Studio-X Global Network


Introduction

STUDIOX_MAP_SIMPLE1 Image credit: Columbia University. Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. Studio X.

Studio-X is a global network for exchanging ideas and projects about the built environment. It brings together scholars, professionals, students, decision makers, from different backgrounds and cultures, to foster research collaboration by organizing public programs. Each node in the global network is a site for emerging discussions on pressing urban questions such as circulation, development, preservation or urban conflict, both globally and locally. It is also a space to challenge contemporary debates on cities by including conversations that are generally left behind -like those about rurality or domesticity.

In September 2013, Studio-X launched a long-term project on the “Architectures of Sharing;” and with the Studio-X Research Guide aims to test itself as one of them.

The Studio-X Research Guide is curated by the Studio-X directors together with Columbia University Librarians from Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library and Global Studies. It is not intended to be a comprehensive manual of each city but rather a platform for sparking the conversation about its contemporary challenges.

We look forward to receiving your comments and suggestions. Please share them here: studiox@columbia.edu

Istanbul

Istanbul1 Image credit: Studio X Global Network. Columbia University.

Studio-X Istanbul opened in November 2013 in a two-story building at Salıpazarı, in Istanbul’s downtown area. We develop free events such as lectures, workshops, seminars and exhibitions that foster discussion on the built environment and research projects that generate new forms of sharing the urban public space.

The Studio-X Istanbul Research Guide, permanently under construction, is intended to be a tool for unpacking the city, the possibilities and conflicts associated to its development, and to walk through its physical, virtual and imagined spaces. Your comments and suggestions for the guide are welcome! Please send us an email to studiox@columbia.edu.

 

Studio X Istanbul website

History of the city:

Emergence of modern Istanbul : transformation and modernisation of a city / Murat Gul. London ; New York : Tauris Academic Studies ; New York : Distributed in the USA by Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
print
ebook

Rethinking modernity and national identity in Turkey / edited by Sibel Bozdoğan and Reşat Kasaba. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1997.
print
ebook

Built environment:

Architecture in Turkey around 2000: issues in discourse and practice / edited by Tansel Korkmaz. Ankara, Turkey: Chamber of Architects of Turkey, 2005.

A city: Istanbul 101 buildings / Engin Yenal. Beyoglu, Istanbul: Yapi Kredi Yayinlari, 2011.

Constantinopolis/Istanbul : cultural encounter, imperial vision, and the construction of the Ottoman capital / Çiğdem Kafescioğlu. University Park, Pa.: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2009.

Istanbul 1910-2010: Kent, Yapili Cevre ve Mimarlik Kulturu Serisi = City, Built Environment and Architectural Culture Exhibition. Sisli, Istanbul: Istanbul Bilgi Universitesi yayinlari, 2010.

Orienting Istanbul: cultural capital of Europe? / edited by Deniz Gokturk, Levent Soysal, and Ipek Tureli. New York: Routledge, 2010.

Architectural guide to Istanbul / edited by Afife Batur. Istanbul: Chamber of Architects of Turkey Istanbul Metropolitan Branch, 2006.

Find books, etc.

Search Columbia University Librarie's Catalog for books, journal and newspaper titles, audio and video recordings, archival collections, databases, maps and atlases.

From the results page, refine your search by any combination of format, publication date, author, library location, language, or subject. To view these options before searching, enter a blank search.

To find individual articles, see the Find articles section below.

Find articles:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive international listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present.

ProQuest newspapers
Articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, urban planning, city planning, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage from 1973.

Request Items:

Scan & Deliver: Electronic Document Delivery enables those with Columbia University library borrowing privileges to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of participating libraries at Columbia University.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables eligible Columbia University affiliates to borrow material from other libraries and universities and obtain copies of articles or book chapters from titles that are not owned or available at Columbia University Libraries.

Local resources:

Studio X Istanbul Director Selva Gurdogan's guide:

Films:

Ekümenopolis:Ucu Olmayan Şehir / Ecumenopolis: City Without Limits (2011) http://www.ekumenopolis.net

Itanbul Hatırası:Köprüyü Geçmek / Crossing The Bridge:The Sound of Istanbul  (2005) http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x10jlte_crossing-the-bridge-the-sound-of-istanbul-eng-subs-pt-1_music
(Related link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0459242/)

Kahpe Devran / Nasty Age (2010) http://vimeo.com/21583961                                         

Santiye Beyoğlu / Construction: Beyoğlu (2013)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgC9N5FiCn0

Videos:

David Smith in Tarlabaşı, İstanbul. On urbanisation & slums  http://vimeo.com/24531368

Articles:

Istanbul's Gecekondus
http://lsecities.net/media/objects/articles/istanbuls-gecekondus/en-gb/

Istanbul November 2009
http://lsecities.net/ua/conferences/2009-istanbul/

On the Northern front: Neoliberal urban policies reshaping the North of Istanbul
http://www.academia.edu/2112281/On_the_Northern_front_Neoliberal_urban_policies_reshaping_the_North_of_Istanbul

'Space' as component and indication of cultural change in the context of environmental problems
http://www.sbi.dk/eura/workshops/papers/workshop4/incedayi.pdf

Urban Morphology-Yenikapı İstanbul, morphological research on Yenikapı
http://www.scribd.com/doc/31204809/Urban-Morphology-Yenikap%C4%B1-%C4%B0stanbul-morphological-research-on-Yenikap%C4%B1

Websites:

Becoming Istanbul http://www.becomingistanbul.org/

Crafted in Istanbul http://www.craftedinistanbul.com/

Istanbul Eats http://istanbuleats.com/

Kentseldonusum info http://kentseldonusum.info/

Labkultur http://www.labkultur.tv/

Mutlu kent http://mutlukent.wordpress.com/

Not Only Istanbul http://www.notonlyistanbul.com/

Reclaim Istanbul http://reclaimistanbul.com/

TKM Trafik Kontrol Merezi http://tkm.ibb.gov.tr/

Mumbai

Mumbai3 Image Credit: Studio X Global Network. Columbia University.

Studio-X Mumbai opened its doors to the public in February 2011 and has quickly become a major hub of vibrant debate. Located on the 4th floor of the Kitab Mahal building near the Victoria Terminus railway station in historic downtown Mumbai, Studio-X Mumbai explores the built environment by hosting a variety of events that address issues such as contemporary architectural practice, sociology, public art, and the impact of technology on the city. Our guide to Mumbai’s built environment is a tour through the contradicting and diverse nature of the city, and acknowledges the virtue of incompleteness. Share your ideas and suggestions here: studiox@columbia.edu

 

Sudio X Mumbai website

History of the city:

City adrift: a short biography of Bombay / Naresh Fernandes. New Delhi: Aleph Book Co., 2013.

Mumbai fables / Gyan Prakash. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2010.
print
ebook

Built environment:

Draft regional plan for Bombay Metropolitan region, 1996-2011. Bombay : The Authority, 1995.

Mumbai Metropolitan Regional Development Authority
The website features Transport, Infrastructure, Environment and Planning projects.

Mumbai Transformation Support Unit
MTSU’s focus areas are physical and social infrastructure, environment, housing, governance, strategic planning and economic growth.

Revisioning Mumbai: conceiving a manifesto for sustainable development / edited by Vimal Shah and Pankaj Joshi. Mumbai: Asiatic Society of Mumbai, 2010.

Find books, etc.

Search Columbia University Librarie's Catalog for books, journal and newspaper titles, audio and video recordings, archival collections, databases, maps and atlases.

From the results page, refine your search by any combination of format, publication date, author, library location, language, or subject. To view these options before searching, enter a blank search.

To find individual articles, see the Find articles section below.

Find articles:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive international listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present.

ProQuest newspapers
Articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, urban planning, city planning, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage from 1973.

Request Items:

Scan & Deliver: Electronic Document Delivery enables those with Columbia University library borrowing privileges to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of participating libraries at Columbia University.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables eligible Columbia University affiliates to borrow material from other libraries and universities and obtain copies of articles or book chapters from titles that are not owned or available at Columbia University Libraries.

Local resources:

Studio X Mumbai Director Rajeev Thakker's guide:

Alice in Bhuleshwar: navigating a Mumbai neighborhood / Kaiwan Mehta. New Delhi: Yoda Press, 2009.

Bombay, meri jaan: writings on Mumbai / Jerry Pinto and Naresh Fernandes. New Delhi; New York, NY: Penguin Books, 2003.

Maximum city: Bombay lost and found / Suketu Mehta. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2004.

Mumbai Paused http://mumbaipaused.blogspot.com/

Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai http://mcgm.gov.in/

URBZ: user-generated cities http://urbz.net/

 

Rio de Janeiro

Rio3 Image credit: Studio X Global Network. Raul Correa-Smith.

Since March 2011, Studio-X Rio occupies a three-story building at Praça Tiradentes, a square in Rio de Janeiro’s downtown area. We are particularly interested in how cross-cultural, cross-disciplinary, and cross-continental exchanges can affect and inform each other when facing the ongoing urban transformations of the city, the country and Latin America. 

Our research guide is a point of departure for the exploration of Rio through multiple media, narratives and contemporary debates. Share your comments and suggestions for the guide with us at studiox@columbia.edu

 

Studio X Rio website

 

History of the city:

Porous city : a cultural history of Rio de Janeiro (from the 1810s onward) / Bruno Carvalho. Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 2013.

Rio de Janeiro: uma cidade no tempo = a city through time. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Secretaria Municipal de Cultura, Turismo e Esportes, Departamento Geral de Patrimônio Cultural, 1992.

Built environment:

Cidades@
Cities is a tool from the Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estadistica which gathers information about all the municipalities in Brazil. Here you can find tables, graphs, maps and histories that form a complete profile of each Brazilian city.

Favela-Bairro: rewriting the history of Rio / Luiz Paulo Conde, Sérgio Magalhães. Rio de Janeiro: ViverCidades, 2004.

Guia da arquitetura moderna no Rio de Janeiro / Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Secretaria Municipal de Urbanismo, Centro de Arquitetura e Urbanismo do Rio de Janeiro. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: O Centro: Casa da Palavra, 2001.

Find books, etc.

Search Columbia University Librarie's Catalog for books, journal and newspaper titles, audio and video recordings, archival collections, databases, maps and atlases.

From the results page, refine your search by any combination of format, publication date, author, library location, language, or subject. To view these options before searching, enter a blank search.

To find individual articles, see the Find articles section below.

Find articles:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive international listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.

ProQuest newspapers
Articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, urban planning, city planning, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage from 1973.

Request Items:

Scan & Deliver: Electronic Document Delivery enables those with Columbia University library borrowing privileges to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of participating libraries at Columbia University.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables eligible Columbia University affiliates to borrow material from other libraries and universities and obtain copies of articles or book chapters from titles that are not owned or available at Columbia University Libraries.

Local resources:

Studio X Rio Directors Pedro Rivera and Raul Correa-Smith's guide:

 

Local News and Blogs (English):

Rio Times http://riotimesonline.com/#

Rio On Watch http://rioonwatch.org/

RioReal http://riorealblog.com/

Brazzil http://www.brazzil.com/

eatrio http://eatrio.net/

Rio Gringa http://www.riogringa.com/

Christopher Gaffney http://www.geostadia.com/

Jennifer Barchfield http://bigstory.ap.org/content/jenny-barchfield

News from International Press:

The Independent http://www.independent.co.uk/topic/RioDeJaneiro?pageNumber=8

The Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/southamerica/brazil/

The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/world/brazil

BBC Correspondent http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/correspondents/wyredavies/

Reports:

Urban Age Rio http://files.lsecities.net/files/2013/10/city-transformations-newspaper_en.pdf

Porto Maravilha http://portomaravilha.com.br/web/esq/mnuBrieFing.aspx

Olympic City (official website from the City of Rio) http://www.cidadeolimpica.com.br/en/

Tourism:

Rio Guide http://www.rioguiaoficial.com.br/en/home

Rio Lapa News http://www.riolaparj.com.br/

Documentaries:

BBC Series Brasil

- Episode 1: Samba to Bossa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WOgH4gs0R8

- Episode 2 : Tropicalia Revolution http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4ErAXqoS20

- Episode 3: A Tale of Four Cities http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGf94kdPstg&list=PLrRtCf0PDRsDRE4-DesD3rAopvJegrAGR

Brazil An Inconvenient History BBC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IZpAUEgKYc&list=PLrRtCf0PDRsDRE4-DesD3rAopvJegrAGR

L.A.P.A. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZkI-5AmhrU

Aerial Rio 1932 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7Q1kITY168

Aerial Carnival 1955 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xmmel1WrXXE

Aerial Rio 1967 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlREaHNwnyg

Aerial 2012 https://vimeo.com/48378823

New Year´s Copacabana 2011 https://vimeo.com/18742243

JR Women Morro da Providência https://vimeo.com/5842415

Mobility+ Series at Studio-X Rio:

Youth https://vimeo.com/52497710

Gentility https://vimeo.com/52993665

Delivery https://vimeo.com/52491031

Lifestyle https://vimeo.com/52610657

Public Space https://vimeo.com/52998380

Culture https://vimeo.com/52995163

Citizenship https://vimeo.com/52495199

Informality https://vimeo.com/52619537

Media https://vimeo.com/52615572

Time https://vimeo.com/52613719

Water https://vimeo.com/52493753

Films:

Tropa de Elite I (Elite Squad I)

Tropa de Elite II (Elite Squad II)

Cidade de Deus (City of God) - Fernando Meirelles

Central do Brasil (Central Station) - Walter Salles

Ônibus 174 (Bus 174)

Orfeu Negro (Black Orpheus)

Macunaíma, de Joaquim Pedro de Andrade

Rio – Carlos Saldanha

Open Memory Library Project

StudioX Istanbul_Open Memory StudioX Istanbul

 

‘Open Memory’ contains nearly 100 books on subjects perceived as taboo in the life of cities. With books on the themes of history, memory and space from Istanbul, Rio de Janeiro, Beijing, Mumbai, and New York, the collection surfaces narratives usually excluded from conventional discourses.

‘Open Memory’ was developed within the ‘Compressed: Guantánamos’ exhibition at Studio-X Istanbul April 4th - May 9th 2014, which presented Guantánamo as a starting point to reflect on states of exception and the ambiguities when the rule of law is suspended.

İSTANBUL

This humble collection of boks is brought together to re-think the historical, economic and socio-political transformation of Istanbul. The collection aims to explore politicis of remembrance and forgetting within the diverse ethnic and religious composition of the city and provides a general trajectory over the urban transformation that took place in Istanbul in the recent past. Each book takes the reader to different neighborhoods of Istanbul and unearths stories of otherization, forced migration and violence through lived experiences. It is a tour in Istanbul’s long forgotten sites of memory.

1. AGAMBEN, Giorgio. Kutsal İnsan. Ayrıntı Yayınları, 2013.

2. AGAMBEN, Giorgio. Olağanüstü Hal. Varlık Yayınları, 2008.

3. DELEON, Jak. Beyoğlu’nda Beyaz Ruslar, Remzi Yayınevi. İstanbul: Kütüphanesi, 2004.

4. DELEON, Jak. Balat ve Çevresi: Bir Semt Monografisi. Istanbul: Can Yayınevi, 1991.

5. GÜVEN, Dilek. Eylül Olayları. İstanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2012.

6. KONDAYAN, Ohannes Aram. Sandıktak, Hatıralar: Çocukluk, Tehcir, Ðstanbul. Istanbul: Boğaziçi Üniversitesi Yayınevi, 2013.

7. MARMARA, Rinaldo. Manastırların Penceresinden I̦stanbul XIX. yüzyıl. İstanbul: Bahçeþehir Üniversitesi Yayınları, 2012.

8. ÖĞÜT, Hande. Kadın Öykülerinde İstanbul. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 2008.

9. ÖZ, Ali. Tarlabaşı Ayıp Şehir = A Defiled Istanbul District. Istanbul Fotoğrafevi Yayinlari, 2013.

10. ÖZDALGA, Elisabeth; OLSSON, Tord; RAUDVERE, Catharina. Alevi Identity: Cultural, Religious and Social Perspectives. Istanbul: Swedish Research Institute, 1998.

11. PAMUK, Orhan. The Museum of Innocence. New York: Vintage International, 2010.

12. RAUDVERE, Catharina. The Book and the Roses: Sufi Women, Visibility and Zikr in Contemporary Istanbul. London: I.B.Tauris, 2002.

13. SCOGNAMILLO, Giovanni. Bir Levantenin Beyoğlu Anları. Istanbul: Agora Yayðıevi, 2009.

14. SELÇUK, İlhan. Ziverbey Köşkü. Istanbul: Cumhuriyet Kitapları, 2009.

15. SELEK, Pınar. Maskeler Süvariler Gacðlar: Ülker Sokak Bir Alt Kültürün Dışlanma Mekanı. Istanbul: Ayizi Kitap, 2007.

16. SHAUL, Eli. From Balat to Bat Yam: Memoirs of a Turkish Jew. Istanbul:  Libra Yayıncılık, 2012.

17. ŞAHİN, M. Süreyya. Fener Patrikhanesi ve Türkiye. Istanbul: Ötüken Neþrihat, 1999.

18. TURAN, Çimen. Hasretim İstanbul, İstanbul Rumlarının Göç Öyküleri ve Özlemleri. Istanbul:  Lozan Mubadilleri Vakfı, 2010.

19. TÜRKER, Orhan. Mega Revma’dan Arnavutköy’e. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 1999.

20. TÜRKER, Orhan. Osmanlı İstanbul’undan bir köşe Tatavla. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 2009.

21. VAKA, Demitra. İstanbul’un Peçesiz Kadınları. Istanbul: Kitap Yayınevi, 2003.

22. ZENGIN, Aslı. İktidarın Mahremiyeti : İstanbul’da Hayat Kadınları, Seks İşçiliği. Istanbul: Metis Yayınları, 2011.

23. SERTTAŞ, Tayfun. Trilogy of the Deserted City. New York: GSAPP Books, 2014.

24. KEYDER, Çağlar. Istanbul: Between the Global and the Local. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1999.

25. ELDEM, Edhem; GOFFMAN, Daniel; MASTERS Bruce. The Ottoman City between East and West : Aleppo, İzmir, Istanbul. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.

26. KURUYAZICI, Hasan. Armenian Architects of Istanbul in the Era of Westernization. Istanbul: Hrant Dink Foundation Publications, 2011.



RIO DE JANEIRO

The collection of books consists of scholarly work on Brazilian social and cultural history and includes quintessential pieces of Braziilian social thought as a way of introduction to Brazilian studies and to Rio de Janeiro in its own contradictory and paradoxial ways. The collection aims to provide guidance to those who wants to understand the relationship between culture, space, territory and power in modern Brazil. In addition to scholarly works, there are contemporary movies about Brazilian cities/society.

1. BUARQUE DE HOLLANDA, Sergio. Roots of Brazil. Notre Dame, Ind.: University of Notre Dame Press, 2012.
print
ebook

2. DA CUNHA, Euclides. Backlands: The Canudos Campaign. New York: Penguin Books, 2010.

3. FISHLOW, Albert. Starting Over: Brazil Since 1985. Washington, DC: Brookings, 2011.

4. MARIA DE JESUS, Carolina. Child Of The Dark: The Diary Of Carolina Maria De Jesus. New York: Signet, 2003.

5. FISCHER, Brodwyn. A Poverty of Rights: citizenship and inequality in twentieth-century Rio de Janeiro. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2008.

6. McCANN, Bryan. Hard Times in the Marvelous City: From Dictatorship to Democracy in the Favelas of Rio de Janeiro. Durham: Duke University Press, 2013.
print
ebook

7. GALEANO, Eduardo. Latin Amerika’nın Kesik Damarları. Istanbul: Çitlembik Yayınları, 2013.

8. BAĞDATLI Abdurrahim Efendi. Brezilya’da İlk Müslümanlar : Brezilya Seyahatnamesi. Istanbul: Kitabevi Yayınları, 2006.

9. REHRMANN, Norbert. Simon Bolivar: Latin Amerika’yı Özgürlüğüne Kavuşturan Adamın Hayat Hikayesi. Istanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2012.

10- ÖZBUDUN, Sibel; HUBERMAN, Marcos Leo; SUAREZ, Luis; SARI, Cadihe; PARENTI, Micheal; HERNANDEZ, Silvio Soriano; DEMİRER, Temel; AUBRY, ANDRE. Latin Amerika Yerlileri. Istanbul: Anahtar Kitaplar Yayınevi, 2006.

FILM

1. Caradiru. Directed & Produced by Hector BABENCO, 2003.1z

2. The Year My Parents Went On Vacation. Directed by Cao HAMBURGER, 2006.

3. Mutum. Directed by Sandra KOGUT, 2007.

4. The Human Scale. Directed by Andreas DALSGAARD, 2012.



BEIJING

The list of boks from Beijing are brought together with a very valuable effort towards circumventing the existing bans on the distribution of such publications that have provoked discussions in China and recieved international recognition. The list spans a vast area of subjects including history, architecture and personal narratives wich enables the reader to achieve a critical understanding of modern China with a particular focus on Beijing.

1. FLEISCHER, Friederike. Suburban Beijing: Housing and Consumption in Contemporary China. Minneapolis: University Of Minnesota Press, 2010.
print
ebook

2. GRECO, Claudio and SANTORO, Carlo. Beijing: The New City. Milan: Skira Editore, 2008.

3. JISHENG, Yang. Tombstone: the Great Chinese Famine, 1958-1962. New York: Penguin Books, 2012.

4. LIANG, Zhong. The Tiananmen Papers. Puplic Affairs, 2002.

5. LIXIONG, Wang and TSERING, Shakya. The Struggle for Tibet. New York: Verso, 2009.

6. MANGURIAN, Robert and RAY, Mary-Ann. Caochangdi: Beijing Inside Out: Farmers, Floaters, taxi Drivers, Artists, and the International Art Mob Challenge and Remake the City. Hong Kong: Timezone 8, 2008.

7. QISHENG, Jiang. My Life in Prison: Memoirs of a Chinese Political Dissident. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2012.

8. WEIFANG, Liu. No Enemies, No Hatred: Selected Essays and Poems. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2012.
print
ebook

9. XIAOBO, He. In The Name of Justice: Striving for the Rule of Law in China. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution Press, 2012.

10-YOUYU, Xu and ZE, Hua. In the Shadow of the Rising Dragon: Stories of Repression in the New China. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.

11. ROCCA, Jean-Louis. Çin’in Sosyolojisi. Istanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2011.

 

MUMBAI

The book list comprises of material which looks at conditions of ‘displacement’ and ‘isolation’ through texts spanning historical events, fictional narrations, rituals an deven speculative observations. From caste to urban eviction to communal differences we see how the past, present and future of cultural, social, political, spatial and other such constructs seem to form and evolve constantly redefining the issues affecting India’s development, urban as well as rural.

1. FERNANADES, Naresh. City Adrift. New Delhi: Aleph Book Company, 2013.

2. GANESH, Kamala; THAKKAR, Usha; CHADHA, Gita. Zero Point Bombay: In and Around Horniman Circle. New Delhi: Lotus Books, 2008.

3. PRAKASH, Gyan. Mumbai Fables. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2010.
print
ebook

4. SEN, Amartya. The Argumentative Indian: Writings on Indian History, Culture and Identity. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005.

5. ZAIDI, S.Hussein; BORGES, Jane. Mafia Queens of Mumbai: Stories of Women from the Ganglands. New Delhi: Tranquebar Press: 2011.

6. Dharavi : Documenting Informalities. Stockholm: Royal University College of Fine Arts, 2009.

7. DOSSAL, Mariam. Mumbai: Theatre of Conflict, City of Hope: Mumbai, 1660 to Present Times. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.

8. CHANNA, Subhadra Mitra ; MENCHER, Joan P. Life as a Dalit : Views from the Bottom on Caste in India. New Delhi: SAGE Publications, 2013.

9. GANDHI; Jagdish. A Tale of Native Towns of Mumbai. Sundaram Art Printing Press.

10. MALHOTRA, Rajiv; NEELAKAN, Aravindan. Breaking India : Western Interventions in Dravidian and Dalit Faultlines. New Delhi: Amaryllis, 2011.

11. FAROOQUI, Amar. Opium City : The Making of Early Victorian Bombay. Gurgaon: Three Essays Collective, 2006.

12. MEHTA, Suketu. Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found. London: Review, 2004.

13. ZAIDI, Hussain. Dongri to Dubai : Six Decades of the Mumbai Mafia. New Delhi: Lotus Collection, 2012.

 

NEW YORK

The book list is meant to offer alternative perspectives and accounts of New York City’s histories. Dominant narratives often depict the “Big Apple" as the epicenter of America’s patchwork nation of immigrants and a symbol of its entrepreneurial spirit. But the story was not as simple then, and remains more complicated today – New York City has among the highest rates of income inequality in the US, and the gap continues to grow. Books from the selection explore the urban policies and decisions that have actively shaped the city’s landscape over time; document lesser-known, contested histories and movements that emerged from them; and provide different perspectives on well-known histories.

1. ANBINDER, Tyler. Five Points: The 19th Century New York City Neighborhood that Invented Tap Dance Stole Elections, and Became the World's Most Notorious Slum. New York: Free Press, 2001.

2. CHAUNCEY, George. Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Making of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940. New York: BasicBooks, 1994.
print
ebook

3. HAW, Richard. The Brooklyn Bridge: A Cultural History. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2008.

4. HELMREICH, William B. The New York Nobody Knows: Walking 6,000 Miles in the City. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2013.

5. LUNE, Howard. Urban Action Networks: HIV/AIDS and Community Organizing in New York City. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2006.

6. MARTHA, Cooper. Hip Hop Files: Photographs 1979-1984. Berlin: From Here to Fame, 2013.

7. OSMAN, Suleiman. The Invention of Brownstone Brooklyn: Gentrification and the Search for Authenticity in Postwar New York. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
print
ebook

8. PETERSON, Carla L. Black Gotham: A Family History of African Americans in Nineteenth-Century New York City. New Haven, Conn.: Yale University Press, 2011.
print
ebook

9. RINGGOLD, Faith. Tar Beach. New York: Dragonfly Books, 1996.

10. RIIS, Jacob. How the Other Half Lives: Studies Among the Tenements of New York. New York : Bedford Books of St. Martin's Press, 1996.
print
ebook

11. SIMPSON, David. 9/11: The Culture of Commemoration. Chicago: University of Chicago, 2006.

12. ZIPP, Samuel. Manhattan Projects: The Rise and Fall of Urban Renewal in Cold War New York. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.

13. SENNET, Richard. The Corrosion of Character: the Personal Consequences of Work in the New Capitalism. New York: Norton, 1998.