Zulu Language Acquisitions at Columbia University Libraries


This bibliography on the Zulu language represents highlights from the last fifty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. Related works in English include literary works, biographies, ethnographies, and works about Zulu history, religion, literature, the arts, music, and other aspects of culture; some video titles and music CDs are also cited. You may also wish to consult the guide Zulu Language on the Internet.


Dictionaries & Glossaries

  • Bennett, John and al. Multilingual illustrated dictionary: English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans, Sepedi. Cape Town: Pharos: Juta Gariep, 2006. (373 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P381.S57 B46 2006g
  • Bryant, A. T. A Zulu-English dictionary with notes on pronunciation, a revised orthography and derivations and cognate words from many languages; including also a vocabulary of Hlonipa words, tribal-names, etc., a synopsis of Zulu grammar and a concise history of the Zulu people from the most ancient times. Pinetown, Natal: The Mariannhill Mission Press, 1905. (778 p.)
    Offsite: Rj B841
    E-book via Google Books
  • Colenso, John William. Zulu-English dictionary. Natal: Vause, Slatter, 1905; [Farnborough: Gregg, 1967]. (728 p.)
    Offsite: PL8843 .C6 1967
  • Dent, George Robinson and Nyembezi, C.L.S. Scholar’s Zulu dictionary: English-Zulu, Zulu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1995. (519 p.)
    Butler Reference, 301 Butler: R Zulu D431
    Offsite: PL8843 .D414 1988g
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .D44
  • Dent, George Robinson. Compact Zulu dictionary: English-Zulu, Zulu-English. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1985. (150 p.)
    Lehman Reference: PL8843 .D43 1985g
  • De Villiers, Paul. Everyday Zulu: a vocabulary and reference book: incwadi yamagama nokwandisa ulwazi. Pietermaritzburg: Centaur Publications, 1990. (88 p.)
    Offsite: PL8843 .E94 1990g
  • Doke, Clement Martyn. English-Zulu, Zulu-English dictionary. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1990. Butler Reference: R Zulu D635
  • Doke, Clement Martyn. Zulu-English dictionary Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1948. (903 p.)
    Offsite: Rj D658
  • Doke, Clement Martyn. Zulu-English vocabulary. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1971, c1958. (342 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .D653 1971g
  • Faye, Carl. Zulu references for interpreters and students. Pietermaritzburg: City Printing Works, Ltd., 1923. (122 p.)
    Offsite: PL8841 .F3
  • Gibbs, Samuel. An easy Zulu vocabulary and phrase book, with grammatical notes; with additions and amendments by R.C.O. Samuelson. Natal: P. Davis, 1897. (51 p.)
    Offsite: Rj G355
  • Koopman, Adrian. Zulu names. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 2002. (324 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .K66 2002g
  • Kumalo, M. B. English/Isizulu linguistic and literary terms = Amatemu Esingisi/Esizulu elingwistiksi nelithrisha. Lea Glen, Florida [South Africa]: Vivlia, 1995. (48 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P29.5 .K84 1995g
  • Learner's English-Zulu dictionary. Southern Africa: International Educational Publications, 1987.
    (156 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .L4 1987g
  • Mbatha, M.O. isiChazamazwi sesiZulu. Pietermaritzburg, South Africa : New Dawn Publishers, 2006. (vi, 1353 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .I85 2006g
  • Nkabinde, A. C. Isichazamazwi. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1982.
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .N52 1982g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso and Otty E. H. Mandla Nxumalo. Inqolobane yesizwe. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter [1966]. (345 p.)
    Offsite: PL8843 .N9
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. AZ: isichazimazwi sanamuhla nangomuso. Pietermaritzburg: Reach Out Publishers, 1992. (561 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .N88 1992
  • Quick-English, Xhosa, Zulu, Sesotho: 300 common words for everyday use. Vlaeberg: Chelsea Publications, 2000. (28 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8323 .Q85 2000g
  • Roberts, Charles. An English-Zulu dictionary; with the principles of pronunciation and classification fully explained. London: K. Paul, Trench, Trübner, 1904. (267 p.)
    Offsite: 897Z8 R543
  • Roberts, Charles. A Zulu manual, or vade-mecum, being a companion volume to "The Zulu-Kafir language," and the "English-Zulu dictionary,". London: K. Paul, Trench, Trübner & Co. Ltd., 1900.
    (153 p.)
    Offsite: Rj R541; 897Z8 R54
    E-book via Google Books
  • South African multi-language dictionary and phrase book : English, Afrikaans, Northern Sotho, Sesotho, Tswana, Khosa, Zulu ; A.E. Kotzé ...[et al.]. Cape Town: Reader’s Digest Association South Africa (Pty), Ltd., c1991. (495 p.)
    Butler Reference: R Polyglot So87
  • Taljaard, P. C. The concise trilingual pocket dictionary: English, Zulu, Afrikaans = Die kort drietalige sakwoordeboek: Afrikaans, Zoeloe. Jeppestown: Ad Donker Publisher, 1991. (104 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .T35 1991g
  • Van Wyk, Chris and al. Usayitsheni uDlamini ugajwa uthando. Izindaba ezintsha. Johannesburg: ViVa Books, 2000. (18 p.)
    Butler Stacks: On Order

Grammars, Phrasebooks, & Textbooks

  • Bendemann, Helen. Zama: a beginner’s course in Zulu. [Warner Beach, South Africa?]: H. Bendemann, 1994. (173 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .B38 1994
  • Canonici, Noverino N. Zulu grammatical structure. 3rd ed. Durban: Zulu Language and Literature, University of Natal, 1996. (140 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .C3661 1996g
    Butler Stacks (1995 ed.): PL8842 .C3661 1995g
  • Cele, Thuthukani T. Ayimale! Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 2004. (52 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.C45 A95 2004g
  • Colenso, John William. First steps in Zulu, being an elementary grammar of the Zulu language. Pietermaritzburg: Vause, Slatter, 1903. (160 p.)
    Offsite: Rj C677f
    E-book via Google Books
  • Collins Zulu phrasebook. London: Harper Collins, 2008. (253 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .C65 2008g
  • Cope, A. T. A comprehensive course in the Zulu language. Durban: Department of Zulu Language and Literature, University of Natal, 1983, c1982.
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .C66 1983g
  • Doke, Clement Martyn. Textbook of Zulu grammar. Cape Town: Maskew Miller Longman; Published on behalf of the University of the Witwatersrand, 1988, c1930. (387 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .D6 1988g
    Butler Stacks (1954 ed.): PL8842 .D6 1954
  • Fox, Isaac. Juta’s first Zulu manual with vocabulary. Cape Town: Juta [1950]. (116 p.)
    Offsite: Rj F792
  • Funda isi-Zulu [electronic resource] = Learn Zulu. Talk now! London: EuroTalk Interactive ; Renton, WA: Topics Entertainment, [2007].
    Butler Stacks: CD-ROM PL8841 .F86 2007g
  • Goslin, Benjamin du Plessis. Conversational Zulu for beginners. Petermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1986. (109 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .G67 1986g
  • Grout, Lewis. The Isizulu. A grammar of the Zulu language; accompanied with a historical introduction, also with an appendix. London: Trübner & Co.; [etc., etc.] 1859. (432 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BP49 Z94 G88; Rj G918i
    Offsite: 897Z8 G91
  • Grout, Lewis. The Isizulu: a revised edition of A grammar of the Zulu language; with an introduction and appendix. London: K. Paul, Trench, Trübner, 1893. (313 p.)
    Offsite: Rj G918il
    E-book via Google Books
  • IsiZulu made easy: [a step-by-step guide] ; Aubrey Mokoena ...[et al.] Pretoria: J.L. van Schaik Publishers, 1999. (228 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .I85 1999
  • Malcolm, D. McK. A Zulu manual for beginners. London: Longmans, Green, 1949. (169 p.)
    Offsite: Rj M243
  • Mayr, F. Zulu simplified being an English-Zulu exercise-book with key for colonists and natives.
    Durban: P. Davis & Sons, 1911. (119 p.)
    Offsite: 897Z8 M455
  • Mayr, F. Zulu simplified, being a new, practical, and easy method of learning the Zulu language. Pietermaritzburg: P. Davis & Sons, Printers, 1899. (60 p.)
    Offsite: Rj M455
  • Mbeje, Audrey N. Zulu learners’ reference grammar. African language learners’ reference grammar series. Madison, Wis.: NALRC Press, 2005. (313 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .M36 2005
  • Nel, G. L. Simple Zulu, with household phrases. [Durban?, South Africa]: Knox Print. Co., 1973. (91 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N45 1973g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Learn more Zulu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter [1970]. (548 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 N9
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso Learn Zulu. Pietermaritzburg [South Africa]: Shuter and Shooter, [1968].
    (247 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N9 1968
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Learn Zulu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1990, c1957. (264 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N9 1990g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Uhlelo LwesiZulu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1973, c1956.
    (274 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N93 1973
  • Poulos, G. Learn to speak Zulu: 12 introductory lessons. Centurion [South Africa]: George Poulos, 2006. (106 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .P63 2006g
    Butler Stacks (1999 ed.): PL8842 .P63 1999g
  • Poulos, G. Zulu. Languages of the world. Materials; 50. München; Newcastle: LINCOM Europa, 1997.
    (57 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .P68 1997g
  • Rycroft, D. K. and A.B. Ngcobo. Say it in Zulu = Shóno ngesíZulu. London: School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, c1979, 1981. (371 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .R9 1981a
  • Samuelson, R. C. A. Zulu grammar. Durban: [s.n.] 1925. (323 p.)
    Offsite: 897Z8 Sa49
  • Sherriffs, Pam. Forgive me, I'm an impatient mlungu: and other useful things to know how to say in Zulu. Hilton, South Africa: icingsugar publications, 2008 (2009 printing)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .F67 2009g
  • Slattery, H. Auxiliary verbs in Zulu. Communication; no. 10. Grahamstown: Department of African Languages, Rhodes University, 1981. (79 p.)
    Offsite: PL8842 .S4 1981
  • W.M.F. Elementary Zulu: a course of elementary lessons in the Zulu language: intended chiefly for beginners and junior pupils. Cape Town: Juta & Co., Ltd., c1921. (106 p.)
    Offsite: 897Z8 EL26
  • Wanger, Willibald. Catholic Zulu terminology. Mariannhill: [s.n.], 1913. (246 p.)
    Offsite: Ro W1851
  • Wanger, Willibald. Scientific Zulu grammar. Opera africana; t. 1 Stuttgart: W. Kohlhammer, 1927-
    Offsite: 897Z8 W185
  • Wilkes, A. Complete Zulu. London: Teach Yourself, 2010. (350 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .W56 2010g
  • Wilkes, A. and Nicholias Nkosi. Teach yourself Zulu [sound recording]. Teach yourself books (Lincolnwood, Ill.). Blacklick, OH: McGraw-Hill, 2004. (2 CDs & booklet)
    Butler Stacks: SOUNDREC PL8842 .W55 2004g
  • Ziervogel, D. and J.A. Louw ; asst. by P.C. Taljaard. A handbook of the Zulu language.
    Pretoria: Van Schaik (J. L.), 1976. (251 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .Z5 1976
    Butler Stacks (1967 ed.): PL8842 .Z5
  • Zulu vocabulary and phrase book for the use of immigrants and settlers in the colony of Natal and Zululand. Durban: T.L. Cullingworth, 1907. (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .Z8 1907
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler (1918 ed.): PL8842 .Z8 1918g

Linguistics

  • Anthology of articles on African linguistics and literature: a Festschrift to C. L. S. Nyembezi. Edited by A.C. Nkabinde. Johannesburg: Lexicon, 1988. (257 p.)
    Offsite: PL8005 .A58 1988g
  • Beuchat, P. D. The verb in Zulu. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1966. (80 p.)
    Offsite: PL8842 .B4
  • Canonici, Noverino N. Elements of Zulu morpho-syntax. Durban: Zulu Language & Literature, University of Natal, 1995. (106 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .C344 1995g
  • Canonici, Noverino N. Imisindo yesiZulu : an introduction to Zulu phonology. Durban, South Africa : Department of Zulu Language and Literature, University of Natal, 1996. (62 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .C36 1996g
  • Canonici, Noverino N. The Nguni languages: a simple presentation and comparison of Zulu, Xhosa, and Swati. Durban: Zulu Language and Literature, University of Natal, 1994. (78 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8221.6 .C35 1994g
  • Doke, Clement Martyn. The phonetics of the Zulu language. Bantu studies. Special number; v. 2. Johannesburg: University of the Witwatersrand Press, [1926]. (310 p.)
    Offsite: 897Z8 D685
  • Fivaz, Derek. Some aspects of the ideophone in Zulu. Hartford studies in linguistics; no. 4. Hartford, Conn.: [Hartford Seminary Foundation] 1963. (199 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 408 H253 no.4
  • Koopman, Adrian. Zulu language change. Howick: Brevítas, 1999. (100 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .K66 1999g
  • Mokhonoana, Nelly and Monica Strassner. Zincwadi eziqoqiwe ngolwazi lolimi lwesiZulu ngonyaka ka 1998 = Bibliography of the Zulu language to the year 1998. Pretoria: National Library of South Africa; Johannesburg: Thorold’s Africana Books [distributor], 1999. (281 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .M65 1999
  • Molamu, Louis. Tsotsi-taal : a dictionary of the language of Sophiatown. Pretoria: University of South Africa, c2003. (130 p.)
    Offsite & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PM7804 .M65 2003g
  • Mosaka, Naledi Mpolokeng. Morphology : an introduction to the structure of words in Setswana and IsiZulu. Gaborone, Botswana : Kokeb, 2012. (164 p.)
    Offsite: PL8747.1 .M67 2012
  • Motshegoa, Lebo. Township talk : the language, the culture, the people : the A-Z dictionary of South Africa's township lingo. Cape Town: Double Storey, 2005. (50 p.)
    Butler Stacks: P40.5.U732 S646 2005g
  • Nhlapo, Jacob. Nguni and Sotho: a practical plan for the unification of the South African Bantu languages. Pro and con pamphlets; no. 1 Cape Town: African Bookman, 1945. (22 p.)
    Burke [UTS] MRL Pamphlets: 0075
  • Nkabinde, A. C. An introduction to Zulu syntax. Pretoria: Acacia, [1986?] (166 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N57 1986g
  • Poulos, G. Issues in Zulu relativization. Communication; no. 11. Grahamstown: Department of African Languages, Rhodes University, 1982. (330 p.)
    Offsite: PL8842 .P6 1982
  • Thomas-Vilakati, Kimberly Diane. Coproduction and coarticulation in IsiZulu clicks. University of California publications in linguistics ; v. 144. Berkeley: University of California Press, c2010. (234 p.)
    Offsite: PL8842 .T49 2010g

Literature: Folktales, Novels, Poetry, Proverbs, Historical & Other Texts

  • 11 South African folk tales : 11 official languages : a celebration of democracy and cultural diversity ; managing editor, Aré van Schalkwyk; original artwork, Reuben Matemane. Gardenview, South Africa: Zytek Pub., c2005. (119 p. ; "Unanana" by Danisile Ntuli, pp. 9-18)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GR359 .A15 2005g
  • Amaculo abantwana esizulu = isiZulu nursery rhymes. Pietermaritzburg: Nutrend, c2008. (25 p. of music, 1 sound disc, and 1 DVD)
    Music Scores: 73.2 So8 Am12
  • Amagalelo. Edited by Nakanjani G. Sibiya. Durban, South Africa : University of KwaZulu-Natal, 2013. (88 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 A62 2013g
  • Bhengu, Vusumuzi Maurice. Inkunzi emanqindi = [The bull whose powers have been reduced]. Sandton: Heinemann, c1999. (101 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.B44 I55 1999g
  • Bhengu, Vusumuzi Maurice. Itshwele lempangele = [Guinea-fowl chicken]. Sandton: Heinemann Publishers, 1998. (120 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.B44 I87 1998g
  • Bible. I Baible eli ingcwele: Eli Netestamente elidala, nelitya, ku kitywa kuzo izilimi zokuqala, ku lotywa ngokwesizulu. The Holy Bible containing the Old and New Testaments, translated out of the original tongues, into the Zulu language. 2 vols. New York: American Bible Society, 1899.
    Offsite: CB51 Z9 1899
  • Bible. Eyokuqala incwadi ka mosesi okutiwa Ugenesise : the Book of Genesis ; trans. by
    J.C. Bryant ...[et al.] New York: American Bible Society, 1863. (136 p.)
    Burke [UTS] Union Stacks: CB51 Z9 1863.
  • Bible. I Testamente Elitya lenkosi yetu uJesu Kristu ; [trans. by committee and edited by S.C. Pixley] Esidumbini: American Zulu Mission, 1965. (407 p.)
    Burke [UTS] Union Stacks: CB51 Z9 1865
  • Callaway, Henry. Nursery tales, traditions, and histories of the Zulus, in their own words [electronic resource]: with a translation into English, and notes. Black short fiction. Springvale, Natal: J. A. Blair; London: Trübner & Co.,1868.
    E-book
  • Canonici, Noverino N. Izinganekwane : an anthology of Zulu folktales. Durban : Zulu Language and Literature, University of Natal, 1993. (115 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR359.2.Z83 C35 1993g
  • Champion, A.W.G. The views of Mahlathi ; writings of A.W.G. Champion, a black South African ; with a biography of A.W.G. Champion by R.R.R. Dhlomo ; ed. by M.W. Swanson ; trans. by E.R. Dahle and A.T. Cope. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press ; Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library, 1982, c1983. (202 p. ; translation of "Imibono kaMahlathi")
    Butler Stacks: DT779.8.C47 A2513
  • Dlamini, Bhekinkosi. Isidleke samanqe. Pretoria: J.L. van Schaik, 1996. (193 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.D536 I753 1996g
  • Dlamini, Phumla. Imali kamalume. Durban: New Readers Publishers University of Natal, 2003, 1999. (22 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .D53 2003g
  • Dube, John Langalibalele. Jeqe, the body-servant of King Shaka. Penguin modern classics. Johannesburg: Penguin, 2008. (112 p.; trans. by Professor J. Boxwell, "Insila ka Tshaka")
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: On Order
    Offsite (1951 ed.): Tj D814
  • Dube, John Langalibalele. A Zulu song book. [Facsimile reprint of "Amagama Abantu," with modernized version edited, translated, and transcribed by David Rycroft.]
    Colin Webb Natal and Zululand series; no. 7. Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1996. (1 close score, 88 p.)
    Offsite (Music Score): 73.2 So8 D85
  • Gasa, Khathazile. Inkositini: Ukhathazile ulandela inhliziyo yakhe. Durban: New Readers Project [Centre for Adult and Community Education, University of Natal]: Natal Worker History Project, 2000, 1991. (38 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .G37 2000g
  • Gcumisa, Mlindeli Samuel Simeon. Ingqalabutho yakwavimbingwenya. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 2008. (163 p.; Zulu trans. of biographical novel,“The pioneer of Vimbingwenya”)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.G26 I54 2008g
  • Gcumisa, M.S.S. Amaselwa. Pretoria: J.L. van Schaik, 1996. (70 p.) (Short stories)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.G35 A637 1996g
  • Keyser, Sonya and Brett Purdon. Ukumelana nokudlwengulwa. Funda ngamalungelo akho.
    Durban: New Readers Project, 1995. (47 p.)
    Lehman Stacks: HV6569.A35 K48 1995g
  • Khawula, Bhekisigcino D. Yihlathi Leli. [Edited by DBZ Ntuli]. Cape Town, South Africa : Tafelberg, 2012. (76 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.K43 Y54 2012g
  • Khumalo, Nomadiphu ...[et al]. EMkhumbane. Durban: New Readers Project: Department of Adult and Community Education, 1996, c1992. (28 p.)
    Offsite: PL8841 .K58 1996g
  • Khumalo, Sibusiso Desmond and Sibusiso L. E. Mfeka. Azibuye emasisweni = [Give back to the rightful owners what is theirs]. Sandton: Heinemann Publishers (Pty) Ltd. 1999. (90 p.) (Short stories)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.K48 A95 1999g
  • Khumalo, V.S. and T.B. Thela. Usentu lwamabhongo. Kenwyn: Juta, 1995. (79 p.) (Poetry)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.K486 U846 1995g
  • Khumalo, Z.L.M. Amankonyane aseNtabeni. Kenwyn: Juta, 1995. (84 p.) (Poetry)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.K488 A436 1995g
  • Khumalo, Z.L.M. Umzungulu. Kenwyn: Juta, 1995. (104 p.) (Poetry)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.K488 U498 1995g
  • Kwamlah, Johnson. Wafa Ephila. Durban: New Readers Project, Department of Adult and Community Education, University of Natal, 1995, 1992. (27 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .K83 1995g
  • Land, Sandra and Lungisani Kunene. UMkhize odumile = The famous Mkhize. Durban: New Readers Project, School of Community Development and Adult Learning, University of Natal, c2001. (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .L36 2001g
  • Langalibalele F.M. ...[et al.]. Umcakulo. Pretoria: KZM Books, 2006. (61 p.)
    Precataloging:7AUG 37457
  • Lyster, Elda. Umndeni wakwaNkosi ; ibhalwe uElda Lyster; imidwebo uJeff Rankin; ihunyushwe uNozizwe Madlala. Durban: New Readers Publishers; Snow Camp, N.C.: Peppercorn Books & Press, Inc. [distributor] 2002, 1991. (37 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .L97 2002g
  • Madlala, Nozizwe. Inkinga kaNompi no Themba. [Durban: New Readers Publishers: School of Community Development and Adult learning, University of Natal]: Peppercorn Books & Press, Inc., 2003, 1991. (34 p.)
    Offsite: PL8841 .M25 2003g
  • Madlala, Nozizwe. Umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu. Durban: New Readers Project, Centre for Adult Education, University of Natal; Snow Camp, N.C.: Peppercorn Books & Press [distributor] 1995, 1991.
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .M33 1995g
  • Maphumulo, A. M. Unqambothi. Cape Town: Oxford University Press, 1993. (96 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .M36 1993g
  • Maphumulo, A.M. (comp.) Indwamba 3. Black writers series; 22. Johannesburg: Hodder & Stoughton: Witwatersrand University Press, 1996. (101 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 I43 1996g
  • Matsebula, J. S. M. Iqoqo lezinkondlo. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1975 printing. (130 p.)
    Offsite: PL8844.A2 I67
  • Mazibuko, Robert...[et al.]. Indoda yezihlahla : indaba kaRobert Mazibuko. Durban: New Readers Project, Department of Adult and Community Education, University of Natal, 1996.
    (35 p. ; Zulu translation of "The Tree man: Robert Mazibuko's story")
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .M39 1996g
  • Mbanjwa, Bongekile Joyce. Izinhlungu zomphefumulo : incwadi yezinkondlo = Emotional pain : a collection of poems ; translations by Siphiwe ka Ngwenya.
    Braamfontein [South Africa]: Botsotso Pub., [200-?] (93 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M39 I95 2000z
  • Mhlongo, D.B.K. Umcebo. Africasouth learners series. Claremont [South Africa]: D. Philip, 1990. (72 p.)
    Butler Stacks:GR359.2.Z83 M485 1990g
  • Missions of the Church of England in Natal. Inncwadi yezifundo. ibalelwe izikole zebandhla las'england ezis'ezweni las'enatal. 2 vols. Pietermaritzburg: South-Africa: Vause, Slatter, 1902.
    Burke [UTS] MRL Pamphlets: 0073
  • Mngadi, M. Jabulani. Iziboshwa zothando. Mamela Afrika series. Sandton: Heinemann, 2004. (247 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M543 I95 2005g
  • Mngadi, M. Jabulani. Yiza mntanami. Oxford southern African literature. Cape Town: Oxford University Press, 2007. (144 p. ; a novel)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M543 Y59 2007g
  • Molefe, Lawrence. Ngicela Ningamukele. Cape Town: Maskew Miller Longman, 1996. (75 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M65 N453 1996g
  • Msimang, C.T. Kusadliwa ngoludala. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1975. (437 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 M78
  • Msimang, C.T. Kwesukasukela. Arcadia [South Africa]: Bard, 1987. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843.5 .M75 1987g
  • Msomi, Welcome. UMabatha = [Mabatha]. Mamela Afrika series. Sandton: Heinemann Publishers, 1998. (57 p. ; Zulu adaptation of William Shakespeare's "Macbeth")
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M8 U6 1998g
  • Mthembu, R. H. UMamazane = Mamazane. Cowies Hill: Solo, 1999. (138 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.M854 U63 1999
  • Musho! : Zulu popular praises ; translated and edited by Liz Gunner and Mafika Gwala. African historical sources; no. 3. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, 1991. (232 p. and 12 p. of plates)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8844.A2 M87 1991g
  • Mvubu, Nokuthula. Izindaba zika nokuthula. Durban: I-New Readers Project, 1999. (30 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .M87 1999g
  • Ndlovu, Linda. Impiselo. [South Africa]: Timbila Poetry Project, 2004. (66 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N423 I67 2004g
  • Ngcobo, Moses. Qhude manikiniki. Pretoria: Van Schaik, 1977. (195 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N46 Q5
  • Ngcobo, Mtholeni N. A survey of Zulu literature from 1970-1990. Studies in African literature; v. 8. Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, c2002. (96 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843.5 .N47 2002
  • Ngcobo, Muzi Eric. Kusinwa kudedelwane. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 2008. (222 p. ; a novel)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N484 K87 2008g
  • Ngwenya, Mkhipheni A. Ulwazi lwamaZulu ngezimila: isingeniso = Zulu botanical knowledge: an introduction. Durban: National Botanical Institute, 2003. (67 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 N49 2003g
  • Nkabinde, A. C. Isichazamazwi. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1982-
    Butler Stacks: PL8843 .N52 1982g
  • Nqeketo, A. A. Izibulo. Pretoria: J.L. van Schaik, 1996. (72 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N645 I953 1996g
  • Nsele, P. E. M. Imfihlo Yokushona Kwelanga. Pretoria: J. L. van Schaik, 1998. (80 p.)
    Offsite: PL8844.N74 I64 1998g
  • Ntuli, N. S. Isihlabelelo (Imidlalo enkundlanye). Arcadia, South Africa: Bard Publishers, c1993. (101 p.) (Drama)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N875 I75 1993g
  • Ntuli D. B. Z. Ugqozi. Pretoria: Van Schaik, 1975.
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 U34
  • Ntuli, D.B.Z. and M.N. Makhambeni Izimpande: ubucikomazwi besizulu kuze kufike ku-1993.
    Miscellanea specialia, no18. Pretoria: Unisa Press, University of South Africa, c1998. (314 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 I95 1998
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Inkinsela YaseMgungundlovu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1990. (200 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8844.N99 I5 1990g
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N99 I5 1990g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso and O.E.H. Nxumalo. Inqolobane yesizwe. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter [1966]. (345 p.)
    Offsite: PL8843 .N9
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Isibuko senhliziyo. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1981. (108 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 N973 1981g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso and Barbara Tyrrell. Izibongo zamakhosi ; imifanekizo idwetshwe ngu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1978. (159 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N99 I9 1978
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Uhlelo LwesiZulu. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter, 1973, c1956.
    (274 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8842 .N93 1973
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. Zulu proverbs. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1990. (238 p.)
    Offsite: PN6519.Z8 N94 1990g
    Offsite (1954 ed.): 897Z8 N986
  • Shabangu, S. S. Isichazamazwi samagama amqondo ofanayo. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1987. (146 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.S52 I85 1987g
  • Shembe, Isaiah. Shembe hymns. [Introd. and ed. by Carol Muller ; trans. by Bongani Mthethwa ; assisted by Themba Mbhele and Sazi Dlamini]. Scotsville, South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, 2010. (250 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BV510.Z8 S543 2010g
  • Sibiya, E.D.M. Ngidedele ngife. Cape Town: Tafelberg, 2006. (168 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.S545 N45 2006g
  • Sishi, Hubert. Imilando yakwaZulu : imidlalo yomsakazo ; umhleli, D.B.Z. Ntuli. Pretoria: University of South Africa, c2000. (243 p. ; 27 radio plays)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.S57 I4 2000g
  • Stuart, James. Zulu proverbs and popular sayings, with translations. Durban: T.W. Griggs [194-?].
    (93 p.)
    Offsite: Tj St31
  • Three native accounts of the visit of the Bishop of Natal in September and October, 1859, to Umpande, King of the Zulus. Pietermaritzburg: Vause, Slatter. & Co., 1901. (172 p.)
    Offsite: Tj C6771
    E-book
  • Tracey, Hugh (comp. and tr.) Lalela Zulu ; 100 Zulu lyrics ; with illus. by Eric Byrd. Johannesburg: African Music Society, [1948] (121 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 T7
    Offsite (UTS): Qaj T7591
  • Traditional Zulu music [sound recording]: songs of King Shaka. East Grinstead, West Sussex, England : Arc Records, 2011. (1 sound disc)
    Music Sound Recordings: CD20792
  • Tshabalala, Zwelibanzi A. L. Izithakazelo zemindeni yakwa Qwabe, Mthethwa, Ndwandwe, Zulu. South Africa : Tshabalala Publications, 2011. (76 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.T65 I9 2011g
  • Vilakazi, B. Wallet. Amal’ezulu. The Bantu treasury; no. 8. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1980, c1960. (68 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler:PL8844.V5 A8 1980g
  • Vilakazi, B. Wallet. Inkondlo kaZulu. The Bantu treasury; no. 1. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1982, c1957. (93 p.)
    Offsite: PL8844.V5 I5 1982g
  • Vilakazi, B. Wallet. Zulu horizons. Rendered into English verse by Florence Louie Friedman, from the literal translations of D. Mck. Malcolm and J. Mandlenkosi Sikakana. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1973. (144 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.V5 Z47 1973
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler (1962 Cape Town ed.): PL8844.Z95 E5 1962
  • Xulu, Cedric. UMahlase uvakashela edolobheni. Durban: New Readers Project, Department of Adult and Community Education, University of Natal, 1999. (40 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8841 .X858 1999g
  • Zandile Mseleku (umhleli). Ithunga lenkosazana. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 2007. (63 p. ; poetry anthology)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.A2 I856 2007g
  • Zondi, Elliot. Insumansumane. Black writers series; 19. Johannesburg: Hodder & Stoughton, 1996.
    (99 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.Z66 I57 1986g
  • Zulu, E. S. Q. Madiba!. Mamela Afrika series. Sandton: Heinemann, 1999. (52 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.Z85 M34 1999g
  • Zungu, Andreas Z. Usukabhekhuluma and the Bhambatha Rebellion ; translated by A.C.T. Mayekiso. Durban, South Africa: CSSALL, 1997. (70 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 C538 1997
  • Arment, David and Marisa Fick-Jordan. Wired : contemporary Zulu telephone-wire baskets ; photographs by Andrew Cerino. Santa Fe, N.M.: S/C Editions ; Distributed by Museum of New Mexico Press, 2005. (211 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7392 Ar54
  • Ballantine, Christopher John. Marabi nights : jazz, 'race' and society in early apartheid South African. [New ed.] Scottsville, South Africa : University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, 2012. (xvi, 247 p.)
    Music: ML3509.S6 B35 2012, plus 1 CD
    Music (1993 ed.): ML3509.S6 B3 1993, plus 1 cassette
  • Barker, Anthony. Physic and protocol among the Zulus. ISMA paper; no. 32. Johannesburg: Institute for the Study of Man in Africa [1972]. (13 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GN643 .I6 no.32
  • Barnes, Leonard. Zulu paraclete; a sentimental record. London: P. Davies, 1935. (244 p.)
    Offsite: DT878.Z9 B3
  • Barter, Catherine. Alone among the Zulus: the narrative of a journey through the Zulu country, South Africa; edited by Patricia L. Merrett. Killie Campbell Africana Library publications; no. 8. Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1995. (112 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 B37 1995
  • Berglund, A. I. Zulu thought-patterns and symbolism. Studia missionalia Upsaliensia; 22. Uppsala: Swedish Institute of Missionary, 1976. (402 p., [1] leaf of plates)
    Burke [UTS]: DT878.Z9 B45
  • Binns, C. T. The last Zulu king; the life and death of Cetshwayo. [London]: Longmans [1963]. (240 p.)
    Offsite: Ek C423
  • Binns, C. T. The warrior people: Zulu origins, customs, and witchcraft. Cape Town: H. Timmins, 1974. (283 p.)
    Offsite: DT878.Z9 B48 1974
  • Bryant, A. T. A history of the Zulu and neighbouring tribes. Cape Town: C. Struik, 1964. (157 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 302.9683 B84
  • Bryant, A. T. Olden times in Zululand and Natal: containing earlier political history of the Eastern-Nguni clans. Africana collectanea series; v. 13. Cape Town: C. Struik, 1965. (710 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 968 B8441
  • Bryant, A. T. The Zulu people as they were before the white man came. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter and Shooter [1967].
    Offsite: MX16.8 B915
  • Buthelezi, Gatsha. The past and future of the Zulu people. Munger Africana Library notes, no. 10. [Pasadena: Munger Africana Library] 1972. (25 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z733 .M9175 no.10
  • Callaway, Henry. The Religious system of the Amazulu in the Zulu language with translation into English and notes in four parts. Africana collectanea; v. 35. Cape Town: Struik (C.), 1970. (448 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: BL2480.Z8 C3 1970
    Butler Stacks: BL2480.Z8 C3 1970
  • Callaway, Henry. The religious system of the Amazulu. [Mariannhill, Natal]: Mariannhill Mission Press, 1913. (139 p.)
    Offsite: Caj C131
  • Callaway, Henry. The religious system of the Amazulu: Izinyanga zokubula = or, Divination, as existing among the Amazulu, in their own words Publications of the Folklore Society; 15 (1884) Springvale, Natal: J.A. Blair; Capetown: J.C. Juta; London: Trübner, 1870 [i.e.1885]. (448 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BL2480.Z8 C34 1884
    Offsite: Cdj C131
  • Cetewayo, King of Zululand. A Zulu king speaks: statements made by Cetshwayo kaMpande on the history and custom of his people. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press; Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library; Portland, 1987. (126 p.)
    Barnard Stacks: DT878.Z9 C524 1987
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler (1978 ed.):
    DT878.Z9 C524
  • Champion, George. Journal of the Rev. George Champion, American missionary in Zululand, 1835-9. Cape Town: Struik, 1967. (149 p.)
    Offsite: MZ55 C452
  • Champion, George. Rev. George Champion, pioneer missionary to the Zulus: sketch of his life and extracts from his journal, 1834-8. New Haven, Conn.: Tuttle, Morehouse & Taylor Press, c1896. (51 p.)
    Offsite: MX13 C452
  • Cibane, Wilfred. Man of two worlds: an autobiography. Cape Town: Kwela Books, c1998. (160 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1949.C53 A3 1998g
  • Colenso, Frances E. My chief and I, or, Six months in Natal after the Langalibalele outbreak ; and, Five years later : a sequel ; edited and introduced by M.J. Daymond. (Originally published under pseudonym Atherton Wylde) Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, c1994. (158 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1851.D87 C65 1994g
  • Colenso, John William. Bringing forth light: five tracts on Bishop Colenso’s Zulu mission. Reprint series (Killie Campbell Africana Library); no. 4 Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press; Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library, 1982. (252 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BV3625.S67 C64 1982
  • Cope, A. T. A select bibliography relating to the Zulu people of Natal and Zululand. [s.l.: s.n.], 1974. (84 leaves)
    Butler Reference: R016.968 C79
  • Cope, Nicholas. To bind the nation: Solomon kaDinuzulu and Zulu nationalism: 1913-1933. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1993. (302 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT2273.S6 C661 1993g
  • Cowley, Cecil. Kwa Zulu; Queen Mkabi’s story. Cape Town: C. Struik, 1966. (226 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 C65
  • Dargie, David. Zulu bow songs [sound recording]. Fort Hare: Dave Dargie [distributor], 2003. (3 CDs and 39 p. booklet)
    Music Sound Recordings: CD12445 (CD1-3 + booklet)
  • Derwent, Sue. The very best of KwaZulu-Natal. Capetown: Struik ; London : New Holland, 2000.
    (144 p.; tourist guide with col. ill., col. maps)
    Butler Stacks: DT1090.D47 2000g
  • Dhlomo, Herbert I.E. H.I.E. Dhlomo collected works ; ed. by Nick Visser and Tim Couzens. Johannesburg: Ravan Press, 1985. (500 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.D47 A6 1985
    Search for other works in: Black Drama
  • Dhlomo, Rolfus R.R. An African tragedy : a novel in English by a Zulu writer. [Lovedale, South Africa]: Lovedale Institution Press, [1928?] (40 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.D444 A6 1996g
  • Dhlomo, Rolfus R.R. Selected short stories. ISEA reprints. English in Africa; v. 2, no. 1. Grahamstown [South Africa]: Institute for the Study of English in Africa, Rhodes University, 1996. (87 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.D444 A6 1996g
  • Di Rosa, Hervé. Hervé Di Rosa in Durban presents Dirozulu ; with project director Marisa Fick Jordan [i.e.Jordaan].[Durban: s.n., 2000] (Community art project)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7392 D59
  • Dlamini, S. Nombuso. Youth and identity politics in South Africa, 1990-1994. Anthropological horizons; 30. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, c2005. (231 p.)
    Butler Stacks: HQ799.S62 D92 2005g
  • Du Toit, Brian M. Content and context of Zulu folk-narratives. University of Florida monographs. Social sciences; no. 58. Gainesville: University Presses of Florida, 1976. (86 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR359.2.Z83 D88
  • Durban Art Gallery. Ukusimama KwaMasika = Cultural survival: 4 October-14 November 1993. [Durban], South Africa: Durban Art Gallery, [1993]. (26 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: AK9950 Uk9
  • Edgerton, Robert B. Like lions they fought: the Zulu war and the last Black empire in South Africa. New York: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan Publishers, c1988. (244 p.)
    Butler & Milstein Stacks: DT777 .E27 1988
  • Elliott, Aubrey. Zulu, heritage of a nation. Cape Town: Struik, 1991. (80 p. ; photographs)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 E66 1991g
  • Erlmann, Veit. Music, modernity, and the global imagination : South Africa and the West. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. (312 p. ; history of black South African choirs ; Ladysmith Black Mambazo in 1980s and 1990s)
    Butler and Music Stacks: ML3760 .E75 1999
  • Erlmann, Veit. Nightsong: performance, power, and practice in South Africa. Chicago studies in ethnomusicology. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1996. (446 p.)
    Barnard, Milstein, & Music Stacks: ML3760 .E76 1996
  • Filter, Heinrich (comp.) Paulina Dlamini, servant of two kings ; ed. and trans. by S. Bourquin.
    Killie Campbell Africana Library publications; no. 1. Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library ; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1986. (135 p.)
    Lehman Reserves, Butler Stacks, & Offsite: DT878.Z9 D623 1986
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT878.Z9 D623 1986
  • Fuze, Magema M. The Black people and whence they came: a Zulu view. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press; Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library, 1979. (206 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT878.Z9 F8813
  • Gatti, Attilio and Prof. Lidio Cipriani. Siliva the Zulu [videorecording]. Vancouver, B.C.: Villon Films, [2001?]. (62 min. ; orig. prod. in 1927)
    Music Video: VC440
  • Gluckman, Max. Analysis of a social situation in modern Zululand. The Rhodes-Livingstone papers; no. 28 Manchester [England]: Published on behalf of the Rhodes-Livingstone Institute by the Manchester University Press, c1958. (77 p.)
    Offsite: Jk G567a
  • Golan-Agnon, Daphna. Inventing Shaka: using history in the construction of Zulu nationalism. Boulder, CO: L. Rienner Publishers, 1994. (169 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 G65 1994
  • Golightly, Walton. AmaZulu: being the many divers adventures of the Induna & the boy among the People of the Sky in the time of Shaka kaSenzangakhona, King of Kings. London: Quercus, c2008. (640 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.4.G63 A8 2008g
  • Gordin, Jeremy. Zuma : a biography. Johannesburg: Jonathan Ball, 2008. (324 p. ; 12 p. of plates)
    Butler & Lehman Stacks: DT1972.Z86 G66 2008g
  • Grossert, John Watt. Zulu crafts. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter, 1978. (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 G76
  • Guy, Jeff. Remembering the rebellion: the Zulu Uprising of 1906. Scottsvile, South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, 2006. (197 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1875 .G895 2006
  • Guy, Jeff. The destruction of the Zulu kingdom: the Civil War in Zululand, 1879-1884. Pietermaritzburg [S. Africa]: University of Natal Press, 1994. (273 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT878.Z9 G87 1994g
  • Guy, Jeff. The heretic: a study of the life of John William Colenso, 1814-1883. Johannesburg [South Africa]: Ravan Press; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1983. (378 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: BV3625.S67 C653 1983g
  • Guy, Jeff. The Maphumulo Uprising: war, law and ritual in the Zulu Rebellion. Scotsville, South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, c2005. (276 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT2267 .G895 2005
    Butler Stacks: DT2267 .G895 2005
  • Guy, Jeff. The view across the river: Harriette Colenso and the Zulu struggle against imperialism. Reconsiderations in southern African history. Charlottesville, Va.: University Press of Virginia, 2002.
    (498 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1110.C65 G89 2002
  • Gwayi, Joyce Jessie. Yekanini! Pretoria: Van Schaik, [1976]. (123 p.)
    Offsite: PL8844.G85 Y4
  • Hall, Lynn Bedford. Shaka, warrior king of the Zulu. [Johannesburg?: C. Struik, 1987]. (32 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1831.C53 H3 1987g
  • Hamilton, Carolyn. Terrific majesty: the power of Shaka Zulu and the limits of historical invention. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998. (278 p.)
    Milstein, Barnard & Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 H36 1998
    E-Book
  • Hersov, James (dir.) Heaven’s herds [videorecording]: Nguni cattle, Nguni people. [South Africa]: Flying Fox Productions, c2005. (75 min.)
    Butler Media Res: DVD6188
  • The James Stuart archive of recorded oral evidence relating to the history of the Zulu and neighbouring peoples ; edited and translated by C. de B. Webb and J.B. Wright. 5 vols. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1976-
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 J3 v.1-5
  • Keeney, Bradford (ed.) Vusamazulu Credo Mutwa: Zulu high sanusi. Profiles of healing; v. 5. Philadelphia, PA: Ringing Rocks Press in association with Leet’s Island Books, c2001. (181 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 V87 2001g
  • Kennedy, Carolee. The art and material culture of the Zulu-speaking peoples: exhibited at the UCLA Museum of Cultural History, fall, 1978. UCLA Museum of Cultural History pamphlet series; v. 1, no. 3 [Los Angeles]: The Museum, c1978. Offsite: N7392 K38
  • Killie Campbell Africana Library. Oral history project relating to the Zulu people: catalogue of interviews. Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library, University of Natal, 1983. (43 leaves)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 K54 1983
  • Knight, Ian. The Zulus. Elite series; 21. London: Osprey, 1989 (1991 printing). (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 K55 1989
  • Know the past : wear the future ; [Gillian Berning ; A. Konigkramer]. Local History Museum Education Pamphlet; no. 1. [Durban: Local History Museum, 1996] (31 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7380 K76
  • Krige, Eileen Jensen. The social system of the Zulus. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter [1965]. (420p.)
    Offsite: MX16.8 K92
  • Kunene, Mazisi. Anthem of the decades : a Zulu epic ; translated from Zulu by the author. African writers series ; 234. London: Heinemann, 1981.
    Offsite: PL8844.K79 I513 1981
  • Kunene, Mazisi. Emperor Shaka the Great : a Zulu epic. London: Heinemann, 1979. (438 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8844.K79 E5
  • La Hausse, Paul. Restless identities: signatures of nationalism, Zulu ethnicity, and history in the lives of Petros Lamula (c. 1881-1948) and Lymon Maling (1889-c. 1936). Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 2000. (317 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT1926 .L3 2000
  • Laband, John. The atlas of the later Zulu wars 1883-1888. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 2001.(140 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT2400.Z85 L323 2001
  • Laband, John. The battle of Ulundi. Kwazulu Monuments Council; 3 Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter; Ulandi: KwaZulu Monuments Council, 1988. (56 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT777 .L16 1988g
  • Laband, John. Historical dictionary of the Zulu wars. Historical dictionaries of war, revolution, and civil unrest ; no. 37. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2009. (381 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler (Non-Circulating): DT2400.Z85 L317 2009
  • Laband, John. Zulu warriors : the battle for the South African frontier. New Haven ; London : Yale University Press, [2014] (viii, 345 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1875 .L34 2014
  • Laband, John and John Wright. King Cetshwayo kaMpande (c. 1832-1884). Kwazulu Monuments Council; 1. Pietermaritzburg: Shuter & Shooter; Ulundi: Kwazulu Monuments Council, 1980. (34 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 C527 1980
  • Laband, John and Paul Thompson. The illustrated guide to the Anglo-Zulu War. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 2000. (201 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT1875 .L335 2000g
  • Laband, John and Jeff Mathews. Isandlwana. KwaZulu Monuments Council; 4. Pietermaritzburg, South Africa: Centaur ; Ulundi: KwaZulu Monuments Council, 1992. (98 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1879.I83 L3 1992g
  • Laband, John. Kingdom in crisis: the Zulu response to the British invasion of 1879. War, armed forces, and society. Manchester; New York: Manchester University Press,1992. (272 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1875 .L33 1992
  • Laband, John. Rope of sand: the rise and fall of the Zulu Kingdom in the nineteenth century. Johannesburg: Jonathan Ball, 1995. (517 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT2400.Z85 L33 1995g
  • Lock, Ron and Peter Quantrill (comp.). The red book: Natal Press Reports, Anglo-Zulu War, 1879. [London: Anglo Zulu War Historical Society, 2000]. (352 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1875 .R43 2000g
  • Lucas, Thomas J. The Zulus and the British frontiers. New York: Negro Universities Press [1969].
    (371 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT777 .L83 1969
  • Mahoney, Michael R. The other Zulus: the spread of Zulu ethnicity in colonial South Africa. Durham, NC : Duke University Press, 2012. (292 p.)
    Offsite and Barnard: DT1768.Z95 M36 2012
    E-Book
  • Madi, Phinda Mzwakhe. Leadership lessons from Emperor Shaka Zulu the Great. Randburg, South Africa: Knowledge Resources, 2000. (119 p.)
    Butler Stacks: UB210 .M24 2000g
  • Magwaza, Thenjiwe, Yonah Seleti, and Mpilo Pearl Sithole (eds.) Freedom sown in blood: memories of the Impi Yamakhanda. Thohoyandou, South Africa: Ditlou, c2006. (188 p.)
    Butler Stacks: On Order
  • Maré, Gerhard. Brothers born of warrior blood: politics and ethnicity in South Africa. Johannesburg: Ravan Press, 1992. (121 p.)
    Lehman: JQ1998.I54 M375 1992g
  • Maré, Gerhard. Ethnicity and politics in South Africa. London; Atlantic Highlands, N.J.: Zed Books, 1993. (125 p.)
    Lehman: JQ1998.I54 M375 1993
  • Marks, Shula. The ambiguities of dependence in South Africa : class, nationalism, and the state in twentieth-century Natal. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press ; Johannesburg: Ravan Press, 1986. (171 p.)
    Lehman & Milstein Stacks: DT876 .M37 1986 (4 copies)
  • Marks, Shula. Reluctant rebellion: the 1906-8 disturbances in Natal. Oxford studies in African affairs. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1970.
    Butler Stacks: DT777 .M37 1970 (2 copies)
    Offsite (UTS): MZ74 M345
  • Mbatha, Azaria. Within loving memory of the century : an autobiography. Scottsville, South Africa: University of Kwazulu-Natal Press, 2005. (369 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: ND1096 M45 M454
  • McCord, Margaret. The calling of Katie Makanya : a memoir of South Africa. New York: J. Wiley; Cape Town: David Philip, 1995.
    Butler Reserves: DT1949.M32 M361 1995g
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: CT1929.M34 M38 1995
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: CT1929.M34 M38 1995
  • Mdlalose, Frank. My life: the autobiography of F. T. Mdlalose. Wierda Park, [South Africa]: Action, 2006. (122 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 M4 2006
  • Meintjes, Louise. Sound of Africa! : making music Zulu in a South African studio. Durham : Duke University Press, 2003. (xv, 335 p.)
    Butler Stacks, Music, & African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler: ML3503.S6 M45 2003
  • Mertens, Alice. The Zulu. Cape Town: New York: Purnell, 1975. (168 p. ; photographs)
    Lehman: DT878.Z9 M47 1975b
  • The Mfecane aftermath : reconstructive debates in Southern African history. Edited by Carolyn Hamilton. Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press ; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, c1995. (493 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1123 .M431 1995g (3 copies)
  • Mhlambi, Innocentia Jabulisile. African-language literatures : new perspectives on IsiZulu fiction and popular Black television series. Johannesburg, South Africa : Wits University Press, 2012. (230 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9362.2 .M45 2012g
  • Mofolo, Thomas. Chaka, an historical romance, by Thomas Mofolo, with an introduction by Sir Henry Newbolt ... translated from the original Sesuto by F. H. Dutton. London: Pub. for the International Institute of African Languages & Cultures by Oxford University Press, H. Milford, 1931. (198 p.)
    Barnard Stacks: PL8689.9.M57 C53 1931g
    Butler Stacks (1949 trans.): DT878.Z9 M6 1949g
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler (1981 Heinemann ed.): PL8689.9.M57 C513 1981
  • Mokoena, Hlonipha. Magema Fuze: the making of a kholwa intellectual. Scottsville, South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, 2011. (338 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler (Non-Circulating): DT1949.F89 M65 2011g
    Butler Stacks: DT1949.F89 M65 2011g
    Milstein: [Butler]: DT2254.F89 M65 2011g
  • Morris, Donald R. The washing of the spears; a history of the rise of the Zulu nation under Shaka and its fall in the Zulu War of 1879. New York: Simon and Schuster [1965]. (655 p.)
    Offsite: Jk M875
  • Morris, Jean. Speaking with beads: Zulu arts from Southern Africa. New York: N.Y.: Thames and Hudson, 1994. (94 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7392 M83
  • Msimang, C. T. Folktale influence on the Zulu novel. Pretoria: Acacia; Johannesburg: Thorold’s Africana Books [distributor], [198-] (272 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843.5 .M77 1980z
  • Mtembu, James. The life of Titus Mtembu. [London]: The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, 1929. (47 p., [3] leaves of plates)
    Burke [UTS] MRL Pamphlets: 1833
  • Mtshali, P. H. The power of the ancestors: the life of a Zulu traditional healer. Mbabane: Kamhlaba Publications, 2004. (119 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 M77 2004
  • Muller, Carol Ann. Rituals of fertility and the sacrifice of desire: Nazarite women’s performance in South Africa. Chicago studies in ethnomusicology. Chicago; London: University of Chicago Press, 1999.
    Barnard, Butler & Music Stacks: BX7068.7.Z5 M85 1999
  • Mutwa, Credo Vusa’mazulu. Indaba, my children. Johannesburg: South Africa: Blue Crane Books, [1964]. (562 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GR350 .M8 1964g
  • Mutwa, Credo Vusa’mazulu. My people, my Africa. New York: John Day Co. [1969, c1964]. (257 p.)
    Barnard: DT878 .Z9 M8 1969b
  • Mutwa, Credo Vusa’mazulu. My people: the incredible writings of Credo Vusa’mazulu Mutwa. London: Blond, 1969. (257 p.)
    Offsite: MX16.8 M992
  • Mutwa, Credo Vusa’mazulu. Song of the stars: the lore of a Zulu shaman. [Barrytown, NY]: Barrytown, Ltd., c1996. (210 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 M83 1996
  • Mutwa, Credo Vusa’mazulu. Zulu shaman: dreams, prophecies, and mysteries. Rochester, Vt.: Destiny Books, 2003. (224 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 M829 2003
  • Mzala. Gatsha Buthelezi: chief with a double agenda. London; Atlantic Highlands, N.J.: Zed Books, 1988. (240 p.)
    Lehman: DT878.Z9 B856 1988
  • Ngcobo, Lauretta G. And they didn’t die. Women writing Africa series. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1999. (282 p.)
    Milstein Stacks & Butler Reserves: PR9369.3.N4 A8 1999 (4 copies)
  • Neser, L. Zulu ethnography: a classified bibliography. [Kwa-Dlangezwa]: Published for the KwaZula Documentation Centre by the University of Zululand, 1976. (92 leaves)
    Offsite: Z3608.E85 N47
  • Neser, L. Zulu ethnography: a supplementary bibliography. Publications series of the University of Zululand. Series B; no. 6. Kwa-Dlangezwa, South Africa: University of Zululand, 1980. (71 p.)
    Lehman Reference: Z3608.E85 N47 Suppl
  • Ngubane, Harriet. Body and mind in Zulu medicine: an ethnography of health and disease in Nyuswa-Zulu thought and practice. Studies in anthropology. London; New York: Academic Press, 1977. (184 p.)
    Barnard: DT878.Z9 N45 1977
  • Nxumalo, O.E.H.M. King of goodwill: the authorised biography of King Goodwill Zwelithini kaBhekuzulu. Cape Town: Nasou Via Afrika, 2003. (229 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT2283.Z85 N88 2003g
  • Nyembezi, C. L. Sibusiso. The rich man of Pietermaritzburg ; translated by Sandile Ngidi. ["Inkinsela yaseMgungundlovu," orig. pub. in 1961] Laverstock, U.K.: Aflame Books, 2008. (200 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8844.N99 I513 2008g -or- PL8844.N99 R53 2008g
  • Oberlin-Inanda [videorecording] : the life and times of John L. Dube ; Mogoya Productions presents a Chérif Keïta production ; director, Chérif Keïta ; written by Chérif Keïta in collaboration with Paul Hager and Mweze Ngangura. Johannesburg: Film Resource Unit, 2004.
    Butler Media Reserves: DVD5433
  • Omer-Cooper, J.D. The Zulu aftermath; a nineteenth-century revolution in Bantu Africa. Ibadan history series. Evanston: Northwestern University Press, 1966. (208 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT731 .O4 1966a
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: DT 731 .O4 1966a
  • Owen, Francis. The diary of the Rev. Francis Owen, M.A., missionary with Dingaan in 1837-38 ; together with extracts from the writings of the interpreters in Zulu, Messrs. Hulley and Kirkman.
    Van Riebeeck Society publication; 7. Cape Town: Van Riebeeck Society, 1926. (189 p.)
    Butler Stacks: 968 V35 v.7
  • Perrill, Elizabeth. Zulu pottery. Noordhoek, South Africa : Print Matters, 2012. (106 p.)
    Avery-LC : NK4178.6.S62 K9 2012g
  • Rattray, David. A Soldier-artist in Zululand: William Whitelocke Lloyd and the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879. Rorke’s Drift: Rattray Publications, 2007. (259 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: ND1096 L77 R18
  • Raugh, Harold E. Anglo-Zulu War, 1879: a selected bibliography. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2011. (666 p.)
    African Studies Reading Rm, 607 Butler (Non-Circulating): Z3608.A4 R38 2011
    Butler Reference Bookcase M-O, 301 Butler (Non-Circulating): DT1875 .R38 2011
  • Reader, D. H. Zulu tribe in transition; the Makhanya of southern Natal, by D.H. Reader.
    [Manchester]: Manchester University Press, 1966]. (363 p.)
    Offsite: MX16.8 R286
  • Reyher, Rebecca Hourwich. Zulu woman: the life story of Christina Sibiya. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1999.
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT1768.Z95 S537 1999
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 S537 1999
    Lehman Reserves: DT1768.Z95 S537 1999
    Barnard Stacks (1948 ed.): GN657.Z8 S5 1948
    Offsite (1948 ed.): Ek Si31
  • Rhythm of resistance [videorecording] : the Black music of South Africa ; Harcourt Films ; produced by Jeremy Marre, directed by Chris Austin and Jeremy Marre. [Newton, NJ]: Shanachie, c1988.
    Barnard Media: VIDEO M1834.18 .R74 1988g
    Music Video: VC168
  • Ritter, E. A. Shaka Zulu: the rise of the Zulu Empire. New York: Putnam [1957, c1955]. (383 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 R68 1957
  • Robbins, Sidney. Fahla: my Zulu uncle: a saga from old Zululand. Cape Town: Educall, c2000.
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.R632 F3 2000g
  • Robbins, Sidney. Usuthu! The final war cry: a story of the 1906 Natal Zulu Rebellion. Milnerton: Capsal Publishers, 2002. (328 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3 .R64 U78 2002g
  • Roberts, Brian. The Zulu kings. New York: Scribner, [1975] c1974. (388 p., [8] leaves of plates)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 R72 1975
  • Rule, Peter. Nokukhanya, mother of light ; with Marilyn Aitken & Jenny van Dyk. Braamfontein, South Africa: Grail, 1993. (173 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1949.L885 R85 1993
  • Rycroft, D. K. and A. B. Ngcobo (eds.) Praises of Dingana (Izibongo zikaDingana).
    Killie Campbell Africana Library publications; no. 3. Durban: Killie Campbell Africana Library; Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1988. (258 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PL8843.5 .P73 1988g
  • Samuelson, L.H. Zululand: its traditions, legends, customs and folk-lore. [Durban: T. W. Griggs, 1974]. (191 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 S25 1974
  • Savory, Phyllis. Zulu fireside tales. Secaucus, N.J.: Carol Pub. Group, 1993. (64 p.)
    Butler Stacks: GR359.2.Z83 S28 1993
  • Scheub, Harold. Storytelling songs of Zulu women : recording archetypal rites of passage and mythic paths. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen Press, c2006. (292 p.)
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: GR359.2.Z83 S34 2006
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GR359.2.Z83 S34 2006
  • Schlosser, Katesa. Zulu life as drawn by the Zulu artist Jabulani Ntuli. Arbeiten aus dem Museum für Völkerkunde der Universität Kiel; 21. Kiel: Museum für Völkerkunde der Universität Kiel, 2008. (51 p.,
    97 p. of plates)
    Avery Fine Arts: ND1096 N87 Sch39
  • Schoeman, P.J. Phampatha, the beloved of King Shaka. Cape Town: Timmins, 1983. (221 p.)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.S287 P4 1983
  • Scorer, Mischa, dir. Zulu Zion [videorecording]. New York: N.Y.: Time-Life Video; Ambrose Video Publishing [distributor], c1977. (52 min.)
    Barnard Media: VIDEO BL80.2 .L65 1977 no.10
    Barnard Media (2001 ed.): DVD BL80.3 .L66 2001g (disc 4)
  • Selby, John Millin. Shaka's heirs. London: Allen and Unwin, 1971. (232 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 S43
  • The story of Isaiah Shembe. Edited by Irving Hexham and G.C. Oosthuizen. 3 vols. Lewiston, NY: E. Mellen Press, c1996-c2001.
    Butler Stacks: BX7068.7.Z8 S76 1996
  • Sundkler, Bengt. Bantu prophets in South Africa. London; New York: Published for the International African Institute by the Oxford University Press, 1961. (381 p.)
    Burke [UTS] Union Stacks: MZ54 S958 1961
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: BR1367.Z8 S8 1961
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: BR1367.Z8 S8 1961
    Offsite: BR1367.Z8 S8 1961a
  • Taylor, Stephen. Shaka's children: a history of the Zulu people. London: HarperCollins, 1994. (416 p., [16] p. of plates)
    Barnard & Butler Stacks: DT1774.Z95 T39 1994g
  • Tedder, Vivian. The people of a thousand hills. Cape Town: C. Struik, 1968. (63 p.)
    Offsite: MX16.8 T256
  • Tembo, Masiye. Touched by his grace: a Ngoni story of tragedy and triumph. Kachere text; no. 2. Zomba, Malawi: Kachere Series, c2005. (84 p.)
    On loan to Health Sciences Library: DT1768.Z95 T46 2005g
  • Temkin, Ben. Buthelezi : a biography. London; Portland, OR: Frank Cass, 2003.
    (415 p., [16] p. of plates)
    Butler & Lehman Stacks: DT2400.K85 B888 2003
  • Temkin, Ben. Gatsha Buthelezi-Zulu statesman : a biography. Cape Town; New York: Purnell, [1976]. (413 p., [33] leaves of plates)
    Lehman Stacks: DT878.Z9 B858
  • Texts on Zulu religion: traditional Zulu ideas about God. Edited by Irving Hexam. Lewiston, N.Y.; Queenston, Ont., Canada: E. Mellen Press, c1987. (488 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BL2480.Z8 T48 1987
  • Thompson, P. S. Black soldiers of the queen : the Natal native contingent in the Anglo-Zulu War. Rev. ed. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, c2006. (179 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1875 .T45 2006
  • Thompson, P. S. An historical atlas of the Zulu Rebellion of 1906. [South Africa]: P.S. Thompson, c2001. (73 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1921 .T46 2001g
  • Tishken, Joel E. Isaiah Shembe's prophetic uhlanga : the worldview of the Nazareth Baptist Church in colonial South Africa. New York : Peter Lang, c2013. (232 p.)
    Burke (UTS): BX7068.7.A4 T57 2013
  • Van Diemel, Raymond. In search of 'freedom, fair play and justice' : Josiah Tshangana Gumede, 1867-1947 : a biography. Belhar [South Africa]: R. van Diemel, c2001. (198 p.)
    Butler Stacks & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT1927.G86 V36 2001g
  • Vilakazi, Absolom. Shembe: the revitalization of African society. Johannesburg: Skotaville Publishers, c1986. (165 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BX7068.7 .V54 1986
  • Vilakazi, Absolom. Zulu transformations: a study of the dynamics of social change. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1962. (168 p.)
    Offsite: Jk V695
  • Waetjen, Thembisa. Workers and warriors: masculinity and the struggle for nation in South Africa. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c2004. (158 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1768.Z95 W33 2004
  • Walbridge, Margaret E. Thokozile. Topeka, Kan.: C.K. Walbridge, 1978, (Topeka, Kan.: Manline Printing). (210 p.)
    Burke [UTS]: BV3625.Z82 W34 1978
  • Webb, C. de B. and J. B. Wright (Eds.). The James Stuart archive of recorded oral evidence relating to the history of the Zulu and neighbouring peoples. Manuscript series -- Killie Campbell Africana Library; v. 1-5. Pietermaritzburg: University of Natal Press, 1976-
    Butler Stacks: DT878.Z9 J3
  • Westley, David. The Mfecane : an annotated bibliography. [Madison]: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1999. (60 p.)
    Butler Reference: R016.968 W527
  • Williams, J. Grenfell. I am black, the story of Shabala. London: Toronto, Cassell & Company, Ltd. [1936]. (239 p.)
    Offsite: MZ51 W724
    Offsite (1949 ed.): DT763 .W56 1949
  • Wood, Agnes A. "Shine where you are": a centenary history of Inanda Seminary, 1869-1969. [Lovedale, South Africa]: Lovedale Press, 1972. (190 p.)
    Butler Stacks: BV3630.Z8 W66
  • Wright, John B. and Andrew Manson. The Hlubi chiefdom in Zululand-Natal : a history. Ladysmith [South Africa]: Ladysmith Historical Society, 1983. (94 p. and 12 p. of plates)
    Butler Stacks: DT875 .W7
  • Wylie, Dan. Myth of iron: Shaka in history. Scottsville, South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal Press, 2006. (615 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1831.C53 W945 2005g
  • Wylie, Dan. Savage delight: white myths of Shaka. Pietermaritzburg: Global, 2001. (272 p.)
    Butler Stacks: DT1831.C53 W95 2001g
  • Wylie, Dan. Shaka. Jacan pocket series. Auckland Park, South Africa: Jacana Media, 2011. (155 p.)
    Milstein [Butler]: DT1768.Z95 S544 2011
  • Yourgrau, Tug. The song of Jacob Zulu. New York: Arcade Publishing: Distributed by Little, Brown, c1993. (106 p. ; a play based on true story of Andrew Zondo)
    Butler Stacks: PR9369.3.Y68 S65 1993
  • Zaloumis, Alex. Zulu tribal art ; photography by Ian Difford. Cape Town: AmaZulu, 2000. (301 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7392 Z14
  • Zulu identities : being Zulu, past and present. Edited by Benedict Carton, John Laband, and Jabulani Sithole. New York : Columbia University Press, c2009. (633 p.)
    African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT1768.Z95 Z85 2009
    Butler Stacks, Milstein & Offsite: DT1768.Z95 Z85 2009
  • Zulu, Swazi en Xhosa [sound recording]. Opnamen van afrikaanse muziek; nr. 3. Tervuren: Koninklijk Museum voor Midden-Afrika; [Brussels]: Belgische Radio en Televisie, [1969].
    (1 sound disc: 33 1/3 rpm)
    Offsite (Music Recording): L4002 v.3
  • Zulu treasures: of kings & commoners: a celebration of the material culture of Zulu people =
    Amagugu kaZulu: Amakhosi Nabantukazana: umgubho wezinto ezihambisana namasiko amaZulu.
    [Ulundi, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa]: KwaZulu Cultural Museum; Durban: Local History Museums, 1996. (216 p.)
    Avery Fine Arts: N7392 Z84

Originally compiled in June 2009 by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian, Columbia University and
Anschaire Aveved, Dept. of Anthropology, Columbia University.  Last updated 8-31-2014.