Biography


Start out with

  • American National Biography (ANB Online)
    Type of Resource:
    Full text
    Coverage: Limited to deceased persons; updated quarterly
    "Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation." Based on the American National Biography (ANB, 24 volumes, 1999) and its supplements, American National Biography (ANB Online) is "updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities."
  • Biography in Context
    Type of Resource
    : Full text
    Provides biographical information on over 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 427,000 biographies from over 960 volumes of more than 135 reference sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more. Also provides access to more than 538,000 full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines as well as more than 24,700 images.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Type of Resource:
    Full text
    Wide-ranging collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features biographies and other articles from Oxford's reference works; primary sources; images; maps; timelines; and charts and tables. The core content includes: Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience; the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; Black Women in America; the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; and the ongoing project African American National Biography.

Other Significant Resources

  • African American Biographical Database: AABD
    Type of Resource
    : Full text
    Contains biographies and narratives of thousands of African Americans, spanning the years 1790-1950. Draws its initial content from the Chadwyck-Healey, Inc. publication: Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950.
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index
    Type of Resource
    : Index
    Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 16.6 million.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography complete online
    Type of Resource
    : Full text 
    Provides literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, for more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics. Illustrations included.
  • The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. [Permanent series] (New York : J.T. White, 1891-1984)
    Location: Butler Reference, 301 Butler
    Call Number: R041 N21
    Location Has: v.1-14,v.15a-N63
    The National Cyclopaedia aimed to include "biographical sketches of all persons prominently connected with the history of the nation," and to be "the biographical authority of the century" (Introduction). It includes biographies of persons living, as well as of persons deceased, at the time individual volumes were published. Noteworthy for providing coverage of many individuals who may not be found in the American National Biography or other sources. Entries are not in alphabetical order. Consult either the INDEX volume (shelved after vol. N63) or  Biography and Genealogy Master Index, each of which indexes the full set.
  • World Biographical Information System and
    American Biographical Archive &
    American Biographical Archive, Series II
    Location
    : Butler Reference Room 310, Alcove 1
    Call Numbers: MICFICHE FX3 6491 &  MICFICHE FX3 6911
    World Biographical Information System
    is a database that contains citations to biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide.  American Biographical Archive and American Biographical Archive, Series II, are two of the microfiche sets that are indexed by World Biographical Information System. Together, these two microfiche sets provide biographical entries regarding more than 488,000 Americans as drawn from 502 reference works. World Biographical Information System will enable you to locate biographical entries within the American Biographical Archive microfiche sets. The World Biographical Information System can also be used independently of the microfiche, since it provides basic biographical information, such as birth date, death date, and profession. The American Biographical Archive microfiche sets can be complex to use. You may want to ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.