NEW & EXPANDED DATABASES 2012 - 2014


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

The databases listed below have been either newly acquired or significantly expanded since January 2012.


New Databases

  • African American historical serials collection        (EBSCO)
    "Includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies." (from publisher's description)  (Acquired April 2013)
  • African American periodicals, 1825-1995      (Readex)
    "Allows users to search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995. Created by Readex through a partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals enables researchers to explore African American culture, thought and opinion ranging over more than 150 years of African American life." (from publisher's description) (Acquired August 2012)
  • Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922: from the Library Company of Philadelphia   (Readex)
    "Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource provides researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century." (from publisher's description)
    (Acquired August 2012)
  • American Indian histories and cultures    (Adam Matthew Digital)
    A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers.  (Acquired November 2013)
  • The American West: sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago   (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centres and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands. (Acquired November 2013)
  • Arte público Hispanic historical collection. Series 1     (EBSCO)
    "A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture." Select "Choose Databases" in search screen in order to cross search with "Latino-Hispanic American Experience." (Acquired February 2012)            
  • Associated Press collections online     (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    "A publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide." Explores "the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more..." (from publisher's description)
    (Acquired December 2013)
  • Ethnic American newspapers from the Balch collection, 1799-1971     (Readex)
    "Enables users to search more than 130 Ethnic American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries. Created in partnership with the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. . . ." (from publisher's description) (Acquired August 2012)
  • Forbes archive (EBSCOhost)
    Contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000. (Acquired June 2014)
  • Gale Artemis : primary sources     (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search an enormous range of source materials from the 16th through the 20th centuries. Includes the following databases in a single search platform: Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples: North America; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online. (acquired March 2014)
  • Gateway to North America : people, places, and organizations of 19th-century New York (EBSCO)
    Gateway to North America, from the New York Historical Society, contains over 800,000 pages of content from over 1,500 print and manuscript directories, member lists, travel guides and other sources, chronicling the people and organizations of New York City from the late 18th through the early 20th century. Includes residential, trade and occupational directories; membership lists for professional groups, philanthropic and governmental institutions, ethnic organizations, religious groups and leisure clubs; names and physical descriptions of Civil War deserters and the incarcerated; illustrated advertisements; commercial listings by trade; descriptions of local philanthropic, religious and governmental institutions; travel schedules; maps; postal and tax rates; and town histories. (Acquired June 2014)
  • Global Commodities : Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange  (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. (Acquired December 2013)
  • Indigenous peoples--North America     (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    "The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.. . . [It] provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada." (from publisher's description)  (Acquired December 2013)
  • Latino-Hispanic American experience : leaders, writers and thinkers (EBSCO)
    Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers --including rare anarchist newspapers -- are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery.  Also known as: "Arte Público Hispanic historical collection, series 2." Select "Choose Databases" in search screen in order to cross search with "Arte Público Hispanic historical collection, series 1." (Acquired July 2014)
  • Meet the press (Alexander Street Press)
    NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes every surviving program from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable.  All programs are provided with running transcripts.
    (Acquired June 2014)
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online   (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    "A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Now includes nine in-depth collections -- Asia and the WestBritish Politics and SocietyBritish Theatre, Music, and LiteratureEurope and AfricaEuropean Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey CollectionPhotographyScience, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II;  and Women: Transnational Networks. (Acquired beginning June 2012; parts 5 - 8 added June 2013; parts 9 - 12 being added in 2014)
  • ProQuest history vault. Plantations
    "Drawn from major repositories throughout the South, this module consists of two major series: Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration." (from publisher's description) (Acquired November 2012)
  • ProQuest history vault. Slavery and the law
    Includes state slavery statutes; judicial cases; and petitions to state legislatures and southern county courts. (Acquired November 2012)  
  • ProQuest history vault. Vietnam War and American foreign policy, 1960-1975
    Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Collections also highlight all of the most important foreign policy issues facing the United States between 1960 and 1975. (Acquired November 2012)
  • ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S. (2013 and 2014)
    An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. (Acquired January 2013)
  • Smithsonian collections online (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    Database containing primary source materials from the Smithsonian's museums, libraries, and archives. Two collections are currently included: Trade literature and the merchandizing of industry; and World's fairs and expositions: visions of tomorrow. (Acquired April 2014)
  • voxgov
    "voxgov is a discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process." (from publisher's description)
    (Acquired February 2014)

Expansions of Existing Databases

  • Accessible archives
    has been expanded to include all content offered by Accessible Archives. Among titles new to Columbia are: The Virginia Gazette; South Carolina Gazettes; and County Histories through 1900 for New England, Southeast, and Southwest. (Added February 2012)
  • Archives Direct : Sources from The National Archives, UK    
    has been expanded to include The Nixon Years, 1969-1974. (Added December 2013)
  • ProQuest Congressional publications
    has been expanded to include U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789 – 2013, which provides "the full text of ALL versions of ALL U.S. public and private bills and resolutions from 1789 – 2013." (Added October 2012)
  • ProQuest legislative insight    
    has been expanded to include Part B 1789-1960. The primary focus of Part B is on legislative histories for laws prior to 1929. Part B also provides many legislative histories for 1929-1960 that had not been included in  Part A (1929-2013). (Added January 2014)
  • Victorian Popular Culture  
    has been expanded to include a new module on Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema. (Added November 2012)