Art & Material Culture


ENGAGING DIGITAL TIBET

Engaging Digital Tibet

Engaging Digital Tibet is a project created by the Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning, working together with Professor Gray Tuttle, to enhance the teaching and learning of Tibetan material history. The site contains an advanced, searchable repository of Tibetan objects, as well as unique features for creating and sharing descriptive annotations about the objects and their significant parts, allowing for a collaborative decoding and description of Tibetan culture itself.

ONLINE RESOURCES

Himalayan Art Resources

Online educational resource with over 25,000 images of Tibetan tankas from collections worldwide, searchable by image, data, and lineage, as well as links to other Tibetan art sites. Articles by Tulku Thondup, Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche, Peter Della Santina, David Jackson and Moke Mokotoff supplement the images. Maintained by the Shelley & Donald Rubin Foundation in collaboration with Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center and Wisdom Publications.  An excellent online resource for traditional Tibetan art.

The Huntington Archive
John C. and Susan L. Huntington online photographic archive of Buddhist and Asian art, including more than 30,000 images.

ExploreArt

This website, now hosted by the Rubin Museum of Himalayan Art, brings an innovative experience to use interactive web technologies and elegant design to experience art and understand its role in expressing the human experience.

Exploring the Mandala
Anything related the Mandala, including many online resouces      

Indian and Tibetan Buddhist Art (relocated)

Images and information on the early art and archaeology of the western Himalayas, curated by Christian Luczanits.  This material was hosted by Vienna University until December 2013.

 

MUSEUMS

Rubin Museum of Art
List of educational resources for the study of Himalayan art.  Includes the Educational Interactive Library, a site for exploring thangka and other artistic images by theme, time, and place.  An excellent online resource for traditional Tibetan art.

Jacques Marchais Museum of Tibetan Art
Built in 1945, the museum building is the earliest Himalayan style architecture in the United States.

Newark Museum, Tibetan Collection Exhibitions
Newark Museum, Tibetan Collection Exhibitions.

The State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
Article about the Central Asian art exhibit at the Hermitage museum, reopened in February 2013.

National Museum of Bhutan

 

GALLERY WEBSITES (contemporary and classical)

INDIVIDUAL ARTISTS

A preliminary listing of the websites of individual Tibetan artists. To recommend additional sites, please e-mail lh2112@columbia.edu.

Gongkar Gyatso