Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa


This list includes only "free" publications on the Internet.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z

[Electronic Newspapers Only]

 

 

Abidjan.Net Actualités – El Cajon, California : Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire : Abidjan.Net, Weblogy, 1999-

Un quotidien des actualités de la presse ivoirienne et des liens à la presse internationale.

Addis fortune. – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: Independent News & Media Plc, 1999-

The electronic version of an Ethiopian business news weekly newspaper, with short news highlights and commentary. The archive offers back issues only since mid-December 2008.

Africa renewal. – New York: UN Department of Public Information, 2004-

Formerly known as: Africa Recovery (1996-2004).
Current electronic monthly issue in full; in English or French. There is a link to an archive of some previous issues, but each back issue is only composed of a few excerpts and the table of contents.

Africa review of books. --Tables of contents – Dakar, Senegal: Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA), 2003-

A multidisciplinary journal co-sponsored with the Forum for Social Studies in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and Centre National de Recherche Scientifique et Technique en Anthropologie Sociale et Culturelle (CRASC), based in Oran, Algeria. The issues for 2005 are available online in PDF format.

AfricaUpdate. – New Britain, CT: Central Connecticut State University, 1993-.

AfricaUpdate is the quarterly newsletter of the Central Connecticut State University African Studies Program.

African.Org, The. – Pretoria, South Africa: Institute for Security Studies, 2009-2012.
Powered by PressmartCEASED

Archive of a bi-monthly e-zine on African contemporary affairs, with virtual reading features, published between June 2009 and May 2012.

African communist : The journal of the South African Communist Party. Quarterly. – Johannesburg: The Party, 1995-

Current issue and archive of selected back issues only. Subscription information for print version.

African diaspora archaeology newsletter. – Urbana, Illinois: African Diaspora Archaeology Network, Department of African American Studies and Department of Anthropology, University of Illinois, 2005-

Formerly "African-American Archaeology Newsletter" (1994-2000): This site offers the current quarterly issue and the complete indexed archive of back issues. The newsletter includes scholarly articles on excavations and historical research, new book lists, event announcements, and lists of recently completed American doctoral dissertations on African and African diaspora archaeology.

African executive, The. – Nairobi, Kenya: African Executive, 2005-

An online weekly magazine which offers selected current and recent "news analysis" and opinion on finance, banking, and investment in Africa; with an archive of back issue articles since April 2005.

African journal on conflict resolution. – Mount Edgecombe, Durban, South Africa: ACCORD, 1999--

Current issue, plus links to other publications and activities of ACCORD.

African journal of biotechnology. – Nairobi, Kenya: Academic Journals, Inc, 2002- -- via Bioline International Publications.

A quarterly scientific publication from East Africa: most recent issue and back issues available.

African journal of environmental assessment and management = Revue africaine de gestion et d'ávaluation environnementales. – Accra, Ghana ; Baltimore, MD ; Montréal, Québec, Canada: AJEAM-RAGEE, 2002- via Scientific References Cosmos (Greece) --ISSN: 1438-7890

"AJEAM-RAGÉE is an ["open access"], free, expedited, peer-reviewed international bi-lingual journal of the environmental sciences. SRCosmos provides access to the abstracts online; download full text articles in PDF format.

African journal of neurological sciences. . – Nairobi, Kenya: Pan African Association of Neurological Sciences, 1995- -- via Bioline International Publications.

Published twice per year by the PAANS: the most recent issue and back issues available.

African journal of science and technology. – Nairobi, Kenya: UNESCO ; African Network of Science and Technological Institutions, 2001-

The web site offers tables of contents and online full-text articles; plus links to related information on activities of the network.

African population studies. . – Dakar, Senegal: Union for African Population Studies, 2002- -- via Bioline International Publications.

Published twice per year by the UAPS – in English: the most recent issue and back issues are available.

African Studies Quarterly – Gainesville, Florida: Center for African Studies, University of Florida, 1997-.

Current issues and archive of back issues, plus information on authors and a link to the U. of Fla. African Studies program.

African symposium: a journal of educational research on Africa. – Raleigh, North Carolina: African Educational Research Network (AERN); via North Carolina State University, 2001--

See the "Archives" for the most recent and all of the back issues.

African Voices: A Newsletter on Democratization and Governance in Africa. – Washington, DC: Africa Bureau Information Center, USAID, 1995-.

Issued 3-4 times per year: "African Voices provides a forum for dialogue on democratization in Africa; news and analysis of USAID and its collaborators' activities in civil society; profiles of African NGOs working in civil society; internet resources; publications; and conference highlights."

African writing. – Nottingham, UK: Fonthouse Ltd., 2007- --ISSN 1754-6672

The electronic version of a print journal about contemporary African writing in the English language and writers in Africa and the diaspora, with interviews, short fiction, essays, poetry, reviews, news about forthcoming publications, awards, and events, and useful web links. The archives contain back issues since no. 1 (June/August 2007).

Africana Libraries Newsletter – Bloomington, Indiana : Published for the Africana Librarians' Council by Indiana University Libraries ; East Lansing, Michigan: Michigan State University Libraries, 1997-

"Africana Libraries Newsletter (ALN) is published 2-3 times per year by Indiana University Libraries. It began as a bimonthly at Boston University in 1975 and was continued at Urbana, IL, and then at East Lansing, Michigan, prior to Bloomington, IN. ALN is produced to support the work of the Africana Librarians Council (ALC) of the African Studies Association. It carries reports on meetings of ALC, CAMP (Cooperative Africana Microform Project) and other relevant groups plus other items of interest to Africana librarians and those concerned about information resources about or in Africa."

Afriques : débats, méthodes et terrains d'histoire. – Paris: Centre d'études des mondes africains, Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne, 2010-

"C'est une revue internationale d'histoire des mondes africains, qui privilégie les époques antérieures au XIXe siècle, en dialogue avec d'autres disciplines comme l'archéologie, la philologie, l'anthropologie ou la linguistique."

Afriques, Les : le journal de la finance africaine. – Geneva, Switzerland: Les Afriques Edition et Communications, 2007-

L'équipe africaine de la rédaction et leurs partenaires en Suisse offre sur la Toile les articles sélectionnés de la version imprimée de cet hebdomadaire. Le site comprend les dernières actualités quotidiennes sur l'Afrique surtout pendant les deux derniers mois, une archive des depêches ["Fils d'Info"], et un répertoire des prochains événements tout autour du continent. Il faut s'abonner à cette publication pour accéder au journal en texte intégral en ligne et tous les vieux numéros.  [See also abridged version in English.]

Ahram, Al-. – Cairo, Egypt: Al-Ahram Foundation, 1998--

The current electronic issue in Arabic, with a few previous issues. Or, see: Al-Ahram Hebdo, in French. There is also a link (not always working) to the English weekly version.

Akhbar, Al-. – Nouakchott, Mauritania: Al-Akhbar, 2006-

          Ce site offre la version électronique du journal quotidien, avec un recueil des articles les plus lus et une               complète archive des vieux articles depuis les derniers trois mois.

Akhbar El Yom. – Cairo, Egypt: Muassasat Akhbar al-Yawm, 1952-

The online version of a weekly newspaper in Arabic, current and recent issues only.
See also, the daily version (via AkhbarWay.com).

AIDS Analysis Africa. – Howard Place, South Africa: Whiteside and van Niftrik Publications, via Health Economics and HIV/AIDS Research Division, University of KwaZulu-Natal; Bellville, South Africa: RedRibbon and Metropolitan AIDS Solutions, 1999-2001, 2004-

A bi-monthly electronic newsletter on HIV/AIDS in Africa, with two archive locations: 1999-2001 -and- 2004 to present.

AIM Reports – London ; Maputo : Agencia Informação Moçambique - Mozambique News Agency, 1996- - via Poptel.

Current bi-monthly and recent English language issues only at this mirror site of the official home page in Maputo. There is also an unofficial site produced by AIM Communications Service (via GeoCities) which has a more complete archive of back issues.

AMUCHMA newsletter. – Buffalo, New York: African Mathematical Union Commission on the History of Mathematics, 1987-

The online newsletter of the African Mathematical Union = Union Mathematique Africaine recording the activities and interests of the organization on the African continent.

ANC today. . – Marshalltown, South Africa: African National Congress, 2001-

This newsletter of the African National Congress, the current political party in power in the Republic of South Africa, is published every Friday in HTML or text formats.

Angola Peace Monitor. – South Africa: Action for Southern Africa, 1995-

Current issue and back issues archive. "The Angola Peace Monitor is produced every month by ACTSA - Action for Southern Africa, the successor organisation to the British Anti-Apartheid Movement. It is produced as our contribution towards the work of the Angola Emergency Campaign, which seeks to highlight the need for international action in support of peace and democracy in Angola."

ARISA: Annual review of Islam in South Africa. – Cape Town: Department of Religious Studies, University of Cape Town, 1998-2002.

The archive collection of this UCT journal, along with two other titles: Journal of Islamic Studies and Journal for the Study of Religions. See also: Department of Religious Studies home page.

Arusha Times, The. – Arusha, Tanzania: Arusha Times, 2002--

A weekly English language, online newspaper covering local Tanzanian and East African regional events and concerns. The current issue is available, as well as an archive of back issues since January 2002.

Assabah. – Casablanca, Morocco: Assabah, 2004-

A daily newspaper in Arabic, with the most recent electronic issue in PDF format only.

L'Autre Fraternité. -- Cotonou, Bénin: L'Autre Fraternité, 2006-

La version électronique du hebdomadaire avec une archive des vieux articles sélectionnés depuis 2006.

Awareness times. – Freetown, Sierra Leone: Sylvia Blyden Dot Com, Awareness Times Sierra Leone, 2005-

Selected online current and recent news, editorials, and commentary.

Awoko. – Freetown, Sierra Leone: Awoko Newspaper, 2007-

This site offers the electronic version of an "independent" print newspaper launched in 2003.
Warning: The archive of back issues is searchable....but the publication dates of articles are not indicated.

Awramba times. – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: Awramba Times, 2008-

The electronic English language version of an independent Amharic newspaper, with selected articles covering issues important to Ethiopians and the Ethiopian diaspora.

 

 

Balancing Act news update. – London, UK: Balancing Act, 2002-

A weekly e-newsletter. Balancing Act seeks to be the primary source for information on the telecoms, Internet and audio-visual media industries in Africa. The website/newsletter includes links to free (and fee-based) reports on African Internet Connectivity issues in individual countries and regional trends.
The site also provides access to the archive of back issues since 2002 and another Balancing Act e-newsletter, Broadcast, film and convergence.

Batik: bulletin d'analyse sur les technologies de l'information et de la communication. – Dakar, Sénégal: Observatoire sur les Systèmes d'Information, les Réseaux et les Inforoutes au Sénégal, 1999-

'Batik est une lettre d'information électronique mensuelle qui traite de l'actualité des TIC au Sénégal.' Sur ce site, on peut lire (en version HTML ou en PDF) les numéros depuis avril 1999.

Bendré. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Bendré, 2002-

<< Le hebdomadaire d'information et de réflexion >>: on peut lire la << une >>. Il y a une archive des vieux articles sélectionnés depuis 2002.

Billets d'Afrique et d'aiileurs. : bulletin mensuel d'information alternative sur les avatars de la politique africaine de la France – Paris: Association Survie, 2006-

Sur ce site, on peut lire en ligne les extraits du dernier numéro du bulletin mensuel et également lire et télécharger les anciens numéros.

Black Commentator, The. – Washington, DC: The Commentator, 2002–

A weekly forum for African American political commentary and satire on American and world affairs. The current issue is available, plus back issues since April 2002.

Black star news. – New York: Black Star News, 1997-

The online version of the weekly newspaper covering news on the United States, Africa, and the world; with an archive of back issue articles since April 2007.

Broadcast, film and convergence. – London, UK: Balancing Act, 2007-

An English language e-newsletter, published fortnightly, dedicated to the African film and television industry, and African media technology and policy issues in general. Supercedes "African Film & TV". The site is linked with a weekly newsletter Balancing Act news update.

Bukedde. – Kampala, Uganda: New Vision Printing & Publishing Corporation, 2000 -

Current daily issue in Luganda and a searchable archive – since 2000 – of the electronic version of this government-run newspaper.

Bulletin. Association of Concerned Africa Scholars. -- United States : The Association, 1987-

The online archive of the most current and back issues since 1995. "ACAS is an organization of scholars and students engaged in critical research and analysis of Africa and U.S. government policy; developing communication and action networks; and mobilizing concerned communities on critical, current issues related to Africa."

Bulletin de l'APAD. – Marseille, France; Leiden, The Netherlands: Revues.org, pour l'Association euro-africaine pour l'anthropologie du changement social et du développement, 2006-

In French and English. Bilingual publication of L'APAD.

Business daily Africa. – Nairobi, Kenya : The Nation Media Group, Ltd., 2007-

The electronic version of the current daily issue with business and economic news for Kenya and East Africa.

Business Day. – Johannesburg: BDFM Publishers (Pty) Ltd., 1996-

Current issue of daily financial and investment news, downloadable information, other links; plus a searchable archive of articles since 1997.

Business day. – Lagos, Nigeria: BusinessDAY Media Ltd., 2005-

The online version of the daily business newspaper, with feature reports from the last 20 days only.

Business report. – Johannesburg, South Africa: Business Report, 1998-

The current issue of this daily business news, with a searchable archive of back issues since 1998.

Business world. – Lagos; Abuja: Businessworld Communications, Ltd., 2006-

The electronic version of a weekly financial newspaper from Nigeria, with current news stories and selected feature articles for the last year.

 

 

Calame, Le. . L'hebdomadaire en français – Nouakchott, Mauritania: Le Calame, 2007–

Voici la version électronique du journal indépendant (créé en 1993), avec les vieux numéros depuis mars 2007 dans les archives.

Cameroon tribune, The. – Yaoundé : La Société de Presse et d'Edition du Cameroun–SOPECAM, 2002-

Le journal électronique du gouvernement et les archives des vieux numéros depuis deux ans.

Cape Business News. – Cape Town, South Africa: CBN, 1980-

The electronic version of the monthly newspaper, plus business information center for Cape Town and Cape Province, and a searchable business directory. The archives contains issues from the last three months and a larger collection is accessible via a search index.

Capital. – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: Crown Publishing P.L.C., 1998-

The electronic version of the "longest established English newspaper in Ethiopia" offering weekly business news; with an archive of back issue news for 6-8 months.

Champion, The. – Lagos, Nigeria: Champion Newspapers Ltd., 2001–

This website offers the current electronic version of the daily newspaper, including the Saturday and Sunday editions. Access to the back issues archive requires a subscription.

Chazen web journal of international business, The. – New York: Columbia Business School, Columbia University, 2002–

The theme for the Fall 2002 inaugural issue of this graduate student e-journal is African entrepreneurship. See also: Africa and Middle East Archive.

Childhood in Africa : an interdisciplinary journal. – Athens, Ohio: The Institute for the African Child, Ohio University, 2009-

CAJ is published bi-annually: encouraging holistic approaches ; publishing articles that reflect African and Africanist perspectives regarding children and childhood ; including all academic disciplines in the discussion ; furthering the professional interests of Africanists by disseminating knowledge about children and childhood in Africa.

Chimurenga. – Excerpts and Tables-of-Contents – Cape Town, South Africa: Chimurenga Magazine, RedhotMoondog Media, 2002-

This publication is the electronic version of a quarterly magazine on music and popular culture in South Africa and global Africa. "CHIMURENGA magazine is an advertising-free revue of arts.culture.politics and the relations that these enjoy around Africa. It is another kicking initiative by the Pan African Market aka Kalakuta Republique."

Chimurenga Chronic Now-now, a quarterly pan African gazette -- Cape Town, South Africa: Chimurenga, 2013.

A monthly gazette available online or in print featuring news and commentaries on African culture and politics.

Chinafrique. = Chinafrica. – Beijing, People's Republic of China: Beijing Review, 2001-

Un mensuel électronique en français ou en anglais...qui offre les actualités officielles sur les relations sino-africaines, avec une petite archive des vieux articles depuis 2001. Aussi, il y a des liens au site plus général de Beijing Review en chinois et dans quelques autres langues.

Citizen, The. = Mwananchi. – Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : The Nation Media Group, Ltd., 2007-

The electronic version of the Tanzanian daily newspaper in English or Swahili, published in Tanzania by the Kenyan company, The Nation Media Group.

CLIO en Afrique: bulletin d'anthropologie et d'histoire africaine en langue française. Archives, 1997-2007. – Aix-en-Provence, France: Le Groupe de Recherches, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique; Centre d'Etudes des Mondes Africains, Université de Provence, 1997-2007.

Remarque: En 2007, cette publication a été remplacé par les Recherches en anthropologie et en histoire de l'Afrique. "Le Groupe de Recherches (GDR) 1118 du CNRS, 'Histoire de l'Afrique: Mémoires et Identités (XVIIème-XXème siècles)', créé en 1994, réunit des historiens français de l'Afrique rattachés aux laboratoires des universités de Paris I, Paris VII et de Provence. Basé administrativement à Aix-en-Provence, ce GDR est sous la direction scientifique de Jean-Pierre Chrétien (CNRS-Paris I) et de J.-L. Triaud. Conformément au principe qui est celui des GDR du CNRS, il s'agit d'une fédération libre de chercheurs autour de thèmes communs."

Communicatio: Southern African journal for theory and research. – Pretoria : Department of Communication Science, University of South Africa; Unisa Press, 1994-

"Communicatio" is part of "Unisa Press Online Academic Journals." Selected full articles and tables of contents only.

Confident, Le. – Bangui, Central Africa Republic: Le Confident, 2005-

Le dernier numéro du quotidien centrafricain, avec un recueil des vieux articles sélectionnés depuis 2005.

Conflict trends. – Durban, South Africa : ACCORD, 1998-

Recent issues of the online version of the quarterly publication of the African Center for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD). 'The magazine examines conflict issues on the African continent in a thorough and yet accessible fashion. African writers are expressly prioritized ...'

Conscience, La. – Kinshasa ; Gombe : La Conscience, 2004-

Un site d'actualité et de commentaire sur la situation politique et économique en RDC, avec une archive des articles depuis 2006. "Cette version en ligne de La Conscience, hebdomadaire congolais...est un espace d'expression, d'information, d'échange et de pédagogie autour des enjeux actuels en RDC qui se veut interactif."

Correspondances. –Archives – Tunis, Tunisia : Institut de Recherche sur le Maghreb Contemporain (IRMC), 2000-2004.

On peut accéder aux archives électroniques du bulletin de l'IRMC. "Etablissement du Ministère             des Affaires Etrangères, doté de l'autonomie financière, l'IRMC rélève de la Sous-direction des Sciences Sociales et Humaines et de l'Archéologie de la Direction Générale de la Cooperation Internationale et     du Développement."

Critical African studies. – Edinburgh, UK: Center of African Studies, University of Edinburgh, 2009-

"...seeks to return Africanist scholarship to the heart of theoretical innovation within each of its constituent disciplines. We invite directional papers that provoke critical debate, and take a fresh approach to key and emergent social, political and economic issues affecting Africa."

Crop prospects and food situation. -- Rome: Trade and Markets Division, Food and Agriculture Organization, under the Global Information and Early Warning System (GIEWS), 2006-

"...published four times a year and focuses on developments affecting the food situation of developing countries and the Low-Income Food-Deficit Countries (LIFDCs) in particular."

Cultures Sud. . Anciennement "Notre librarie" – Paris, France: Association pour la diffusion de la pensée française et le Ministère des Affaires étrangères, 1999- [Originally founded in 1969.]

On peut lire ou télécharger les derniers numéros depuis septembre 1999 (en format PDF). "...c'est une revue de référence, d'actualité et de critique sur les littératures d'Afrique, des Caraïbes et de l'océan Indien."

 

 

Daily graphic. Graphic Ghana – Accra, Ghana: Graphic Communications Group Ltd., 2004-

The online edition of the Daily Graphic newspaper, with Graphic Sports and The Mirror (society news). Current news, with selected news articles from the last 6 months.

Daily guide. – Accra, Ghana: Western Publications, 2005-

The web site of the daily Ghanaian newspaper, begun in 2005 ; with new stories and features for the last month only.

Daily mail. . – Lusaka, Zambia: Zamnet Communications Systems, Ltd., 1994-

Current electronic issue of daily and Sunday editions of this pro-government newspaper, with an archive of selected articles since November 2007 only.

Daily nation. . – Nairobi: The Nation Newspapers, Ltd., 1996-

Excerpts from the current daily issue and a searchable archive of selected back issue articles.

Daily news. – [Banjul, The Gambia]: Daily News, 2009-

The electronic version of a Gambian daily newspaper and an archive of news stories since November 2009.

Daily news Egypt. International Herald Tribune. – Giza, Egypt: Egyptian Media Services, Ltd., 2005-

An online version of the English language daily, with back issue articles for the last 2 months.

Daily observer. – Banjul, The Gambia: The Observer, 2007-

The current online issue of this English language daily newspaper from The Gambia and a searchable archive of back issue articles since August 2007.

Daily sun, The. – Lagos, Nigeria: The Sun News Online, 2003-

Nigeria's King of the Tabloids: the online version of the current issue. The archives for the back issues of the daily newspaper are often inaccessible. See also, the Saturday and Sunday editions.

Daily times, The. – Blantyre, Malawi: BNL Ltd, 2005-

The current edition of the electronic version of this daily newspaper from Malawi. The site includes articles from the most recent Sunday Malawi news and a recent sample of the Sunday times. There are no other back issues available.

de arte. : journal of the Department of Art History and Fine Arts: 1994-2002 – Pretoria : Unisa Press, published for the Department of Art History and Fine Arts, University of South Africa, 1994-2002.

"de arte" is part of a library of "Unisa Press Online Academic Journals." Selected full articles and tables of contents only.

DeRebus: SA Attorney's journal. – Pretoria, South Africa : DeRebus, 1998–

The online version of the monthly journal on South African legal issues, with a back issues archive; plus legal links.

Dispatch, The. – South Africa: Dispatch Media, 1997-

The daily electronic edition of this Eastern Cape newspaper, with a searchable archive of back issues since September 1997.

 

 

East African, The – Nairobi: The Nation Newspapers, Ltd., 1996-

Excerpts from the current weekly issue and the issue of the previous week only.

Echos, Les : édition quotidienne de Jamana – Bamako, Mali: Jamana, 2005-2008.

Le dernier numéro et des articles sélectionnés dans les archives depuis 2005. "La Coopérative Culturelle Jamana s'est fixée comme objectif principal la promotion des cultures maliennes et africaines par la publication, l'édition, la diffusion de toute oeuvre culturelle par tous les moyens y compris les moyens audio visuels."

Economiste, L'. . – Rabat, Morocco: L'Economiste, 1991-

Un quotidien économique du Maroc. Remarque: il faut inscrire pour accéder aux archives.

Egypt independent. -- Cairo, Egypt: Al Masry Al Youm, 2012-

The English language, electronic version of Al-Masry al-Youm, a daily independent newspaper in Arabic.

Electronic journal of Africana bibliography. – Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa Libraries, 1996-.

"EJAB is a refereed online journal of bibliographies on any aspect of Africa, its peoples, their homes, cities, towns, districts, states, countries, regions, including social, economic sustainable development, creative literature, the arts, and the Diaspora."

Engineering news. from Creamer Media – Garden View, South Africa: Creamer Media (Pty) Ltd., 2005-

The online version of the weekly business and industry news magazine, featuring current news stories and profiles only–access to archives requires a subscription. The website also offers subscription information and online business research services.

Essor, L'. – Bamako, Mali : Agence malienne de presse et de publicité, 2000-

Ce bulletin national d'informations offre les actualités maliennes du gouvernement de la République du Mali. On peut rechercher par mots-clés dans les archives qui contient les vieux numéros depuis 2000.

Ethiopian journal of health development, The. – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia : Department of Community Health, Addis Ababa University; Bergen, Norway: University of Bergen, 2006–

Issues of this journal since 2002 are also available via Open J-Gate (Informatics, Ltd., Bangalore, Karnataka, India).

Ethiopian journal of health sciences. – Jimma, Ethiopia: Jimma University, 2000-

This journal was first published in 1990 by the Jimma Institute of Health Sciences. Since July 2007, it is published 3 times annually by Jimma University. The site includes the tables of contents only for issues from the 1990-1999 period -and- full text for 2000 to present.

Ethiopiques: revue négro-africaine de littérature et de philosophie. – Dakar, Sénégal: Ethiopiques ; via SPIP et avec le soutien de l'Agence universitaire de la Francophonie, 1975-

Ce site offre une petite archive de vieux numéros choisis depuis 1975 --en texte intégral-- d'une des plus importantes revues sur l'étude de la littérature africaine...fondée par Léopold Sédar Senghor.

Evénement, L'. . Bi-mensuel burkinabé. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: L'Evénement, 2001-

C'est la version électronique d'un mensuel sur la politique et les autres actualités du Burkina Faso qui parait en ligne comme un bimensuel--les 15 et 30 du mois. On peut rechercher les archives des vieux articles depuis 2005 par mots-clés.

Événement précis, L'. (Online) -- Cotonou, Benin: L'Événement précis, 2007-

La version électronique du quotidien béninois, avec une petite archive des vieux articles depuis septembre 2007.

Express de Madagascar, L'. – Antannarivo, Madagascar: L'Express, 2005-

La "une" électronique de ce <<>>...avec beaucoup d'entretiens et des photos.

Express, L'. – Port Louis, Mauritius: L'Express, 1997-

La "une" et les archives des vieux numéros depuis 2003.

Express, The – Dar es Salaam: Media Holdings (T) Ltd., 1997-

A weekly newspaper from Tanzania in electronic format. Current issue and link to archive of back issues.

Eyes on malaria. -- Accra, Ghana: African Media and Malaria Research Network, 2006-

A quarterly magazine of news on the fight against malaria in Africa.

 

 

Faso.Net, Le. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Faso.Net, 2003-

Les actualités quotidiennes du Burkina Faso qui se sont tirées de la presse nationale, avec une petite archive.

Feminist Africa. – Cape Town, South Africa: African Gender Institute, 2002–

This site offers the current issue and the small archive. "Feminist Africa provides a forum for progressive, cutting-edge gender research and feminist dialogue focused on the continent. By prioritising intellectual rigor, the journal seeks to challenge the technocratic fragmentation resulting from donor-driven and narrowly developmentalist work on gender in Africa."

Financial Gazette, The. – Harare, Zimbabwe : The Gazette, 1997-.

This site offers the online version of the Zimbabwe financial weekly: current issue and an archive of selected back issues since 2003 only.

Financial Mail Interactive. – South Africa : Times Media Ltd., 1997-.

Issued about twice per month, this site offers current South African business information, with links to special reports, etc.

Food Outlook. – Rome: FAO/GIWES, 1996-

FO is published six times a year by the FAO Global Information and Early Warning System. It 'provides a global perspective on the production, stocks and trade of cereals and other basic food commodities, through an analysis of trends and prospects'. It also 'contains analysis and statistical information on developments in the world cereal markets, export prices and ocean freight rates'. Current and back issues.

Food Supply Situation & Crop Prospects in Sub-Saharan Africa – Rome: FAO/GIWES, 1996-

Published by the FAO Global Information and Early Warning System as a quarterly, this report 'provides an regional assessment of the current food supply situation in sub-Saharan Africa, highlights the major food emergencies in the region and draws attention to the countries where the need for donor assistance is most urgent'. Current and back issues.

Foodcrops and Shortages – Rome: FAO/GIWES, 1996-2005.

F&S was issued until 2006 by the FAO Global Information and Early Warning System six times a year. "Readers are provided with country-by-country summaries of the most recent information on the production, trade, stocks and consumption of food commodities, as well as food aid requirements, pledges and actual deliveries, when appropriate." Current and back issues.

Foroyaa. – Serrekunda, The Gambia: Foroyaa, 2007-

An electronic newspaper with current news from The Gambia and an archive of selected articles since July 2007.

Fraternité matin. – Abidjan: Groupe Fraternité Matin et la Société Nouvelle de Presse et d'Edition de Côte d'Ivoire, 1997-

Ce quotidien était le journal gouvernemental historique (celle de Félix Houphouet-Boigny et son parti politique). Depuis 1993, la rédaction de cette publication est devenue plus indépendante. En 2004, le journal s'est classé toujours comme une publication publique. On peut lire la "une" et rechercher par un mot-clé ou par une phrase dans les petites archives.

 

 

Gaskiya Ta Fi Kwabo. – Kaduna, Nigeria: New Nigerian Newspapers Ltd., 2005-

In Hausa. The online weekly edition of the Hausa version of the New Nigerian, an English-language newspaper, with current news and selected older articles.

Gazette, La. : du pays et du monde. – Dakar, Sénégal: La Gazette Media Communication, 2009-

Ce site offre la version électronique du journal avec une analyse des actualités pour le Sénégal et une séléction des reportages, et une archive des vieux articles depuis mars 2009. Le directeur de la publication est Abdou Latif Coulibaly, l'auteur bien connu.

Gefame: journal of African studies. – Ann Arbor, Michigan: University of Michigan Library, 2004-

Launched in December 2004! "The journal will use the web to facilitate the exchange of ideas between Africa-based scholars and scholars outside the continent of Africa. GEFAME is a peer-reviewed journal. The passages section re-establishes a journal of the African humanities established at Northwestern University and provides a site for commentary..."

Ghana review international . – U.K.: Ghana Review Ltd., 1996-.

A news service on Ghanaian affairs, with an archive of news from the past three weeks, special reports on Parliament and other aspects of Ghanaian politics; plus, international news.

Ghanaian chronicle, The. – Accra, Ghana : The Chronicle, 1996-

Current electronic issue of the daily newspaper from Ghana and selected articles from the current week.

Gomhuria, Al-. – Cairo, Egypt : El-Tahrir, 2000-

The current issue and one week's worth of past issues of the electronic version of the Arabic language newspaper, Al-Gomhuria. See also: Al-Messa below.

Guardian, The. – Lagos, Nigeria: The Guardian; via Microcom Systems, Ltd., 1998-

The current daily issue of this independent newspaper.
Note: a subscription is required to access the "previous issues" archive.

 

 

Haramata. – London: International Institute for Environment and Development, 2001-PDF format

The official bulletin of the IIED Drylands Programme–in English or in French.

Hebdomadaire du Burkina, L'. : Journal d'information générale paraissant le vendredi. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: L'hebdomadaire, 2000–

"La une" et les petites archives.

Herald, The. – Harare, Zimbabwe: The Herald, 1998-

The current daily electronic issue of this government-backed newspaper and a small archive of back issues.

Horn of Africa bulletin–Archive. – Uppsala : Life and Peace Institute, 1994-1995.

The Horn of Africa Bulletin (HAB) [was] an international media quarterly review, compiling and recording news and comments on the Horn of Africa. Online version discontinued as of December 1995.

 

 

IFLA newsletter Africa Section. – Pretoria, South Africa: International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions, Regional Office Africa; The Hague, The Netherlands: IFLA, 2001- –ISSN: 0850-9891

This page provides access to the most recent version of the semiannual newsletter of the IFLA Africa section; part of the IFLA web site produced at IFLA Headquarters.

Indépendant, L'. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: L'indépendant and Zongos Productions–ZCP, 1998-

La dernier numéro seulement de ce hebdomadaire burkinabé.

Indépendant, L'. -- Bangui, Central African Republic: L'Indépendant journal, 2010-

Depuis 2010, ce journal électronique se déclarait comme un "média indépendant pour le développement humain et la promotion des droits de l'homme."

Independent, The. – Johannesburg: Independent News & Media, 1996-

The electronic version of the daily newspaper; plus links to information about the company's many newspapers.

Independent, The. – Kampala, Uganda: The Independent, 2008-

The electronic version of a weekly news magazine for Uganda, East Africa, and the world, with back issue articles since December 2008.

Info-matin. – Bamako, Mali : Agence Mali Médias, 1999-

La version électronique du quotidien indépendant d'informations générales, mais avec une très petite archive de quelques vieux numéros seulement.

Informer, The. – Monrovia, Liberia: Satellite Communications Systems, Inc., 2005-

An electronic daily owned and operated by Liberians, with archive of selected news stories since September 2005.

Intelligent d'Abidjan, L'. – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire : Socef-NTIC, 2003-

La "une" du quotidien ivorien en ligne. On peut rechercher par mots-clés dans les petites archives.

Inter, L'. – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire: Editions Olympe, 2005-

La version électronique du journal quotidien à vocation internationale, avec une archive de vieux numéros.

Internet journal of African Studies–Archive. – Bradford, UK : University of Bradford, Dept. of Social & Economic Studies, 1996-97.

[Note: The first issue, April 1996 contains articles on: democracy in Mozambique; structural adjustment in Tanzania; and reports on famine and labor unions in Africa.]

Irìnkèrindò: a journal of African migration. -- New York: The journal, 2002--

An electronic journal on African migration and immigration --- past, contemporary, and future -- around the continent and from the continent to other lands; with institutional support from Brooklyn College, The City University of New York.

IRIN : Integrated Regional Information Network. – S.l. : UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, 1996-

Daily and weekly reports on the humanitarian situation in Africa, with regional sections and individual country reports. The archive of country reports includes issues since 1996 or 1997. There is also a link to ReliefWeb, a news service for humanitarian crises around the world.

ITEdge. – Lagos, Nigeria: ITEdge, 2004-

The electronic version of a weekly magazine on the ICT sector for Nigeria and Africa in general. The archive contains back issues from June 2004 to present.

 

 

Jamhuuriya wargeyska. – Hargeisa, Somaliland: Jamhuuriya Media Group, 2006-

The electronic version of the weekly Somali language newspaper from Somaliland ; plus, links to other Somali language and Somaliland news and cultural web sites.

Jenda : a journal of culture and African women studies. Archive – Binghamton, NY : African Resource Center, Inc., 2001-2006. –ISSN 1530-5683

The archive of back issues (since March 2001). "JENdA documents and responds to debates on women's history and studies in African social, cultural, political, and economic systems. It creates a forum for African women scholars, analysts and activists to participate on an equal fooing with their contemporaries worldwide..." As of early 2010, a subscription became required to access more recent issues.

Jour, Le. Quotidien le jour. – Yaoundé; London, UK : Africa News Network Media, 2008-

Le site de la version électronique de ce quotidien camerounais qui offre les actualités et des commentaires.

Journal du jeudi. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Journal du jeudi and Altern, 1999-

La "une" de ce hebdomadaire satirique burkinabé et les archives.

Journal of Dagaare studies. – Hong Kong: University of Hong Kong, 2001- –ISSN 1608-0661

"[JDS]...strives to publish high quality peer-reviewed research articles in various areas of the Arts and Sciences that bear on the language, culture and society of the Dagaaba of West Africa [Burkina Faso & Ghana]."

Journal of food technology in Africa. . – Nairobi, Kenya: Innovative Institutional Communications, 2001- – via Bioline International Publications.

A quarterly publication for eastern African food science research, with the most recent issue and back issues available.

Journal of African travel writing. –Archive. – Chapel Hill, North Carolina: Institute of African American Research, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1996-2001.

Note: This is a Web site promoting the print journal; only selected articles from each issue are available online. "The Journal of African Travel-Writing is a semi-annual print journal presenting and analyzing accounts of past and contemporary African travel."

Journal of humanitarian assistance. – Medford, Massachusetts: Alan Shawn Feinstein International Center, 1995-

An online journal with a majority of articles on Africa in current and back issues. The old archive extends back to 1995.

Journal of Pan African studies. – Los Angeles, California: Amen-Ra Theological Seminary Press and Amen-Ra Community Assembly of California; The California Institute of Pan African Studies, Inc., 1987-
–ISSN: 0888-6601

"JPAS is a transdisciplinary scholarly journal devoted to an Africological synthesis of African world community studies and research since 1987." This site offers the current online issue and back issues since 1987.

 

 

Khabar, El. – Alger: El Khabar, 1990-

The electronic version of the daily and weekly newspaper – in Arabic, English, or French ; with a small archive of the last two months.

 

 

Lalé. – Ndjamena, Tchad: Lalé, 2004-

Une publication tchadienne qui offre un aperçu indépendant sur le Tchad mais le plus souvent qui couvre les événements du retard.

Leadership. – Abuja, Nigeria: Leadership, 2010-

The electronic version of a daily "national" newspaper, with current news and articles from the previous week; plus links to other Nigerian electronic newspapers and other online news sources.

 

 

Madagascar tribune. – Antannarivo, Madagascar: Tribune, 2005-

La "une" électronique de ce journal malgache, avec une archive des vieux numéros du dernier mois.

Maidan, Al-. . – Khartoum: The Sudanese Communist Party, 1999-

Al-Maidan: the most recent monthly electronic issue (online or downloadable) and several back issues of an Arabic language news magazine ("newspaper") from the Sudan published since 1954.

Mail, The. – Accra, Ghana: Accra Mail Online, 1998–

A daily online newspaper from Ghana with brief reports under a variety of news topics; no back issues available.

Mail & Guardian, The Daily. . – Johannesburg : The Mail & Guardian, 1994-

Current news headlines. Warning: many reports–identified as "premium content", and the back issues archive (1994 to present), are accessible to overseas readers only through a low-price monthly subscription.

Malaria and infectious diseases in Africa = Paludisme et maladies infectieuses en Afrique. –-Archive, 2000 – Paris: SmithKline Beecham International Africa, 1997-2000.

See also the old site. The most recent issue and links to back issues and conferences (past and forthcoming) are available. "Malaria ... is the first French/English bilingual publication completely focused on malaria. The primary objective of this publication is to give African malariologists the opportunity to know each other, exchange views, find out who is doing what and to envisage the possibilities for south-south collaboration in research."

Mandenkan. – Paris: LLACAN–Langage, Langues et Cultures d'Afrique Noire, 1981-

Un bulletin spécialisé des études linguistiques mandé...paraît environ 2 fois par an.

Matin, Le. -- Cotonou, Benin: Le Matin

La version électronique du quotidien béninois d'informations et de publicité avec les articles récents seulement.

Matinal, Le. – Cotonou, Bénin: Le Matinal, 2000-

"La une" de ce quotidien béninois et une petite archive des vieux articles.

Mauricien, Le. – Port Louis, Mauritius: Le Mauricien Ltd., 2000–

"La une" et une petite archive de vieux numéros.

Mauricien week-End, Le. – Port Louis, Mauritius: Le Mauricien Ltd., 2000–

Cette publication apparaît chaque dimanche. La 'une' et une petite archive d'éditions précédentes.

Messa, Al-. – Cairo, Egypt: El Tahrir, 2003-

Evening edition of Al-Gomhuria: the electronic version of this daily Arabic language newspaper.

Midi Madagasikara – Antananarivo: Midi Madagasikara, 1997-

"Le premier quotidien national d'information diffusé à Madagascar. Créé en 1983." Un journal electronique, avec un lien aux archives des cinq derniers numéros seulement.

Mmegi. – Gaborone, Botswana: Dikgang Publishing Co., 2003-

The online version of the Botswana newspaper, originally founded in 1992, with the masthead Mmegi since 1994 and published daily since 2003. The site includes an archive of selected articles since December 2003.

Monde diplomatique, Le –Général et à propos de l'Afrique – Paris: Le Monde Diplomatique/L'Institut National de l'Audiovisuel, 2006- – via Columbia University.

On peut avoir accès au dernier numéro électronique du mois actuel, aux archives générales, et aux articles à propos de l'Afrique---classés par pays ou par sujet.

Monitor, The. . – Kampala, Uganda : 2000-.

Current and recent electronic issues of the independent daily newspaper from Uganda.
Note: the archive is only searchable for subscribers.

MOTS PLURIELS et grands thèmes de notre temps: revue électronique de Lettres à caractère international. (Archive) – Nedlands, Australia: The University of Western Australia, Department of French Studies, 1996-2003.

Archive of all issues. African and comparative studies in literature and the social sciences; in French and English.

Moudjahid, El. – Alger : L'EPE-EURL El Moudjahid, 2001-

La version électronique du quotidien (à l'origine, ce journal a lancé en 1956 par le FLN). Dans les archives, on peut lire les numéros des derniers trois mois seulement.

Mozambique political process bulletin. – Maputo, Mozambique : Centro de Integridade Publica ; Amsterdam, The Netherlands: Association of European Parliamentarians for Africa, 2005-

A monthly bulletin in English and Portuguese on governance and civil society, including current news on elections, corruption, and transparency. See also: Old site

Musow. : le magazine des femmes africaines. – Bamako, Mali: Afribone, 2000-

Au site de ce magazine culturel en ligne, on peut lire le dernier numéro et rechercher par un mot-clé dans l'archive des vieux articles. Tous les articles et les interviews se classent aux plusieurs rubriques. En plus des articles, on offre un forum de discussion.

Mutations, Le quotidien. – Yaoundé, Cameroun: South Média Corporation, 2003-

Mutations multimédia: On peut lire le dernier numéro électronique et les vieux pour les 15 derniers jours seulement.

 

 

Namibia economist, The. – Windhoek: The Namibia Economist; via IAFRICA.COM, 1998-

The current electronic issue of the Namibian business news weekly, plus a small archive of back issues.

Namibian, The – Windhoek: The Namibian, 1997-

Current issue of the electronic version of the daily newspaper, plus access to an archive of back issues (under construction).

Nation, La. – Djibouti: La Nation, 2001–

La version électronique du bi-hebdomadaire et les vieux numéros depuis juin 2001.

Nation, The. The Malawi Nation. – Blantyre, Malawi: Nation Publications Ltd., 2006-

The online version of the daily newspaper, with back issue articles for the last three months only.

Nation, The. – Mushin, Lagos State, Nigeria: Vintage Press Ltd., 2006-

The electronic version of the daily newspaper from Nigeria, with selected current and recent news stories; plus a searchable archive from August 2006.

National daily newspaper. – Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria: Paradigm Communications, Ltd., 2006-

The electronic version of a daily newspaper, with current and recent news articles and commentaries. Warning: the date of publication for individual articles is not displayed.

Nettali. – Dakar, Sénégal: Nettali.Net, 2005-

Un quotidien sénégalais "exclusivement sur le net."

New citizen, The. – Freetown, Sierra Leone: New Citizen Publications, 2007-
Originally established in 1982 as a print newspaper.

Current and recent news from a newspaper in Sierra Leone...owned by the current Minister of Information, with archive since March 2007.

New dawn, The. -- Monrovia, Liberia: Searchlight Communications, 2011-

The online version of an "independent" newspaper from Liberia offering current and recent news reports.

New democrat. -- Monrovia, Liberia: ND, 2010-

The Liberian electronic newspaper offering current news and an archive of older articles since November 2010.

New era. – Windhoek, Namibia: New Era Publication Corporation, 2003–

The online version of this government-run newspaper, published three times per week; with an archive since May 2003.

New Nigerian. – Kaduna: New Nigerian Newspapers Ltd., 2005-

The online edition of this English language daily newspaper, with links to the some weekend issues and the weekly Hausa version, Gaskiya Ta Fi Kwabo. The site includes a selection of older articles under special sections since 2007.

Newswatch. . – Lagos, Nigeria: Newswatch Communications, Ltd., 1998-

This is the electronic version of the popular weekly news magazine featuring current and recent news articles. Selected older news articles are also accessible without charge, but the full archive of back issues is available only with a subscription.

New times, The. – Kigali, Rwanda: The New Times, 2006-

The electronic version of an English language daily from Rwanda; the archive may not be accessible at all times. "Started in 1995, this newspaper is a registered Rwandan private media outlet...In April 2006, it started producing a daily newspaper."

New vision, The. – Kampala, Uganda: New Vision Printing & Publishing Corporation, 2000 -

Current daily issue and a searchable archive – since 2000 – of the electronic version of this government-run newspaper (originally founded in 1986).

New Zimbabwe. – Birmingham, West Midlands, UK: New Zimbabwe, 2008-

The online edition of "Zimbabwe’s weekly tabloid newspaper published in the United Kingdom," with current and selected recent news articles on Zimbabwe and southern Africa.

Next. – Lagos, Nigeria: Timbuktu Media, 2009-

Selected news stories, analyses, book reviews, arts reviews, and opinions are offered by this daily electronic newspaper from Nigeria, also available as a weekly print publication, Next on Sunday, in Nigeria, the UK, and the USA.

Nigeria media monitor (Reuben Abati, The Guardian ; Independent Journalism Centre, Lagos ; via Kilima.Com, UK)

A weekly summary of recent news reports on freedom of the press and related stories from Nigeria.

Nigerian compass. – Isheri, Ogun State, Nigeria: Nigerian Compass, 2009-

This site offers the electronic version of the daily and weekend Nigerian newspaper, with an archive of articles for the last 2 months only.

Nigerian tribune. – [Ibadan, Nigeria]: African Newspapers of Nigeria, Plc., 2005-

The current electronic issue is available at this site, with an archive of back issues from the last two weeks only.

Nordic journal of African studies. – Helsinki, Finland: Nordic Association of African Studies, 2004–

Online full-text articles and abstracts since 1995 are available at this site. "NJAS has appeared since 1992, two issues per year in the beginning, but since 2000 three numbers have appeared annually. The Web version, starting from 2004, appears four times per year."

Nord-Sud quotidien. – Abdijan, Côte d'Ivoire: Groupe Nord-Sud, 2008-

La version électronique du journal avec "la une" et les vieux articles depuis le dernier mois.

Notícias. – Maputo, Mozambique: Sociedade Notícias, 2006-

"[Foi fundado a 15 de Abril de 1926] O Jornal Notícias é um jornal privado diário de carácter nacional cuja actividade se baseia no rigor e criatividade editorial, com orientação, independente de qualquer vinculação ideológica, política, económica ou religiosa."

Notre voie. – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire: Notre Voie, 1998-

On peut lire <<>> du quotidien électronique du Front Populaire Ivoirien (le parti de Laurent Gbagbo) et rechercher dans les archives de vieux numéros.

Nouveau réveil, Le. – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire: Le Nouveau Réveil, 2006-

La version électronique du quotidien, avec une archive des vieux numéros sélectionnés depuis janvier 2006.

Nouvelle expression, La. – Douala, Cameroun: La Nouvelle Expression, 2008-

La version électronique du quotidien et des articles sélectionnés depuis novembre 2008.

Nouvelle tribune, La. – Cotonou, Bénin: La Nouvelle Tribune, 2001-

La version électronique du quotidien béninois qui offre les actualités de la semaine la plus rénte seulement.

Nouvelles, Les. – Antannarivo, Madagascar: Les Nouvelles, 2004-

Ce site offre la version électronique du quotidien national d'information et d'analyse, avec une archive des vieux articles depuis avril 2004.

Ntama: journal of African music and popular culture. – Hildesheim, Germany: Ntama, via Universität Hildesheim, 2002-

This electronic journal –in English and in German– features articles, interviews, and reviews especially on African musicians travelling in Europe and elsewhere outside Africa.

Nyasa times. – Blantyre, Malawi: NT Media Group, 2006-

Current and recent news stories from this daily electronic newspaper, with selected articles for the last 6 months and a small searchable archive (2008).

 

 

Observer, The. – Kampala, Uganda: The Observer, 2008-

The site offers the current issue of the electronic version of the Ugandan newspaper, appearing every Sunday and Wednesday, with an archive of selected articles, editorials, and opinions since May 2008.

Observateur Guinée, L'. – Conakry, Guinea: Observateur-Guinée, 2008-

Ce site offre la version électronique de l'hebdomadaire d'information générales de la Guinée avec les articles séléctionnés depuis novembre 2008.

Observateur paalga, L'. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Groupe L'Observateur, 2000-

Un quotidien avec les actualités en bref et des commentaires. On peut les vieux numéros depuis avril 2000.

Opinion, L'. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Zedcom–Zenith Edition Communication, 2001-

Le numéro dernier de ce hebdomadaire électronique et les petites archives.

 

 

País, O. (Online) -- Luanda, Angola : SOCIJORNAL--Sociedade Jornais e Revistas. S.A., 2008-

The electronic version of this daily newspaper in Portuguese from Angola; a subscription is required to view selected back issues online since 2008.

Pambazuka news. – Oxford, UK ; Cape Town, South Africa : Fahama, 2000-

Formerly Kabissa-Fahamu Newsletter: Current weekly issue and back issues since December 2000. "Pambazuka News is a free weekly electronic newsletter covering news, commentary and analysis, and a range of other resources on African human rights and sustainable development. Pambazuka News is produced by Fahamu. The newsletter includes links to news reports from various online news services and organizations, and a catalogue of back issues."

Patriote, Le. . – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire: Groupe Mayama Editions et Production, 1999-

Le quotidien qui est associé au parti d'opposition, Rassemblement des Républicains (RDR). Le site comprend une archive des vieux numéros depuis janvier 2004.

Pays, Le. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Groupe de Presse "Le Pays", 2001–

C'est la version électronique du quotidien indépendant burkinabé. Dans les archives, on peut chercher les vieux numéros depuis novembre 2001.

PEEP! – Freetown, Sierra Leone: 3EyesMedia Group, 2008-

Current news commentary; updated frequently. The site is searchable, but with back issue articles only since September 2009.

Perspective, The. – Atlanta, Georgia: The Perspective, 1998-

Current monthly news analysis and editorials on Liberian affairs, with a back issues archive since January 1998; plus related links.

Peuples noirs, peuples africains. : Archive, 1978-1984. – Paris, France; Perth, Australia: University of Western Australia, 2005.

Une archive d'une publication sous la direction de l'écrivain camerounais Mongo Beti: "la revue des radicaux noirs de langue française publiée par Mongo Beti et son épouse Odile Tobner de 1978 à 1991." En plus, il y a un résumé de la vie et les ouvrages de Mongo Beti.

PHARE: Patrimoine & histoire en Afrique; recherches & expériences. – Dakar, Sénégal: Département d'Histoire, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, 2008-

"PHARE est une revue trimestrielle éditée par les doctorants du Département d'Histoire de la Faculté des Lettres et Sciences Humaines de l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar avec le soutien académique des enseignants." Le site comprend les vieux numéros en texte intégral et le sommaire de "la une."

PICTA bulletin. – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, 2001-

A monthly publication on activities of the Partnership for ICTs in Africa (PICTA) and news on ICT-related activities in Africa. The archives of back issues since 2001 are available.

Point, The. – Banjul, The Gambia: The Point Newspaper, 2005-

The online version of the week day newspaper, with an archive of selected back news stories organized under topics since August 2005.

Points Chauds du Maghreb et de l'Afrique Francophone. –Nouakchott, Mauritanie: Points Chauds, 2003-

La version électronique du bimensuel (anciennement un hebdomadaire) sur la Mauritanie et le reste de l'Afrique du Nord-Ouest, y compris les archives des vieux numéros sélectionés en format PDF depuis décembre 2003.

Polis. – Bordeaux, France: Groupe de Recherches Administratives, Politiques, et Sociales, 1996-

POLIS est une revue camerounaise de science politique qui accueille les articles en français et en anglais portant sur la vie politique aussi bien nationale qu'internationale. POLIS est hébergé par le Centre d'étude d'Afrique noire (CEAN).

Politeia. : journal for the political sciences and public administration. – Pretoria : Unisa Press, published for the Departments of Political Sciences and Public Administration, University of South Africa, 1995-

"Politeia On Line" is part of a library of "Unisa Press Online Academic Journals." Selected full articles and tables of contents only.

Post, The. – Buea, Cameroon: The Post, 2009-

The electronic weekly newspaper in English, to appear every Monday; the new edition begun in July 2009.

Post, The. – Lusaka, Zambia: The Post Newspapers, Ltd., 1995-.

Access to current daily news and archive of articles for the last 7 days only.

Potchefstroom electronic law journal. -– Potchefstroom, South Africa: Potchefstroomse Universiteit vir Christelike Hoër Onderwys, 1998–

Current issue and an archive of back issues. The site can be viewed in English or in Afrikaans –- most of the articles are in Afrikaans, with English language summaries.

Potentiel, Le. – Kinshasa: Le Potentiel, 2004-

Un quotidien électronique sur les actualités de la RDC, du reste de l'Afrique, et du monde; avec une archive des vieux dossiers depuis un an.

Presse, La. – Tunis: Le Groupe La Snipe, 2003-

"La une" de l'édition en ligne du quotidien de Tunisie.

Progrès Egyptien, Le. – Cairo, Egypt: El Tahrir, 2003-

La version électronique de "la une" du quotidien francophone. Voir aussi: Progrès dimanche ci-dessous.

Public agenda. – Accra, Ghana: Integrated Social Development Centre–ISODEC, via GhanaWeb.Com, 2002-

Published twice per week, this online newspaper focuses especially on development issues and politics in Ghana. The site features selected back issue articles since 2002.

Public eye. – Maseru, Lesotho: Public Eye, 1997-

Current and recent articles of the electronic version of this daily newspaper.

Punch, The. – Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria: The Punch, c2006-

This site features the online version of the Nigerian daily newspaper, providing access to articles from the current issue and the past 7 days only.

 

 

Quest: an African journal of philosophy = Revue africaine de philosophie. – Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre, 1987- ISSN 1011-226X

"...intends to act as a channel of expression for thinkers in Africa, and to stimulate philosophical discussion on problems that arise out of the radical transformations Africa and Africans are undergoing."

Quotidien, Le. – Dakar, Sénégal: Avenir Communications SA, 2003–

Sur ce site, on peut lire l'édition du jour et les vieux numéros de la semaine précédente. "Le Quotidien" est un journal Sénégalais d'informations générales qui paraît tous les jours de la semaine. Le premier numéro de ce journal a été publié le lundi 24 février 2003.

Quotidien, Le. – Tunis, Tunisia: Le Quotidien, 2002-

On peut accéder à "la Une" de la version électronique.

Quotidien d'Oran. – Oran, Algérie : SPA Oran-Presse, 2000-

Le journal électronique du jour et les vieux numéros depuis fevrier 2000 dans les archives.

 

 

Ray al-Aam, al-. – Khartoum, The Sudan: Al Rayaam, 2002-

The electronic version of this Sudanese Arabic language daily newspaper, with an archive of back issues since January 2002.

Realnews. (Online) -- Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria: RealNews, 2012-

"[Realnews,] a general interest magazine, is an online publication which thrives on investigative journalism." The site includes back issue news stories since November 2012.

Recherches Africaines: annales de la Faculté des lettres, langues, arts et sciences humaines de Bamako. – Bamako, Mali : FLASH de l'Université de Bamako, en partenariat avec l'Université de Gaston Berger de Saint Louis (Sénégal), l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar (Sénégal) et la FALSH de l'Université de N'Gaoundéré (Cameroun) avec le soutien de l'Agence universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF), 2002- ISSN 1817-423X

"Recherches africaines est l'organe à travers lequel la FLASH publie les résultats de ses recherches mais elle est ouverte aux chercheurs et enseignants de toute université, l'essentiel étant de remplir les critères exigés par les différents sous-comités...sociologie--anthropologie, histoire--archéologie, littérature, linguistique, psychologie--sciences de l'éducation et géographie--démographie."

Religion & theology. . – Archives, 1995-97 – Pretoria: University of South Africa Press; Leiden : Koninklijke Brill, 1995- – via Columbia University Libraries.

Selected full articles and tables of contents only. This journal contains articles mostly on Christian theology in general, but also includes some articles on African culture and politics.

Républicain, Le. – Niamey, Niger: Le Républicain, 1999- (via fichier PDF, avec Acrobat Reader)

Un "hebdomadaire nigérien indépendant": les numéros en cours et un petit archive.

République, La. – Kinshasa, République démocratique du Congo: La République, 2006-

La version électronique du journal congolais, avec les articles sélectionnés depuis juin 2006.

Repulikein, Die. – Omurambaweg, Namibia: 2004-

Current news from Namibia and southern Africa in Afrikaans and some in English, with a searchable archive ("Argiewe").

Révélateur, Le. – Kinshasa: Le Révélateur, 2007-

Un bi-hebdomadaire électronique d'informations générales de la République du Congo, avec une archive archive des vieux numéros depuis le 30 janvier 2007.

Revue noire – Archives – Paris: Publications Éditions Bleu Outre mer, 1991-.

This site offers only excerpted texts from the old issues – in French or English – and color images from the Paris-based African arts and culture journal, essays, and information about subscriptions to the monthly journal in paper.

Rhodes journalism review. – Grahamstown, South Africa: Department of Journalism and Media Studies, Rhodes University, 1999–

Issued 3-4 times per year: current online issue only is available, with some information about tables of contents for back issues. [Founded in 1990] "RjR is South Africa's only publication covering journalism-specific issues."

 

 

SADC today. – Harare, Zimbabwe: Southern African Research and Documentation Centre (SARDC), 1998-

The current issue of this monthly newsletter is available and the archive of back issues since 1998.

Safundi: the journal of South African and American comparative studies. – [Cape Town, South Africa]: Safundi, 1999-

One can read the current issue and the TOCs of back issues without charge – with a subscription, read the back issues since June 1999. "Safundi is a peer-reviewed quarterly publication dedicated to comparing the histories, cultures, and modern experiences of the United States of America and the Republic of South Africa."

 

Sahel, Le. – Niamey, Niger: Office National d'Edition et de Presse, 2008-

Le site de la version électronique du journal quotidien de l'ONEL du Ministère de la Culture, des Arts, et de la Communication, avec les vieux articles depuis septembre 2008.

Sahel weather and crop situation. . – Rome: FAO/GIEWS, 1995-

SWCS is issued by the FAO Global Information and Early Warning System every month throughout the growing season (June to October). The report 'describes weather conditions, pest infestations and crop prospects in the Sahel, a drought-prone zone'. Current and back issues.

San Finna. – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Groupe San Finna Communication, 2001-

La version électronique de la hebdomadaire burkinabé paraissant le lundi: le dernier numéro et les archives incomplètes de vieux numéros depuis septembre 2001.

SAVVY : art.contemporary.african -- Berlin, Germany: SAVVY, 2010-

"The aim of this bilingual journal is to revitalise an open and academic discourse on contemporary artistic positions and art projects related to Africa and its Diaspora...A further focal point is the art scene in the German-speaking countries, where this journal is the first of its kind and where the methodologies of curating contemporary African art need to be investigated."

Science in Africa. – Grahamstown, South Africa : Science in Africa, 2001-

Current monthly issue and back issues since January 2001. A popular news magazine about scientific research and development on the African continent, plus information about funding and job opportunities and links to organizations.

SD abstracts : A Newsletter from the Office of Sustainable Development, Bureau for Africa, USAID. – Washington, DC : USAID, 1994-2002.

SD Abstracts was published quarterly by the Office of Sustainable Development in the Bureau for Africa (AFR/SD), U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID). The documents are brief summaries of the results of analytic work performed by the bureau staff.

SD developments : A Newsletter from the Office of Sustainable Development, Bureau for Africa, USAID. – Washington, DC : USAID, 1994-2002.

SD Developments was published quarterly by the Office of Sustainable Development in the Bureau for Africa (AFR/SD), U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), by the Africa Bureau Information Center, operated by the Academy for Educational Development under contract to USAID.

Seychelles medical and dental journal. – Archives. – Victoria, Seychelles: SMDJ, via Atlas Seychelles Ltd., 1993-1999.

This site offers only the "current issue" (1999) and an archive of back issues.

Seychelles nation. – Victoria, Seychelles: Seychelles Nation, 2004-

The current daily issue in English, plus an archive of selected news stories since 2004 in English, French, and Kreol, as well as Seychelles-related links.

Soft international, Le. – Brussels; Paris ; Kinshasa: Finpress Group Afrimages, 2002-

Le dernier numéro et une archive des actualités et des commentaires. Pour lire les vieux articles choisis des archives depuis 2002, cliquer sur: "actu".

Soir info, Le. – Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire: Editions Olympe, 2005-

Le dernier numéro de la version électronique du journal quotidien, avec une archive de vieux numéros.

Soleil, Le. – Dakar, Senegal: Le Soleil, 1998-

Le numéro du jour. Pour regarder aux vieux numéros des deux dernières semaines, choisissez "Nos derniers numéros".

Somaliland times. – Hargeisa, Somaliland: Haatuf Media Network, 2002-

The site offers the electronic version of an English language weekly newspaper from Somaliland, with archive of selected back issues since 2002.

Souffles : revue culturelle arabe du Maghreb. – Rabat, Morocco : Souffles ; New York : Abdellatif Laâbi, Thomas C. Spear, 1966-71; 1997-98.

"Cette revue trimestrielle fut publiée entre 1966 et 1971, date à laquelle les activités de son directeur, Abdellatif Laâbi, furent suspendues par les autorités marocaines." Pour les numéros 10 à 15, consultez le site de Thomas C. Spear.

Soul beat. – Braamfontein, South Africa: Soul City Institute for Health and Development Communication, in partnership with SANGONeT; Victoria, British Columbia, Canada: The Communication Initiative, 2003-

The Soul Beat Africa website offers the current bi-weekly issue of the newsletter and the archive of all previous issues. "...for communicators, practitioners, media makers, academics, researchers and others who are using communication for change in Africa."

South African geographical journal, The. – Rondesbosch, South Africa: The University of Cape Town, published for the Society of South African Geographers, 1993-

Published twice annually: long abstracts and tables of contents for the current issues and for many other issues since April 1993 are available online. Full text articles available only through paid subscription to the print edition.

South African health review. . – Durban, South Africa : Health Systems Trust, 1995-

An annual review of health policy developments in South Africa: the most recent issue and back issues – all downloadable in HTML or PDF formats; plus order information. See also, the HST Home Page.

Southern Africa report. : Archive, 1992-2000 and Index – Toronto, Canada: Toronto Committee for the Liberation of Southern Africa, via AfricaFiles.

'The full text –without photos or illustrations– of all articles published during the last eight years of the magazine - from July 1992 to October 2000. In addition, three indexes produced in 1996 — covering June 1985 to November 1995 - are available as a research tool.'

Southern African journal of information and communication, The. : TOCs and Archive – Johannesburg, South Africa: LINK Centre, University of the Witwatersrand, 2001-

This site offers the table-of-contents for the most recent issue and full text of the back issues. "...to encourage debate in the area of policy, regulation, management and development of broadcasting, telecommunications and information technology in Southern Africa."

Sowetan, The. – Johannesburg, South Africa: The Sowetan, 2005-

The home page of the South African daily newspaper, with current electronic issue only.
Note: a subscription is required to access back issues.

Standard, The.  Standard Digital  – Nairobi, Kenya: The Standard Group, Ltd., 2001-

Formerly The East African Standard: the current daily electronic issue and the previous week of back issues are available.

Standard times press news. – Freetown, Sierra Leone: Standard Times Press, 2006-

This electronic newspaper offers daily news, editorials, commentaries, recent news coverage and feature reports, including: Business World.

Star, The. -- Nairobi, Kenya: Radio Africa Group, 2009--

Current and recent news, with a searchable archive containing selected articles since September 2012 only.

Statesman, The. – Accra, Ghana: The Statesman, 2006-

The newspaper was originally founded in 1949. Since 2006, it has been published as a daily. The website offers the electronic version of the current and recent news, plus an archive of selected past articles since January 2007.

Sudan Studies Association newsletter. SSA newsletter. – Providence, Rhode Island: SSA, 1981-

Selected issues of the newsletter of the US-based association of scholars who study Sudanese affairs.

Sudlangues. , 2002-2008 – Dakar, Sénégal: La Faculté des Lettres et Sciences Humaines de l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar, 2002-2008.

La dernière mise à jour était au mois de décembre 2008. "[Cette revue] est destinée aux universitaires, enseignants, chercheurs et étudiants intervenant dans le secteur des sciences du langage. Elle est ouverte à tous les chercheurs du monde, et accordera une attention toute particulière à ceux du sud, plus confrontés à des problèmes d'édition."

Sud quotidien – Dakar: Le Groupe Sud Communication, 1997-

On peut accéder au numéro du jour ("A la Une"), et aux dossiers spéciaux.

Sudan Tribune (SudanTribune.Com, USA)

A current, daily news portal in English on the Sudan and Africa based on a variety of news sources, mostly from outside Africa; plus commentary...with articles since July 2003.

Sudan update. –Archive – London: Sudan Update, 1995-1999. – via University of Pennsylvania.

This archive is compiled from e-mail messages by Dr. Ali Dinar, University of Pennsylvania. "Sudan Update is an international media review, published twice monthly, recording news and comment on Sudanese affairs from all quarters to promote dialogue and education."

Sudanic Africa : a journal of historical sources (Excerpts only) – Bergen, Norway: University of Bergen, Centre for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies, 1990-2003.

The archive for the electronic versions of excerpts and tables of contents for this annual journal; plus an index to articles. "Sudanic Africa is an international academic journal devoted to the presentation and discussion of historical sources on the Sudanic belt, the area between the Sahara and the Bay of Niger, the Atlantic and the Indian Oceans. The journal typically presents such sources in the original language and in translation, with comments."

Sunday mail, The. – Harare, Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe Newspapers, Ltd., 2000-

The most recent electronic issue of this weekly newspaper from Zimbabwe.
Note: the electronic news is sometimes a few weeks behind; and there are no back issues.

Sunday times, The. . – South Africa: Times Media Ltd., 1997-

Encompassing The Sunday Business Times: Current online edition and a searchable archive of back issues since 2004 only.

Sunday tribune, The. – Lagos, Nigeria: The Tribune, 2001–

This website offers the most recent electronic issue of the weekly newspaper from Nigeria; there are no back issues.
Note: the news is often 1-2 weeks old.

 

 

Tadias magazine. -- New York: Tadias, Inc., 2003-

An Ethiopian-American online magazine which includes recent political and cultural news, as well as contributions from scholars and journalists on a variety of contemporary and historical topics, including Ethiopian-American and Ethiopian artists, musicians, religious, and political figures. Excerpts are also available from the archives.

Tahalil hebdo: hebdomadaire indépendant d'informations et d'analyses. – Nouakchott, Mauritania: MPS, 2006-

La version électronique du journal mauritanien, avec une archive des vieux articles depuis le mois de mars 2006.

Tamaji magazine. (USA & France)

"Tamaji is a collaborative, bilingual (English and French) webzine that strives to facilitate communication between black cultures throughout the globe and to enlighten the rest about the African diaspora's heritage by means of literary works, articles, videos, art, photography and discussions."

Technology times. News Service of the Nigerian ICT Industry. – Lagos, Nigeria: Technology Times Media Network, 2004-

This online magazine offers articles on selected developments in the ICT sector of Nigeria.

Temps, Le. – Tunis: Dar Assabah, 2007–

La version électronique du quotidien tunisien est disponible à ce site, avec une archive des vieux numéros depuis janvier 2007.

Think Africa press. -- London, UK: ThinkAfricaPress, 2011-

A current and recent news analysis magazine. "Bringing together commentary from leading African and international thinkers, we make sense of rolling news..."

Thinker, The. (Online) -- Johannesburg, South Africa: Vusizwe Media, 2013-

Pan-African quarterly for thought leaders: This publication began in January 2013 as a monthly. The site includes an archive of past issues.

This day. – Lagos, Nigeria: Leaders & Company, Ltd., 2001–

The electronic version of this daily Nigerian newspaper, with current issue and recent back issues.

Times of Nigeria, The. – United States: New Generation Media, Inc., 2005-

An online newspaper with current ("real time") and recent news from Nigeria, Africa, and the Nigerian diaspora.

Times of Swaziland, The. – Mbabane, Swaziland: African Echo (Pty) Ltd, 2005-

The current and recent electronic issues of this daily newspaper (originally founded in 1897), with the Swazi News on Saturday and the Sunday Times on Sunday.

Times of Zambia . – Lusaka, Zambia : The Times of Zambia, 2001-

Current issue of the pro-government, daily newspaper and archive of back issue articles.

Track two. – Rondebosch, South Africa : Centre for Conflict Resolution and the Media Peace Centre, University of Cape Town, 1992-2005

Last two issues and a link to archive. "Track Two was a quarterly publication ... to promote innovative and constructive approaches to community and political conflict, as an alternative to traditional adversarial tactics."

 

 

Umrabulo. – Marshalltown, South Africa: African National Congress, Department of Political Education and Training, 1996-

The electronic version of a quarterly publication of political discussion and debate from the ANC party of South Africa.

Umsebenzi: voice of the South African Communist Party. . – Johannesburg: SACP, 1996–

The most recent electronic issues of the SACP newsletter, plus an archive of selected back issues, are available here.

USAfrica Online. – Houston : USAfrica Digital Networks, 1996-.

A daily and weekly news magazine: "to serve as the primary, professional news medium for Africans and Americans; promote and support establishing of pro-development structures and ideas; foster pro-democracy and free market networks inside the African continent and within African communities in the U.S., the Americas and across the world; argue through editorial opinion and reporting such common economic interests of Americans and Africans in investing and trade matters, export and import, public policy and current issues, cultural awareness, sports, and arts reviews."

 

 

Vanguard. – Lagos, Nigeria : Vanguard Media Ltd., 1998-

Current and the preceding week's issues of the online version of the Nigerian daily newspaper (originally launched in 1984); plus links to general African and Nigerian business news.

 

 

Wafd, Al-. – Cairo, Egypt: al-Wafd, 1978-

The weekly newspaper in Arabic of the al-Wafd political party; current and recent issues only.

Wal fadjri = L'Aurore – Dakar: Le Groupe Wal Fadjri, Teleservices S.A., 1997-

Un quotidien électronique avec une très petite archive des anciens numéros de la semaine seulement.

Watan, El. : le quotidien indépendant. – Algiers: SPA El Watan, 2000-

La "une" et les numéros de la semaine actuelle de la version électronique de ce journal algérien. On peut lire les gros titres dans les archives depuis mars 2000, mais il faut avoir une abonnement pour lire les textes intégrals.

Watchdog, The. – Lusaka, Zambia: Zambian Watchdog Media, 2008-

The online version of the weekly newspaper from Lusaka, specializing in investigative and analytical news reporting, with a small archive since September 2008.

Witness, The. – Pietermaritzburg, South Africa: The Witness, 1997- formerly The Natal Witness

Requires free registration to access: Current issue of the electronic version of this daily newspaper, which focuses on local Kwa-Zulu Natal events. Highlights from back issues are available in the archive.

 

 

Zambia News Online. – Archive. – Copenhagen: Africa News Network, 1996-1998. – via University of Pennsylvania.

"Zambia News Online is written by Zambian journalists from their point of view. It is assembled and edited in Copenhagen by Africa News Network, part of South AfricaContact , the former anti-apartheid movement in Denmark." This collection of bimonthly newsletters is assembled from e-mail messages by Dr. Ali Dinar at the University of Pennsylvania.

Zimbabwe independent, The. – Harare: Zimind Publishers Ltd., 1997-

Access to current issue of this weekly newspaper, plus a link to the archive of back issues.

Zimbabwe standard, The. – Harare: Zimbabwe Standard, 1998-

Current electronic version of the Sunday newspaper and a searchable archive of back issues.

Zimbabwean, The. – London, UK: The Zimbabwean, 2005-

The online version of a newspaper on Zimbabwean affairs published twice weekly since 2011 and organized by Zimbabweans outside of the country since mid-March 2005. "We are a group of committed and professional Zimbabwean journalists and friends from around the world who have come together to start the first physical newspaper for Zimbabweans in exile. The paper will be edited by Wilf Mbanga, founder and first Chief Executive of Associated Newspapers of Zimbabwe, the publishers of The Daily News (closed down in 2003 under the terms of the Zimbabwe Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act.)"