U.S. Government Documents


Full-Text Resources

ProQuest Congressional Publications
Coverage: Current, 20th Century, 19th and 18th Century
Provides our most extensive full-text coverage of US Congressional publications. Includes the Serial Set; Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications; House and Senate Documents; Congressional Research Service Reports; and House and Senate Reports. Hearings are comprehensively covered through 2003 only, with only a small range of hearings covered thereafter. For hearings 2004 to current, use FDsys. For congressional documents not found in ProQuest Congressional Publications or FDsys, please Ask a Librarian.

FDsys (United States. Government Printing Office)
Coverage: Current; back through mid 1990s
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. This information is the official, published versions and includes the following categories: Government information databases from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches; tools to locate government information; collections of government information available through the Federal Depository Libraries.

HeinOnline
Coverage: Current, 20th Century, 19th and 18th Century
Provides access to a wide range of documents relating to the government and laws of the United States. Includes: The Federal Register; Congressional Record (under: U.S. Congressional Documents); Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); collections of U.S. Presidential and U.S. Supreme Court documents; the United States Code; and many other resources. Most document series covered here are covered from their beginnings up until the present.

ProQuest legislative insight
Coverage: Current, 20th Century, 19th and 18th Century
ProQuest® legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. 1789 - current.

ProQuest Congressional: Serial set maps (1789-1969) 
Coverage: 20th Century, 19th and 18th Century
A specialized search module focusing on the maps in the Serial Set. Maps can be searched by keyword, title, map area/subject, map relief method, and/or names on map.

Congress.gov (Library of Congress)
Coverage: Current; With full text back through mid 1990s; Member profiles back through 1973
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

voxgov
Coverage: Current and Recent

"voxgov is a discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process."--Publisher information.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set: Digital Edition (Readex)
Coverage: 20th Century, 19th Century
A digital reproduction of the United States Congressional Serial Set, which consists of the sequentially numbered volumes containing the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

Serial Set Maps (Readex)
Coverage: 20th Century, 19th Century
A specialized search module supplementary to the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.

American State Papers,1789-1838 (Readex)
Coverage: 19th Century , 18th Century
A digitization of the American State Papers--a set of 38 folio volumes printed from 1832-1861--that were a retrospective republication of approximately 6280 numbered publications that had been originally issued from 1789-1838. These publications are largely Congressional but also contain Executive Department materials.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875 (Library of Congress)
Coverage: 19th Century , 18th Century
Records of the proceedings of America's national legislative bodies, beginning with the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, and followed by the United States Congress.

Guides and Indexes

U.S. Government Documents (Columbia University Libraries)
Homepage of the U.S. Government Documents division of the Columbia University Libraries. Includes subject guides providing access to federal, state, and local documents as well as guidance for finding U.S. government documents at Lehman Library.

U.S. Government Documents at Columbia (Columbia University Libraries)
An overview of government documents accessible at Columbia University Libraries. Includes annotated listings of key reference guides and major serial publications.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976  
Catalogs all publications of the United States government, including those of the Congress and all executive departments (with the exception of administrative and confidential or restricted documents). Note: Records for all publications since July 1976 have been available online at GPO Access: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

Foreign Relations of the United States in the U.S. Serial Set (Columbia University Libraries)