International Conflict Resolution: Comparative and Theoretical Studies

Compiled by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian, Columbia University


Table of Contents


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia University affiliates.

Reference: Atlases, Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

General

  • Ali, Sheikh R. The International organizations and world order dictionary. (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1992)
    Butler Reference R341.1 A141
    Lehman Stacks JX1995 .A4595 1992
  • Anderson, Sean and Stephen Sloan. Historical dictionary of terrorism. 2nd ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002)
    Barnard Reference HV6431 .A537 2002
    Lehman Reference HV6431 .A537 2002
  • Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
    Lehman Reference
    • For the print handbook of an individual country, search in CLIO,select "Guided Keyword" search, and use keywords [name of country] and "area handbook" (as a phrase).
    • For online versions on a specific country,
  • Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts. Edited by Joseph R. Rudolph, Jr. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003)
    Lehman Reference GN496 .E56 2003
  • Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-
    Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations.
  • How to Cite Print and Internet Resources
  • Larsen, Jeffrey A. and James M. Smith. Historical dictionary of arms control and disarmament. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005)
    Lehman Reference JZ5645 .L38 2005
  • Maps
  • Mays, Terry M. Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping. 2nd ed. Historical dictionaries of international organizations series ; no. 22. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.)
    Lehman Reference JZ6374 .M38 2004
  • Osmanczyk, Edmund Jan. The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international relations. 3rd ed. 4 vols. (New York : Routledge, 2003)
    Barnard Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003
    Lehman Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world. 6 vols. Ed. by John L. Esposito [et al.]. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2009).
    Islamic Studies Reading Room (602 Butler) DS35.53 .O96 2009
    Butler Reference R297 Ox2
    See also: E-book, v. 1-6 (via Oxford Islamic Studies Online)
  • Patil, Anjali V. The UN veto in world affairs, 1946-1990. (Sarasota, FL : UNIFO, 1992)
    Lehman Stacks JX1977 .A593 P373 1992g
  • Peace & world security studies : a curriculum guide. 6th ed. (Boulder, Colo. : L. Rienner Publishers, 1994)
    Lehman Stacks JX1904.5 .P392 1994
  • Peace by pieces, the United Nations agencies and their roles: a reader and selective bibliography. Ed. by Robert N. Wells, Jr. (Metuchen, NJ :Scarecrow Press, 1991)
    Lehman Stacks JX1995 .P38 1991
  • Peace, security and conflict prevention: SIPRI-UNESCO handbook. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998)
    Lehman Stacks JX1905 .P43 1998g
  • Peaceful settlement of disputes between states: a selective bibliography. (New York : United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library, 1991)
    Lehman Stacks JX4473 .P43 1991g
  • Political handbook of the world. (Binghamton, NY : Published for the Center for Comparative Political Research of the State University of New York at Binghamton and for the Council on Foreign Relations by McGraw-Hill Book Co., 1975--)
    Butler Stacks JF37 .P752 (2009 shelved in Butler Reference Desk, Room 301)
    Lehman Reference JF37 .P752
    Online version
  • Ramsbotham, Olivier ...[et al.] Encyclopedia of international peacekeeping operations. (Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1999.
    Barnard Reference JZ6374 .R36 1999
    Lehman Stacks JZ6374 .R36 1999
  • The Routledge handbook of the responsibility to protect. Edited by W. Andy Knight and Frazer Egerton. (Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, c2012)
    Lehman Stacks: JZ6369 .R68 2012
  • Small arms survey : profiling the problem. (Oxford : Oxford University Press [A project of the Graduate Institute of InternationalStudies, Geneva, Switzerland], 2001--)
    Lehman Stacks HD9744 .F552 S62 (2006 shelved in Lehman Reference)
    Online version (2001 to present)
  • The spirit of violence: an interdisciplinary bibliography of religion and violence. Ed. by Christopher Candland. Occasional papers no. 6. (NewYork : Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation, 1992)
    Butler Stacks HM281 .C36 1992g
    Barnard Stacks HM281 .C36 1992g
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Chiefs of state and cabinet members of foreign governments. World Leaders (Washington, DC : The Agency)
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. The World Factbook.(Washington, DC: The Agency)
    Frequently updated country profiles.
  • Unwin, Derek W. Historical dictionary of European organizations. International organizations ; no. 4. (Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press,1994)
    Lehman Stacks JX1995 .U79 1994
  • Yearbook of international organizations = Annuaire des organisations internationales. (Brussels: Union of International Associations, 1966/67--)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference JX1904 .Y33
    Butler Reference JX1904 .Y33

Africa, Sub-Saharan

  • Africa confidential who's who of Southern Africa. Ed. by Patrick Smith. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.
    Lehman Reference DT1014 .A34 1998g
  • Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69--)
    Lehman Reference DT1 Af815
  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London : Europa, 1971-)
    Lehman Reference DT351 .A35
    Lehman DT351 .A35
    Butler Reference DT351 .A35
    Barnard Reference DT351 .A35
    See also: Europa world plus (described in the first section of this guide)
  • Andor, Lydia Eve (comp.) The small and the new in southern Africa: the foreign relations of Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, and Swaziland since their independence: a select and annotated bibliography. Bibliographical series (South African Institute of International Affairs); no. 25. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1993)
    Lehman Reference DT2496 .A54 1993g
  • Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
    Lehman Reference
    • For the handbook of an individual country, search in CLIO by selecting "Keyword."  Use the name of the country and "area handbook" (in quotes) for the keyword search.
    • To access the online handbooks on Africa, go to the section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
    • See updated information for selected countries from the Library of Congress: Country Profiles, 2004 to present
  • Arnold, Guy. Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa. 2nd edition. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2008)
    African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler): DT21.5 .A76 2008
    Lehman Reference DT21.5 .A76 2008
  • Bibliografia anotada multidisciplinar sobre população e desenvolvimento em Moçambique. Républica de Moçambique, Comissão Nacional do Plano, Direção Nacional de Estatistica, Unidade de População e Planificação. (Maputo: A Unidade, (1991))
    Lehman Reference Z7165 .M85 B53 1991
  • Chidester, David et al. African traditional religion in South Africa: an annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997)
    Butler Reference R016 .299 Af83
  • Chidester, David et al. Christianity in South Africa: an annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997)
    Butler Reference R016 .2768 C46
  • Chidester, David et al. Islam, Hinduism, and Judaism in South Africa: an annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997)
    Butler Reference R016 .297 C43
  • Christopher, A. J. The atlas of apartheid. (New York ; London : Routledge, c1994)
    Lehman G2566.E625 C5 1994
  • Christopher, A. J. The atlas of changing South Africa. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : Routledge, c2001)
    Lehman Reference G2566.E625 C5 2001 -and- E-book
  • Daniels, Morna. Côte d'Ivoire.
    World bibliographical series; v. 131. (Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : CLIO Press, 1996)
    Lehman Reference DT545.22 .D36 1996g
  • Darch, Colin. Mozambique.
    World bibliographical series; v. 78. (Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : CLIO Press, 1987)
    Lehman Reference DT453 .D37 1987g
    Lehman Reserves DT453 .D37 1987g
  • Delancey, Mark W. [et al.]. African international relations: an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997)
    Lehman Reference DT31 .A36 1997
  • Dunn, D. Elwood. Liberia.
    World bibliographical series ; v. 157. (Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif.: CLIO Press, 1995)
    Lehman Reference Z3821 .D86 1995g
  • Dunn, D. Elwood, Amos J. Beyan, Carl Patrick Burrowes. Historical dictionary of Liberia. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001)
    Lehman Reference DT631 .D95 2001
  • Eggers, Ellen K. Historical dictionary of Burundi. 3rd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
    Lehman Reference DT450.68 .E37 2006
  • Falola, Toyin and Ann Genova. Historical dictionary of Nigeria. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2009.
    Lehman Reference DT515.15 .F35 2009
  • Fredland, Richard. A guide to African international organizations. (London : Hans Zell, 1990)
    Lehman Reference JX1995 .F67 1990
  • Fyle, C. Magbaily. Historical dictionary of Sierra Leone. New ed. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2006.
    Lehman Reference DT516.5 .F868 2006
  • Griffiths, Ieuan Ll. Atlas of African affairs. (New York : Routledge, 1994)
    Lehman Reference G2445 .G7 1994
  • Hale, Terrel D. United States sanctions and South Africa : a selected legal bibliography. Bibliographies and indexes in law and political science ; no. 18. (New York : Greenwood Press, 1993)
    Lehman Reference KF1975.A1 H35 1993
  • Haron, Muhammed. South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission : an annotated bibliography [circa 1993-2008]. New York: Nova Science Publishers, c2009.
    Butler Reference Z3608 .R3 H37 2009
    Lehman Reference Z3608 .R3 H37 2009
  • Imperato, Pascal James and Gavin H. Imperato. Historical dictionary of Mali. 4th ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2008)
    Lehman Reference DT551.5 .I46 2008
  • James, W. Martin. Historical dictionary of Angola. 2nd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011)
    Lehman Reference DT1264 .J36 2011
  • Kalley, Jacqueline A. South Africa's road to change, 1987-1990 : a select and annotated bibliography. African special bibliographic series, no. 15. (New York : Greenwood Press, 1991)
    Butler Reference R016.968 K124
  • Kisangani, Emizet F. Historical dictionary of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. 3rd ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010.
    Lehman Reference DT650.17 .B63 2010
    For Columbia only: E-Book
  • Kramer, Robert S., Richard Andrew Lobban, and Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban. Historical dictionary of the Sudan. 4th ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, c2013)
    Lehman Reference DT155.3 .V64 2013
  • Mapping specialists, Inc. Africa on file. 2 vols. (New York : Facts on File, 1995)
    Lehman Reference DT6.7 .A34 1995
  • Maps of Africa on the Internet. (Columbia University Libraries)
  • Mays, Terry M., Mark W. DeLancey. Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002)
    Lehman Reference JZ4850 .M39 2002
  • Mukhtar, Mohamed Haji. Historical dictionary of Somalia. New ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2003)
    Lehman Reference DT401.2 .M85 2003
  • Musiker, Reuben. South African bibliography : a survey of bibliographies and bibliographical work. 3rd ed. (London : Mansell, 1996)
    Butler Reference R016.01 M97
    Barnard Reference Z3601.A1 M9 1996
  • Musiker, Reuben and Naomi Musiker. Guide to South African reference books. 6th ed. (London : Mansell, 1997)
    Butler Reference R016.968 M997151
  • Okupa, Effa. International bibliography of African customary law : ius non scriptum. (Hamburg: LIT Verlag, 1998)
    Lehman Reference KQ2 .O48 1998g
  • Omitoogun, Wuyi. Military expenditure data in Africa: a survey of Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Uganda. SIPRI research report; no. 17. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003)
    Lehman Reference UA855.7 .O45 2003g
  • Potts, Deborah. Zimbabwe. Rev. and expanded ed. World bibliographical series; v. 4. (Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press, c1993)
    Lehman Reference DT2891 .P67 1993g
  • Schoeman, Elna et al., comp. Mandela's five years of freedom : South African politics, economics and social issues, 1990-1995 : a select and annotated bibliography. Bibliographical series (South African Institute of International Affairs) ; no. 29. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996)
    Lehman Reference DT1970 .S35 1996g
  • Schoeman, Elna. South Africa's foreign relations in transition, 1985-1991: a select and annotated bibliography. Bibliographical series (South African Institute of International Affairs) ; no. 23. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1992)
    Lehman Reference DT1172 .S35 1992
  • Searching for peace in Africa : an overview of conflict prevention and management activities. Ed. by Monique Mekenkamp, Paul van Tongeren, and Hans van de Veen. (Utrecht : European Platform for Conflict Prevention and Transformation, 1999)
    Lehman Reference DT30.5 .S455 1999g
  • Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004)
    Lehman Reference UA855.7 .S54 2004
  • South Africa survey. Annual. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of Race Relations, c1996-)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference DT763 .S791
    Earlier editions in Lehman Stacks. Note: Before 1995, formerly known as "Race Relations Survey."
  • Souto, Améia Neves de and António Sopa. Samora Machel: bibliográfia (1970-1986). Colecção Nosso Chão; 3. (Maputo : Centro de Estudos Africanos, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, 1996)
    Butler Reference R328.8 M118
  • Strachan, Beth. Angola, the struggle for power : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1993 : a select and annotated bibliography. Bibliographical series (South African Institute of International Affairs) ; no. 28. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1994)
    Lehman Reference Z3891 .S77 1994g
  • Strachan, Beth. Mozambique, the quest for peace : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1994 : a select and annotated bibliography. Bibliographical series (South African Institute of International Affairs) ; no. 31. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996)
    Lehman Reference Z3871 .S87 1996g
  • Strachan, Beth. South Africa's second democratic election, 1999: an annotated bibliography. (Auckland Pack, South Africa: Electoral Institute of Southern Africa, c2001)
    Lehman Reference Z3606.S73 1999g
  • Tonchi, Victor, William A. Lindeke, John J. Grotpeter. Historical dictionary of Namibia. 2nd ed. (Lanham : Scarecrow Press, 2012)
    Lehman Reference DT1514 .G76 2012
  • Twagilimana, Aimable. Historical dictionary of Rwanda. New ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
    Lehman Reference DT450.115 .D67 2007
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Chiefs of state and cabinet members of African governments. (Washington, DC : The Agency, 2001--)
    Selected by Columbia University Libraries.

East, South, & Southeast Asia

  • Adamec, Ludwig W. Historical dictionary of Afghan wars, revolutions, and insurgencies. 2nd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005)
    Butler Stacks: DS356 .A26 2005
  • ASEAN economic co-operation : handbook. Comp. by Hans Christoph Rieger. (Singapore : ASEAN Economic Research Unit, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, c1991)
    Business Stacks HC441 .A7433 1991g
  • ASEAN who's who. 1st ed. 3 v. (Kuala Lumpur : Kasuya Publishing SDN BHD, (1992))
    Lehman Reference DS524.2 .A24 1992g
  • Asian security handbook : terrorism and the new security environment. 3rd ed. Edited by William M. Carpenter and David G. Wiencek. (Armonk, NY : M.E. Sharpe, c2005)
    Lehman Stacks: UA830 .A842 2005
    See also: E-book
  • Bibliographies on South Asian Topics
    A list of research bibliographies on the Internet, compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
  • The encyclopedia of Pakistan. Edited by Hafeez Malik, Yuri V. Gankovsky. (Karachi : Oxford University Press, 2006)
    Butler Reference: R954.7 En2
    Lehman Reference: DS376.8 .E53 2006
  • The Far East and Australasia. Annual. (London : Europa, 1995-)
    Lehman Reference DS1 .F3
    Butler Reference DS1 .F3
    Barnard Reference DS1 .F3
    See also: Europa world plus (described in the first section of this guide)
  • Historical atlas of South Asia. 2nd ed. Ed. by Joseph E. Schwartzburg et al. Reference series (Association for Asian Studies) ; no. 2. (New York : Oxford University Press, 1992)
    Lehman Reference G2261.S1 H5 1992
    Butler Reference R912 H62941
  • Kemp, Herman C. Bibliographies on Southeast Asia. Bibliographical series ; no. 22. (Leiden, The Netherlands: KITLV Press, 1998)
    Butler Reference RO16.959 K32
  • Klooster, H.A.J. Bibliography of the Indonesian revolution : publications from 1942 to 1994. Bibliographical series; no. 21. (Leiden, The Netherlands: KITLV Press, 1997)
    Butler Reference RO16.991 K69
  • Lyon, Peter. Conflict between India and Pakistan: an encyclopedia. (Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2008)
    Lehman Stacks: DS450.P18 L86 2008
    See also: E-book
  • Mitra, Subrata Kumar, Siegfried O. Wolf, and Jivanta Schöttli. A political and economic dictionary of South Asia. (London : Routledge, 2006)
    Lehman Reference: HC430.6 .P63 2006g
  • Rony, A. Kohar and Ieda Siqueira Wiarda. The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor. Abera Bibliographies; vol. 1. (Hamburg, Germany: Abera Verlag, 1997)
    Butler Stacks Z3221.R66 1997
  • Samarasinghe, S.W.R. de A. and Vidyamali Samarasinghe. Historical dictionary of Sri Lanka. (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998)
    Butler DS489.5 .S33 1998
  • Sri Lanka. The national atlas of Sri Lanka. (Colombo, Sri Lanka : Survey Dept., c1988)
    Lehman Stacks G2290 .S65 1988
  • Who's who of the Asian Pacific rim. International ed. Annual. (Laguna Beach, Calif., USA : Barons Who's Who, c1991-)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference DS510 .W47

Middle East & North Africa

  • Algeria: a bibliography of events, 1991 to 2004  (Ali Houissa, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, New York)
  • Bibliographic Resources for the Middle East and Islamic Studies
    A list of resources at Columbia and on the Internet, compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
  • Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Edited by Cheryl A. Rubenberg. (Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, c2010)
    E-book (via Literati-Credo Reference)
  • The encyclopedia of Middle East wars : the United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq conflicts. 5 vols. Edited by Spencer C. Tucker and Priscilla Mary Roberts. (Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2010)
    Lehman Reference: DS63.1 .E453 2010, v.1-5
    See also: E-book (via Gale Virtual Library)
  • Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa. 4 vols. 2nd ed. Edited by Philip Mattar ...[et al.] (Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, c2004)
    Butler Reference: R956 En191, v. 1-4
    Lehman Reference: DS43 .E53 2004, v. 1-4
    See also: E-book, v. 1-4 (via Gale Virtual Library)
  • Governance in the Middle East and North Africa : a handbook. Edited by Abbas Kadhim. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013)
    Lehman Stacks (Non-Circulating): JQ1758.A58 G68 2013
  • Gunter, Michael M. Historical dictionary of the Kurds. 2nd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011)
    Butler Stacks: DS59.K86 G86 2011
    See also: E-book
  • Hahn, Peter L. Historical dictionary of United States-Middle East relations. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2007)
    Lehman Reference: DS63.2.U5 H3472 2007
  • Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa. Ed by Bernard Reich. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998)
    Lehman Reference JQ1758 .A58 1998
  • Iran yearbook. Annual. (Bonn: Moini-Biontino Verlag, 1988-1996)
    Lehman Stacks: DS251 .I757, 1988-1996
  • Israel : a country study. 3rd ed. Ed. by Helen Chapin Metz. (Washington, DC : U.S. Department of the Army, 1990)
    Lehman Reference DS126.5 .I772 1990
    E-book (via The Library of Congress)
  • Karta (Firm). Atlas of Israel : cartography, physical and human geography. 3rd ed. (Tel Aviv ; New York : Survey of Israel ; Macmillan, 1985)
    Lehman Reference ATLAS G2235 .K3 1985
    Butler Reference ATLAS R912 K14
  • LookLex Encyclopedia. (CiAS) (Formerly Encyclopædia of the Orient and also formerly Encyclopædia of Arabica. Covers all cultures of North Africa & the Middle East, with short definitions and links to longer articles).
  • The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)
    Lehman Reference DS49 . M58
    Butler Reference DS49 .M58
    Barnard Reference DS49 .M58
    See also: Europa world plus (described in the first section of this guide)
  • Nakhleh, Issa. Encyclopedia of the Palestine problem. 2 v. (New York : Intercontinental Books, 1991)
    Lehman Reference DS119.7 .N295 1991g
  • Naylor, Phillip Chiviges. Historical dictionary of Algeria. 3rd ed. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2006.
    Lehman Reference DT283.7 .N39 2006
  • Orgill, Andrew. The 1990-91 Gulf War : crisis, conflict, aftermath : an annotated bibliography. (London ; New York : Mansell, 1995)
    Lehman Reference Z3036 .O74 1995
  • Peretz, Don. The Arab-Israel dispute. (New York : Facts On File, 1996)
    Lehman Reference DS119.7 .P4497 1996
  • Reich, Bernard. Historical dictionary of Israel. Asian historical dictionaries; no. 8. (Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow, 1992)
    Lehman Reference DS126.5 .R38 1992
  • Reich, Bernard and David H. Goldberg. Political dictionary of Israel. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000)
    Lehman Reference: DS126.5 .R385 2000
  • Stevenson, Thomas B. Studies on Yemen, 1975-1990: a bibliography of European-language sources for social scientists. Yemen bibliography series; No.1. (Westbury, New York: American Institute for Yemeni Studies, c1994, (Chelsea, Michigan: BookCrafters)).
    Lehman Reference DS247.Y48 S73 1994g
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Atlas of the Middle East. (Washington, DC : CIA, 1993)
    Lehman Reference G2205 .U55 1993g
  • Who's who in the Arab world. (Beirut, Publitec Editions, 1965/66-)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference DS222 .W56
    Earlier editions in Lehman stacks
    Butler Reference R049.3 Ar11

Indexes, Abstracts, Online Full Text, & Law Databases

  • Abstracts in anthropology. 8 issues per year. (Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1970-2007)
    OFFSITE: GN1 .A15
  • Africa-Wide Information (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997-)
    An interdisciplinary index.
  • AnthropologyPlus. (Online) (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC)
    "Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing on publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present." Includes citations based on the collections of Harvard University's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute in London, UK.
  • Constitutions on the Internet (see below)
  • Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest UniversityMicrofilms International, 1980-)
    Formerly Dissertation abstracts, older issues (1966-1987) in paper can be found in Butler stacks.
  • eHRAF World Cultures: Human Relations Area Files Collection of Ethnography. -- New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University; Ann Arbor, Michigan: University of Michigan Digital Library, c1987, 1996-
    A searchable, online library of full text books, articles, dissertations, and unpublished manuscripts on a wide variety of cultures and societies around the world. See also at Columbia: the HRAF in paper and microfiche in Lehman Library.
  • ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment Information System (Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex, Brighton, UK)
    An indexing service provided by IDS. Papers are selected from all over the Internet based on topics in African, Asian, and Latin American studies. Documents are produced by research institutes or international organizations. Some documents are electronic versions of printed works, while others are full online documents--with citations and bibliographies. The Africa country guides provide links to Web sites, as well. Note: Some documents listed in the search are only accessible at the IDS library, University of Sussex.
  • Francis: International Humanities and Social Studies Online Index. Monthly. -- Paris : CNRS ; USA : RLG Eureka, 1984-
    Interdisciplinary index to periodicals, books, theses, reports, and conference proceedings, with emphasis on Western European publications. Some citation entries contain abstracts.
  • International Bibliography of Book Reviews. Monthly. Published by K.G. Saur Verlag, Thomson Corporation.
    European and North American journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences since 1985 are indexed.
  • International Legal Databases--Access UN, UN Treaty Collection, HeinOnline
    "Select by Type: International"
    Access to some of these databases is restricted to Columbia Law Library. Ask at Law Library Reference for assistance.
  • PAIS International. (Online) Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1986-)
    General social science index to books and periodical literature.
  • SIPRI Databases on Security, Arms Transfers, & Military Expenditures (Stockholm: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, 1990--)
  • Social sciences citation index. (Online), 1988- Triannual. (Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1956-)
  • Social sciences full text. (Online) Quarterly. (Bronx, New York: H.W. Wilson, Co., 1983-)
    This index product offers citations (without full text) for the period 1983-1994 and a full-text option starting in 1995.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Monthly. (Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1975--)
    A general database for international relations and political science---citations and abstracts.

Documents, Statistical Data, & Selected Web Sites

 


Selected Books

Theoretical & Comparative Studies

  • Attracted to conflict: dynamic foundations of destructive social relations. Vallacher, Robin R. et al. (New York : Springer, 2013)
    E-Book (Columbia only)
  • Autesserre, Séverine. Peaceland : conflict resolution and the everyday politics of international intervention. (New York : Cambridge University Press, 2014)
    Barnard Reserves JZ5538 .A87 2014
    Lehman Reserves JZ5538 .A87 2014
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler JZ5538 .A87 2014
    E-book (Columbia only)
  • Bellamy, Alex J. Responsibility to protect : the global effort to end mass atrocities. (Cambridge, UK ; Malden, MA : Polity, 2009)
    Lehman Reserves JZ6369 .B45 2009g
  • Bell-Fialkoff, Andrew. Ethnic cleansing. (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1996) --[Kosovo, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Rwanda, Burundi]
    Lehman JV6091 .B45 1996
    Barnard JV6091 .B45 1996
  • Building international community: cooperating for peace: case studies. Ed. by Kevin Clements and Robin Ward. (Canberra, Australia: Allen & Unwin in association with the Peace Research Centre, RPSAS, ANU, 1994)
    Lehman JX1952 .B799 1994
  • Carayannis, Tatiana ...[et al.]  Practice without evidence: interrogating conflict resolution approaches and assumptions. (February 2014) Justice and Security Research Programme paper; no. 11.  (London: London School of Economic and Political Science, 2014)
  • Carnegie Commission on Preventing Deadly Conflict. Preventing deadly conflict: final report. Washington, DC: Carnegie Commission of New York, December 1997.
    • See also print version: Lehman JC328.6 .C38 1997g
  • Civil war, civil peace. Ed. by Helen Yanacopulos and Joseph Hanlon. (Milton Keynes, U.K.: Open University; Oxford; Athens, OH: In association with James Currey, c2006)
    Lehman JZ5538.C58 2006g
  • Civilians and modern war: armed conflict and the ideology of violence. Ed. by Daniel Rothbart, Karina V. Korostelina and Mohammed D. Cherkaoui. (London ; New York : Routledge, 2012)
    Butler U21.2 .C514 2012
  • Cochrane, Feargal. Ending wars. (Cambridge ; Malden, MA : Polity, 2008)
    Lehman Reserves JZ5538 .C635 2008g
  • Coddington, Alan. Theories of the bargaining process. (UK: Allen & Unwin, 1968)
    Lehman HD2731 .C6 1968b
    Business HD2731 .C6 1968b
  • Collapsed states: the disintegration and restoration of legitimate authority. Ed. by I. William Zartman. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 1995)
    Lehman JQ1879.A15 C647 1995
  • Collective conflict management and changing world politics. Ed. by Joseph Lepgold and Thomas G. Weiss. SUNY series in global politics. (Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, c1998)
    Lehman JZ5588 .C65 1998
  • Colosi, Thomas R. and Arthur E. Berckley. Collective bargaining: how it works and why: a manual of theory and practice. (New York: American Arbitration Association, 1992)
    Law HD6971.5 .C65 1992
  • Conflict and peacemaking in multiethnic societies. Ed. by Joseph V. Montville. (Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, 1989)
    Lehman-Social Work Reserves GN496 .C65 1990
  • Coulon, Jocelyn. Soldiers of diplomacy: the United Nations, peacekeeping, and the new world order.
    Barnard & Lehman JX1981 .P7 C65 1998g
  • Cross, crescent, and sword: the justification and limitation of war in Western and Islamic tradition. Ed. by James Turner Johnson and John Kelsay. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1990)
    Butler JX4511 .C76 1990
  • Deng, Francis M. Protecting the dispossessed: a challenge to the international community. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 1993)
    Lehman HV640 .D46 1993
  • Deutsch, Morton. The resolution of conflict: constructive and destructive processes. (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1973)
    Lehman HM136 .D39 1973
    Social Work HM136 .D39 1973
  • Doyle, Michael W. and Nicholas Sambanis. Making war and building peace: United Nations peace operations. (Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, c2006)
    Lehman Reserves JZ6374 .D69 2006
  • Duffield, Mark. Global governance and the new wars: the merging of development and security. (London: Zed Books ; New York: Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave, 2001)
    Butler, Lehman and Barnard Reserves HC59.72.D44 D84 2001
  • Eller, Jack David. From culture to ethnicity to conflict: an anthropological perspective on international ethnic conflict. (Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, c1999) -- [Sri Lanka, Rwanda, Burundi, & Bosnia]
    Lehman GN496 .E55 1999
  • Elusive peace: negotiating an end to civil war. Ed. by I. William Zartman. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 1995)
    Lehman D421 .E58 1995 **1 copy on Lehman Reserves
  • Ethnic and religious conflicts : Europe and Asia. Ed. by Peter Janke. (Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, Vt., USA : Dartmouth, c1994)
    Lehman D860 .E76 1994
  • Ethnic diversity and public policy: a comparative inquiry. Ed. by Crawford Young. (New York: St. Martin's Press in association with UNRISD, 1998)
    Lehman HM276 .E77 1998
  • Genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity: topical digests of the case law of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia. Compiled by the International Justice Program, Human Rights Watch ; Jennifer Trahan et al. (New York ; Washington, DC : HRW, 2004).
  • Getting to the table: the process of international prenegotiation. Ed. by Janice Gross Stein. (Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1989)
    Lehman Reserves JX4473 .G47 1989g
  • Goodpaster, Gary. A guide to negotiation and mediation. (Irvington-on-Hudson, N.Y.: Transnational Publishers, c1997).
    Lehman Reserves KF9084 .G66 1997
  • Gow, James. Triumph of the lack of will: international diplomacy and the Yugoslav War. (New York : Columbia University Press, 1997)
    Lehman DR1313.7.D58 G69 1997
  • Gray, Chris Hables. Postmodern war: the new politics of conflict. (New York: Guilford Press, c1997)
    Lehman D860 .G75 1997
  • Haass, Richard N. Conflicts unending: the United States and regional disputes. (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1990)
    Butler E881 .H33 1990
    Lehman Reserves E881 .H33 1990
    Lehman E881 .H33 1990
  • A handbook of international peacebuilding: into the eye of the storm. Edited by John Paul Lederach, Janice Moomaw Jenner. (San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass, c2002)
    Lehman Reserves JZ6374 .H36 2002
  • Herding cats : multiparty mediation in a complex world. Ed. by Chester A. Crocker, Fen Osler Hampson, Pamela Aall. (Washington, DC: United States Institute of Peace Press, 1999)
    Butler Reserves JZ6045 .H47 1999
    Lehman Reserves JZ6045 .H47 1999
  • Ikle, Fred C. How nations negotiate. (Millwood, NY: Krause, rep 1987; c1967)
    Lehman Reserves JX4473 .I4 1987
  • Ignatieff, Michael. The warrior's honor : ethnic war and the modern conscience. (New York: Metropolitan Books, 1998)
    Barnard GN496 .I55 1998
    Lehman Reserves GN496 .I55 1998 -- 2 copies
  • Indigenous conflict management strategies : global perspectives. Ed. by Akanmu G. Adebayo, Jesse J. Benjamin, Brandon D. Lundy. (Lanham, Maryland : Lexington Books, [2014])
    Lehman HM1121 .I55 2014
  • The International Criminal Court and complementarity: from theory to practice.  Ed. By Carsten Stahn and Mohamed El Zeidy.  (Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2011.  *On Order for Lehman
  • International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty. The responsibility to protect : report of the International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty. (Ottawa : International Development Research Centre, 2001)
    Lehman Reserves JZ6368 .I57 2001g -and- E-book
  • International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty. The responsibility to protect : research, bibliography, background : supplemental volume to the report of the International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty. (Ottawa : International Development Research Centre, c2001)
    Lehman JZ6368 .I57 2001g -and- E-book
  • The international dimensions of internal conflict. Ed. by Michael E. Brown. CSIA studies in international security ; no. 10. (Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c1996.
    Lehman JX4541.I57 1996
    Milstein (Butler) JX4541.I57 1996
  • Johnson, James Turner. Just war tradition and the restraint of war: a moral and historical inquiry. (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1981)
    Lehman U21.2 .J63
  • Just war and jihad: historical and theoretical perspectives on war and peace in Western and Islamic traditions. Ed. by James Turner Johnson and John Kelsay. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1990)
    Lehman BT736.2 .J87 1991
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. BT736.2 .J87 1991
  • Kaldor, Mary. New & old wars. 2nd ed. (Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2007)
    Lehman Reserves U240.K34 2007
    See also, Cambridge (UK) edition: Lehman Reserves U240.K34 2006
  • Kalyvas, Stathis N. The logic of violence in civil war. (Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006)
    Lehman Reserves JC328.6.K34 2006
    Butler Reserves JC328.6.K34 2006
  • Keen, David. The economic functions of violence in civil wars. Adelphi papers; no. 320. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press for the International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1998)
    Lehman and Barnard Reserves HC79.D4 .K45 1998g
  • Kressell, Kenneth, Dean G. Pritt, and et al. Mediation research: the process and effectiveness of third party intervention. (San Francisco: Jossey Bass, 1989)
    Lehman HM136 .K75 1989
    Barnard HM136 .K75 1989
  • Luard, Evan. War in international society. (London: I.B. Tauris, 1986)
    Lehman D217 .L8
  • Lund, Michael S. Preventing violent conflicts : a strategy for preventive diplomacy. (Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace Press, 1996.)
    Lehman JX4473 .L86 1996
  • Mampilly, Zachariah Cherian. Rebel rulers : insurgent governance and civilian life during war. Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University Press, 2011. (Sri Lanka and Sudan)
    Butler Reserves & Barnard Stacks: DS489.84 .M356 2011
  • Managing armed conflicts in the 21st century. Ed. by Adekeye Adebajo and Chandra Lekha Sriram. (London ; Portland, OR : Frank Cass, 2001)
    Note: "First appeared in a special issue of International peacekeeping (London), vol. 7, no. 4 (winter, 2000)."
    Lehman Reserves JZ5595 .M36 2001
    Law JX1952 .M312 2001
  • Mazower, Mark. No enchanted palace : the end of empire and the ideological origins of the United Nations. (Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2009)
    Lehman Stacks JZ4986 .M39 2009
    Butler Reserves JZ4986 .M39 2009
  • Merton, Thomas. Faith and violence: Christian teaching and Christian practice. (Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 1968)
    Butler BT736.15 .M4
    Barnard BT736.15 .M4
  • Mitchell, Thomas G. Native vs. settler: ethnic conflict in Israel/Palestine, Northern Ireland, and South Africa. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000)
    Lehman GN496 .M58 2000
  • Negotiations: social-psychological perspectives. Ed. by Daniel Druckman. (Beverly Hills, CA: Sage, 1977)
    Business BF637 .N4N43
    Social Work BF637 .N4N43
    Psychology BF637 .N4N43
  • New approaches to international mediation. Ed. by Christopher R. Mitchell and Keith Webb. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1988)
    Lehman JX4475 .N45 1988
  • The new regionalism and the future of security and development. Ed. by Bjorn Hettne ...[et al.] (New York : St. Martin's Press in association with UNU/WIDER, 2000)
    Lehman JF197 .N48 2000
  • No peace, no war: an anthropology of contemporary armed conflicts. Edited by Paul Richards. (Athens: Ohio University Press; Oxford: J. Currey, 2005)
    Lehman GN497.N6 2005
  • The Oxford handbook of Islam and politics. Edited by John L. Esposito and Emad El-Din Shahin. (New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2013])
    Lehman Stacks (Non-Circulating): BP173.7 .O945 2013
  • Pattison, James. Humanitarian intervention and the responsibility to protect : who should intervene? (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010)
    Lehman JZ6369 .P38 2010g
  • Peace accords and ethnic conflict. Ed. by K.M. De Silva and W.R. Samarasinghe. (London; New York: Pinter; St. Martin's Press, 1993)
    Lehman GN496 .P43 1993
  • Peace education : global perspectives. Studia psychologica et paedagogica. Series altera. Investigationes ; 107. (Stockholm: Almqvist & Wiksell International, 1993)
    Lehman JX1904.5 .P394 1993g
  • Peacemaking and peacekeeping for the new century. Ed. by Olara A. Otunnu and Michael W. Doyle, with the assistance of Chetan Kumar ... [et al.]. (Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c1998.
    Lehman Reserves JZ6374 .P43 1998
  • Peace studies: critical concepts in political science. 4 vols. Edited by Matthew Evangelista. (London; New York: Routledge, 2005)
    Lehman Reference JZ5538 .P374 2005
  • Pillar, Paul R. Negotiating peace: war termination as a bargaining process. (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1983)
    Lehman Reserves JX5166 .P54 1983
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. JX5166 .P54 1983
  • Potter, Ralph. War and moral discourse. (Richmond, VA: John Knox Press, 1969)
    Lehman BT736.2 .P63
  • Ramsey, Paul. The just war: force and political responsibility. (Lanham, MD: University Press of America, rep. 1983, c1968)
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. U21.2 .R33 1983
  • Religion: the missing dimension of statecraft. Ed. by Douglas Johnston and Cynthia Sampson. (Washington, DC: CSIS, 1994)
    Butler BR115.I7 R45 1994
  • Religion and human rights. Ed. by John Kelsay and Sumner B. Twiss. (New York: The Project on Human Rights, 1994)
    Burke (Union Theological Seminary) BL65.H78 R45 1994
  • Religion and peacebuilding. Ed. by Harold Coward and Gordon S. Smith. SUNY series in religious studies. (Albany, New York: State University of New York Press, c2004)
    Butler Stacks BL65.V55 R455 2004
    Burke (Union Theological Seminary) BL65.V55 R455 2004
  • Resolving international conflicts: the theory and practice of mediation. Ed. by Jacob Bercovitch. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 1996)
    Lehman JX4475 .R47 1996
  • Resolving Third World conflict: challenges for a new era. Ed. by Sheryl J. Brown and Kimber M. Schraub. (Washington, DC: USIP, 1992)
    Lehman JX4473 .R47 1992
    Butler Reserves JX4473 .R47 1992
  • Rethinking the economics of war: the intersection of need, creed, and greed. Ed. by Cynthia J. Arnson and I. William Zartman. (Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press; Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, c2005)
    Lehman HB195 .R4845 2005
  • Rice, Edward E. Wars of the third kind: conflict in underdeveloped countries. (Los Angeles and Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1988)
    Barnard D883 .R53 1988
  • Rubin, Jeffrey Z. and Bert R. Brown. The social psychology of bargaining and negotiating. (New York: Academic Press, 1975)
    Barnard BF637.N4 R76
  • The SAGE handbook of conflict resolution. Edited by Jacob Bercovitch, Victor Kremenyuk, and I. William Zartman. (Los Angeles ; London: SAGE, 2009)
    Lehman JZ6045 .S24 2009g
  • Smock, David R. Perspectives on pacifism: Christian, Jewish, and Muslim views on nonviolence and international conflict. (Washington, DC: USIP, 1995)
    Butler BL65.V55 S66 1995
  • Stopping the killing: how civil wars end. Ed. by Roy Licklider. (New York: New York University Press, 1993)
    Lehman JX4541 .S84 1993
  • Simons, Geoffrey Leslie. The United Nations : a chronology of conflict. (New York : St. Martin's Press, c1994)
    Lehman JX1977 .S4564 1994g
  • UN peacekeeping, American politics, and the uncivil wars of the 1990s. Ed. by William J. Durch. (New York : St. Martin's Press, 1996)
    Lehman JX1981 .P7 U197 1996
    Butler E876 .S36 1996
  • Understanding civil war: evidence and analysis. Edited by Paul Collier, Nicholas Sambanis. V. 1. Africa; v. 2. Europe, Central Asia and other regions. (Washington, DC: World Bank, c2005-)
    • Print Version: Lehman Reserves HB195 .U43 2005
    • Volume 1 (via ebrary, Inc.)
    • Volume 2 (via ebrary, Inc.)
  • Understanding disputes: the politics of argument. Ed. by Pat Caplan. Explorations in anthropology. (Providence, R.I.: Berg, 1995)
    Lehman GN494.5 .U53 1995
  • Vigilance and vengeance: NGOs preventing ethnic conflict in divided societies. Ed. by Robert I. Rotberg. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press, c1996)
    Lehman GN496 .V54 1996
  • "Violence and the sacred in the modern world." Special issue of Terrorism and political violence. (Vol. 3; no. 3., 1991.)
    Lehman HV6431 .T6
  • Weinstein, Jeremy M. Inside rebellion: the politics of insurgent violence. (Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007)
    Barnard, Lehman and Butler Reserves JC328.5 .W45 2007
  • When states fail: causes and consequences. Edited by Robert I. Rotberg. (Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2004)
    Lehman Reserves JF60.W46 2004 Butler Reserves JF60.W46 2004
  • Zartman, I. William. Cowardly lions: missed opportunities to prevent deadly conflict and state collapse. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner, 2005)
    Lehman JZ6045 .Z37 2005

Africa, Sub-Saharan

  • Aboagye, Festus B. ECOMOG: a sub-regional experience in conflict resolution, management, and peacekeeping in Liberia. (Accra : SEDCO, 1999)
    Lehman Reference DT636.5 .A26 1999
  • Adebajo, Adekeye. Building peace in West Africa: Liberia, Sierra Leone, and Guinea-Bissau. International Peace Academy occasional paper series. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, c2002)
    Lehman Reference DT476.5 .A34 2002 (2 copies)
  • Adebajo, Adekeye. Liberia's civil war: Nigeria, ECOMOG, and regional security in West Africa. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2002)
    Lehman DT636.5 .A34 2002 (2 copies)
  • Adebajo, Adekeye. UN peacekeeping in Africa: from Suez to the Sudan conflicts.
    (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2011)
    Lehman JZ4997.5.A35 A34 2011
  • Africa in the new international order: rethinking state sovereignty and regional security. Ed. by Edmond J. Keller and Donald Rothchild. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 1996)
    Lehman JX1582 .A46 1996
  • Africa's new peace and security architecture: promoting norms, institutionalizing solutions. Ed. by Ulf Engel and João Gomes Porto.  (Surrey, England, UK; Burlington, Vermont: Ashgate Pub. Co., 2010)
    Lehman JZ 5584.A35 A38 2010
    E-book Columbia only
    --See also below:Towards an African Peace and Security Regime (2013)
  • African conflict resolution: the U.S. role in peacemaking. Ed. by David R. Smock and Chester A. Crocker. (Washington, D.C.: United States Institute of Peace Press [USIP], 1995)
    Lehman JX1961.A35 A33 1995
  • African guerrillas: raging against the machine. Ed. by Morten Boas and Kevin C. Dunn. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 2007)
    Lehman DT30.5 .A35589 2007
  • The African stakes of the Congo War. Edited by John Frank Clark. (New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2000)
    Lehman DT658.26 .A36 2002
  • Anstee, Margaret Joan. Orphan of the cold war : the inside story of the collapse of the Angolan peace process, 1992-93. (New York : St. Martin's Press, 1996)
    Lehman DT1428 .A57 1996g
  • Anstey, Mark. Negotiating conflict: insights and skills for negotiators and peacemakers. (Kenwyn, South Africa : Juta, 1991)
    Lehman HM136 .A577 1991g
  • Austin, Kathi. Invisible crimes: US private intervention in the war in Mozambique. Ed. by William Minter. (Washington, DC: Africa Policy Information Center, c1994)
    Lehman DT3394 .A87 1994g
  • Autesserre, Séverine. The trouble with the Congo : local violence and the failure of international peacebuilding. (Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010)
    Butler Reserves, Lehman Reserves, Barnard Reserves DT658.26 .A94 2010
  • Ayittey, George B.N. Indigenous African institutions. (Ardsley-on-Hudson, N.Y.: Transnational Publishers, c1991)
    Lehman Reserves GN645 .A95 1991
  • Beah, Ishmael. A long way gone: memoirs of a boy soldier. (New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007)
    Butler DT516.828.B43 A3 2007
    Lehman Reserves DT516.828.B43 A3 2007
  • Bornkamm, Paul Christoph. Rwanda's Gacaca courts : between retribution and reparation. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2012)
    Lehman KTD158 .B67 2012g
    E-Book (Columbia only)
  • Bradbury, Mark. Becoming Somaliland. (London: Progressio; Oxford: In association with James Currey; Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2008)
    Lehman DT407.4 .B73 2008g
  • Branch, Adam. Displacing human rights : war and intervention in northern Uganda. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2011)
    Lehman JC599.U36 B73 2011
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler JC599.U36 B73 2011
    E-Book (Columbia only)
  • Brittain, Victoria. Death of dignity : Angola's civil war. (London; Chicago: Pluto Press, 1998)
    Lehman DT1428 .B75 1998
  • Bruton, Bronwyn E. Somalia: a new approach. Council special report no. 52. (New York: Council on Foreign Relations, Center for Preventive Action, 2010)
    Lehman DT401.6 .B78 2010
  • The causes of war and the consequences of peacekeeping in Africa. Ed. by Ricardo René Laremont. (Portsmouth, New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2002)
    Lehman DT30.5 .C38 2002
  • Cliffe, Lionel et al. The transition to independence in Namibia. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 1994)
    Lehman DT 1648 .C58 1994
  • Community cohesion in Liberia: a post-war rapid social assessment. Compiled by Paul Richards [et al.] Social development notes; no. 21 (January 2005) -- Washington, DC: The World Bank, 2005. [92 pages in PDF or Word format.]
  • Comprehending and mastering African conflicts: the search for sustainable peace and good governance. Ed. by Adebayo Adedeji. (London : Zed Books, in association with The African Centre for Development and Strategic Studies (ACDESS), 1999.
    Lehman DT30.5 .C55 1999g
  • Conflict in Africa. Ed. by Oliver Furley. (London : I.B. Tauris, 1995)
    Lehman DT30.5 .C65 1995g
  • Conteh-Morgan, Earl and Mac Dixon-Fyle. Sierra Leone at the end of the twentieth century: history, politics, and society. (New York: P. Lang, c1999)
    Lehman DT516.8 .C66 1999
  • Continental Meeting of African Experts on Small Arms and Light Weapons. Small Arms and Light Weapons in Africa: illicit proliferation, circulation and trafficking: proceedings of the OAU Experts Meeting and International Consultation May-June 2000. Compiled by Eunice Reyneke. (Pretoria, South Africa: Institute for Security Studies, c2000)
    Lehman HV7439 .A35 C66 2000g
  • Crocker, Chester A. High noon in southern Africa: making peace in a rough neighborhood. (New York: Norton, 1992)
    Lehman DT1105.U6 C76 1992
  • Darfur and the crisis of governance in Sudan: a critical reader. Ed. by Salah M. Hassan, Carina E. Ray. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press [Amsterdam]: Prince Claus Fund Library, 2009.
    Lehman Stacks DT159.6.D27 D373 2009
    African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler) DT159.6.D27 D373 2009
  • Davidow, Jeffrey. A peace in southern Africa: the Lancaster House Conference on Rhodesia, 1979. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1994)
    Butler DT962.75 .D38 1984
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. DT962.75 .D38 1984
    Lehman DT962.75 .D38 1984
  • Davies, Robert H. South African strategy towards Mozambique in the "accord phase" from March 1984 to September 1985. Destabilisation and regional security concerns in southern Africa. (Roma, Lesotho: Institute of Southern African Studies, 1991)
    Lehman DT1165 .D38 1991
  • Dealing with conflict in Africa: the United Nations and regional organizations. Edited by Jane Boulden. (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK ; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003)
    Lehman JZ6377 .A35 D43 2003
  • Deng, Francis M. War of visions: conflict of identities in the Sudan. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 1995)
    Butler DT157.5 .D45 1995
    Lehman DT157.5 .D45 1995
  • Disengagement from Southwest Africa: the prospects for peace in Angola and Namibia. Ed. by Owen Ellison Kahn. (New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction, c1991)
    Lehman DT1355 .S65 D57 1991
  • The dynamics of change in southern Africa. Ed. by Paul B. Rich. (London: Macmillan, 1994)
    Lehman DT1165 .D96 1994
  • Ellis, Stephen. The mask of anarchy: the destruction of Liberia and the religious dimension of an African civil war. (New York: New York University Press, 1999)
    Lehman Reserves DT636.5 .E45 1999
    Lehman DT636.5 .E45 1999
    See also: Revised & updated edition, 2007: Butler Reserves & Lehman: DT636.5 .E45 2007
  • Ending Africa's wars: progressing to peace. Edited by Oliver Furley and Roy May. (Aldershot, Hampshire, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, c2006)
    Lehman JZ5584 .A35 E53 2006
  • Estermann, Carlos. The ethnography of southwestern Angola. 3 v. Ed. by Gordon D. Gibson. (New York: Africana Publishing, 1976)
    Lehman GN655 .A5 E8213
  • Finnegan, William. A complicated war: the harrowing of Mozambique. (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1992)
    Lehman DT3398 .F56 1992
  • Flint, Julie and Alex de Waal. Darfur: a new history of a long war. Rev. and updated ed. (London; New York: Zed Books, 2008)
    Lehman DT157.673 .F58 2008g
  • From the ground up: land rights, conflict and peace in Sub-Saharan Africa. Ed. by Chris Huggins and Jenny Clover. (Pretoria: Institute for Security Studies, c2005)
    Lehman HD966 .F7 2005
    See also: From the Ground Up (multilple PDF files)
  • Getting in: mediators' entry into the settlement of African conflicts. Ed. by Mohammed O. Maundi [et al.] (Washington, DC: United States Institute of Peace Press, 2006)
    Lehman JZ6045 .G48 2006
  • Globalizing Somalia : multilateral, international, and transnational repercussions of conflict. Edited by Emma Leonard and Gilbert Ramsay. (New York, NY : Bloomsbury Academic, 2013)
    Lehman Stacks: DT407.4 .G56 2010
  • Haines, Richard Wheeler and G. Wood. Mozambique's democratic transition: the 1994 elections and beyond. (Port Elizabeth, South Africa: Institute for Planning Research, University of Port Elizabeth, (1995))
    Lehman JQ3671 .A58 H35 1995
  • Healy, Sally. Hostage to conflict : prospects for building regional economic cooperation in the Horn of Africa. (London : Royal Institute of International Affairs, 2011)
    Lehman Stacks: HC860 .H43 2011g
    See also: E-book
  • Henderson, Lawrence W. The Church in Angola: a river of many currents. (Cleveland, Ohio: Pilgrim Press, 1992) *English translation of Igreja em Angola.
    Butler BR1447.25 .H4613 1992
  • Hirsch, John L. and Robert B. Oakley. Somalia and Operation Restore Hope: reflections on peacemaking and peacekeeping. (Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace Press, 1995)
    Lehman Reserves JX1981.P7 H575 1995
  • Honwana, Alcinda Manuel. Child soldiers in Africa. (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, c2006)
    Lehman HQ784.W3 H66 2006
    Milstein HQ784.W3 H66 2006
  • Hume, Cameron. Ending Mozambique's war. (Washington, DC: USIP, 1994)
    Lehman DT3398 .H86 1994
    Lehman Documents Microfiche (2nd Floor) Y 3.P 31:2 M 87
  • Hussein Mohamed Adam. From tyranny to anarchy: the Somali experience. Trenton, NJ: Red Sea Press, c2008.
    Lehman DT407 .H865 2008
  • Idris, Amir H. Conflict and politics of identity in Sudan. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, c2005.
    Lehman JQ3981.A91 I37 2005
    African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler): JQ3981.A91 I37 2005
    E-book (Columbia only)
  • Issacman, Allen F. and Barbara Issacman. Mozambique: from colonialism to revolution, 1900-1982. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1983)
    Lehman DT463 .I82 1983
  • Iyob, Ruth and Gilbert M. Khadiagala. Sudan: the elusive quest for peace. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 2006)
    Barnard DT157.672 .I94 2006
    Lehman Reserves DT157.672 .I94 2006
  • James, W. Martin. A political history of the civil war in Angola, 1974-1990. (New Brunswick, N.J., U.S.A. : Transaction Publishers, c1992)
    Lehman DT1428 .J36 1992
  • Jok, Jok Madut. Sudan: race, religion and violence. (Oxford: Oneworld, 2007)
    Lehman DT157.673 .J65 2007g
  • Kambudzi, A. M. Africa's peace fiasco : from 1960 to 1995. (Mount Pleasant, Harare : University of Zimbabwe Publications, 1998)
    Lehman DT352.8 .K36 1998
  • Khadiagala, Gilbert M. Allies in adversity : the frontline states in southern African security, 1975-1993. (Athens : Ohio University Press, c1994)
    Butler DT1165 .K47 1994
  • Kidane Mengisteab. The Horn of Africa. Hot spots in global politics. (Cambridge, UK : Polity Press, 2014)
    Lehman DT367.8 .K54 2014g
  • Launching democracy in South Africa: the first open election, April 1994. Ed. by R.W. Johnson and Lawrence Schlemmer. (New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 1996)
    Lehman JQ1994 .L38 1996
  • LeRiche, Matthew and Matthew Arnold. South Sudan : from revolution to independence. (London : Hurst, 2012)
    African Studies Reading Room--607 Butler and Lehman DT159.929 .L47 2012g
  • Maier, Karl. Angola: promises and lies. (London: Serif, 1996)
    Lehman DT1428 .M3 1996g
  • Mamdani, Mahmood. Saviors and survivors: Darfur, politics, and the War on terror. New York: Pantheon Books, c2009.
    Lehman Reserves DT159.6.D27 M36 2009
    Barnard DT159.6.D27 M36 2009
    Butler Reserves DT159.6.D27 M36 2009
  • Managing conflicts in Africa's democratic transitions. Ed. by Akanmu G. Adebayo. (Lanham, Md. : Lexington Books, c2012),br /> Lehman JQ1879.A15 M26 2012
  • Marks, Susan Collin. Watching the wind: conflict resolution during South Africa's transition to democracy. (Washington, DC: United States Institute of Peace Press, 2000)
    Lehman DT1970. M37 2000
    Barnard Reserves DT1970. M37 2000
  • Marx, Anthony W. Making race and nation: a comparison of South Africa, the United States, and Brazil. Cambridge studies in comparative politics series. (Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998)
    Lehman HT1521 .M283 1998
    Barnard HT1521 .M283 1998
  • McGovern, Mike. Making war in Côte d'Ivoire. (Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2011)
    Lehman: DT545.84 .M346 2011
  • Mending rips in the sky: options for Somali communities in the 21st Century. Ed. by Hussein M. Adam and Richard Ford. (Lawrenceville, N.J. : Red Sea Press, 1997)
    Lehman DT407 .M46 1997
  • Menkhaus, Kenneth John. Somalia: state collapse and the threat of terrorism. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press for the International Institute for Strategic Studies, 2004)
    Lehman DT407.4 .M45 2004g
  • Minter, William. Apartheid's contras: an inquiry into the roots of war in Angola and Mozambique. (Atlantic Highlands, NJ : Zed Books, 1994)
    Lehman DT1436 .M56 1994 **1 copy on Lehman Reserves
    Barnard DT1436 .M56 1994
  • Moran, Mary H. Liberia: the violence of democracy. The ethnography of political violence series. (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, c2006)
    Lehman DT636.5 .M69 2006
  • Mungazi, Dickson A. Colonial policy and conflict in Zimbabwe : a study of cultures in collision, 1890-1979. (New York : Crane Russak, c1992)
    Butler LA1591 .M856 1992
  • Mutwol, Julius. Peace agreements and civil wars in Africa : insurgent motivations, state responses, and third-party peacemaking in Liberia, Rwanda, and Sierra Leone. (Amherst, N.Y. : Cambria Press, c2009)
    Lehman JZ5584.L43 M87 2009
  • Namibia's liberation struggle: the two-edged sword. Ed. by Colin Leys and John S. Saul. (London: James Currey, 1995)
    Lehman DT 1645 .N37 1995
  • Natsios, Andrew S. Sudan, South Sudan, and Darfur : what everyone needs to know. (New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
    Lehman DT157.66 .N37 2012
  • Ncube, M.M. Destabilization of Angola and its implications for decolonization of Namibia: the role of South Africa and the USA. Destabilization and regional security concerns in southern Africa. (Roma, Lesotho: Institute of Southern African Studies, 1991)
    Lehman DT1165 .D38 1991
  • Ncube, M.M. USA and South African militarism: an instrument against national liberation, democracy, and development in southern Africa. Destabilization and regional security concerns in southern Africa. (Roma, Lesotho: Institute of Southern African Studies, 1991)
    Lehman DT1165 .D38 1991
  • Negotiating justice : a new constitution for South Africa. Ed. by Mervyn Bennun and Malyn D. D. Newitt. (UK : Univ. of Exeter Pr., 1995)
    Lehman KTL2101 .N44 1995
  • Nest, Michael Wallace. The Democratic Republic of Congo: economic dimensions of war and peace. International Peace Academy occasional paper series. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2006)
    Lehman HC955.Z9 D458 2006
  • New Sudan in the making?: essays on a nation in painful search of itself. Ed. by Francis M. Deng. Trenton, NJ: Red Sea Press, c2010.
    Lehman DT157.673 .N49 2010
  • Nieuwmeijer, Louise. The dynamics of negotiation in South Africa. (Pretoria, South Africa : Human Sciences Research Council, c1991)
    Lehman HN801.Z9 N44 1991g
  • Nordstrom, Carolyn. A different kind of war story. (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1997) -- [Mozambique]
    Lehman DT3398 .N67 1997
  • Ohlson, Thomas and Stephen John Stedman; with Robert Davies. The new is not yet born: conflict resolution in southern Africa. (Washington, DC: The Brookings Institution, 1994)
    Lehman Reserves DT 1165 .O35 1994
  • Olonisakin, 'Funmi. Peacekeeping in Sierra Leone: the story of UNAMSIL. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2008)
    Lehman DT516.826 .O45 2008
  • Ottaway, David. Chained together: Mandela, De Klerk, and the struggle to remake South Africa. (New York: Times Books, 1993)
    Lehman DT1970 .O87 1993
    Barnard DT1970 .O87 1993
  • Ottaway, Marina. South Africa: the struggle for a new order. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 1993)
    Lehman DT1970 .O88 1993
  • Out of conflict: from war to peace in Africa. Proceedings from an international workshop held in Bergen, Norway, on September 7-8, 1995. Ed. by Gunnar M. Sörbö & Peter Vale. Uppsala: Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, 1997.
    Lehman JX1961 .A35 O87 1997g
  • Peace, politics and violence in the new South Africa. Ed. by Norman Etherington. (London: Hans Zell, 1992)
    Lehman DT 1945 .P43 1992
  • Peace versus justice? : the dilemma of transitional justice in Africa. Edited by Chandra Lekha Sriram and Suren Pillay. (Oxford : James Currey, 2010)
    Barnard Stacks: JC599.A36 P43 2010
  • Peacekeeping in Africa. Ed. by Oliver Furley and Roy May. (Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 1998)
    Lehman DT30.5 .P38 1998
  • Postconflict reconstruction in Africa. Ed. by Ahmad A. Sikainga and Ousseina Alidou. (Trenton NJ : Africa World Press, c2006)
    Lehman DT30.5 .P68 2006
  • Prospects for peace and development in southern Africa in the 1990s: Canadian and comparative perspectives. Ed. by Larry A Swatuk and Timothy M. Shaw. (Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 1991)
    Lehman DT1172 .P76 1991
  • Prunier, Gérard. Africa's world war: Congo, the Rwandan genocide, and the making of a continental catastrophe. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009)
    Butler DT658.26 .P78 2009
    Lehman DT658.26 .P78 2009
  • Prunier, Gérard. Darfur: the ambiguous genocide. Rev. and updated ed. (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2007)
    African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler) DT159.6.D27 P78 2007
    For 2005 edition, Lehman Reserves and Milstein DT159.6.D27 P78 2005
  • The recurring Great Lakes crisis: identity, violence and power. Ed. by Jean-Pierre Chrétien and Richard Banégas. (London : Hurst & Co., 2008)
    Lehman DT352.8 .R43 2008g (2 copies)
  • Regional organizations in African security. Ed. by Fredrik Söderbaum and Rodrigo Tavares. (London : Routledge, 2011)
    Lehman JZ6009.A35 R44 2011g
  • Regional security in the post-Cold War Horn of Africa. Ed. by Roba Sharamo and Berouk Mesfin. (Pretoria, South Africa: Institute for Security Studies, 2011)
    Lehman DT367.8 .R44 2011g
  • Reno, William. Warlord politics and African states. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynner Rienner Publishers, 1998)
    Lehman Reserves JQ1879.A15 R44 1998
  • Renton, Dave, David Seddon, and Leo Zeilig. The Congo: plunder and resistance. (London; New York: Zed Books; New York: Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave Macmillan, 2007)
    Lehman DT653.3 .R46 2007
  • Researching conflict in Africa: insights and experiences. Ed. by Elisabeth Porter ...[et al.] (Tokyo, Japan: United Nations University Press, 2005)
    Lehman HN780 .Z9 S628
  • The resolution of African conflicts: the management of conflict resolution and post-conflict reconstruction. Ed. by Aldred Nhema and Paul Tiyambe Zeleza. (Addis Ababa: Ossrea; Oxford: James Currey; Athens, OH: Ohio University Press; Pretoria: Unisa Press, 2008)
    Lehman JZ5584.A35 R47 2008g
  • Reyntjens, Filip. The great African war: Congo and regional geopolitics, 1996-2006. (Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2009)
    Butler DT658.26 .R489 2009
    Lehman DT658.26 .R489 2009
  • The roots of African conflicts: the causes and costs. Ed. by Alfred Nhema and Paul Tiyambe Zeleza. (Oxford: James Currey; Athens, Ohio: Ohio University Press; Pretoria: UNISA Press, 2008)
    Lehman DT30.2 .R66 2008g
  • Rothchild, Donald. Managing ethnic conflict in Africa: pressures and incentives for cooperation. (Washington, DC: The Brookings Institution, 1997)
    Lehman DT352.8 .R68 1997
  • Scarcity and surfeit: the ecology of Africa’s conflicts. Ed. by Jeremy Lind and Kathryn Sturman. (Pretoria: Institute for Security Studies; [Nairobi]: Africa Centre for Technology Studies, 2002)
    Lehman DT20.5 .S425 2002
    See also: Scarcity and surfeit (multiple PDF files)
  • Security dynamics in Africa's Great Lakes region. Edited by Gilbert M. Khadiagala. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2006)
    Lehman DT363.3 .S43 2006
  • Self-determination and national unity: a challenge for Africa. Ed. by Francis M. Deng. Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, c2010.
    Lehman DT15 .S44 2010
  • Shay, Shaul. Somalia between jihad and restoration. (New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, c2008)
    Lehman DT407.4 .S54 2008
  • Sisk, Timothy. Democratization in South Africa: the elusive social contract. (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1994)
    Lehman JQ1911 .S57 1995
  • Smock, David R. Making war and waging peace: foreign intervention in Africa. (Washington, DC: USIP, 1995)
    Lehman DT30.5 .M26 1993
  • Somalia at the crossroads: challenges and perspectives in reconstituting a failed state. Ed. by Abdulahi A. Osman & Issaka K. Souaré. (London: Adonis & Abbey, 2007)
    Lehman DT407 .S66 2007g
  • South Africa’s role in conflict resolution and peacemaking in Africa: conference proceedings. Edited by Roger Southall. (Cape Town: HSRC Press, 2006)
    Lehman DT1971 .S683 2006g
  • Sovereignty as responsibility : conflict management in Africa. Ed. by Francis M. Deng et al. (Washington, DC : Brookings Institution, c1996)
    Lehman DT30.5 .S667 1996
  • Spikes, Daniel. Angola and the politics of intervention: from local bush war to chronic crisis in southern Africa. (Jefferson, NC : McFarland & Co., 1993)
    Lehman DT1428 .S67 1993
  • Stedman, Stephen J. Peacemaking in civil war: international mediation in Zimbabwe. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 1990)
    Lehman DT2981 .S74 1991
  • Straus, Scott. The order of genocide: race, power, and war in Rwanda. (Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 2006)
    Barnard, Lehman and Butler Reserves DT450.435 .S765 2006
  • Stremlau, John. A house no longer divided: progress and prospects for democratic peace in South Africa: a report to the Carnegie Commission on Preventing Deadly Conflict. (Washington, DC: Carnegie Commission of New York, July 1997)
    Lehman DT1974 .S77 1997g
  • Sub-Saharan Africa : a sub-continent in transition. (Aldershot, Eng. ; Brookfield, VT : Avebury, c1993)
    Lehman DT1165 .S83 1993g
  • Tackling Small Arms in the Great Lakes Region and the Horn of Africa: strengthening the capacity of subregional organisations: meeting report, 7-8 May 2000. Compiled by Andrew McLean. (Pretoria, South Africa : Institute for Security studies, c2000)
    Lehman HV7439 .S354 T329 2000g
  • Tamarkin, M. The making of Zimbabwe : decolonization in regional and international politics. (London, England ; Savage, MD : F. Cass, 1990)
    Butler DT962.75 .T36 1990
  • Towards an African peace and security regime: continental embeddedness, transnational linkages, strategic relevance. Ed by Ulf Engel and João Gomes Porto. (Surrey, England, UK; Burlington, Vermont: Ashgate Pub. Co., 2013)
    Lehman JZ5584.A35 T69 2013
  • Towards sustainable peace: the theory and practice of preventive diplomacy in Africa. Ed. by Hussein Solomon. (Pretoria: Africa Institute of South Africa, 2003)
    Lehman DT30.5 .T69 2003g
  • Traditional cures for modern conflicts: African conflict "medicine". Ed. by I. William Zartman. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 2000)
    Lehman GN645 .T65 2000
    Lehman Reserves GN645 .T65 2000
  • Turner, John W. Continent ablaze: the insurgency wars in Africa, 1960 to the present. (London: Arms and Armour Press, 1998)
    Lehman DT30.5 .T87 1998g
  • Turner, Thomas. The Congo wars: conflict, myth and reality. (London; New York: Zed Books Ltd.; New York: Distributed in the USA by Palgrave Macmillan, 2007)
    Lehman Reserves DT658.26 .T87 2007
  • Ugwuegbu, Denis C.E. The psychology of management in African organizations. (Westport, Conn.: Quorum Books, 2001)
    Lehman HD70.A34 U37 2001
  • Understanding civil war: evidence and analysis, vol. 1: Africa. Ed. by Paul Collier. (Washington, DC: The World Bank, 2005)
    Lehman HB195 .U43 2005
    E-book (Columbia only)
  • The United Nations, security and peacekeeping in Africa. With contributions by Kwesi Aning, Linea Bergholm, and Andreas Mehler. Critical currents; no. 5. (Uppsala, Sweden: Dag Hammarskjold Foundation, 2008.
  • Uzoigwe, G. N. Visions of nationhood : prelude to the Nigerian Civil War. (Trenton, NJ : Africa World Press, c2011)
    Butler: DT515.832 .U96 2011
  • Vines, Alex. Angola and Mozambique: the aftermath of conflict. Conflict studies; no. 280. (London : Institute for the study of conflict, 1995)
    Lehman D839.3 .C6 no. 280
  • Vines, Alex. Renamo: from terrorism to democracy in Mozambique. Rev. and updated ed. (York, U.K.: Centre for Southern African Studies, University of York; Amsterdam: Eduardo Mondlane Foundation in association with James Currey, London, 1996)
    Lehman DT3394 .V56 1996g **1 copy on Lehman Reserves
  • Wai, Zubairu. Epistemologies of African conflicts : violence, evolutionism, and the war in Sierra Leone. (New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)
    Lehman: DT516.826 .W35 2012
  • War and peace in Southern Africa: crime, drugs, armies, and trade. Ed. by Robert I. Rotberg and Greg Mills. (Washington, D.C. : Brookings Institution Press, ; Cambridge, Mass. : World Peace Foundation, c1998)
    Lehman HV7150 .W37 1998
  • War destroys, peace nurtures: reconciliation and development in Somalia. Ed. by Richard Ford, Hussein M. Adam & Edna Adan Ismail. (Lawrenceville, N.J. : Red Sea Press, 2004)
    Lehman DT401.13 .W37 2004g
  • War in Darfur and the search for peace. Edited by Alex de Waal. (Cambridge, MA: Global Equity Initiative, Harvard University; [London]: Justice Africa, 2007)
    Lehman DT159.6.D27 W37 2007g
    African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler) DT159.6.D27 W37 2007g
  • West Africa’s security challenges: building peace in a troubled region. Ed. by Adekeye Adebajo, Ismail Rashid. (Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2004)
    Lehman & Lehman Reserves, DT476.5 .W48 2004
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT476.5 .W48 2004
  • Wezeman, Pieter D., Siemon T. Wezeman, Lucie Béraud-Sudreau. Arms flows to sub-Saharan Africa.
    SIPRI policy paper ; no. 30. (Solna, Sweden : Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, [2011])
  • Wink, Walter. Violence and nonviolence in South Africa : Jesus' third way. (Philadelphia: New Society Publishers, c1987)
    Lehman BS680.N6 W56 1987g
  • Woodward, Peter. US foreign policy and the Horn of Africa. (Aldershot, England; Burlington, VT,: Ashgate, c2006)
    Lehman E183.8.S73 W66 2006
  • Wright, George. The destruction of a nation: United States' policy towards Angola since 1945. (London: Pluto Press, 1997)
    Lehman E183.8.A5 W74 1997g
  • Yoder, John C. Popular political culture, civil society, and state crisis in Liberia. (Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen Press, 2003)
    Lehman JQ3929 .A15 Y53 2003
  • Younis, Mona. Liberation and democratization: the South African and Palestinian national movements. (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, c2000)
    Lehman DT1758 .Y68 2000
  • Zartman, I. William. Ripe for resolution: conflict and intervention in Africa. Updated edition. (New York: Oxford University Press, 1989)
    Lehman DT30.5 .Z37 1989
  • Zones of conflict in Africa: theories and cases. Ed. by George Klay Kieh, Jr. and Ida Rousseau Mukenge. (Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2002)
    Lehman DT352.8 .Z66 2002

South Asia & Southeast Asia

  • Andersen, Walter K. and Shridhar D. Damle. The brotherhood in Saffron: the Rashtriya Swaymsevak Sang and Hindu revivalism. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1987)
    Lehman DS480.45 .A7923 1987
    Butler Reserves DS480.45 .A7923 1987
  • Appropriating gender: women's activism and politicized religion in South Asia. Ed. by Patricia Jeffery and Amrita Basu. (New York ; London: Routledge, 1998)
    Lehman HQ1726 .A67 1998
    Barnard HQ1726 .A67 1998 -- 2 copies
  • Buddhist fundamentalism and minority identities in Sri Lanka. Ed. by Tessa J. Bartholomeusz and Chandra R. de Silva. (Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, c1998)
    Lehman BQ359 .B83 1998
  • Crisis prevention, confidence building, and reconciliation in South Asia. Ed. by Michael Krepon and Amit Sevak. (New York : St. Martin's Press, c1995)
    Lehman DS340 .C75 1995g
  • De Silva, K.M. Managing ethnic tensions in multi-ethnic societies: Sri Lanka, 1880-1985. (Latham, MD: University Press of America, 1986)
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. DS489.7 .D475 1986
  • Ganguly, Sumit. The origins of war in South Asia : Indo-Pakistani conflicts since 1947. (Boulder, Colorado : Westview Press, 1986)
    Lehman Reserves DS385.9 .G36 1986
  • Juergensmeyer, Mark. Fighting with Gandhi. (New York: Harper and Row, 1984)
    Butler DS481.G3 J84 1984
    Barnard DS481.G3 J84 1984
  • Little, David. Sri Lanka : the invention of enmity. (Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace Press, 1994)
    Lehman DS489.8 .L58 1994
  • Perspectives on Kashmir : the roots of conflict in South Asia. Ed. by Raju G.C. Thomas. (Boulder, CO : Westview Press, 1992)
    Lehman DS485.K27 P47 1992
  • The politics of elections in Southeast Asia. Ed. by R. H. Taylor. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996)
    Lehman Reference DS526.7 .P654 1996
  • Ponnambalam, Satchi. Sri Lanka: the national conflict and the Tamil liberation struggle. (London: Zed Books, 1983)
    Lehman DS489.25 .T3 P66
  • Schofield, Victoria. Kashmir in the crossfire. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 1996)
    Lehman DS485.K25 S337 1996g
  • Southeast Asia in the New World Order : the political economy of a dynamic region. Ed. by David Wurfel and Bruce Burton. (New York : St. Martin's Press, 1996)
    Lehman Reserves DS518.1.S625 1996
  • Tambiah, Stanley J. Buddhism betrayed?: religion, politics, and violence in Sri Lanka. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1992)
    Barnard BQ359 .T36 1992
  • Tambiah, Stanley J. World conqueror and world renouncer: a study of Buddhism and polity in Thailand against a historical background. (Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1987)
    Milstein (Butler), 4th Fl. BQ554 .T35
    East Asian GN4 .C35 no.15br /> Barnard GN4 .C35 no.15
  • Veer, Peter van der. Religious nationalism: Hindus and Muslims in modern India. (Los Angeles and Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1994)
    Barnard Reserves BL2015.N26 V44 1994
  • Wilson, A. Jeyaratnam. The break-up of Sri Lanka: the Sinhalese-Tamil conflict. (Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1988)
    Lehman DS489.57 .W57 1988g
    Barnard DS489.57 .W57 1988g
  • Wirsing, Robert. India, Pakistan, and the Kashmir dispute : on regional conflict and its resolution. (New York, NY : St. Martin's Press, 1994)
    Lehman Reserves DS485.K27 W57 1994

The Balkans and Chechnya

  • After Milosevic: a practical agenda for lasting Balkans peace. (Brussels, Belgium : International Crisis Group, c2001)
    Lehman Stacks HC401 .A57 2001g
  • Akhmadov, Ilyas and Miriam Lanskoy. The Chechen struggle : independence won and lost. (New York : Palgrave Macmillan, c2010)
    Lehman Stacks DK511.C2 A44 2010
  • Bennett, Christopher. Yugoslavia's bloody collapse: causes, course and consequences. (New York: New York University Press, 1995)
    Lehman Stacks DR1246 .B46 1995
    Barnard Stacks DR1246 .B46 1995
  • Bildt, Carl. Peace journey: the struggle for peace in Bosnia. (London : Weidenfeld and Nicolson, 1998)
    Lehman Stacks DR1313.7 .P43 B55 1998
  • Burg, Steven L. and Paul S. Shoup. The war in Bosnia-Herzegovina : ethnic conflict and international intervention. (Armonk, NY : M.E. Sharpe, c1999)
    Lehman Stacks DR1313.7.P43 B87 1999
  • Campbell, David. National deconstruction: violence, identity, and justice in Bosnia. (Minneapolis, Minn. : University of Minneapolis Press, c1998)
    Lehman Stacks HM291 .C277 1998
  • Cuvalo, Ante. Historical dictionary of Bosnia and Herzegovina. 2nd ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2007)
    Lehman Reference DR1685 .C88 2007
  • Dragnich, Alex N. Serbia and Yugoslavia: historical studies and contemporary commentaries. (Boulder : East European Monographs ; New York : Distributed by Columbia University Press, c1998)
    Butler Stacks DR1972 .D73 1998
  • Gilligan, Emma. Terror in Chechnya : Russia and the tragedy of civilians in war. (Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2010)
    Offsite DK511.C37 G55 2010
  • Interethnic conflict and political change in the former USSR : an annotated bibliography of Russian articles 1991-1993. (Canada : Peace Research Institute-Dundas, 1994)
    Lehman Stacks DK293 .A4 1994g
  • Kosovo, in the heart of the powder keg. Comp. and ed. by Robert Elsie. East European monographs ; no. 478. (Boulder: East European Monographs ; New York: Distributed by Columbia University Press, 1997)
    Lehman Stacks DR2082 .K6716 1997g
  • Majstorović, Danijela and Vladimir Turjačanin. Youth ethnic and national identity in Bosnia and Herzegovina : social science approaches. (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire : Palgrave Macmillan, 2013)
    Offsite HQ799.B65 M35 2013
  • Malcolm, Noel. Kosovo : a short history. (New York: New York University Press, 1998)
    Butler Stacks DR2082 .M35 1998
    Barnard Stacks DR2082 .M35 1998
  • Mazower, Mark. The Balkans : a short history. (New York : Modern Library, 2002)
    Butler Stacks DR36 .M39 2002
    Milstein Stacks DR36 .M39 2002
  • Mojzes, Paul. Balkan genocides : holocaust and ethnic cleansing in the twentieth century. (Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield, c2011)
    Butler Stacks DR48 .M65 2011
  • Moore, Cerwyn. Contemporary violence : postmodern war in Kosovo and Chechnya. (Manchester, UK ; New York : Manchester University Press ; New York, NY : Distributed in the United States exclusively by Palgrave Macmillan, 2010)
    Lehman Stacks JZ6385 .M67 2010g
    See also: E-book
  • Murphy, Paul J. Allah's angels : Chechen women in war. (Annapolis, Md. : Naval Institute Press, c2010)
    Barnard Stacks DK511.C37 M87 2010
    Lehman Stacks DK511.C37 M87 2010
    See also: E-book
  • Muslim identity and the Balkan state. Ed. by Hugh Poulton and Suha Taji-Farouki. (Washington Square, N.Y.: New York University Press in association with the Islamic Council, 1997)
    Butler Stacks DR27.M87 M88 1997
  • Nettelfield, Lara J. Courting democracy in Bosnia and Herzegovina : the Hague Tribunal's impact in a postwar state. (New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010)
    Lehman Stacks KZ1203.A12 N48 2010
  • Pavkovic, Aleksandar. The fragmentation of Yugoslavia: nationalism in a multinational state. (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1997)
    Lehman Stacks DR1282 .P37 1997
    Barnard Stacks DR1282 .P37 1997
  • Phillips, David L. Liberating Kosovo : coercive diplomacy and U.S. intervention. (Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2012)
    Lehman Stacks DR2087.6.D54 P55 2012
    See also: E-book
  • Religion and justice in the war over Bosnia. Ed. by G. Scott Davis. (New York ; London: Routledge, 1996)
    Lehman Stacks DR1313.7.R45 R45 1996
  • Religion and the war in Bosnia. Ed. by Paul Mojzes. (Atlanta, Ga.: Scholars Press, c1998)
    Butler Stacks DR1313.7.R45 R46 1998
  • Rethinking peacebuilding : the quest for just peace in the Middle East and the Western Balkans. Edited by Karin Aggestam and Annika Björkdahl. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013)
    Lehman Stacks JZ5538 .R475 2013
  • Rogel, Carole. The breakup of Yugoslavia and the war in Bosnia. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998)
    Lehman Stacks DR1309 .R64 1998
  • Schaefer, Robert W. The insurgency in Chechnya and the North Caucasus : from gazavat to jihad. (Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger Security International, c2011)
    Butler Stacks DK511.C37 S29 2011
  • Sudetic, Chuck. Blood and vengeance : one family's story of the war in Bosnia. (New York: Norton, c1998)
    Lehman Stacks DR1313.7 .A85 S83 1998
    Barnard Stacks DR1313.7 .A85 S83 1998
  • Vickers, Miranda. Between Serb and Albanian : a history of Kosovo. (New York: Columbia University Press, 1998)
    Lehman Reserves DR2082 .V53 1998

North Africa & The Middle East

  • Al-Ali, Zaid. The struggle for Iraq's future : how corruption, incompetence and sectarianism have undermined democracy. (New Haven : Yale University Press [2014])
    Lehman DS79.76 .A43 2014g
  • America's challenges in the greater Middle East : the Obama Administration's policies. Edited by Shahram Akbarzadeh. (New York : Palgrave Macmillan, c2011)
    Lehman DS63.2.U5 A823 2011
  • Andersen, Roy, Robert F. Seibert, and Jon G. Wagner. Politics and change in the Middle East: sources of conflict and accomodation. 5th ed. (Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, c1998)
    Lehman DS62.8 .A5 1998
  • The Arab Spring : critical analyses Ed. by Khair El-Din Haseeb. (London ; New York : Routledge, 2013)
    Lehman: JQ1850.A91 A735 2013g
  • Biale, David. Power & powerlessness in Jewish history. (New York: Schocken Books, 1986)
    Butler DS134 .B53 1986
  • Bowker, Robert. Beyond peace : the search for security in the Middle East. Canberra studies on peace research and conflict analysis. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1996)
    Lehman DS119.7 .B698 1996
  • Buchanan, Andrew S. Peace with justice: a history of the Israeli-Palestinian Declaration of Principles on Interim Self-Government Arrangements. (New York : St. Martin's Press, 2000)
    Lehman KMM707 .B83 2000
  • Campbell, Horace. Global NATO and the catastrophic failure in Libya : lessons for Africa in the forging of African unity. (New York : Monthly Review Press, c2013)
    Lehman: DT236 .C36 2013
  • The conflict in the Middle East: analyzing the present prospects for the future: "For the Record" summaries, information briefs, policy briefs, June 1999 to June 2000. (Washington, DC: Center for Policy Analysis on Palestine, 2001)
    Lehman DS119.76 .C66 2001
  • Cordesman, Anthony H. The Afghan War in 2013 : meeting the challenges of transition. 3 vols. (Washington, DC : Center for Strategic & International Studies ; Lanham, MD : Rowman & Littlefield, 2013)
    Lehman DS371.412 .C657 2013g
  • Economic and political impediments to Middle East peace: critical questions and alternative scenarios. Ed. by J.W. Wright, Jr. and Laura Drake. (New York: St. Martin's Press, 2000)
    Lehman HC415.15 .E247 2000
  • Filiu, Jean-Pierre. The Arab revolution : ten lessons from the democratic uprising. (London : C. Hurst & Co., 2011)
    Lehman Stacks: JQ1850.A91 F555 2011g
    See also: E-book
  • Geyer, Alan and Barbara G. Green. Lines in the sand: justice and the Gulf War. (Louisville, KY: Westminster/John Knox Press, 1992)
    Lehman DS79.72 .G42 1992
    Barnard DS79.72 .G42 1992
  • Gunter, Frank R. The political economy of Iraq : restoring balance in a post-conflict society. (Cheltenham : Edward Elgar Pub. Ltd., 2013)
    Lehman HC415.4 .G86 2013g
  • Hamoudi, Haider Ala. Negotiating in civil conflict : constitutional construction and imperfect bargaining in Iraq. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2014)
    Law Library Iraq 910 H186 2014
  • Hokayem, Emile. Syria's uprising and the fracturing of the Levant. (Abingdon : Routledge for the International Institute for Strategic Studies, 2013)
    Lehman DS98.6 .H65 2013
  • Honwana, Alcinda Manuel. Youth and revolution in Tunisia. (London ; New York : Zed Books in association with International African Institute, the Royal African Society and the World Peace Foundation ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2013)
    Lehman: DT266.7 .H66 2013g
  • The Iran-Iraq War : new international perspectives. Edited by Nigel Ashton and Bryan R. Gibson. (Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013)
    Butler DS318.85 .I74 2013
  • Kass, Ilana. The deadly embrace : the impact of Israeli and Palestinian rejectionism on the peace process. (Fairfax, Va. : National Institute for Public Policy ; Lanham : University Press of America, c1997)
    Lehman DS119.7 .K2996 1997
  • Kaufman, Burton Ira. The Arab Middle East and the United States : inter-Arab rivalry and superpower diplomacy. (New York : Twayne Publishers, 1996)
    Butler DS63.2.U5 K38 1996
    Barnard DS63.2.U5 K38 1996
  • Kaye, Dalia Dassa. Beyond the handshake: multilateral cooperation in the Arab-Israeli peace process, 1991-1996. (New York: Columbia University Press, 2001)
    Milstein (Butler) DS119.76 .K354 2000
    Lehman DS119.76 .K354 2000
  • Khalidi, Rashid. Brokers of deceit : how the US has undermined peace in the Middle East. (Boston : Beacon Press, [2013])
    Lehman: DS119.7 .K4278 2013
  • Khalidi, Rashid. Sowing crisis : the Cold War and American dominance in the Middle East. (Boston : Beacon Press, c2009)
    Butler & Lehman: DS63.2.U5 K495 2009
  • Libya, the responsibility to protect and the future of humanitarian intervention. Ed. by Aidan Hehir and Robert Murray. (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013)
    Lehman: JZ6369 .L53 2013
  • Louër, Laurence. Shiism and politics in the Middle East. (New York : Columbia University Press, c2012)
    Butler Stacks: BP194.185 .L65513 2012
    Lehman Stacks: BP194.185 .L65513 2012
  • Middle East and the United States : history, politics, and ideologies. 5th ed. Edited by David W. Lesch and Mark L. Haas. (Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press Inc, 2011)
    Butler Stacks: DS63.2.U5 M43 2011g
    Butler Reserves: DS63.2.U5 M43 2011g
    Barnard Stacks: DS63.2.U5 M43 2011g
  • Peters, Joel. Pathways to peace : the multilateral Arab-Israeli peace talks. (London : Royal Institute of Internation Affairs ; Washington, DC : Distributed worldwide by the Brookings Institution, 1996)
    Lehman DS119.7 .P48 1996
  • Pierre, Andrew J. and William B. Quandt. The Algerian crisis : policy options for the West. (Washington, D.C.: Carnegie Endowment for International Peace: Distributed by the Brookings Institution, c1996)
    Lehman DT295.5 .P5 1996g
  • Quandt, William B. Peace process: American diplomacy and the Arab-Israeli conflict since 1967. Rev. ed. (Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press ; Berkeley, Calif.: University of California Press, c2001.
    Lehman Reserves DS119.7 .Q69 2001
  • Quandt, William. Revolution and political leadership: Algeria, 1954-1968. (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1969)
    Lehman DT295 .Q3
    Barnard DT295 .Q3
  • Rethinking peacebuilding : the quest for just peace in the Middle East and the Western Balkans. Edited by Karin Aggestam and Annika Björkdahl. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013)
    Lehman Stacks JZ5538 .R475 2013
  • Said, Edward W. The end of the peace process: Oslo and after. New York: Pantheon Books, c2000.
    Lehman DS119.76 .S245 2000
    Butler Reserves DS119.76 .S245 2000
  • Said, Edward W. Power, politics, and culture: interviews with Edward W. Said. Ed. by Gauri Viswanathan. New York: Pantheon Books, c2001.
    Butler CB18.S25 A3 2001b
    Barnard CB18.S25 A3 2001b
  • Saikal, Amin. Zone of crisis : Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran and Iraq. London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2014.
    Lehman DS357.5 .S35 2014g
  • Smock, David R. Religious perspectives on war: Christian, Muslim, and Jewish attitudes toward force after the Gulf War. (Washington, DC: USIP, 1992)
    Lehman BL65.W2 S66 1992
  • The Syria dilemma. Edited by Nader Hashemi and Danny Postel. (Cambridge, Mass. : The MIT Press, [2013])
    Lehman DS98.6 .S94 2013
  • Tripp, Charles. A history of Iraq. 2nd ed. (Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002)
    Lehman Reserves DS79.T75 2002
  • Understanding the contemporary Middle East. Ed. by Deborah J. Gerner. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 2000)
    Barnard DS44 .U473 2000 Lehman
  • Violence and defence in the Jewish experience: papers prepared for a seminar on violence and defense in Jewish history and contemporary life, Tel Aviv University, August 18-September 4, 1974. Ed. by Salo Baron, George S. Wise, and Lenn Goodman. (Philadelphia, PA : Jewish Publication Society of America, 1977)
    Butler BS1199.V56 V56
    Milstein (Butler) BS1199.V56 V56
  • Willis, Michael. The Islamist challenge in Algeria: a political history. (New York: New York University Press, 1997)
    Lehman DT295.5 .W56 1997
    Barnard DT295.5 .W56 1997
  • Younis, Mona.Liberation and democratization: the South African and Palestinian national movements. (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, c2000)
    Lehman DT1758 .Y68 2000
  • Zoubir, Yahia H. and Louisa Dris-Aït-Hamadouche. Global security watch--the Maghreb : Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia. (Santa Barbara, California : Praeger, [2013])
    Lehman: DT205 .Z68 2013

International Conflict Resolution Journals at Columbia University

Most of the journals listed below are located in the Herbert S. Lehman Library, 420 West 118th St., 3rd Floor, except where indicated. Recent issues of the titles listed can be found on the current periodical shelves. Older issues have been bound and are located in the stacks. For full bibliographic records and complete holdings, search for the title in CLIO.

For information about open access publications, see Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa.

Back issues (3 years or older) for some titles listed below are available online via JSTOR

Some journal titles in paper that are not at Columbia University can be found at The New York Public Library.

Electronic journal titles accessible to Columbia University faculty and students only

 

 

More Comprehensive Lists of Open Access Electronic Journals and Newspapers

 

See also the following special issues of Accord: an international review of peace initiatives (plus related links)

 

 

 

 


Other Current Information Resources

  • Africa research bulletin: economic, financial & technical series. Monthly. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1964-)
    Lehman Reference HC501 .A1 A3511 -- Current issues only.
    Lehman stacks HC501 .A1 A3511 -- Back issues.
    1997 to present (via Wiley-Blackwell)
  • Africa research bulletin: political, social & cultural series. Monthly. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1964-)
    Lehman Reference DT1 .A21211 -- Current issues only.
    Lehman stacks DT1 .A21211 -- Back issues.
    1997 to present (via Wiley-Blackwell)
  • African development indicators. Annual. (Washington, DC: World Bank, c1995- )
    Business Reference HC800.A1 A35 -- Current issue.
    Business stacks HC800.A1 A35 -- Back issues.
  • AllAfrica.Com News (Washington, DC)
    Selected articles from electronic African newspapers and other sources, with searchable archive, in English and French and includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997.
    See also: Electronic Newspapers of Africa: a comprehensive list of titles available on the Internet.
  • The Economist Intelligence Unit Publications
  • Emerging Markets Information Service (New York: Internet Securities, 2000-)
    Selected business and economic news in full text (plain ascii or original format) from newspapers, company reports, banks and brokerage houses, and research services, as well as some general news sources, in Africa--north and south of the Sahara---in English, French, and Arabic!
  • Ethnic Newswatch Online. (1990--)
    'This database provides comprehensive access to the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.'
  • Factiva.Com. (New York: Dow Jones and Reuters, c2002--)
    A subscription-based, searchable, plain text, news service derived from selected US and international business and general news sources, with coverage since the mid to late 1990s. African news sources include selected archives from online African newspapers via AllAfrica.Com and others.
  • Foreign Newspapers--Currently Received are located in LEHMAN LIBRARY, 2nd Floor. Search in CLIO under individual title. For African newspapers currrently received at Columbia, see the list in the Basic Guide to Research on Africa at Columbia University Libraries.
  • Global Observatory (International Peace Institute, New York and Vienna)
    "[Since 2012, this news and issues web site] publishes analysis by policymakers in governments and international organizations and experts from think tanks, academia, and the media." Plus, links to selected news sites and blogs.
  • Middle East international. Biweekly, <1982>- (Monthly, 1971-) (London : Middle East International Publishers, Ltd., Apr. 1971-)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference DS63.1 .M54
    Earlier issues in Lehman Stacks
  • ReliefWeb (United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs)
    This searchable site provides links to full-length reports on areas of the world affected by humanitarian "emergencies", assorted on-line maps, and "the latest" news from many areas of the world. Sources include the UN Integrated Regional Information Network (IRIN), Associated Press, Agence France Presse, Reuters, Pan African News Agency, and other news services.
  • Southeast Asian affairs. Annual? (Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 1974-)
    Current issues on:
    Lehman Reference DS501 .S69
    Earlier issues in Lehman Stacks.
  • Sri Lanka series--Public Opinion Trends Analyses and News Service, POT. Daily. (New Delhi: P. Sareen, 1995?-)
    Current issues on: Lehman Reference DS488 .S73
  • World dataBank (Washington, DC: The World Bank)
    "A complilation of a number of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World development indicators (WDI)."