Library Research Guide
This research guide identifies some of the major databases, printed works, and library services that support research in East Asian Studies at Columbia University. For more detailed information about relevant print and electronic resources, please consult CLIO, Columbia's online catalog. For information about Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Tibetan Studies in the original languages, please consult the Starr East Asian Library website. Keep in mind that this guide is meant only as a starting point, and the resources listed are by no means exhaustive, but rather only a minute selection from all the resources available to Columbia affiliates.
Finding Books & Archives
- CLIO The online catalog provides bibliographic information for books, journals, and other materials in Columbia University's library collections, except those of the Law and Teachers College libraries. Law and TC each have their own catalog, called Pegasus and Educat respectively.
- Borrow Direct Borrow Direct enables Columbia University students, faculty, and staff with library borrowing privileges and active e-mail accounts to request material from Brown University, the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, and Yale University. Note that, except for CRL materials, this service focuses on books only. For other materials, please use Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- WorldCat The largest online public access catalog in the world, with bibliographic records from more than 10,000 institutions worldwide. Many of the materials listed in this catalog are available through Interlibrary Loan. Unlike Borrow Direct, ILL offers access to journal articles, as well as to books and other formats.
- Proquest Digital Dissertations Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present. In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) The single most important bibliographic database for all Asian Studies. This is a citation service only, and does not contain full-text. To find the full text use the citation information to locate the source publications in a library catalog such as CLIO. BAS covers the years 1970-present. For earlier coverage in print format only, see:
- Cumulative bibliography of Asian Studies: Author bibliography. Coverage:1941/1965-1966/1970 Location: East Asian Ref. Z3001 .C93
- Cumulative bibliography of Asian Studies: Subject bibliography. Coverage:1941/1965-1966/1970 Location: East Asian Ref. Z3001 .C94
- Custom Search Allows you to search multiple databases in pre-selected quicksets, choose specific databases within a subject area, or log in to create your own customized sets.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Full-text archive of hundreds of journals in a broad range of subjects.
- International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ) Extensive, multilingual indexing of humanities and social sciences.
- ISI Web of Knowledge (aka Web of Science) Indexing covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Proquest Fulltext articles from several thousand magazines, journals, newspapers, etc. covering many subjects.
- EBSCOhost Research Databases Interface for searching across all subscription EBSCO databases.
- Ingenta.com: The Global Research Gateway Full-text journal content online, including many important East Asian studies titles. This database also offers a current awareness alerting service. Note that in order to use the subsidized article delivery service you must set up a profile.
For a more subject-specific approach, try Key Resources for East Asian Studies
Important Electronic Journal Collections
The following two collections include many journals relevant to East Asian Studies:
- JSTOR Provides full-text content from core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including many East Asian studies titles. Coverage is from the earliest issues of a journal to within approximately 5 years of current pubication.
- Project Muse Full-text content of a large selection of scholarly journals, many relevant to East Asian studies, with particularly strong coverage of articles and reviews published after 2000.