Sources


AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive  (Accuweather/AP)
Associated Press archive of over 4.6 million photographs from 1826 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.

African American Song
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. This release features some 16,000 tracks of great historical recordings from Document Records.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
A collection of personal accounts written between 1855 and 1875 that deal with some aspect of the Civil War, related events preceding or following it, or the impact of these on American life.  Includes both previously published materials (memoirs, letters, diaries, and diary excerpts) and previously unpublished materials.

American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 3,149 titles, equalling approximately 766 hours.

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
“A gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.” Provided by the Library of Congress.

Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, seriesI; Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;  America's historical newspapers; and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980.

Black Drama 1850 to Present
A collection of Black drama from Africa, North America, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Includes selected playbills, production photographs, and ephemera.

Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.

Declassified Documents Reference System
Full text and full page image for declassified documents from various U.S. government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. The documents included are those obtained by presidential libraries in response to researchers' requests since 1982. More than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, are included.

Documenting the American South
Currently includes seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
A full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American Bibliography of Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59). Upon completion, Evans Digital Edition will include more than 36,000 works published in America from 1639-1800. Covers a wide range of printed genres, including advertisements, ballads, broadsides, cookbooks, grammars, maps, memoirs, novels, prayer books, prospectuses, sermons, songs, textbooks, trade catalogues, and travel literature.

Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text access to 36,000 American books pamphlets, broadsides, and other print genres published 1801-1819. This is a full digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819, which was itself based on the American Bibliography of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Full-text early accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America. The accounts included here cover events taking place between 1534 and 1860.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

Electronic Text Center: English Online Resources: Subject: African American (University of Virginia)
A substantial collection of texts by and about African Americans.

Gale Artemis : primary sources
Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search: Eighteenth Century Collections Online;Nineteenth Century Collections Online;Indigenous Peoples: North America;Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World;The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926;The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online.

The HistoryMakers  
An archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans who have shaped modern history. The interview videos are accessible through various browse lists, and through keyword-searchable transcripts.

Literature Online: The Home of English and American Literature on the World Wide Web (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Includes: African-American Poetry of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (74 volumes by fifty authors);  and African American Poetry of the Twentieth Century (202 volumes by 78 authors).

Making of America (University of Michigan)
“A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.”

The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.


Nineteenth Century Collections Online
   (Gale Cengage Learning)
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary-source collections of the nineteenth century. It will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. Now includes eight in-depth collections.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's personal writings from colonial times to 1950: includes diaries, diary excerpts, and letters from published sources as well as from previously unpublished sources. Memoirs judged to be of particular value are also included.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery : A Transnational Archive
Full-text documents from the United States, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, and manuscripts. Currently contains Part I, "Debates over Slavery and Abolition." Parts 2-4 are scheduled for release between 2011 and 2013 and will be added to this site as they become available.

See also: American History & American Studies : Sources