Finding Articles in Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers


Start out with

  • EBSCOhost Research Databases
    Find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of subject areas: history, social sciences, gender studies, art, science, business, education, and music. Allows you to cross-search more than sixty databases at once. Especially strong as a source for academic journal articles. A fair number of e-books are also included.

  • Black Studies Center
    Type of Resource
    : Full-text components, plus an index providing access to full text for selected items
    Black Studies Center combines three resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. This fully cross-searchable database includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.

Other Key Resources for American and African-American History, Culture, or Current Events

  • Alt-Press Watch
    Type of Resource
    : Full-text database
    Coverage: Varies by title
    Covers "alternative, radical, and left" periodicals in North America.
  • America: History and Life
    Type of Resource
    : Index, with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: 1955 onwards; updated monthly
    Covers writings about the history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides brief summaries of journal articles and book articles, as well as listings for book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.
  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Type of Resource: Index with excerpts; includes full text for many reviews
    Coverage: 1983 onwards
    Book Review Digest Plus brings together the data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Type of Resource: Full-text database
    Coverage: varies by title, with some titles covered back to 1960; updated monthly
    Provides access to "newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press." At least 200 publications are covered here. Searchable in English and Spanish.
  • Factiva
    A powerful search tool providing access to a vast range of full text global and national news sources. For easy guided searching options, select "Search Form" option from upper left side of screen.
  • Historical Black Newspapers
    Type of Resource: Full text and full image
    Coverage: varies by title
    A subset of Proquest Historical Newspapers (see listing below). Full-text and full-image access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988),  Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
    NOTE: To include other historical databases in your search, or to remove one or more of the above newspapers from your search: Click on "Select Multiple Databases" in the main search screen, scroll down to "Historical Databases," and select or de-select items as desired.
  • Index to Black Periodicals
    Type of Resource
    : Printed Index
    Coverage: 1950 onwards, under various titles; annual
    Location: BUTLER REFERENCE
    Call Number: R050 AIn2111
    Covers "African-American periodicals of general and scholarly interest."
  • Kaiser Index to Black Resources 1948-1986 from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. (5 vols.)
    Type of Resource: Printed Index
    Coverage: 1948-1986
    Location: BUTLER REFERENCE
    Call Number: R016.3268 K123
  • LexisNexis
    Type of Resource: Full-text database
    Coverage: Varies by title, generally mid-1980s onwards; updated daily
    A wide-ranging full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
  • PAIS International  &  PAIS Archive
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: 1915 onwards; updated monthly
    The "PAIS International" database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.  It includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. The "PAIS Archive" database (which is searched simultaneously with "PAIS International")  comprises a retrospective conversion of the "PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin," volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. The "PAIS Archive" database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled public and social policy issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources.
  • Proquest
    Type of Resource: Full-text database
    Coverage: Varies by title
    Covers a wide range of newspapers and periodicals. Full-text access is provided for the majority of titles covered. 
  • Proquest Historical Newspapers
    Type of Resource: Full text and full image
    Coverage: varies by title
    Full-text and full-image articles, dating back to their first issues, for the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Boston Globe (1872-1927), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Hartford Courant (1764-1985), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2006), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), The Washington Post (1877-1993). Also includes British newspapers The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).  
    NOTE: To limit your search to one or more of the above newspapers: Click on "Select Multiple Databases" in the main search screen, scroll down to "Historical Databases," and de-select items as desired.
  • Race Relations Abstracts
    Type of Resource: Index, with full-text access for selected articles.
    "Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies."--About the database.
  • Readers Guide Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with full text for many titles beginning 1994
    Coverage: 1983 to the present
    Brief summaries of articles from popular and general-interest periodicals.
  • Readers Guide Retrospective
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: 1890-1982
    Provides citations to articles in popular and general-interest periodicals.

Branching Out in Your Research

Depending on the nature of your African-American Studies research, there is a wide range of additional resources that may be useful to you.

In order to assist you in branching out in your research, some of the core databases in various disciplinary areas are listed below. For help in identifying further resources, consult the appropriate Subject Guide.

  • ABI Inform Global
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts or full-text for selected titles
    Coverage: 1971 onwards
    Indexes “1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.”
  • Art Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with full-text for selected titles beginning 1997
    Coverage: 1984 onwards; updated monthly
    Indexes art periodicals in English and other Western European languages. Subjects covered include: archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
  • ATLAReligion
    Type of Resource: Index, with accessible full text for selected items
    The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The database includes the contents of ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT) and the Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Type of Resource: Index, with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: Selective coverage: 1741 to date; updated weekly.
    Provides citations to articles in approximately 400 current and over 1000 retrospective architectural and related periodicals with primary emphasis on architectural design and history but coverage as well of archaeology, landscape architecture, interior design, furniture and decorative arts, garden history, historic preservation, city planning, urban design, real estate development and environmental studies.
  • ERIC
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts; and with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: 1966 onwards; updated monthly
    The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
  • GenderWatch
    Primarily a full text database, with some abstracts. Publications include scholarly journals (among them Critical Matrix, Hypatia, Columbia Journal of Gender & Law), magazines (the Advocate, Hurricane Alice, Lillith), newspapers (off our backs), newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports. Coverage extends from 1970 (off our backs) to the present, with most material published since 1990.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts; and with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: 1954 onwards
    Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), as represented in more than 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, books, and dissertations.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with full text for selected titles beginning 1995
    Coverage: 1984 onwards; updated monthly
    Broadly ranging coverage of articles in a variety of humanities fields, including: Archaeology, Global Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.  Types of articles covered include: feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
  • International Film Archive
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: International Index to Film: 1972 - present. International Index to TV: 1979 - present.
    International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF): Holdings of Archives, List of Members, and Bibliography of Publications. Bibliography of Latin American Cinema
  • LGBT Life
    Contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. Indexes important historical GLBT publications, including ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, The Advocate, Christopher Street, Body Politic, The New York Native, and much more. Includes some monographs and reference books, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, and speeches.
  • MEDLINE
    Indexes biomedical literature. Areas covered include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health,anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: 1963 onwards
    In the areas of literature, linguistics, language, and folklore, provides international listings of journal articles, book articles, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
  • The Music Index
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: 1979 onward
    Covers topics in "every aspect of classical and popular" music as reflected in more than 670 international music periodicals.
  • PsycINFO
    Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles and English language books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts; full text for selected titles 1995 onwards
    Coverage: 1980 onwards
    Provides listings of, or access to, articles from a wide range of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: “Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Global Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.”
  • Social Work Abstracts
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts
    Coverage: 1977 onwards
    Contains more than 45,000 listings for articles “from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.”
  • SocINDEX with full text
    "SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others."--About the database.
  • The TLS historical archive, 1902-2005
    Type of Resource: Full text and full page image Coverage: 1902-2005A fully searchable resource containing every page of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2005.NOTE: for listings of articles appearing in TLS subsequent to 2005, see Humanities Full Text.