- CLIO / Archives
Searches catalog records for archival collections in six repositories: Avery Library, Department of Drawing & Archives; Burke Library Archives at Union Theological Seminary; Columbia University Archives; Health Sciences Library Archives & Special Collections; Rare Book & Manuscript Library; Starr East Asian Library Rare Books & Special Collections.
A collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid. Please note: "ArchiveGrid data is primarily focused on archival material descriptions for institutions in the United States." (from About ArchiveGrid, viewed February 23, 2014)
- Archive Finder
Includes the pre-1984 National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and indexes The National Inventory of Documentary Sources, a fiche collection reproducing the finding aids of American and British repositories. The excellent search engine provides a variety of options including searching in date ranges and limiting to collections in specific states, cities, or repositories.
- The National Archives at New York City
The National Archives at New York City maintains the historically significant records of Federal agencies and courts in New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands dating from 1685 to the present. We also hold select microfilm publications of the National Archives and provide access to a variety of online historical resources.
- NYC Department of Records
Includes descriptions, links, and contact information for: the City Hall Library and the Municipal Archives.
- Documents related to American History are also held in British and European Archives. You may, therefore, also wish to consider:
Guide to British Archives
Guides to European Archives
- For sound practical advice on preparing for and conducting archival research, please see:
Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research by Laura Schmidt (Society of American Archivists, 2011)