Hausa Language Acquisitions at Columbia University Libraries

This bibliography on Hausa language—to be frequently updated—represents the highlights from the last fifty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. Titles in English and French listed here deal primarily with aspects of Hausa language, literature, history, and culture. You may also wish to consult the guide Hausa Language on the Internet.

Dictionaries & Glossaries

  • Abraham, Roy Clive. Dictionary of the Hausa language. Second edition. London: University of London Press, 1962. (992 p.)
    Butler Reference, 301 Butler: R Hausa Ab82
  • Awde, Nicholas. Hausa-English/English-Hausa dictionary. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1996. (454 p.)
    Butler Reference, 301 Butler: R Hausa Aw21
  • Awde, Nicholas. "21st century" Hausa : an English-Hausa classified word list. London : Centre for African Language Learning, 1987, c1986. (168 p.)
    Offsite: PL8233 .A92 1987g
  • Baba, M. G. Hausa dalla-dalla : the Hausa learner's handbook.Kano : Aybee Printing & Publishing, 199-?] (25 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .B25 1990g
  • Bargery, G.P. A Hausa-English dictionary and English-Hausa vocabulary ; with some notes on the Hausa people and their language by D. Westermann. London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1934.(1226 p.)
    Butler Reference: R Hausa B23
  • Caron, Bernard and Ahmed H. Amfani. Dictionnaire français-haoussa: suivi d'un index haoussa-français.Paris: Karthala ; Ibadan: IFRA-Ibadan, c1997. (412 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .C37 1997
  • Dikko, Inuwa and Usman Maccido. Kamus na adon maganar Hausa. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub., 1991. (118 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .K55 1991
  • Hanyar tadi da Turanci, a dictionary of English conversation for Hausa students. Norla, Zaria, Longmans, Green and co. [1957]
    Offsite: PL8233 .H35
  • Hausa metalanguage = Kamus na kebabban kalmoni. Sponsored by the Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council and compiled by the Hausa Studies Association of Nigeria (Kungiyar Nazarin Hausa) ; edited by Professor D. Muhammed. Ibadan, Nigeria : University Press ; Yaba, Lagos : Nigerian Educational Research & Development Council, 1990.
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .H38 1990g, v. 1
  • Lexique Hausa and Zarma : démocratie et développement à la base : terminologie essentielle. Niamey, Niger : Démocratie, 2000. (168 p.)
    Butler Stacks: JC423 .L513 2000
  • Majinguini, Abdou. Karamin kamus na hausa zuwa faransanci = Dictionnaire élémentaire hausa-français. 2d éd. Niamey, Niger: Editions GG, 2003. (752 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .M34 2003
  • Moussa-Aghali, Fatimane. Lexique des néologismes en hawsa du Niger. Napoli : Istituto universitario orientale, 1999. (91 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .M68 1999g
  • Newman, Roxana Ma. An English-Hausa dictionary. New Haven, Conn. : Yale University Press, c1990. (327 p.)
    Butler Reference, 301 Butler: R Hausa N467
  • Newman, Paul. A Hausa-English dictionary. New Haven, Conn.; London: Yale University Press, 2007. (243 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler (Non-Circulating): PL8233 .B3 2007g
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .B3 2007g
  • Schön, James Frederick. Dictionary of the Hausa language, with appendices of Hausa literature. 1st ed. London: Church Missionary House, 1876. (142 p).
    Offsite: PL8233 .S285 1968
  • Skinner, Neil. Hausa comparative dictionary. Köln: Köppe, 1996. (337 p)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .S48 1996
  • Skinner, Neil. Hausa-English pocket dictionary = Kamus na Hausa da turanci. Ikeja: Longman Nigeria, 1985, c1968. (107 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: PL8233 .S55 1968
  • Skinner, Neil. Hausa lexical expansion since 1930: material supplementary to that contained in Bargery's dictionary, including words borrowed from English, Arabic, French, and Yoruba. Madison, Wisc.: University of Wisconsin, African Studies Program, [1985] (54 p.)
    Offsite: PL8233 .S49 1985
  • Skinner, Neil. Kamus na Turanci da Hausa = English-Hausa dictionary: babban ja-gora ga Turanci. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Publishing Co., 1973, c1965. (166 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233 .S52 1973
  • Taylor, F.W. A Fulani-Hausa vocabulary. Taylor's Fulani-Hausa series; 4. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1927. (136 p.)
    Offsite: 894F95 T2132

Grammars, Phrasebooks, & Textbooks

  • Abraham, Roy Clive. The principles of Hausa. Kaduna: The Government Printer, 1934.
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .A3 v. 1
  • Ahmed, Umaru Balarabe.A school certificate Hausa course. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1975. (179 p.)
    Offsite: PL8231 .A354
  • Baba, M. G. Grammar in Hausa. Nsukka, Nigeria : M.G. Baba, c1996. (32 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .B23 1996g
  • Buba, Malami. Hausa: a ten lesson course in elementary spoken and written Hausa. London: Hakuna Matata, 2001. (55 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .B83 2001g
  • Caron, Bernard. Le haoussa de l'Ader.Berlin: D. Reimer, 1991. (387 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .C37 1991g
  • Cowan, J. Ronayne and Russell G. Schuh. Spoken Hausa. Ithaca, N.Y.: Spoken Language Services, c1976. (378 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .C6
  • Dirr, Adolf. Manuel pratique de langue Haoussa, langue commerciale du Soudan, avec exercices gradués, suivi d'une chrestomatie analysée, d'une collection de phrases usuelles, d'un vocabulaire Haoussa-Français et d'un vocabulaire systématique. Paris: E. Leroux, 1895. (140 p.)
    Offsite: 897H29 D63
  • Falowo, Abisola. Hausa language for learners. Edited by Shuaibu Abdulwaheed. Akure, Nigeria: Famayot Press, 199? (63 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .F35 1990z
  • Furniss, Graham. Second level Hausa: grammar in action.London: School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 1991. (128 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .F87 1991g
  • Hodge, Carleton T. and Ibrahim Umaru. Hausa: basic course. Washington, DC : Foreign Service Institute, Dept. of State, 1963. (399 p.)
    Offsite: 897H29 Un3
    E-Book and Audio
  • Howeidy, A. Concise Hausa grammar. [2d ed.] London: G. Ronald [1959] (232 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .H7 1959
  • Jaggar, Philip J. Hausa.Amsterdam; Philadelphia : John Benjamins Pub. Co., c2001. (754 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .J35 2001
  • Jinju, Muhammadu Hambali. Rayayyen nahawun Hausa.Zaria: Northern Nigerian Publishing Co., 1980. (88 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .J5 1980g
  • Kraft, Charles H. Cultural materials in Hausa : for use in intermediate and advanced courses in Hausa. Prelim. ed. East Lansing, MI: African Studies Center, Michigan State University, 1966.(330 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234 .K73
  • Kraft, Charles H. Workbook in intermediate and advanced Hausa.East Lansing, MI : African Studies Center, Michigan State University, 1966. (180 p.)
    Offsite: PL8233 .K73
  • Kraft, Charles H. Workbook in introductory Hausa. East Lansing, MI : African Studies Center, Michigan State University, 1966. (106 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .K73
  • Kraft, Charles H. and Salisu Abubakar. An introduction to spoken Hausa. Preliminary ed. East Lansing, MI: African Studies Center, Michigan State University, 1965. (408 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .K731
  • Maxwell, J. Lowry. Yau da gobe: a Hausa grammar for beginners, yau da gobe, ka iya. Revised by Eleanor M. Forshey. Lagos: SIMLIT Publications, [195-?] (192 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .M39 1950z
  • Migeod, F.W.H. A grammar of the Hausa language. London: K. Paul, Trench, Trübner & co., LTD., 1914. (229 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .M43
  • Miller, Walter Richard Samuel. Hausa notes. London: H. Frowde, 1901.
    Offsite: 897H29 M61
  • Moumouni, Seyni. Français-Haoussa. Guides pratiques des langues nationales. Niger Toulouse: Institut des Langues et Cultures Africaines (ILCA), 2005. (25 p.)
    Butler Stacks--Precataloging: 6OCT 84831
  • Muhammad, Liman. Hausa dialects. Zaria, Nigeria: Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University, [1985?] (30 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .M8 1985
  • Newman, Paul. The Hausa language: an encyclopedic reference grammar. New Haven, Conn. : Yale University Press, 2000. (760 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .N43 2000
  • Parsons, Allan Chilcott. A Hausa phrase book, rev. by G. P. Bargery. London; New York: Oxford university press, 1924. (117 p.)
    Offsite (non-circulating): Rj P251
  • Pawlak, Nina. Hausa outside the mother area: plateau variety. Warsaw, Poland : Academic Pub. House, 2002. (157 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .P393 2002
  • Skinner, Neil. A grammar of Hausa, with answers: for Nigerian secondary schools and colleges. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1979. (109 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .S553 1979
  • Skinner, Neil. Hausa a saukake. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., [197-?] (24 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .S54
  • Smirnova, Mirra Aleksandrovna. The Hausa language: a descriptive grammar. London; Boston, Mass: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1982. (112 p)
    Offsite: PL8232 .S613 1982
  • Taylor, F.W. A practical Hausa grammar. 2d ed. Taylor's Fulani-Hausa series; 2. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1959. (157 p.)
    Offsite: 897H29 T21
  • Zaria, Ahmadu Bello. The dialects of Hausa. Enugu, Nigeria : Fourth Dimension Publishing, 1992.
    (230 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .Z37 1992g
  • Zaria, Ahmadu Bello. Nahawun Hausa. Ikeja, Lagos: T. Nelson (Nigeria), 1981. (93 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .Z3 1981g
  • Zarruk, Rabi'u Muhammad. Bishiyar li'irabi: a nazarin jumlar hausa. [Nigeria : s.n.], 1998. (94 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .Z376 1998g


  • Abraham, Roy Clive. Hausa literature, and the Hausa sound system.London: University of London Press, [c1959]. (186 p.)
    Offsite: 897H29 Ab823
  • Bagari, Dauda M., William R. Leben, & Faye McNair Knox. Manual of Hausa idioms. 2d. and rev. ed. Bloomington, IN: I.U. Linguistics Club, 1979. (233 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .B34 1979g
  • Furniss, Graham and Philip J. Jaggar (eds.) Studies in Hausa language and linguistics: in honour of F. W. Parsons. London ; New York : Kegan Paul International in association with the International African Institute, 1988. (282 p.)
    Offsite: PL8231 .S78 1988g
  • Green, Melanie. Focus in Hausa. Publications of the Philological Society; 40. Oxford ; Boston: Blackwell, c2007. (290 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .G74 2007
  • International Conference on Hausa Language and Literature (4th: 1987: Bayero University)
    Papers on Hausa language, literature and culture: some of the proceedings of the fourth International Conference on Hausa Language Literature and Culture, 20-24 September 1987 ; edited by Aliyu Musa. Kano, Nigeria: Centre for the Study of Nigerian Languages, Bayero University, 1991. (154 p.)
    Offsite: PL8231 .I57 1987g
  • Karatu da rubutu a harshen Hausa: jagorar ka'idojin rubutun Hausa = A guide to Hausa orthography. Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Ikeja, Lagos: T. Nelson (Nigeria), 1979. (63 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .K37
  • Majinguini, Abdou. Vocabulaire technique des sciences du langage (français-hausa). Niamey [Niger]: Organisation de l'unité africaine, Centre d'études lingüistiques et historiques par tradition orale, [1983] (67 p.)
    Offsite: P29 .M293 1983
  • Newman, Paul. Chadic and Hausa linguistics: selected papers of Paul Newman with commentaries. Edited by Philip J. Jaggar, H. Ekkehard Wolff. Afrikanistische Forschungen; Bd. 12.Köln: Köppe, c2002.
    Offsite: PL8026.C53 N483 2002g
  • Newman, Paul. Online bibliography of Chadic and Hausa linguistics.
    (with the assistance of Roxana Ma Newman). Bayreuth, Germany: DEVA, Institute of African Studies, University of Bayreuth. 173 pages in PDF format
  • Newman, Paul. Klingenheben's Law in Hausa. Chadic linguistics; v. 2. Köln: Köppe, 2004.
    Offsite: PL8231 .N485 2004g
  • Nuttall, Christine E. Phonological interference of Hausa with English. Occasional paper (Ahmadu Bello University. Dept. of Languages); no. 5. [Zaria, Nigeria]: Dept. of Languages, Ahmadu Bello University, 1965. (23 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PE1068.N5 N8
  • Zima, Petr. Problems of categories and word classes in Hausa (the paradigm of case). Dissertationes orientales; v. 33.Prague: Oriental Institute, 1972.
    Butler Stacks: PJ25 .C4 v33

Literature: Drama, Folktales, Novels, Poetry, Historical & Other Texts

  • Abba, Abdullahi. Tarihin Bauchi ta Yakubu. Zaria [Nigeria] : Gaskiya Corp., 1993. (71 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT515.9.B383 A33 1993g
  • Abubakar, Alhaji. Kano ta dabo cigari. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Publishing Co., 1978. (105 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT515.9.K3 A28 1978g
  • Abubakar Gidado El-Nafaty. Tarihin Islam. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Publishing Company, 1977 (1979 printing). (259 p.)
    Offsite: BP63.A4 A28 1977g
  • Anka, Ahmed Musa. Direban hajiya: littafi na daya. [Hausa language materials] ; 2. Kano, Nigeria: Sauki Bookshop & Publishing Co., [199-?] (34 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.A685 D57 1990z
  • Ahmad, Said Babura. Narrator as interpreter: stability and variation in Hausa tales. Ibadan, Nigeria: Spectrum Books; Oxford: African Books Collective [distributor], 2002. (249 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: GR351.32.H34 A56 2002g
  • Asma'u, Nana. Collected works of Nana Asma'u, daughter of Usman dan Fodiyo, (1793-1864). [Edited by Jean Boyd and Beverly B. Mack.] African historical sources; no. 9. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, [1997] (753 p.; Appendix A: Hausa texts)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:PL8234.A85 A23 1997
  • Baba, of Karo. Labarin Baba: mutuniyar Karo ta kasar Kano. Transcribed and translated by Mary Smith ta rubuta; ta tsara da taimakon Neil Skinner.Madison, Wis.: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, c1993. (89 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT515.45.H38 B32316 1994
  • Bahago, Ahmad. Kano ta dabo tumbin giwa: tarihin unguwannin Kano da mazaunanta da ganuwa da kofofin Gari. Kano: Munawwar Books Foundation, 1998. (237 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT515.9.K3 B24 1998g
  • Beïdi, Boubacar Hama. Taariki Fulb_e Dallol = Histoiredes Peuls du Dallol. Niamey: Edition Albasa, c2003. (213 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT571.F84 B45 2003
  • Bichi, Abdu Yahaya. Wakokin bikin aure ; wanda ya zana hotuna: Ahmed Umar. Jerin littattafai kan al'adun Hausa. Ikeja [Nigeria] : T. Nelson, 1979. (32 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .B52 1979g
  • Daure, Buhari. Tarihi da al'adun mutanen Najeriya. [Katsina? : s.n., 1998?] (90 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .D387 1998g
  • East, Rupert Moultrie and Alhaji Abubakar Imam. Ikon Allah: labarin halita iri iri ta cikin duniya. 5 vols. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., c1966 (1977 printing).
    Butler Stacks: QH47 .E2 1966 v.1-5
  • Edgar, Frank. Hausa readings: selections from Edgar's Tatsuniyoyi [by] Neil Skinner. Madison, Wis.: Published for the Dept. of African Languages and Literature by the University of Wisconsin Press, 1968. (278 p.)
    Butler Stacks and African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8232 .E3
  • Fletcher, Roland S. Hausa sayings & folk-lore; with a vocabulary of new words. London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1912. (173 p.)
    Offsite: 809.866 F63
  • Furniss, Graham. Poetry, prose and popular culture in Hausa. Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press for the International African Institute, c1996 (338 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.Z9 N54 1996g
  • Furniss, Graham. Ideology in practice : Hausa poetry as exposition of values and viewpoints. Köln : Rüdiger Köppe Verlag, 1995. (245 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8233.5 F87 1995g
  • Furniss, Graham, Malami Buba, and William Burgess. Bibliography of Hausa popular fiction, 1987-2002. Köln : Köppe, 2004. (179 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: Z5916 .F87 2004g
  • Goggo, Adamu Dan and Dauda Kano. Tabarmar kunya: a Hausa comedy.Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1969, c1968. (34 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.D3 T3
  • Guibe, Is'haq Idris. Rayayyen nahawun larabci da ka'Idojinsa = al-Naḥw al-wā ḍiḥ fī qawā ʻid al-lughah al-ʻArabī yah. Kaduna: Kauran Wali Islamic Bookshop, 1998.
    Butler Stacks: PJ6111 .R39 1998g v.1
  • Hadeja, Mu'azu. Wakokin Mu'azu Hadeja. Zaria, Nigeria: Gaskiya, 1964. (54 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.H3 A6 1964g
  • Hadeja, Mu'azu. Wakokin. Zaria: The Northern Nigerian Pub., Co., 1971 (c1970). (54 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.H33 W3 1970
  • Hakī m, Tawfī q. Mutanen kogo ; mai fassara Ahmed Sabir. Ibadan, Nigeria: Oxford University Press, c1976. (105 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.H34 M8 1976g
  • Harris, Hermann Gundert. Hausa stories and riddles, with notes on the language etc., and a concise Hausa dictionary. Weston-super-Mare: Mendip Press [1908] (144 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8231 .H37 1908g
  • Hiskett, Mervyn. A history of Hausa Islamic verse. London : University of London, School of Oriental and African Studies, 1975. (274 p.)
    Offsite: PL8233.5 .H5
  • Histoire du Dawra [Traditions historiques du Dawra par Makada Ibira de Kantché ; transcription et traduction par Issaka Dankousso.] Niamey, Niger: Centre régional de documentation pour la tradition orale, 1970. (39 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT547.2 .R43
  • Hunter, Linda and Chaibou Elhadji Oumarou. Aspects of the aesthetics of Hausa verbal art.Köln : Rüdiger Köppe, c2001. (153 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .H86 2001
  • Imam, Alhaji Abubakar. Ruwan bagaja = The water of cure. Zaria: Northern Nigeria Pub. Co., [1971] (43 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234. I43 R813
  • Jaggar, Philip J. An advanced Hausa reader with grammatical notes and exercises. London: School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 1992. (173 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .J34 1992g
  • Jaggar, Philip J. Hausa newspaper reader. Kensington, Md.: Dunwoody, c1996. (225 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .J36 1996
  • Jibril, Bilkisu. Yasmin: littafi na daya. [Hausa language materials]; 3. Kaduna, Nigeria: Dan Haki, [1997?] (51 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.J53 Y37 1997g
  • Johnston, H.A.S. (comp. & trans.) A selection of Hausa stories. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1966. (241 p.)
    Offsite: BP49 H37 J72
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8234.Z95 E5 1966
  • Kafin Hausa, Abdullahi Umar. Jiya da yau. Ikeja : Longman Nigeria, c1983. (93 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.H38 J5 1983g
  • Kano, Aminu. Hikayoyin kaifafa zukata. Jerin littattafai kan al'adun Hausa. Ikeja: Nelson (Nigeria), 1979. (39 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR351.32.H34 K36 1979
  • Kano, Aminu. Rayuwar Ahmad Mahmud Sa'adu Zungur. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1973.
    (17 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8234.Z5 Z575
  • Kwalli, Kabiru Mohammed. Kano Jalla babbar Hausa. [Kano? : s.n.], 1996. (313 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .K935 1996g
  • Labaru na da da na yanzu. 2d ed. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1977, c1968. (230 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.A2 L3 1977g
  • Labarun Hausawa da makwabtansu. 2 vols. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1970 (1979 printing).
    Butler Stacks: DT515.42 .L3 1970 v.1-2
  • Madabo, Musa Husaini. Ciniki da sana'o'i a kasar Hausa. Jerin littattafai kan al'adun Hausa. Ikeja [Nigeria]: T. Nelson, 1979. (42 p.)
    Offsite: PL8232 .M32 1979g
  • Mahammed, Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro. Wakokin hikimomin hausa. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1974. (81 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.M23 A17 1974g
  • Makarfi, Malam Shu'aibu. Zamanin nan namu : wasanni biya. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1970 (1978 printing). (88 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.M3 Z3 1970
  • Malumfashi, Ibrahim. Asalin zuriyar galaduncin Katsina. [Kaduna: NNN, Commercial Printing Dept., 1990] (48 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.M345 A83 1990g
  • Pilaszewicz, Stanislaw. The Zabarma conquest of north-west Ghana and upper Volta: a Hausa narrative "Histories of Samory and Babatu and others" by Mallam Abu. Warsaw: Polish Scientific Publishers, 1992. (207 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT547.45.Z37 P55 1992
  • Rattray, Robert Sutherland (ed. & trans.) Hausa folk-lore, customs, proverbs, etc. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1969.
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.A2 R3 1969a
  • Robinson, Charles H. Specimens of Hausa literature. Cambridge [Eng.]: University Press, 1896.
    (112 p.)
    Offsite: 897H29 R562
  • Salā mah, Ṣabrī Ibrā hī m 'Alī. Ṣuwar min bilā d al-Hū sā. [al-Qā hirah : s.n.], 2003- ([al-Qā hirah] : Dā r al-Hā nī )
    Butler Stacks: PL8233.5 .S253 2003g
  • Schön, James Frederick. Magana Hausa : native literature, or proverbs, tales, fables and historical fragments in the Hausa language : to which is added a translation in English. 2 vols. Nendeln: Kraus Reprint, 1970.
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8234 .S35 1970
  • Skinner, Neil. An anthology of Hausa literature in translation. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Publishing Co., 1980. (239 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.Z95 E5 1977g
  • Suleiman, Amina Garba. Ciki da goyo ikon Allah. Kano: A-Z Printers, 1999-
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .S86 1999g v.1
  • Tarihi, Hukumar Binciken. Garuruwan Jihar Katsina. Na Hukumar Binciken Tarihi da Kyautata Al'adu ta jihar Katsina. 2 vols. [Katsina : s.n.], 1996-
    Offsite: DT515.23 .T34 1996g v.1-2
  • Taylor, F.W. Fulani-Hausa readings in the native scripts : with transliterations and translations. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1929. (259 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8184.A2 T39 1929g
  • Tremearne, A.J.N. Hausa folk-tales: the Hausa text of the stories in Hausa superstitions and customs, in Folk-lore, and in other publications. London: J. Bale, Sons & Danielsson, 1914. (240 p.)
    Offsite: 809.866 T2741
  • Umaru, Alhaji. Hausa prose writings in Ajami by Alhaji Umaru ; from A. Mischlich ; H. Sölken's collection ; Stanislaw Pilaszewicz. Sprache und Oralität in Afrika; 22. Bd.Berlin: Reimer, 2000. (507 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT515.65 .U48 2000
  • Waka a bakin mai ita. Cibiyar Nazarin Harsunan Nijeriya, Kwalejin Jamia'r Bayero, Kano, ta shiryashi. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1977-
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.A2 W27 1977
  • Wakokin maman garba karo. CELHTO; L/6. Niamey, Niger: OUA/CELHTO [Kungiyar Hada kan Afirka, Cibiyar Nazarin Tarihi da Ilmin Harshe daga Adabin Baka], 1986. (98 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.A2 W355 1986g
  • Wali, Na'ibi Sulaimanu et al. Wakokin Hausa. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co. [1972] (38 p.)
    Offsite: PL8234.A2 W3
  • Westley, David. Hausa oral traditions: an annotated bibliography. Boston, MA: African Studies Center, Boston University, c1991.Working papers in African studies ; no. 15.
    Lehman: DT1 .W67 no.154
  • Whitsitt, Novian. The literature of Balaraba Ramat Yakubu and the emerging genre of Littattafai na Soyayya : a prognostic of change for women in Hausa society. Madison, Wis.: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1998. (42 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8234.Y34 B8338 1998
  • Yahaya, Ibrahim Yaro. Laburan gargajiya. [Illustrated by Rabiu Mohammad Zarruk.] Ibadan, Nigeria: Oxford University Press, 1974-
    Butler Stacks: PL8232 .Y35 v.1
  • Zakari, Sidi. Sagalo: le maître des arènes: hommage. Niamey, Niger: N.I.N. (Les éditions de la nouvelle imprimerie du Niger), 2002. (152 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR351.92.H38 Z35 2002g
  • Zango, Aliyu Abdulkadir Salisu. Rubutattun wakokin Hausa : karamar taska. Kano [Nigeria]: Manifold Pub. Co., [1992] (78 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BP190.5.P56 Z36 1992g
  • Abdalla, Ismail Hussein. Islam, medicine, and practitioners in Northern Nigeria. Lewiston, New Jersey: E. Mellen Press, c1997. (188 p.)
    Butler Stacks: R653.N6 A23 1997
  • Abdullahi, Ramatu. Self-concept and cultural change among the Hausa. Ibadan, Nigeria: Ibadan University Press, 1986. (155 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT515.45.H38 A23 1986
  • Adamu, Mahdi. The Hausa factor in West African history. Zaria, Nigeria: Ahmadu Bello University Press, c1978. (224 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT475 .A67
  • Besmer, Fremont E. Horses, musicians & gods: the Hausa cult of possession-trance. South Hadley, Mass.: Bergin & Garvey Publishers, 1983. (290 p.)
    Barnard Stacks and Offsite: BL2480.H3 B47 1983
  • Bivins, Mary Wren. Telling stories, making histories: women, words, and Islam in nineteenth-century Hausaland and the Sokoto Caliphate. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, c2007. (192 p.)
    Barnard and Butler Stacks: DT515.45.H38 B58 2007
  • Boyd, Jean. The caliph's sister: Nana Asma'u, 1793-1865, teacher, poet, and Islamic leader. London, England; Totowa, N.J.: F. Cass, 1989. (168 p.)
    Barnard and Butler Stacks: BP80.A834 B69 1989
  • Callaway, Barbara. Muslim Hausa women in Nigeria : tradition and change. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1987. (242 p.)
    Barnard and Lehman Stacks: DT515.45.H38 C35 1987
  • Contes haoussa du Niger. Recueillis, traduits et présentés par Jacques Pucheu. Paris: Editions Karthala: Agence de coopération culturelle et technique, c1982.(200 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR351.32.H34 C66 1982
  • Cooper, Barbara MacGowan. Marriage in Maradi : gender and culture in a Hausa society in Niger, 1900-1989. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann; Oxford: J. Currey, c1997. (228 p.)
    Barnard, Butler Stacks, & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:
    DT547.45.H38 C66 1997
  • DjeDje, Jacqueline Cogdell. Fiddling in West Africa : touching the spirit in Fulbe, Hausa, and Dagbamba cultures. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2008. (337 p.) Ch. 3. Calling the Bori Spirits: Hausa Fiddling in Nigeria.
    Music: ML3760 .D55 2008
  • Erlmann, Veit and Habou Magagi. Girkaa: une cérémonie d'initiation au culte de possession bòorii des Hausa de la région de Maradi (Niger). Berlin: D. Reimer Verlag, 1989. (173 p.)
    Offsite: BL2480.H3 E75 1989g
  • Faulkingham, Ralph H. The spirits and their cousins: some aspects of belief, ritual, and social organization in a rural Hausa village in Niger. Research report--Department of Anthropology, University of Massachusetts; no. 15. Amherst: Dept. of Anthropology, University of Massachusetts, 1975. (52 p.)
    Offsite: BL2480.H3 F38
  • Flegel, E.R. The biography of Madugu Mohamman mai Gashin Baki. Trans. and annotated by M. G. Duffill. [Originally published in German in 1885.] Los Angeles, Calif.: Crossroads Press, c1985. (52 p.)
    Offsite: DT515.45.H38 M644 1985
  • Gilliland, Dean S. African religion meets Islam: religious change in northern Nigeria. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, c1986. (241 p.)
    Burke (UTS) and Butler Stacks: BP64.N5 G55 1986
  • Grégoire, Emmanuel. The Alhazai of Maradi: traditional Hausa merchants in a changing Sahelian city ; edited and translated by Benjamin H. Hardy. Rev. eng.-language ed. Boulder, Colo.: L. Rienner, c1992. (185 p.)
    Offsite: HF3924.Z9 M37413 1992
  • Hamani, Djibo. L'Adar précolonial (République du Niger) : contribution à l'étude de l'histoire des états Hausa. Paris: L'Harmattan, c2006. (265 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT547.45.H38 H355 2006
  • Hassan, Salah M. Art and Islamic literacy among the Hausa of northern Nigeria. Lewiston, N.Y.:
    E. Mellen Press, c1992. (373 p.)
    Butler Stacks, Islamic Studies Reading Rm, African Studies Reading Rm (602 & 607 Butler):
    BP64.N49 H37 1992
  • Hausa folktales from Niger. Translated and edited by Robert S. Glew and Chaibou Babalé. Athens, Ohio: Ohio University Center for International Studies, 1993. (136 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT1 .P331 no. 63
  • Hausa women in the twentieth century. Edited by Catherine Coles and Beverly Mack. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, c1991. (297 p.)
    Barnard and Lehman Stacks: DT515.45.H38 H38 1991
  • Heathcote, David. The arts of the Hausa : [catalogue of] a Commonwealth Institute exhibition : World of Islam Festival 1976. [London]: World of Islam Festival Publishing Co. Ltd, 1976. (100 p.)
    Offsite (Fine Arts): N7397 N5 H35
  • Hill, Polly. Rural Hausa; a village and a setting. Cambridge [Eng.]: University Press, 1972. (368 p.)
    Milstein and Lehman Stacks: DT515.42 .H54
  • Jell-Bahlsen, Sabine (dir.) Tubali [videorecording] : Hausa architecture of northern Nigeria ; written and directed by Sabine Jell-Bahlsen ; a co-production by African Film and Video Productions ... [et al.]; director of cinematography, Alh. Yusufu Mohammed ; film editor, Wolfgang Gessat ; music, Adamu Awalu. [New York: Ogbuide Corp.], c 1995. (45 min. ; English and Hausa ; photographed in Daura, Katsina, Kano, Shinkafi, Sokoto, Shanawa and Zaria)
    Barnard Media: VIDEO DT515.45.H38 T82 1995g
  • Katsina State entry : traditional cuisines. Katsina State, Nigeria: Katsina State History and Culture Bureau, [1992] (42 p.)
    Butler Stacks: TX425.N6 K19 1992g
  • Kofoworola, E.O. Hausa performing arts and the emir's court. Zaria, Nigeria: Dept. of English, Drama Section, Ahmadu Bello University, 1982. (413 p.)
    Butler Stacks, Folios: NX589.6.N5 K64 1982a F
  • Kofoworola, Ziky and Yusef Lateef. Hausa performing arts and music. Lagos: Nigeria Magazine, Dept. of Culture, Federal Ministry of Information and Culture, c1987. (330 p.)
    Music: NX589.6.N5 K65 1987g
  • Mack, Beverly B. Muslim women sing: Hausa popular song. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2004. (302 p. + CD)
    Music and Barnard Stacks: ML3503.N6 M32 2004
  • Mack, Beverly B. and Jean Boyd. One woman's Jihad: Nana Asma'u, scholar and scribe. Bloomington; Indianapolis, IN: Indiana University Press, c2000. (198 p.)
    Barnard, Butler Stacks, & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:
    PL8234.A85 Z77 2000
  • Meunier, Olivier. Les routes de l'Islam: anthropologie politique de l'islamisation de l'Afrique de l'Ouest en général et du pays Hawsa en particulier du VIIIè au XIXè siècle. Paris: L'Harmattan, c1997. (203 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BP64.A4 W362 1997
  • Miles, William F.S. Hausaland divided: colonialism and independence in Nigeria and Niger. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1994. (368 p.)
    Barnard, Butler Stacks, & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:
    DT515.45.H38 M55 1994
  • Monfouga-Nicolas, Jacqueline. Ambivalence et culte de possession; contribution à l'étude du Bori hausa. Paris: Anthropos, [1972]. (384 p.)
    Offsite: BL2470.N48 M66
  • Moughtin, Cliff. Hausa architecture. London: Ethnographica, 1985. (175 p.)
    Avery Stacks: AA1597 N56 M86
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT515.45.H38 M68 1985b
  • Nicolas, Guy. Dynamique sociale et appréhension du monde au sein d'une société hausa. Paris: Institut d'ethnologie, 1975. (661 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 302.06 P218 t.78
  • Philips, John Edward. Spurious Arabic : Hausa and colonial Nigeria. Madison, Wis.: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, c2000. (110 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:
    PL8231 .P48 2000g
  • Salamone, Frank A. The Hausa people, a bibliography. 2 vols. New Haven, Conn.: Human Relations Area Files, 1983.
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: Z3597 .S24 1983g v.1-2
  • Salifou, André. L'Empereur des menteurs: et autres contes du pays haoussa. Niamey, Niger: Les Editions de la nouvelle imprimerie du Niger, 2002. (91 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PQ3989.2.S225 E5 2002g
  • Smith, M.G. The affairs of Daura. Berkeley, Calif.: University of California Press, c1978. (532 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT515.9.D38 S64
  • Staudinger, Paul. In the heart of the Hausa states ; translated by Johanna Moody. 2 vols. Monographs in international studies. Africa series ; no. 56. Athens, Ohio: Ohio University Center for International Studies, 1990.
    Lehman Stacks: DT1 .P331 no. 56
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: DT515.9.F8 S7313 1990
  • Tremearne, A.J.N. The ban of the Bori; demons and demon-dancing in West and North Africa. London: Heath, Cranton & Ouseley Ltd., [1914]. (504 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 302.966 T723
  • Wall, L. Lewis. Hausa medicine: illness and well-being in a West African culture. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1988. (369 p.)
    Barnard, Lehman Stacks & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:
    DT515.45.H38 W35 1988
  • Works, John A. Pilgrims in a strange land : Hausa communities in Chad. New York: Columbia University Press, 1976. (280 p.)
    Barnard and Butler Stacks: DT546.442 .W67

Compiled in May 2009 by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian.  Last updated 5/14/2011.