Swahili Language Acquisitions at Columbia University Libraries, 1979-2013


This bibliography on Swahili—to be frequently updated—represents the highlights from the last twenty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. Some titles in Swahili acquired since 1979 have not been included (such as policy documents issued by governments and political parties, children's stories issued as short brochures, or recently-acquired items still "in process"). Titles in English listed here deal primarily with aspects of Swahili language, literature, history, and culture.

For current language use, see also print copies of the Tanzanian newspaper Rai, published in Dar es Salaam;
the last 5 years are available in the Current Newspaper Reading Area of Lehman Library, 2nd floor.  You may also wish to consult the guide Swahili Language on the Internet.


Dictionaries & Glossaries

  • Abdulla, Anu ...[et al.] Swahili-suomi-swahili-sanakirja. Saarijarvi : Saarijarven Offset Oy, 2002. Swahili-Finnish dictionary. (403 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .S95 2002g
  • Arege, Timothy M. and Mwalaa M. Nyanje. Kamusi fafanuzi ya methali. Nairobi, Kenya: Target Publications, 2011.(424 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 A74 2011g
  • Babusa, Hamisi Omar. Kamusi ya vitate na matamshi sahihi ya Kiswahili. Nairobi, Kenya: Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2010. (114 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .B238 2010g
  • Bakhressa, Salim Khamisi. Kamusi ya maana na matumizi. Nairobi : Oxford University Press, 1992.
    (460 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .B27 1992
  • Baldi, Sergio. Dictionnaire des emprunts arabes dans les langues de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et en swahili. Paris : Éditions Karthala, c2008. (617 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PJ6074 .B35 2008g
  • Baraza la Kiswahili la Taifa. Kamusi ya istilahi za sayansi na tekinolojia : shule za msingi. Chapa ya 1. [Dar es Salaam, Tanzania] : BAKITA ; UNICEF, 1992. (34 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .K36 1992g
  • Bosha, Ibrahim, edited by A.S. Nchimbi. Taathira za kiarabu katika kiswahili pamoja na kamusi thulathiya (Kiswahili-Kiarabu-Kiingereza) = The influence of Arabic language on Kiswahili with a trilingual dictionary (Swahili-Arabic-English). Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, c1993. (268 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .B67 1993g
  • English-Kiswahili Catholic dictionary. Mapanda, Iringa, Tanzania : Familia za Maamkio, 2001.
    Butler Stacks: BX841 .F57 2001g
  • Hoftmann, Hildegard. Worterbuch, Swahili-Deutsch. 1. Aufl. Leipzig : Verlag Enzyklopadie, VEB, 1979. (402 p.)
    Offsite: PL8703 .H64 1979
  • Jahdhmy, Ali Ahmed. Learner's Swahili-English, English-Swahili dictionary. London : Evans, 1981.
    (106 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .J255 1981g
  • Kagwa, Francis M. and Gichohi Waihiga. Kamusi fafanuzi ya misemo na nahau. Nairobi, Kenya: Target Publications, 2011.(344 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:PL8703 .K337 2011g
  • Kamusi ya karne ya 21: kamusi ya Kiswahili yenye uketo zaidi katika karne hii.
    Nairobi, Kenya: Longhorn Publishers, 2011.(614 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:PL8703 .K338 2011g
  • Kamusi la Kiswahili Fasaha. Nairobi, Kenya: Oxford University Press, 2010. (524 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .K335 2010
  • Kamusi ya Kiswahili sanifu. Imetungwa na kuhaririwa katika Sehemu ya Kamusi ya Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam ; wanajopo, Hamisi Akida ... [et al.] Dar es Salaam : Oxford University Press, 1981. (325 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .K34 1981 (2 copies)
  • Kamusi ya Kiswahili sanifu. Nairobi : Oxford University Press, 2004. Edition: Toleo la 2. (477 p.)
    Lehman Reference: PL8703 .K34 2004
  • Khamisi, A. M. (Abdu Mtajuka), compiler.
    Kamusi Asisi ya Kiingereza-Kiswahili-Kiarabu. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania: Taasisi ya Taaluma za Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2012. (1042 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: PL8703 .K45 2012
  • King'ei, Kitula G. and Ahmed Ndalu. Kamusi ya methali : za Kiswahili. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 2011.(372 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 K56 2011g
  • Kiputiputi, Omari M. (comp.) Kamusi sanifu ya kompyuta. Dar es Salaam: Taasisi ya Taaluma za Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2011.(602 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:QA76.15 .K5614 2011g
  • Kirkeby, Willy. English-Swahili dictionary. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Kakepela Pub. Co. ; Norway : Kirkeby Forlag, [2000] (1069 p.)
    Butler Reference: R Swahili K63
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .K57 2000g
  • Knappert, Jan and Leo van Kessel. Dictionary of literary Swahili. Edited by Frans Wijsen and Harrie Tullemans. Lewiston, N.Y. : Edwin Mellen Press, c2010. (676 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .K63 2010g
  • Lazaro, Cosmo Ambokile. Deutsch-Swahili, Swahili-Deutsch = Kamusi ya kijerumani na Kiswahili. Cologne, Germany: AM-CO Publishers, c2002. (362 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .L39 2002g
  • Lenselaer, Alphonse. Dictionnaire swahili-français : partiellement adapté du Standard Swahili-English dictionary de Frederick Johnson. (avec l'autorisation d'Oxford University Press.) Paris : Editions Karthala, c1983. (646 p. )
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .L46 1983
  • Maimu, Musa. Kamusi ya ndege wa Tanzania = A glossary of birds of Tanzania. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, c1982. (188 p.)
    Offsite: QL692.T35 M35 1982
  • Maimu, Musa. Kamusi ya wanyama na nyoka wa Tanzania = A glossary of animals and snakes of Tanzania. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, [1982] (131 p.)
    Offsite: QL337.T3 M35 1982
  • Maanga, Godson S. Maneno yanayotatanisha : kimaana na kimatamshi. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 1997. (170 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .M28 1997
  • Malaika, Baba. Modern Swahili, modern English. 2nd ed., rev. and enlarged. Arusha, Tanzania : MS Training Centre for Development Co-operation, 1994. (206 p.)
    Butler Reference: R Swahili M29 (Non-Circulating)
  • Massamba, David Phineas Bhukanda. Kamusi ya isimu na falsafa ya lugha. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, [2004] (118 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P29 .M337 2004g
  • Mbatiah, Mwenda. Kamusi ya fasihi. Nairobi : Standard Textbooks Graphics and Pub., 2001. (128 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8702 .M337 2001g
  • Mdee, James S. and John G Kiango. Kamusi ya wanyama kwa picha. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2006.
    Butler Stacks: QL337.T3 M4335 2006g
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: (2008 ed.): QL337.T3 M433 2008g
  • Miriongi, Wasilwa. Msingi wa lugha ya Lingala. Tala, Kenya: Ya Solo Enterprises, c2000. Swahili-Lingala dictionary. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8456.2 .M57 2000
  • Mkota, Abel and Fauzia Sakara. Kamusi ya semi: maana na matumizi. Nairobi, Kenya: Vide-Muwa Publishers Limited, 2011.(440 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler:PL8703 .M56 201
  • Mlingwa, Charles O. F. and John G. Kiango. Kamusi ya ndege kwa picha. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, [2006]. (124 p.)
    Offsite: QL692.T35 M55 2006
  • Mohamed, Mohamed Abdulla. Comprehensive Swahili-English dictionary. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Pub., 2011. (891 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8703 .M64 2011g
  • Morino, Tsuneo and Nakajima Hisashi. Suwahirigo jiten. (Japanese- Swahili dictionary) Tokyo : Tokyo Gaikokugo Daigaku Ajia, Afurika Gengo Bunka Kenkyujo, Heisei 2 [1990- ] (6 volumes.)
    East Asian: PL8703 .M67 1990 Vols. 1-6
  • Muzale, H. R. T. Kamusi ya majina na matumizi ya mimea kwa Kihaya: ikiwa na farahasa za kiingereza na kiswahili = A dictionary of plant names and functions in Haya : with English and Swahili glosses. Dar-es-Salaam: Languages of Tanzania Project, University of Dar es Salaam, 2011.(151 p.)
    Offsite: QK13 .M89 2011g
  • Ndalu, Ahmed E. Kamusi yangu ya kwanza. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 2000.
    (194 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .N43 2000g
  • Ohly, Rajmund. Primary technical dictionary, English-Swahili : standardized by the National Kiswahili Council (BAKITA). Dar es Salaam : Institute of Production Innovation, University of Dar es Salaam ; Eschborn, Federal Republic of Germany : Deutsche Gesellschaft fur Technische Zusammenarbeit, 1987. (243 p.)
    Offsite: T9 .O315 1987
  • Ohly, Rajmund. Swahili-English slang pocket-dictionary. Wien ; Dar es Salaam : AFRO-Pub, c1987.
    (86 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .O34 1987g
  • Pathak, Achyut Ramkrishna. Hindi-Svahili sabdakosha = Kamusi ya Kihindi - Kiswahili. Delhi, India : Kalinga Publications, 1993. (123 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PK1937 .P37 1993
  • Polikanov, D. V. and N.T. Petrenko. Russko-suakhili slovar' : okolo 20,000 slov. (Russian-Swahili dictionary) Moskva : Institut, 1997. (675 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .P65 1997g
  • Safari, J. F. and H. Akida. English-Swahili pocket dictionary. Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na nyota Publishers ; Nairobi : Heinemann, 1991. (271 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .S24 1991g
  • Safari, Joseph, Hamis Akida. Swahili-English pocket dictionary. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Mkuki na Nyota Publishers, 2003. (201 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .S34 2003
  • Suakhili-russkii slovar' : okolo 30,000 slov : pod redaktsiei E.N. Miachinoi's prilozheniem "Kratkogo grammaticheskogo ocherka iazyka suakhili" E.N. Miachinoi. [avtory N.V. Gromova ... et al.]. (Swahili-Russian dictionary) Moskva : "Russkii iazyk", 1987. (695 p.)
    Offsite: PL8703 .S85 1987
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. Kamusi sanifu ya biolojia, fizika na kemia. Dar es Salaam : TUKI : UNESCO : SIDA, c1990. (184 p.)
    Offsite: Q123 .K345 1990
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. Kamusi sanifu ya isimu na lugha. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : TUKI : UNESCO : SIDA, c1990. (58 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P29 .K37 1990
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. TUKI English-Swahili dictionary = Kamusi ya Kiingereza-Kiswahili. 3rd ed. Dar es Salaam : Institute of Kiswahili Research, University of Dar es Salaam, 2006. (1030 p.)
    Butler Reference: R Swahili T82
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. TUKI English-Swahili dictionary = Kamusi ya Kiingereza-Kiswahili. Dar es Salaam : Institute of Kiswahili Research, University of Dar es Salaam, 2000. Edition: 2nd ed.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8703 .T85 2000
    Butler Reference: R Swahili T811
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. TUKI English-Swahili dictionary = Kamusi ya Kiingereza-Kiswahili. 1st ed. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Institute of Kiswahili Research, University of Dar es Salaam, 1996. (882 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .T85 1996g
  • Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili. TUKI, kamusi ya Kiswahili-Kiingereza = TUKI, Swahili-English dictionary. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2001. Edition: Toleo la 1. (372 p)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8703 .K93 2001g
    Butler Reference: R Swahili T8113
    Lehman Reference: PL8703 .K93 2001g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kamusi ya fasihi : istilahi na nadharia. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Books, 2003. (392 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8703.5 .W365 2003g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kamusi ya methali. Series: Lulu za lugha; 2 Nairobi : Longhorn Publishers, 2001.
    (312 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 W36 2001
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kamusi ya misemo na nahau. Series: Lulu za lugha; 1. Nairobi : Longhorn Publishers, c2000. (338 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703,W36 2000
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kamusi ya tashbihi, vitendawili, milio na mishangao. Nairobi : Longhorn, c2004.
    (288 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .W363 2004g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kamusi ya ushairi. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa publishers, limited ; c2006. (164 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8703 .W362 2006g
  • Wamitila, K. W. and Florence M. Kyallo. English-Kiswahili assorted dictionary. Rev. ed. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Books, 2005. (414 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.W35 2005
  • Wamitila, K. W. and Florence M. Kyallo. English-Kiswahili assorted dictionary. Kenya: Focus Books, 2002. (191 p)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .W36 2002g
  • Wilson, P. M. Swahili picture vocabulary. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1979. (71 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .W53 1979g
  • Zawawi, Sharifa M. What's in a name? = Unaitwaje? : a Swahili book of names. Trenton, N.J. : Africa World Press, c1993. (86 p.)
    Butler Stacks: CS2375.A353 Z39 1993

Grammars, Phrasebooks, & Textbooks

  • Adam, Hassan. Kiswahili, intermediate course. Cologne : Omimee Intercultural, 1993. (214 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .K55 1993g
  • Crozon, Ariel and Adrienne Polomack. Parlons swahili : langue et culture. Paris : L'Harmattan, c1992. (191 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .C76 1992
  • Habwe, John and Peter Karanja. Misingi ya sarufi ya Kiswahili. Nairobi : Phoenix Publishers, 2004. (247p)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .H2185 2004
  • Hinnebusch, Thomas J. ...[et al.] Kiswahili, msingi wa kusema kusoma na kuandika = Swahili, a foundation for speaking, reading, and writing. Washington, DC : University Press of America, c1979.
    (272 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .H5
    BUTLER STACKS (1998 ed.): On Order
  • Hinnebusch, Thomas J. ...[ed al.] Online audio for Kiswahili, msingi wa kusema kusoma na kuandika = Swahili, a foundation for speaking, reading, and writing. (1979 & 1998) Swahili, LangMedia Materials for Less-Commonly Taught Languages -- Amherst, Massachusetts: Five College Center for the Study of Languages, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, [2009]
  • Irira, S. D. na R.M.O. Midello. Jizatiti na Kiswahili. Dar es Salaam : Longman Tanzania, [1981] ( 99 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .I7 1981
  • Kapinga, M. C. Sarufi maumbo ya Kiswahili sanifu. [Dar es Salaam] : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 1983. (211 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .K3 1983g
  • Kihore, Yared Magori. Kiswahili for beginners. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Dar es Salaam University Press, 1995. (99 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .K54 1995g
  • King'ei, Kitula G. na Paul M. Musau. Utata wa Kiswahili sanifu. Nairobi, Kenya : Didaxis, 2002. (99 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .K563 2002g
  • Kuhenga, Casimiri. Nahau za Kiswahili : jedwali la misemo ya lugha. Arusha, Tanzania : Eastern Africa Publications, 1980- (2 vols.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .K828 1980 Vols. 1-2
  • Maclin, Alice N. Useful Swahili : a beginner's Swahili, with vocabulary for home and garden. 2nd ed. Nairobi, Kenya : Evangel Pub. House, 1987. (161 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M32 1987g
  • Maw, Joan. Twende! Swahili for starters : a practical introductory course. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1999. (317 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M334 1999g
  • Maw, Joan. Twende! : a practical Swahili course. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1985. (315 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M335 1985
  • Mbaabu, Ireri. Sarufi ya Kiswahili. Nairobi, Kenya : Kenya Pub. & Book Marketing Co., 1987, c1985. (193 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M3355 1987g
  • Miachina, Ekaterina Nikolaevna. The Swahili language : a descriptive grammar. Translated by G.L. Campbell. London ; Boston : Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1981. (86 p. )
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M54 1981
  • Mohamed, Mohamed Abdulla. Modern Swahili grammar. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 2001. (271 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M635 2001g (2 copies)
  • Moshi, Lioba J. Tuimarishe Kiswahili chetu : kitabu cha wanafunzi wa mwaka wa pili/tatu = Building proficiency in Kiswahili : a manual for second/third year Swahili students. Lanham, MD : University Press of America, c1988. (163 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M67 1988
  • Mujaki, Ahamad. Jifunze Kiswahili. Kiongozi kwa mwalimu = Teachers' guide. Kampala : Fountain Publishers Ltd., 1992. (39 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M86 1992g
  • Mujaki, Ahamad. Jifunze Kiswahili : hatua ya kwanza. Fountain Swahili course no. 1. Kampala : Fountain Publishers Ltd., 1992. (58 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M86 1992g
  • Musyoki, Agnes and John D. Murphy. An elementary Swahili newspaper reader. Kensington, Md. : Dunwoody Press, 1985. (201 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M87 1985
  • Ndalu, Ahmed E. Mwangaza wa Kiswahili. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 1997. (174 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .N35 1997
  • Noronha, Lourenco A. Kiswahili cha Kawaida. Wien : Afro-Pub : Institut für Afrikanistik und Agyptologie der Universität Wien, 1994-1996. (2 vols.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .N676 1994g --- Vol. 1 only.
  • Rutaagi, Robert K. Maarifa ya kiswahili. Kampala, Uganda : Rutaagi, 1991. (61 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .R87 1991g
  • Rutayuga, John B. K. and John D. Murphy. An intermediate Swahili newspaper reader.
    Kensington, Md. : Dunwoody Press, 1984. (259 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .R78 1984
  • Rwechungura, Gabriel R. Ufahamu wa lugha ya Kiswahili. Nairobi : Heinemann Educational Books, 1984, c1973. (98 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .R94 1984g
  • Safari, Joseph F. Swahili made easy. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Tanzania Pub. House, 1980. (173 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .S13
    E-book of 2012 reprint (published by Mkuki na Nyota)
  • Stevick, E.W., J.G. Mlela, and F.N. Njenga. Swahili : basic course. Washington, DC: Foreign Service Institute, Department of State, 1963. (560 pages)
    Offsite: 897Sw1 Un3
    E-book (2nd ed., 1968) and audio
  • Swahili for travellers. Lausanne : Berlitz Pub. ; New York : Macmillan Pub. Co., c1986. (192 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .S93 1986g
  • Vitale, Anthony J. Spoken Swahili. Ithaca, N.Y. : Spoken Language Services, c1979. (224 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .V5
  • Wilson, Peter M. Simplified Swahili. New ed. Nairobi : Longman, 1985. (317 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .W56 1985
  • Zawawi, Sharifa. Kiswahili kwa kitendo : an introductory-intermediate course. Trenton, NJ : Africa World Press, c1988-. [Vol 1.: Kiswahili kwa kitendo ; vol. 2: Jifunze Kiswahili chetu.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .Z3 1988g, vols. 1-2 Butler Stacks (2001 ed.): PL8702 .Z3 2001g
  • Zawawi, Sharifa. Ongea Kiswahili, converse. Trenton, N.J. : Africa World Press, 1991. (233 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .Z352 1991g
  • Zawawi, Sharifa. Online audio for Kiswahili kwa Kitendo : an introductory-intermediate course. (1988 & 2001) Swahili, LangMedia Materials for Less-Commonly Taught Languages -- Amherst, Massachusetts: Five College Center for the Study of Languages, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, [2009]

Linguistics

  • Abudu, Maryam. Methali za kiswahili: maana na matumizi. Nairobi : Shungwaya Publishers, Ltd., 1981. (35 p.)
    Offsite: 454021
  • Amidu, Assibi A. Argument and predicate relations in Kiswahili : a new analysis of transitiveness in Bantu.
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .A457 2001g
  • Amidu, Assibi A. Classes in Kiswahili : a study of their forms and implications. Koln : R. Koppe, c1997. (440 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .A38 1997g
  • Amidu, Assibi A. Pronouns and pronominalizations in Kiswahili grammar. Series: Grammatische Analysen afrikanischer Sprachen ; Bd. 27. Köln : Köppe, 2006. ( 402 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .A459 2006g
  • Amidu, Assibi A. Reflexives and reflexivization in Kiswahili grammar. (527 p).
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .A395 2004g
  • Atlasi ya lugha za Tanzania = Mradi wa lugha za Tanzania. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2009. (130 p.)
    Lehman Atlas Collection (non-circulating): G2541.E3 L264 2009g
  • Baldi, Sergio. A first ethnolinguistic comparison of Arabic loanwords common to Hausa and Swahili. Napoli : Istituto universitario orientale, 1988. (83 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8231 .B35 1988g
  • Contini-Morava, Ellen. Discourse pragmatics and semantic categorization : the case of negation and tense-aspect with special reference to Swahili. Berlin ; New York : Mouton de Gruyter, 1989. (205 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .C66 1989
  • Contini, Ellen. Tense and non-tense in Swahili grammar : semantic asymmetry between affirmative and negative. Ph.D. thesis--ColumbiaUniversity, 1983. (2 v.: 416 leaves)
    Offsite: LD1237.5D 1983 .C655 (Ph.D. dissertation)
    Butler Microform Microfilm FC84- 6487
  • Datta, Ansu. Sociolinguistic behaviour and social change : as illustrated by the Swahili and Bengali speech communities : a comparative study. Calcutta : Indian Publications, 1982. (108 p.)
    Offsite: P40.D3 1982
  • Dhima ya kamusi katika kusanifisha lugha. Edited by J.G. Kiango. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c1995. (109 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .D48 1995
  • Leonard, Robert Andrew. The semantic system of deixis in standard Swahili. Ph.D. thesis--Columbia University, 1982. (136 leaves)
    Butler Microform Microfilm FC82- 22,425 (Ph.D. dissertation)
    Offsite: LD1237.5D 1982 .L365
  • Maanga, Godson S. Maneno yanayotatanisha : kimaana na kimatamshi. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 1997. (170 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703 .M28 1997
  • Mekacha, Rugatiri D. K. Isimujamii : nadharia na muktadha wa Kiswahili. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi za Taaluma za Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c2011. (236 p.) Sociolinguistics of Kiswahili
    Butler Stacks: P40.45.T37 M44 2011g
  • Mgullu, Richard S. Mtalaa wa isimu : fonetiki, fonolojia na mofolojia ya Kiswahili. Nairobi : Longhorn Publishers, c1999. (246 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M44 1999
  • Misingi ya utungaji wa kamusi. Edited by J.S. Mdee. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c1995. (107 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M57 1995g
  • Mpiranya, Fidele. Swahili phonology reconsidered in a diachronical perspective : the impact of stress on morphonemics and syllable structure. Koln : R. Koppe, c1995. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M65 1995g
  • Musau, Paul Muthoka. Aspects of interphonology : the study of Kenyan learners of Swahili. Bayreuth : University of Bayreuth, c1993. (224p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M85 1993g
  • Obuchi, Samuel M. and Ayub Mukhwana. Muundo wa Kiswahili : ngazi na vipengele. Nairobi, Kenya : A-Frame Publishers, 2010. (247 p.)
    Butler Stacks:PL8702 .O28 2010
  • Ohly, Rajmund. Swahili, the diagram of crisis. Wien : AFRO-PUB, 1982. (175 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .O36 1982
  • Tuntufye, N. D. Baada ya elimu ya msingi. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Mwangaza Publishers, 1981.
    (93 p.)
    Offsite: PL8702 .T86
  • Ukuzaji wa istilahi za kiswahili. Ed. by John G. Kiango. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c2008. (181 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .U59 2008g
  • Utafiti na utungaji wa kamusi. Ed. by J.G. Kiango and J.S. Mdee. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c1995. (118 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .U73 1995
  • Vitale, Anthony J. Swahili syntax. Dordrecht, Holland ; Cinnaminson, N.J. : Foris Publications, 1981.
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .V53 1981
  • Zawawi, Sharifa M. Loan words and their effect on the classification of Swahili nominals. Leiden : Brill, 1979. (153 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .Z33

Literature, Readers & Other Texts

  • Abdallah ibn 'Ali ibn Nasir. al-Inkishafi : catechism of a soul ; by Sayyid Abdalla bin Ali bin Nasir, with a translation and notes by James de Vere Allen. Nairobi : East African Literature Bureau, 1977. (82 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A33 I5 1977
  • Abdallah, Hussein Bashir. Kanisa na biashara ya watumwa. Dar es Salaam: Islamic Sites Conservation, 2011.(56 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT447 .A34 2011g
  • Abdulaziz, Mohamed H. Muyaka : 19th century Swahili popular poetry. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1979. (340 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M8 Z52
  • Abeid, Mehta and Arnold Msuya. Kisa cha Mfalme Choyo = Adventures of the Mean Chief. Nairobi : East African Educ. Publ., 1996. (20 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A375 K48 1996g
  • Achebe, Chinua. Mwakilishi wa watu. Nairobi : Heinemann Educational Books, 1977. (137 p.) [Translation of: A man of the people.]
    Butler Stacks: PR9387.9.A3 M83 1977g
  • Amran, Sabra Ali. Sikitiko. Zanzibar : Medu Press, 2012. (96 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A57 S55 2012g
  • Anduru, Agoro. Kukosa radhi. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Press and Publicity Centre, c1983. (91 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9399.9.A82 K8 1983
  • Anthology of Swahili poetry = Kusanyiko la mashairi. Compiled and translated by Ali Ahmed Jahadhmy. Nairobi : Heinemann Educational Books, 1975. (92 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 A53
  • Armah, Ayi Kwei. Wema hawajazaliwa. Kimetafsiriwa na Abdilatif Abdalla. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Publishers, 1993. (175 p.) [Translation of: Beautiful ones are not yet born.]
    Butler Stacks: PR6051.R55 B4319 1993g
  • Banda, Aaron A. Pendo la dhati. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Swala Publications, 1985. (42 p.)
    BUTLER STACKS PL8704.B221 P3 1985g
  • Barongo, E. B. M. Mkiki mkiki wa njaa. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Publicity International, 1985. (102 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.B37 M55 1985g
  • Biersteker, Ann Joyce and Ibrahim Noor Shariff. Mashairi ya vita vya Kuduhu : war poetry in Kiswahili exchanged at the time of the Battle of Kuduhu. East Lansing : Michigan State University Press , 1995. (254 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 B54 1993
  • Burhani, Z. Mwisho wa kosa. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, c1987. (269 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.B87 M95 1987
  • Chacha, Chacha Nyaigotti. Wingu jeusi. Nairobi : Heinemann Kenya, 1987. (55 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.C47 W5 1987g
  • Chachage, C. S. L. Kivuli. Dar es Salaam : B.C.I. Publishers, [1981] (117 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.C48 K5 1981g
  • Chibudu, S. Nyaki. Hakimu mwenye busara. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Publishers, 1979. (52 p.) Children's stories.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N92 H341 1979g
  • Chimerah, Rocha M. Mnara wawaka moto! : uhalifu. Nairobi : Nairobi University Press, 1998. (113 p.)
    A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.C44 M63 1998g
  • Chipeta, William M. Hatima yangu ni ipi? Shinyanga, Tanzania : Sunrise Publishers, c2010. (160 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.C533 H3 2010g
  • Darmani, Lawrence. Kufa polepole : na Hadithi Nyingine. Dodoma, Tanzania : Central Tanganyika Press, 1992. (90 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.D37 K84 1992g
  • Fabian, Johannes ...[et al.] (ed. and trans.) History from below : the `Vocabulary of Elisabethville' by Andre Yav : texts, translations, and interpretive essay. Amsterdam ; Philadelphia : J. Benjamins Pub. Co., 1990. ( 236 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.Z9 L824 1990
  • Fadhil, V. A. Vitimbi vya wanawake. Zanzibar : Zanzibar Publishers, c1980. (63 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704 .F33 V5
  • Farsi, S. S. (comp.) Swahili sayings from Zanzibar. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1980. ( 2 vols.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 F3 1980 Vols. 1-2
  • Farsy, Muhammad S. Kurwa na doto : maelezo ya makazi katika kijiji cha Unguja (Zanzibar). Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1982. (61 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .F3 K8 1982g
  • Fasihi. Kimehaririwa na Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi, 1983. (266 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 F38 1983g
  • Frank, William. Diwani yangu. Johari za Kiswahili ; 19. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1979. (127 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704.F7 D5
  • Gesero, Wandoche C. M. Methali za kiswahili : Afrika mashariki na kati. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : ABSIT, 2009. (325 p.) Proverbs.
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 G47 2009
  • Gitaa na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Edited by Timothy M. Arege. Nairobi, Kenya: Sasa Sema Publications, c2011. (181 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 G58 2011g
  • Habwe, John. Cheche za moto. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, c2008. (267 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 C43 2008g
  • Habwe, John. Fumbo la maisha, Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2009. (200 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 F86 2009g
  • Habwe, John. Maisha Kitendawili. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, c2000. (191 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 M35 2000g
  • Habwe, John. Maumbile si huja. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 1995. (102 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 M3 1995g
  • Habwe, John. Pamba. Nairobi, Kenya: Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2011. (153 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 P343 2011g
  • Habwe, John. Paradiso. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2005. (230 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 P37 2005g
  • Habwe, John. Safari ya Lamu. Nairobi, Kenya: Sasa Sema Publications, 2011.(220 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H22 S243 2011g
  • Hadithi za ndege : zimekusanywa na Chuo cha Mafunzo ya Ulaimu wa watoto wadogo Luagala. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda, 1986. (31 p.) [Children's stories.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .H33 1986g
  • Haji, Ameir Issa ...[et al.] Mazoezi ya ufahamu. Kimetayarishwa na kutolewa na Taasisi ya Kiswahili na Lugha za Kigeni, Wizara ya Elimu. Zanzibar, Tanzania : Taasi, [1982] (92 p.)
    Offsite: PL8702 .H33 1982
  • Haji, Omar Ali. Kitabu cha mashairi : waridi lililofuiya. Zanzibar : Soud Muhanna, 2010. (76 p.)
    Butler Stacks:PL8704.H3437 K58 2010g
  • Halimoja, Yusuf J. Maji Maji. Dar es Salaam : Mwangaza Publishers, [1981] (32 p.) [A history of the Maji Maji Uprising, 1905-1907, in Swahili.]
    Butler Stacks: DT447 .H35 1981g
  • Historia ya jimbo kuu la Dar es Salaam. Edited by Deogratias H. Mbiku. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, Ndanda, 1985. (209 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BV3625.T4 M35 1985g
  • Hussein, Ebrahim N. Jambo la maana. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Africana Publishers, 1982. (28 p.) [Translation of a children's story by Hans Christian Andersen.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.H8 J35 1982g
  • Jamaliddini, Abdul Karim Bin. Utenzi wa vita vya Maji Maji / Abdul Karim Bin Jamaliddini ; wahariri, Shani A. Kitogo, Mugyabuso M. Mulokozi. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2006. (38 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.B56 U84 2006
  • Jumbe, Aboud. The partner-ship : muungano wa Tanganyika na Zanzibar : miaka 30 ya dhoruba. Kimefasiriwa na Ally Saleh. Dar es Salaam : Amana Publishers, c1995. (181 p.)
    Butler Stacks: JQ3515 .J8519 1995g
  • Kabigi, J. P. Jitihada za kujiendeleza. Dar es Salaam : Longman Tanzania, [1981] (47 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K218 J58 1981
  • Kaduma, G. Z. Dhamana na Mabatini. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Publishing House, 1980. (62 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K152 D42 1980g
  • Kagubila, Mwanitu. Mwanangu mpoki. Dar es Salaam : Pan-African Publishing Co., 1981. (43 p.) [Poetry.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K157 M82 1981g
  • Kaigarula, Wilson. Baa medi : kazi ipo, haki ya Mungu. Dar es Salaam,Tanzania : W. Kaigarula, 2010. (106 p.)
    Butler Stacks:PL8704.K1574 B23 2010g
  • Kaiim, Muhammad Famau Shally. Ufasaha wa ushairi. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1985. ( 81 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K24 U35 1985g
  • Kale ya washairi wa Pemba : kamange na sarahani. (Mhariri) Ed. by Abdilatif Abdalla. Dar-es-Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota, c2011.(116 p.)
    Butler Stacks:PL8704.A2 K36 2011g
  • Karama, S. and M. Saidi. Maelezo ya methali za Kiswahili. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, 1983. ( 92 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 K37 1983
  • Karama, S. Sanaa ya umalenga : mashairi ya mafunzo. Nairobi, Kenya : Heinemann Educational Books, 1985. (67 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K26 S26 1985g
  • Kezilahabi, Euprase. Dhifa. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2008. (60 p.) Poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K4 D44 2008g
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Dunia uwanja wa fujo. Kampala : East African Literature Bureau, 1975, 1976 printing. (190 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704.K4 D8
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Gamba la nyoka. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2006. (123 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K4 G3 2006g
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler (1981 ed.): PL8704.K4 G3
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Kaptula la Marx. Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, c1999. (34 p.) A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .K4 1999g
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Kichomi. Nairobi : Heinemann, 1974. (72 p.) Poetry.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.K4 K48
    Offsite: PL8704.K4 K53
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Kichwamaji. Dar es Salaam : East African Pub. House, 1974. (217 p.) A novel.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.K4 K5
    Offsite: PL8704.K4 K5
  • Kezilahabi, Euphrase. Nagona ; [mchoro wa jalada umesanifiwa na J.W. Masanja.] Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, c1990. (62 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K4 N34 1990g
  • Khatib, Muhammed Seif. Utenzi wa Pambazuko la Afrika. Arusha, Tanzania : Eastern Africa Publications, 1982. (77 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K48 U83 1982g
  • Kihiyo, Jackson and Jean Mashengele. Vita kuu ya kwanza ya dunia nchini Tanganyika (1914-1918). Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Utamaduni Publishers, 1985. (70 p.)
    Offsite: 600414
  • Kineene wa Mutiso. Utenzi wa hamziyyah. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2005. (360 p.) Islamic poetry.
    Precataloging--Ask at Butler Circulation: 7MAY 71952
  • Kiswahili katika kanda ya Afrika mashariki : (historia, matumizi na sera). Edited by A.K. Mlacha. Dar es Salaam : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, c1995.
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .K584 1995
  • Knappert, Jan. Epic poetry in Swahili and other African languages. Leiden : E.J. Brill, 1983. (171 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .K49 1983
  • Knappert, Jan. Proverbs from the Lamu archipelago and the central Kenya coast. Berlin : D. Reimer, 1986. (127 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8021.K4 L3 Suppl.6
  • Knappert, Jan. A survey of Swahili Islamic epic sagas. Studies in Swahili language and literature ; v. 1. Lewiston, NY : Edwin Mellen Press, c1999. (169 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .K55 1999
  • Knappert, Jan. A survey of Swahili songs with English translations. Studies in Swahili language and literature; v. 4. Lewiston, NY : Edwin Mellen Press, 2004. (546 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .K63 2004
  • Knappert, Jan. Swahili proverbs. Burlington, Vt. : Proverbium in cooperation with the African Studies Program, University of Vermont, 1997. (156 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 K63 1997g
  • Kola, Pamela S. Kwa nini fisi hucheka. Nairobi ; Kampala : East African Educational Publishers, 1994. (21 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K653 K93 1994g
  • Kola, Pamela. Mauti yalianza lini? Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers, 1994. (35 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.K653 M38 1994g
  • Kunani Marekani? : na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by P.I. Iribemwangi. Nairobi: Target Publications, 2011.(178 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 K85 2011g
  • Landulira, T. G. P. Vitendawili vyetu. Dar es Salaam : Panafrican Pub. Co., 1979. (26 p.) Riddles.
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 L3
  • Leo, Sanja Leonard. Zinguo la mzuka. Toleo la 2. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Publishers Ltd., 2012. (99 p.) A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.L42 Z364 2012g
  • Liwenga, George. Nyota ya huzuni. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, c1981. (194 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.L48 N9 1981
  • Maanga, Godson S. Maisha na utumishi wa Anza Amen Lema. Moshi, Tanzania : New Millennium Books, 2006. (559 p.)
    Offsite: LA2388.T34 L46 2006g
  • Maisha marefu katika nyumba bora. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi ya Elimu ya Watu Wazima, c1983. ( 29 p.)
    Offsite: 605949
  • Malangalila, F. F. A. Mwamuyinga, mtawala wa Wahehe. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda, 1987. (90 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT443.3.H44 M35 1987g
  • Malenga wa karne moja. Tungo zilizokusanywa na Shihabdin Chiraghdin ; utangulizi Ahmed Sheikh Nabhany. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, c1987. (106 p.) Poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M26 1987g
  • Mandao, Martha. Ndoa : nusura ivunjike. Central Tanganyika Press, c1992. (30 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M325 1992g
  • Mandila, Jeff. Sikitiko la Sambaya. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2010.(142 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M346 S55 2010g
  • Manghulo, J.A. Raha zetu. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Longman Tanzania, 1979. (63 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704 .M332 R3
  • Massamba, David Phineas Bhukanda. Historia ya Kiswahili : 50 BK hadi 1500 BK. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2002. (308 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M335 2002
  • Mashairi ya mfungo wa Ramadhani ; yamekusanywa na kuhaririwa na T.S.Y. Sengo na F.T.S. Sengo. Arusha, Tanzania : Eastern Africa Publications, 1979. Islamic poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M38
  • Mashairi yetu. Yametungwa na yamehaririwa na Mohamed Kamal Khan ...[et al.] Nairobi, Kenya : East African Pub. House, 1981. (89 p.) Poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M337 1981
  • Mashengele, Jean. Historia ya utawala wa wadachi Tanganyika. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Utamaduni Publishers, 1984. (96 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT447 .M37 1984g
  • Maskini milionea na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by Ken Walibora. Nairobi, Kenya: Oxford University Press, 2012. (122 p.)< br > Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M37 2012g
  • Masomo ya kisasa : contemporary readings in Swahili. Yamharirwa na Ann Biersteker ...[et al.] New Haven : Yale University Press, c1990. (473 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M33 1990
  • Matunda ya azimio : mashairi ya mwamko wa siasa. Yamharirwa na Lucas N. Honero, Tigiti S.Y. Sengo, Shaaban Y.A. Ngole. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi ya Uchunguzi wa Kiswahili, 1980. (136 p.) [Poetry.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M38 1980g
  • Mayai waziri wa maradhi na hadithi nyingine. Ed. by K. W. Wamitila. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Publishers, c2004. (143 p.) Short stories.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 M39 2004g
  • Mayoka, J. M. M. Mgogoro wa ushairi na diwani ya Mayoka. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Publishing House, 1986. ( 97 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M39 M46 1986g
  • Mbaabu, Ireri. Historia ya usanifishaji wa Kiswahili. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, 1991. (126 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M371 1991g
  • Mbatiah, Mwenda. Msururu wa usaliti. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Publishers, 2010. (220 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M3557 M787 2010g
  • Mbawala, Anania. Nimekugundua! Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications-Ndanda, 1992.
    (72 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M35595 N56 1992g
  • Mbenna, I. C. Usinijue. Dar es Salaam : Jomssi Publications, 1987. (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .M449 1987g
  • Mbogo, Emmanuel. Sundiata. Dar es Salaam : Chuo Kikuu cha Dar es Salaam, 2011. (76 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704.M37 S86 2011g
  • Mbwali, Lucian A. Kisa mke. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1984. (48 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M39 K57 1984g
  • Mbwali, Lucian A. Kisa mume. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1992, 1984. (70 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M39 K572 1984g
  • Merinyo, Clemence. Kifo cha AIDS : na hadithi nyingine. Dar es Salaam : Grand Arts Promotions, 1988. (90 p.) Fiction.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M47 K54 1988g
  • Mgonja, Leah. Sungura kisimani. Dar es Salaam : East Africa Publications, 1992. (34 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M56 S8631 1992g
  • Misemo na methali toka Tanzania. Ed. by C.K. Omari, E. Kezilahabi, W.D. Kamera. Vol. 3. Kampala : East African Literature Bureau, 1979. Proverbs.
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.T33 M56
  • Mizungu ya manabii na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by John Habwe. Nairobi, Kenya : Phoenix Publishers, 2010. (208 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 M499 2010
  • Mkabarah, Jumaa R. R. Vitendawili kwa hadithi. Dar es Salaam : Utamaduni, 1992. (2 vols. )
    Butler Stacks: PN6377 .S93 1992g Vols.1-2
  • Mkindi, Abdi. Bahati ya mdudu : hadithi za nyumbani. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Taasisi ya Elimu ya Watu Wazima, 1980. (25 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M538 B34 1980g
  • Mkufya, W.E. Kizazi hiki. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Publishing House, 1980. (144 p.)
    Offsite: 413080
  • Mlele, Amina R. Balaa la ukewenza. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1986. (48 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M54 B35 1986g
  • Mochiwa, Zakaria. Mvumilivu hula mbovu. Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, 1988.
    (74 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M63 M88 1988g
  • Mohamed, Leila Mshenga. Tubadilike. Zanzibar : Soud Muhanna. (90 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M636 T83 2010g
  • Mohamed, Mohamed S. Kicheko cha ushindi. Riwaya zetu za Kiswahili; 3. Nairobi : Shungwaya Publishers, 1978. (53 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704 .M588 K49 1978
  • Mohamed, Said Ahmed. Asali chungu. Riwaya zetu za Kiswahili; 2. Nairobi : Shungwaya Publishers, 1980 [1978] (217 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .M6 A8
  • Mohamed, Said Ahmed. Janga la werevu. Nairobi, Kenya : Sasa Sema Publications, 2011. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M5895 J264 2011g
  • Mohamed, Said Ahmed. Kiza katika nuru. Nairobi : Oxford University Press, 1988. (267 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M5895 K59 1988g
  • Mohamed, Said Ahmed. Mbinu na mazoezi ya ushairi. Nairobi : Evans Brothers (Kenya), 1990. (219 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .M34 1990g
  • Mohamed, Said Ahmed. Nyuso za mwanamke. Nairobi, Kenya : Sasa Sema, 2010. (342 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M5895 N98 2010g
  • Mohamed, Said A. Pungwa. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, 1988. (55 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M6 1988g
  • Mpesha, Nyambura. Kapotei na Lulu. Nairobi : Oxford Univesity Press, 1987. (41 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9381.9.M65 K3 1987g
  • Mrina, B. F. Mapambano ya ukombozi Zanzibar. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, [1980] (134 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT449 .Z27 M75 1980z
  • Msokile, Mbunda. Historia na matumizi ya Kiswahili. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Educational Publishers and Distributors Ltd., c1992. (120 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M75 1992g
  • Mtenzi, Mteule na Kamambe Mtunzi. Nyakato na kisa cha mke wa mtemi na kiwete. Nairobi, Kenya : Foundation Books Ltd., 1990. (41 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .M735 N93 1990g
  • Mtobwa, Ben R. Dar es Salaam usiku. Nairobi, Kenya : Mkuki Books, 1998. (Fiction ; 188 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .S93 103 1998g
  • Mtobwa, Ben R. Mikononi mwa nunda. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Publishers, 2011. (116 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M756 M55 2011g
  • Mtobwa, Ben R. Pesa zako zinanuka. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Heko Publishers, c1984. (115 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .M75 P4 1984g
  • Mtobwa, Ben R. Roho ya paka. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Heko Publishers, c1994, 1996. (159 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .M75 R6 1994g
  • Mtobwa, Ben R. Salamu toka kuzimu. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Heko Publishers, 1986. (127 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M74 S25 1986g
  • Muhando, Penina. Nguzo mama. Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, c1982. (59 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M78 N46 1982g
  • Mulokozi, M. M. na T.S.Y. Sengo. History of Kiswahili poetry, A.D. 1000-2000 : a report. Dar es Salaam : Institute of Kiswahili Research, University of Dar es Salaam, c1995. (133 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .M85 1995
  • Mulokozi, M. M. na K.K. Kahigi. Kunga za ushairi na diwani yetu. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, [1979] (119 p.) Poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PN1049.S9 M84 1979
  • Mulokozi, M. M. Ngome ya mianzi : hadithi ya vijana kuhusu vita vya lugalo kati ya wahehe na wadachi 189. Dar es Salaam : MPB Enterprises, 1990 (42 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M791 N5651 1990g
  • Mulwa, David K. ...[et al.] Daraja. Nairobi : Oxford University Press, 1986. (47 p.) A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M919 D2 1986g
  • Mulwa, David and A.S. Yahya. Mkimbizi. Nairobi : Longman Kenya, 1988. (103 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M786 M541 1988g
  • Mung'ong'o, C. G. Njozi iliyopotea. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Publishing House, 1980. (176 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M8 N56 1980g
  • Musiba, A. E. Hofu. 2nd, rev. ed. [Tanzania] : M & K Publishers & Agencies, 1991. (132 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M86 H64 1991g
  • Mvungi, Martha Mlagala. Lwidiko. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Publishing House, [198-?]. (140 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M883 L85 1980z
  • Mwamafupa, Asegelile M. A. Kisa cha hazina ya Nadra na jitu refu na masimulizi mengine : hadithi kutoka Bonde la Ufa. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda, 1992. (112 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M93 K57 1992g
  • Mwanakijiji, M. M. Majeruhi wa mapenzi. Mwanza, Tanzania : Rock City Media House, 2012. (276 p. )
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M84824 M254 2012g
  • Mwavali, Anduvate K. Kifo cha mwalimu. Nairobi, Kenya : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2011. (332 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.M8485 K54 2011g
  • Mwavyaji wa roho na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by Sanja Leonard Leo. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Publishers, 2011. (184 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.L42 M8 2011g
  • Nabhany, Ahmed Sheikh. Umbuji wa kiwandeo ; [zimeharirwa kuelezwa na kutiwa maswali na Ibrahim Noor Shariff]. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Publishing House, 1985. (90 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N14 U42 1985g
  • Nabhany, Ahmed Sheikh. Umbuji wa mnazi ; [mhariri A.A.A. El-Maawy]. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Publishing House, 1985. (168 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N14 U43 1985g
  • Nassir, Ahmad. Taa ya umalenga ; [zimehairiwa na Abdilatif Abdalla]. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1982. (Poetry ; 117 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N17 T3 1982g
  • Ndauka, Irene Mwamfupe. Uchawi wa mchungaji Stephano. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : I.M. Ndauka, 2011. (156 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704.N297 U34 2011g
  • Ndung'u, Josepyh. Hadithi zetu : Swahili reader. 5th ed. Nairobi : Tai Publishers, 1987-
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .N4 1987g Vol. 2 only
  • Ngano za Ajabu kutoka Ugiriki. Nairobi : Macmillan Kenya, 1993. (117 p.) [Translations of Greek myths.]
    Butler Stacks: PA3671.S8 N43 1993g
  • Ngugi, Gerishon. Nimelogwa nisiwe na mpenzi. Nairobi, Kenya : East African Educational Publishers, 2011. (95 p.) A play.
    Offsite: PL8704.N44 N5 2011g -and- PL8704.N44 N5 1972 (1972 ed.)

    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.N44 N5 1972g (1975 printing)
  • Ngugi wa Thiong'o. Mtawa mweusi. Nairobi, Heinemann Educational Books, [1970] (84 p.) [Translation of The black hermit.]
    Butler Stacks: PR9381.9.N45 B518
  • Njogu, Kimani. Uhakiki wa riwaya za visiwani Zanzibar. Nairobi : Nairobi University Press, 1997. (99 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .N56 1997
  • Nkale, Kevin R. Kashfa. Peramiho, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda, 1993. (132 p.) [Fiction.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N48 K38 1993g
  • Nnimbo, Augustine L. Sikuwa ndondocha. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1987. (31 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N65 S55 1987g
  • Nyagali, Jacob B. Habari za wamwera. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1990. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N933 H32 1990g
  • Nyalapa, Columba. Isimu. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Mwangaza, 1982. (28 p.)
    Offsite: PL8701 .N9
  • Nyalusi, G.P.N. Kijicho chamkereketa. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1987. (68 p.)
    Offsite: 615040
  • Nyandindi, Meinrad Y. Kanyagio la maisha. Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda - Peramiho, 1991. (73 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N935 K37 1991g
  • Nyasulu, Lucy. Kupenda tena -- siwezi! Dar es Salaam : Heko Publishers, 1987. (115 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.N983 K9 1987g
  • Nyerere, Julius Kambarage (maswali, David Martin.) Ana kwa an na Rais Nyerere. Dar es Salaam: East African Publishing House, 1976. (38 p.)
    Offsite: 411941
  • Nyerere, Julius Kambarage. (mkusanya, B. K. Byarugaba.) Siri ya majadiliano. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, 1976. ( 91 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT448.25 .N9 A57
  • Ohly, Rajmund. Aggressive prose : a case study in Kiswahili prose of the seventies. Dar es Salaam : Institute of Kiswahili Research, 1981. (151 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .O35 1981
  • Olali, Tom. Watu wa gehenna. Nairobi : Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, 2012. (284 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.O39 W28 2012g
  • Pendo la heba na hadithi nyingine. Wahariri, Kitula King'ei na R.M. Wafula. [Nairobi] : Chama cha Waandishi wa Kenya, c1996. (72 p.) Short stories.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 P461 1996g
  • Rajab, Hammie. Tabia njema. Dar es Salaam : Africana Publishers, 1980. (28 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .R35 1980g
  • Rawah, Fatma S. Zimwi la mrima. Dar es Salaam : Diamond Distributors Services, 1991. (22 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R38 Z36 1991g
  • Robert, Shaaban. Kielezo cha fasili. Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota Publishers, 1991. (94 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R54 K53 1991g
  • Robert, Shaaban. Maisha yangu ; na, Baada ya miaka hamsini. New ed. Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota, 1991. (130 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R56 M35 1991g
  • Robert, Shaaban. Mapenzi bora. Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota, 1991. (69 p.) Poetry.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.R54 M361 1991g
    Offsite: PL8704.R54 M361 1991g
  • Robert, Shaaban. Wasifu wa Siti binti Saad. Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota, 1991. (75 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R54 W381 1991g
  • Rukambeiya, Vicent. Msomi. [S.l.] : ILOS, Ltd., 1990. (27 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R85 M86 1990g
  • Ruo Kimani Ruo. Nguzo za ushairi wa Kiswahili. Nairobi : Macmillan Kenya, 1989. (122 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.R86 N48 1989g
  • Saffari, A. J. Harusi. Dar es Salaam : BCI Publishers, c1984. (100 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704 .S24 1984g
  • Scheven, Albert. Swahili proverbs : Nia zikiwa moja, kilicho mbali huja. Washington, D.C. : University Press of America, c1981. (586 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN6519.S9 S3
  • Semburu, Hemed Juma. Mkato wa makaburini. Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda - Peramiho, 1992. (68 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.S4555 M53 1992g
  • Senkoro, Fikeni E. M. K. Fasihi. Dar es Salaam : Press and Publicity Centre, [1982] (121 p.) [Poetry.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.S46 F37 1982g
  • Senkoro, Fikeni E. M. K. Fasihi na jamii. Dar es Salaam : Press and Publicity Centre, 1987. (100 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .S46 1987g
  • Senkoro, Fikeni E. M. K. Ushairi : nadharia na tahakiki. Dar es Salaam : Dar es Salaam University Press, c1988. (158 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PN1049.S9 S461 1988g
  • Shakespeare, William. Juliasi Kaisari. Kimetafsiriwa na Julius K. Nyerere. Rev. ed. Dar es Salaam : Oxford University Press, 1969 (1975 printing) (89 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR2798.S92 J8 1969
  • Shakespeare, William. Makbeth. Mfasiri: S. S. Mushi. Dar es Salaam: Tanzania Pub. House, 1968.
    (84 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR2798.S92M25
  • Shakespeare, William. Mabepari wa Venisi. Kimetafsiriwa na Julius K. Nyerere. Dar es Salaam: Oxford University Press, 1969, 1974 printing. (88 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR2798.S92 M46
  • Shingo ya mbunge na hadithi nyingine. Ed. by K. W. Wamitila. Nairobi : Vide Muwa Publishers, 2007. (116 p.) Short stories.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 S45 2007g
  • Shitemi, Naomi Luchera. Ushairi wa Kiswahili kabla ya karne ya ishirini. Eldoret, Kenya : Moi University Press, 2010. (275 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .S55 2010
  • Sina zaidi na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by Ken Walibora. Nairobi: Target Publications, 2011.(144 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 S55 2011g
  • Sivalon, John C. Kanisa Katoliki na siasa ya Tanzania bara 1953 hadi 1985. Ndanda, Tanzania : Benedictine Publications, 1992. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BX1682.T35 S541 1992g
  • Swahili manuscripts from the School of Oriental and African Studies [Microform]. 45 reels ; 35 mm. (Marlborough, Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications, 2004-2005)
    Pt. 1. The Taylor, Hichens and Werner collections. pt. 2. The Knappert, Whiteley, Allen, Misc. and Yahya Ali Omar collections. [Manuscripts dating from the 1790s to the 1970s.]
    Butler Microforms, 401 Butler: MICROFILM F d70941
    See also:
  • Takrima nono na hadithi nyingine. (Wahariri) Ed. by Clara Momanyi abd Rayya Timammy. Toleo jipya. Nairobi, Kenya: Longman Kenya, 2012. (167 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 T35 2012g
  • Tamthilia ya maisha. Ed. by K. W. Wamitila. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2005. (118 p.) Poetry.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 T36 2005g
  • Tehenan, Mounga. Kiruka njia. Dar es Salaam Tanzania : Jacaranda Publications, c1986. (46 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.T233 K6 1986g
  • Tehenan, Munga. Matapeli wa karne hii. [Tanzania : s.n., between 1989 and 1993] (90 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .T44 1989g
  • Titi, Frederick Mbabagu. Nakulaumu wewe. Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda - Peramiho, 1992. (72 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.T575 M35 1992g
  • Titi, Frederick Mbabagu. Uanaume mgumu. Tanzania : Benedictine Publications Ndanda - Peramiho, 1994. (94 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.T575 U36 1993g
  • Utendi wa kutawafu Nabii = A poem concerning the death of the prophet Muhammad. (A traditional Swahili epic, with transliteration, translation, and notes on the reading of Swahili manuscripts in Arabic script for advanced students. ) Ed. by J.W.T. Allen ...[et al.] Lewiston, NY : E. Mellen Press, c1991.
    (161 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.U76 E5 1991
    Offsite: PL8704.U76 E5 1991
  • Utendi wa Mikidadi na Mayasa. Umehaririwa na Aboud Bashir. Series: Sanaa ya utungo; 3. Nairobi : Heinemann Educational Books, c1972. (54 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8704.U846 1972g
  • Urithi wa utamaduni wetu. Kimehaririwa na C.K. Omari na M.V. Mvungi. Dar es Salaam : Tanzania Pub. House, 1981, c1980. (187 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .U741 1981g
  • Waja leo : diwani ya mashairi. (Mhariri) Ed. by Ken Walibora. Nairobi, Kenya : Oxford University Press, 2012. (88 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 W35 2012g
  • Wali wa ndevu na hadithi nyingine. (Mhariri) Ed. by K.W. Wamitila. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Mwa Publishers, 2010. (184 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.A2 W255 2010g
  • Walibora, Ken. Kidagaa kimemwozea. Nairobi, Kenya : Target Publications, 2012. (167 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W343 K5 2012g
  • Wallah bin Wallah. Malenga wa ziwa kuu : maswali na istilahi za kifasihi. Nairobi : Heinemann Kenya, 1988. (171 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W32 M35 1988g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Bina-Adamu! Series: Fasihi ya kisasa [Swahili language materials] ; 150. Nairobi : Phoenix Publishers, 2002. (158 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8074.W324 S93 2002g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Dharau ya ini. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2007. (280 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 D437 2007g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Harufu ya mapera. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers Ltd., 2012. (596 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 H27 2012g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Msichana wa mbalamwezi. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2011. (199 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 M754 2011g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Kichocheo cha fasihi : simulizi na andishi. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Publications, c2003. Includes Swahili-English glossary of literary terms. (264 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .W37 2003g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Misingi ya uchanganuzi wa fasihi. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2008.
    (558 p.) [The foundations of literary criticism.]
    Butler Stacks: PN81 .W29 2008
  • Wamitila, K. W. Msímu wa vípepeo. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2006. (328 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 M77 2006
  • Wamitila, K. W. Musaleo! Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2004. (102 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 M87 2004g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Nguvu ya sala. Nairobi : Longhorn Publishers, c1999. (214 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 N49 1999g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Pango. Nairobi, Kenya : Focus Publishers, c2003. (88 p.) A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 P36 2003
  • Wamitila, K. W. Tikitimaji. Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers Limited, 2013. (160 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 T55 2013g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Uhakiki wa fasihi : misingi na vipengele vyake. Nairobi, Kenya : Phoenix Publishers, 2002. (228 p.) Literary criticism.
    Butler Stacks: PN99.K4 W36 2002g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Unaitwa nani? Nairobi, Kenya : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2008. (256 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 U63 2008g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Wingu la kupita. Nairobi : Spectrum Media, [1999] (59 p.) A play.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 W56 1999g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Yatima. Nairobi : Vide-Muwa Publishers, 2006. ( 90 p.) A novel.
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.W324 Y285 2006
  • Wanawake watatu wa kiswahili : hadithi za maisha kutoka Mombasa, Kenya : Kaje wa Mwenye Matano, Mishi wa Abdala, na shamsa Muhamad Muhashamy. Zimetayarishwa na kutafsiriwa na Sarah Mirza na Margaret Strobel. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1991. (95 p.)
    Butler Stacks: HQ1796.5 .W36 1991g
  • Wilson, Amrit ...[et al.] Husuda ya Marekani dhidi ya Mapinduzi 100 ya Zanzibar: siku 100 za kuundwa kwa Tanzania ; utangulizi na A.M. Babu; kimetafsiriwa na Mohamed Ahmed Saleh; kwa kushirikiana na Georgios Galinos Hadiivavanis. Zanzibar, Tanzania : Al Kharyria Press, [199-?] (220 p.)
    Butler Stacks: E183.8.T34 W5519 1990g
  • Yahya Ali Omar. Three prose texts in the Swahili of Mombasa. (With an introduction by P.J.L. Frankl ; annotations by Yahya Ali Omar & P.J.L. Frankl.) Berlin : D. Reimer, 1998. (124 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.Z9 M658 1998g
  • Yahya, A. S. Tamrini kamili. Nairobi : Heinemann Kenya, 1990. (169 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.Y34 T36 1990g
  • Yahya, A. S. Viatu vya Abu Kasimu. Nairobi : East Africa Educational Publishers, 1996. (18 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: PL8704.Y34 V43 1996g
  • Zahor, Rashid Mohamed. Nyani mtu. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania : Diamond, 1992. (19 p.) [Children's stories.]
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.Z27 N92 1992g
  • Zakwany, Ali Salim. Diwani ya Jinamizi. Zimekusanywa na Abdilatif Abdalla. Nairobi : Shungwaya Publishers, c1979. (157 p.)
    Offsite: PL8704 .Z28 D5 1979
  • Ziddy, Issa H. Lugha ya kiarabu Zanzibar : historia na mbinu za usomeshaji. Zanzibar : Ziddy I.H., 2011. (212 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PJ6068.T34 Z53 2011

 

  • Allen, J. de V. Lamu town : a guide. 2nd ed. [Lamu, Kenya] : Allen, 1986. (41 p.)
    Avery: AA1597 K42 A153
  • Allen, J. de Vere. Swahili origins : Swahili culture & the Shungwaya phenomenon. London : J. Currey ; Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers ; Athens : Ohio University Press, 1993. (272 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT365.45.S93 A45 1992
  • Bang, Anne K. Sufis and scholars of the sea : family networks in East Africa, 1860-1925. London ; New York : Routledge, Curzon, 2003. (260 p.)
    Butler Stacks & Islamic Studies Reading Room, 602 Butler: BP188.8.A443 B36 2003
  • Bennett, Norman Robert. The Arab state of Zanzibar : a bibliography. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1984. (231 p.)
    Offsite: Z3589 .B46 1984
  • Biersteker, Ann Joyce. Kujibizana : questions of language and power in nineteenth- and twentieth-century poetry in Kiswahili. East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State University Press, 1995. (367 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .B54 1995
  • Biersteker, Ann Joyce. The significance of the Swahili literary tradition and interpretation of early twentieth-century political poetry. Boston, Mass. : African Studies Center, Boston University, 1990. (28 leaves)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .B54 1990g
  • Bertoncini, Elena Zubkova. Outline of Swahili literature : prose fiction and drama. Leiden, The Netherlands ; New York : E.J. Brill, 1989. (341 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .B47 1989
  • Bwenge, Charles. The tongue between : Swahili & English in Tanzanian parliamentary discourse. München : Lincom Europa, 2010.
    Butler Stacks: P119.32.T34 B84 2010g
  • Caplan, Patricia. African voices, African lives : personal narratives from a Swahili village. London ;
    New York : Routledge, 1997. (267 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT443.3.S92 C36 1997
  • Chimerah, Rocha M. Kiswahili : past, present and future horizons. Nairobi, Kenya : Nairobi University Press, 1998. (152 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .C44 1998
  • Chittick, H. Neville. Manda : excavations at an island port on the Kenya coast. Nairobi : British Institute in Eastern Africa, 1984. (258 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT434 .M35 C45 1984
  • El-Zein, Abdul Hamid M. Sacred meadows : a structural analysis of religious symbolism in an east African town. [Evanston, Ill.] : Northwestern University Press, 1974. (365 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: BP64.K462 L358
    Offsite: OT33 Z46
  • Fabian, Johannes. Language and colonial power : the appropriation of Swahili in the former Belgian Congo, 1880-1938. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1986.
    (206 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT1 .A33 v.48
  • Garnier, Xavier. The Swahili novel: challenging the idea of 'minor literature'. Oxford : James Currey, 2013. (195 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .G374 2013g
  • The global worlds of the Swahili : interfaces of Islam, identity and space in 19th and 20th-century East Africa. Edited by Roman Loimeier, Rüdiger Seesemann Berlin, Germany : Lit, c2006. (409 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT443.3.S92 G56 2006g
  • Hirsch, Susan F. Pronouncing & persevering : gender and discourses of disputing in an African Islamic court. Language and legal discourse. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1998. (360 p.)
    Butler Stacks: KBL .H57 1998g
    Barnard: KBL .H57 1998g
  • The history & conservation of Zanzibar Stone Town. Edited by Abdul Sheriff. London : J. Currey ;
    Athens, Ohio : Ohio University Press, 1995. (151 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT449 .Z26 H57 1995
    Avery: AA1597 T159 H62
  • Horton, Mark. Shanga : the archaeology of a Muslim trading community on the coast of East Africa. London : The British Institute in Eastern Africa, c1996. (458 p.)
    Avery: AA1597 Ea77 H78
    Butler Stacks: DT434 .S53 H67 1996g
  • Horton, Mark and John Middleton. The Swahili : the social landscape of a mercantile society.
    Oxford, UK ; Malden, Mass. : Blackwell Publishers, 2000. (282 p.)
    Barnard and Butler Stacks: DT429.5.S94 H67 2000
  • Knappert, Jan. Four centuries of Swahili verse : a literary history and anthology. London : Heinemann Educational, 1979. (323 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .K5
    Milstein: PL8703.5 .K5
  • Knappert, Jan. Traditional Swahili poetry : an investigation into the concepts of East African Islam as reflected in the Utenzi literature. Leiden, The Netherlands: E.J. Brill, 1967. (272 p.)
    Offsite: BP49 S97 K67
  • Kresse, Kai. Philosophising in Mombasa : knowledge, Islam and intellectual practice on the Swahili coast. Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press for the International African Institute, c2007. (288 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT433.54 .K74 2007g
  • Kusimba, Chapurukha Makokha. The rise and fall of Swahili states. Walnut Creek, California : AltaMira Press, c1999. (236 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT365.65 .K87 1999
  • Lepine, Richard. "Swahili fiction bibliography: an update to 1980." Africana journal: a bibliographic library journal and review quarterly. Vol. XII, no. 3 (1981): 197-218.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3503. A371 1981
  • Maitland-Jones, J. The Old Town, Mombasa : a historical guide. Compiled from the original notes of J. McCrae by J. Maitland-Jones, J. Aldrick, and R. Macdonald. Mombasa : Friends of Fort Jesus, [1985]
    (35 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT434 .M7 M35 1985
    Avery: AA1597 K42 M28
  • Maw, Joan. Narrative in Swahili : sentence structure, intonation, and the storyteller. London : School of Oriental and African Studies, 1992. (107 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8702 .M32 1992g
  • Mazrui, Alamin M. and Ibrahim Noor Shariff. The Swahili : idiom and identity of an African people.
    Trenton, N.J. : Africa World Press, 1994. (188 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT433.545 .S93 M39 1994
  • Mazrui, Ali Al'Amin and Alamin M. Mazrui. Swahili state and society : the political economy of an African language. Nairobi : East African Educational Publishers ; London : James Currey, 1995. (171 p. )
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M36 1995
  • Mbaabu, Ireri. Language policy in East Africa : a dependency theory perspective. Nairobi, Kenya : Educational Research and Publications (ERAP), 1996. (243 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P119.32.E37 M33 1996g
  • Mbaabu, Ireri. New horizons in Kiswahili : a synthesis in developments, research, and literature. Nairobi : Kenya Literature Bureau, 1985. (229 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .M374 1985
  • Middleton, John. African merchants of the Indian Ocean: Swahili of the East African Coast. Long Grove, Ill.: Waveland Press, c2004. (134 p.)
    Milstein: DT429.5.S94 M538 2004g
  • Middleton, John. The world of the Swahili : an African mercantile civilization. New Haven, CT ; London : Yale University Press, 1992. (254 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT429.5 .S94 M54 1992
    Milstein: DT429.5.S94 M54 1992
    Lehman Stacks: DT429.5.S94 M54 1992
  • Mtoro bin Mwinyi Bakari. The customs of the Swahili people : the Desturi za Waswahili of Mtoro bin Mwinyi Bakari and other Swahili persons. Edited and translated into English by J.W.T. Allen. Berkeley, California : University of California Press, c1981. (342 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT433.542 .M7813
  • Nurse, Derek and Thomas J. Hinnesbusch. Swahili and Sabaki : a linguistic history. (With special addendum by Gerard Philippson.) Berkeley, California ; London : University of California Press, 1993. (780 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .N87 1993
  • Nurse, Derek and Thomas Spear. The Swahili : reconstructing the history and language of an African society, 800-1500. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c1984. (133 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT365.45 .S93 N87 1984
  • Ohly, Rajmund. The Zanzibarian challenge : Swahili prose in the years 1975-1981. Windhoek, Namibia : The Academy, c1990. (186 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .O354 1990g
  • Polome, Edgar C. Language, society, and paleoculture : essays. Selected and introduced by Anwar S. Dil. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1982. (387 p.)
    Offsite: P40.45 .A35 P64 1982
  • Pouwels, Randall Lee. Horn and crescent : cultural change and traditional Islam on the East African coast, 800-1900. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1987. (273 p.)
    Butler Stacks & Milstein: BP64.A4 E26 1987
    Lehman: DT1 .A33 No.53
  • Raab, Klaus. Rapping the nation : die Aneignung von HipHop in Tanzania. Berlin : Lit, 2006. (171 p. and accompanying CD "Bongo flava: Swahili rap from Tanzania") Texts in English, German, and Swahili
    Music: ML3531 .R33 2006g
  • Rollins, Jack D. A history of Swahili prose. Leiden : E.J. Brill, 1983- (Vol. 1.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .R65 1983
  • Romero, Patricia W. Lamu : history, society, and family in an East African port city. Princeton, NJ : Markus Wiener, c1997. (310 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT434 .L35 R66 1997
  • Roy-Campbell, Zaline M. Empowerment through language : the African experience-- Tanzania and beyond. Trenton, NJ ; Asmara, Eritrea : Africa World Press, 2001. (223 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8021.T34 R69 2001
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8021.T34 R69 2001
  • Russell, Joan. Communicative competence in a minority group : a sociolinguistic study of the Swahili-speaking community in the old town, Mombasa. Leiden : Brill, 1981. (262 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8704.Z9 M657 1981
  • Sheriff, Abdul. Dhow cultures of the Indian Ocean : cosmopolitanism, commerce and Islam. New York : Columbia University Press, c2010. (351 p.)
    Offsite & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GT5265.I6 S44 2010
  • Sheriff, Abdul. Slaves, spices & ivory in Zanzibar : integration of an East African commercial empire into the world economy, 1770-1873. London : Currey ; Athens, Ohio : Ohio University Press, 1987. (297 p.)
    Butler Stacks: HF3897 .S54 1987
  • Siravo, Francesco. Zanzibar : a plan for the historic stone town. Geneva, Switzerland : Aga Khan Trust for Culture, c1996. (218 p.)
    Avery: AA9277 T151 Si76
  • Strobel, Margaret. Muslim women in Mombasa, 1890-1975. New Haven : Yale University Press, 1979. (258 p.)
    Butler Stacks: HQ1170 .S87
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: HQ1170 .S97
    Lehman Stacks: HQ1170 .S87
    Milstein: HQ1170 .S87
    Barnard: HQ1170 .S87
  • Swahili language and society : papers from the workshop held at the School of Oriental and African Studies in April 1982. Ed. by Joan Maw and David Parkin. Wien : Institut für Afrikanistik, 1985. (348 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8701 .S97
  • Swahili modernities : culture, politics, and identity on the east coast of Africa. Ed. by Pat Caplan and Farouk Topan. Trenton, N.J. ; Asmara, Eritrea : Africa World Press, 2004. (235 p.) Papers from a two day conference held in London, 2001.
    Butler Stacks: DT429.5.S94 S93 2004g
  • Swartz, Marc J. The way the world is : cultural processes and social relations among the Mombasa Swahili. Berkeley, California : University of California Press, c1991. (350 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: DT433.545 .S93 S93 1991
  • Vamps and victims : women in Swahili literature. Ed. by Elena Bertoncini- Zubkova. Koln : Rudiger Koppe Verlag ; c1996. (314 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .V36 1996g
  • Wamitila, K. W. Archetypal criticism of Kiswahili poetry. Bayreuth : Bayreuth University ; London : Global, 2001. (245 p).
    Butler Stacks: PL8703.5 .W36 2001g
  • Westley, David. A bibliography of Swahili language and linguistics. Madison: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, c2001. (62 p).
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8701 .W48 2001g
  • Wolford, John, Allyson MacDermott, Anne Thurston. Review of the Zanzibar National Archives. [Zanzibar : s.n., 1984] (40 leaves)
    Butler Stacks: CD2481 .W34 1984
  • The Zanzibar Protectorate law reports. 8 vols. Nairobi, Kenya : LawAfrica, [2009?]
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: KTY1503.4 2009g
  • Zawawi, Sharifa. Kanga: the cloth that speaks. The Bronx, N.Y.: Azaniya Hills Press, c2005. (128 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT429.5.S94 Z39 2005g
    Avery Fine Arts: AK8887 Z19
    Butler Stacks: DT429.5.S94 Z39 2005g

Compiled by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian.  Last updated 8/31/2014.