- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive (Accuweather/AP)
Associated Press archive of over 4.6 million photographs from 1826 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
- Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922: from the Library Company of Philadelphia (Readex)
"Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource provides researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century." (from publisher's description)
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of personal accounts written between 1855 and 1875 that deal with some aspect of the Civil War, related events preceding or following it, or the impact of these on American life. Includes both previously published materials (memoirs, letters, diaries, and diary excerpts) and previously unpublished materials.
- American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 3,149 titles, equalling approximately 766 hours.
- American Memory (Library of Congress)
“American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.” (from publisher's description)
- American Song (Alexander Street Press)
"American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000 newly released tracks. (from publisher's description)
- The American West: sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago (Adam Matthew Digital)
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centres and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
- America's Historical Imprints (Readex)
Provides access to "more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. Featuring extensive indexing and full bibliographic information, they together illuminate more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life." Includes Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819. (from publisher's description)
- Archive of Americana (Readex)
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, seriesI; Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; America's historical newspapers; and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980.
- Associated Press collections online (Gale, Cengage Learning)
"A publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide." Explores "the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more..." (from publisher's description)
- Black Drama, Second Edition : African, African American, and Diaspora, 1850 to Present (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of Black drama from Africa, North America, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Includes selected playbills, production photographs, and ephemera.
- Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)
Contains more than 1,200 sources with more than 1,000 authors, "covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material." (from publisher's description)
- Declassified Documents Reference System (Gale Cengage)
Full text and full page image for declassified documents from various U.S. government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. The documents included are those obtained by presidential libraries in response to researchers' requests since 1982. More than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, are included.
- Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Currently includes seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)
Full-text early accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America. The accounts included here cover events taking place between 1534 and 1860.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (Gale Cengage)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- Gale Artemis : primary sources (Gale, Cengage Learning)
Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search an enormous range of source materials from the 16th through the 20th centuries. Includes the following databases in a single search platform: Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples: North America; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online. (acquired March 2014)
- Global Commodities : Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (Adam Matthew Digital)
Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
- The HistoryMakers : Black Studies Center (ProQuest)
An archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans who have shaped modern history. The interview videos are accessible through various browse lists, and through keyword-searchable transcripts.
- Indigenous peoples--North America (Gale, Cengage Learning)
"The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.. . . [It] provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada." (from publisher's description)
- Literature Online: The Home of Literature and Criticism (LION)
(ProQuest / Chadwyck Healey)
Includes more than 343,000 works of English, American, African American and Canadian poetry. Also includes the full text of over 325 literature journals and a digital edition of the Heinemann print series African Writers Series.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
“A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.”
- The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale, Cengage Learning)
"A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Now includes nine in-depth collections -- Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Europe and Africa; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Photography; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks. (Acquired beginning June 2012; parts 5 - 8 added June 2013; parts 9 - 12 being added in 2014)
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's personal writings from colonial times to 1950: includes diaries, diary excerpts, and letters from published sources as well as from previously unpublished sources. Memoirs judged to be of particular value are also included.
- ProQuest history vault. Plantations
"Drawn from major repositories throughout the South, this module consists of two major series: Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration." (from publisher's description)
- ProQuest history vault. Slavery and the law
Includes state slavery statutes; judicial cases; and petitions to state legislatures and southern county courts.
- ProQuest history vault. Vietnam War and American foreign policy, 1960-1975
Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Collections also highlight all of the most important foreign policy issues facing the United States between 1960 and 1975.
- Public Health Research Guide (Health Sciences Library, Columbia University Medical Center)
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery : A Transnational Archive (Gale Cengage)
Over five million cross-searchable pages. "Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions." (from publisher's description)
". . . A discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process." (from publisher's description)
See also: American History & American Studies : Sources