Major Full-Text Collections Online
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive (Accuweather/AP)
Associated Press archive of over 4.6 million photographs from 1826 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera. Series I
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
A collection of personal accounts written between 1855 and 1875 that deal with some aspect of the Civil War, related events preceding or following it, or the impact of these on American life. Includes both previously published materials (memoirs, letters, diaries, and diary excerpts) and previously unpublished materials.
- American Founding Era Collection
Full text access to digital scholarly editions of the papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley Madison, and John Adams.
- American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 3,149 titles, equalling approximately 766 hours.
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
“A gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.” Provided by the Library of Congress.
- The American Presidency Project
Includes: Papers of the Presidents, party platforms, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and many other resources related to the study of the presidency.
- Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, seriesI; Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; America's historical newspapers; and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980.
- Archives direct : sources from The National Archives, UK
A suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Includes Confidential print: North America; The Nixon years, 1969-1974; and many other modules.
- Arte público Hispanic historical collection. Series 1
"A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture."
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
- Colonial State Papers
Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Colonial State Papers integrates two important research tools as one service: Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers); and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. All of the documents from CO 1 have been reproduced as full-colour, high quality images. Users can limit their searches to records that include scanned documents or can search all documents recorded in the Calendar.
- Declassified Documents Reference System
Full text and full page image for declassified documents from various U.S. government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. The documents included are those obtained by presidential libraries in response to researchers' requests since 1982. More than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, are included.
- Documenting the American South
Currently includes seven digitization projects: Slave Narratives, First-Person Narratives, Southern Literature, Southern life during the Civil War, the Church in the Southern Black Community, and two collections on North Carolinia history.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
A full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American Bibliography of Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59). Upon completion, Evans Digital Edition will include more than 36,000 works published in America from 1639-1800. Covers a wide range of printed genres, including advertisements, ballads, broadsides, cookbooks, grammars, maps, memoirs, novels, prayer books, prospectuses, sermons, songs, textbooks, trade catalogues, and travel literature.
- Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text access to 36,000 American books pamphlets, broadsides, and other print genres published 1801-1819. This is a full digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819, which was itself based on the American Bibliography of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Full-text early accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America. The accounts included here cover events taking place between 1534 and 1860.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- Electronic Text Center: The Modern English Collection (1500 to present) (University of Virginia)
A searchable full text library containing thousands of English-language texts. American authors and collections of American materials are a special strength.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Full text collection of books and periodicals related to the history of women. The scope is international, but the focus is primarily on U.S., Great Britain, and Western Europe. The bulk of materials covered were published 1880-1920.
- Literature Online: The Home of English and American Literature on the World Wide Web (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Includes wide-ranging collections of American fiction (1789-1875) and American poetry and drama, from the eighteenth through the twentieth century.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
“A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.”
- The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections, The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
- The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's personal writings from colonial times to 1950: includes diaries, diary excerpts, and letters from published sources as well as from previously unpublished sources. Memoirs judged to be of particular value are also included.
- Past Masters
Provides fully searchable authoritative editions of philosophical, literary, scientific, personal, political, and theological writings by a wide range of British, American, and continental authors. Includes an "American Thought" component featuring the works of Donald Davidson, John Dewey, Charles Sanders Pierce, Josiah Royce, and George Santayana.
- ProQuest historical annual reports
Database offers corporate annual reports for selected U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Includes over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery : A Transnational Archive
Full-text documents from the United States, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, and manuscripts. Currently contains Part 1, "Debates over Slavery and Abolition." Parts 2-4 are scheduled for release between 2011 and 2013.
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 (Indiana University)
A searchable full-text collection of 19th-century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction 1851-1875.
Selected Sources on CD-ROM
- Frontline Diplomacy: The U.S. Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection
Location: Digital Humanities Center
Call Number: CD-ROM E747.F7 2000g
Contains transcripts of 893 oral histories and 48 country-specific "readers" that describe the situations of U.S. diplomats in a changing world.
- The Indian Question
Location: Digital Humanities Center
Call Number: CD-ROM E76.2 I53 1994g
Searchable full text of treaties and early studies relating to the Indians of North America.