the State Children’s Health Insurance Program and on revenue sources in state general funds. - State Health Expenditure Report
This report provides a perspective of the significance of state health spending within the context of the nation’s provision of personal health care services. As both employers and providers of services, states have felt the demands from rising health care costs. States also have additional expenditures for population health, including an expanded role to protect the public’s safety.
- Budget Processes in the States
- National Association of State Chief Information Officers
NASCIO’s mission is to foster government excellence through quality business practices, information management, and technology policy. - National Center for State Courts
Court Statistics Project
Judicial Salary Tracker - National Conference of State Legislatures
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues. - National Governors' Association
- National Institute on Money in State Politics
The National Institute on Money in State Politics is the only nonpartisan, nonprofit organization revealing the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states. - National League of Cities
- Spectrum : the Journal of State Government. Quarterly.
Lexington, KY : The Council of State Governments, c1992-2005.
Barnard Periodicals - State & Local Government Review. Quarterly.
[Athens, Ga.] Carl Vinson Institute of Government, University of Georgia
Call Number: JK 2403 .S684 - State Fact Sheets
State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, and farm financial indicators for each state in the United States. They are updaated six times a year.
- State Legislative Sourcebook. Biennial.
Topeka, Kan. : Government Research Service, 1985-
Call Number: JK 2495 .S689 - State Legislatures. Monthly.
Denver: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1979-
Call Number: JK 2403 .S76 - State Politics & Policy Quarterly. Monthly.
Champaign, IL : Illinois Legislative Studies Center at the University of Illinois at Springfield : University of Illinois Press, c2001-
Call Number: JK 2403 .S762 - State Rankings : a Statistical View of the 50 United States. Annual.
Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno Corp., c1990-
Call Number: HA 203 .U171 - State Stats
State Stats, from CQ Press, provides comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. When you find data you're interested in explore it using the mapping and graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel. - States of Disclosure
The Center for Public Integrity's 50-state ranking of standards for legislators. - StateAction.org
A site created by the Center for Policy Alternatives, it presents issues and actions in the states. - Stateline.org
"Your source for news on the states" from the Pew Center on the States.
- StateMaster.com
StateMaster.com is a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. StateMaster.com goes beyond the numbers to provide you with visualization technology like pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots. - U.S. Conference of Mayors
- The Urban Institute
A nonpartisan economic and social policy research center- National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership
The National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership (NNIP) is a collaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood-level information systems in local policymaking and community building. - State Database
This database includes information on the fifty states and the District of Columbia in areas including income security, health, child well-being, demographic, fiscal and political conditions, and social services.
- National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership