Biographical Sources


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

American national biography online. (Online)
"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

Archeologia al Femminile: il cammino delle donne nella disciplina archeologica attraverso le figure di otto archeologhe classiche vissute dalla meta dell'Ottocento ad oggi.
Ed. by Laura Nicotra, 304 p. (2004).
Life and work of Ersilia Caetani Lovatelli (1840-1925); Esther Boise Van Deman (1862-1937); Kathleen Mary Kenyon (1906-1978); Raissa Gourevitch Calza (1897-1979); Semni Papaspyridi Karouzou (1898-1994); Gisela Maria Augusta Richter (1882-1972); Luisa Banti (1894-1978); and Alessandra Melucco Vaccaro (1940-2000).
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 N54

Biography and genealogy master index. (Gale:Online vendor)
For nearly thirty years, Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) has been the best place to begin a search for information about people. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.

Biography in Context. (Gale:Online vendor)
The Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 780 volumes of over 130 sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Historic World Leaders, Contemporary Black Biography, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines.

Biography index.
(Wilson:pub.;EBSCO:Online vendor) Biography Index Retrospective (Online: 1946-1983) and to Biography Reference Bank (Online)
Indexes biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews.

Breaking Ground: Pioneering Women Archaeologists. (Univ. Michigan Pr.:publ.; E-brary:Online vendor)
Ed. by Gretzel Cohen and martha Joukowsky. 571 p. (2004) Twelve women including Gertrude L. Bell, Winifred Lamb, and Kathleen Kenyon.
Avery Fine Arts N5335 B74   (copies available in multiple locations)

Directory of North American Egyptologists. (Online)
(URL: http://oi.uchicago.edu/OI/DEPT/RA/ABZU/EGDIR_LIST.HTML)
Sponsored by the Oriental Institute, University of Chicago. Lists individuals, institutions, dissertations

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists. (Online version being ordered 8/13)
Ed. by Tim Murray, 2 vols. (1999).
Essays written by archaeologists on 58 archaeologists presented chronologically from William Camden (1551-1623) to David Clarke (1938-1976) Portraits, illustrations, and both primary and secondary references are included.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 En18 (copies available in multiple locations)

Makers of Classical Archaeology. (Humanity Bks.)
Ed. by Linda Medwid, 352 p. (2000).
Entries for 119 men and women include education, appointments and awards, excavations, publications, short essay, and sources. Alphabetically arranged from Manolius Andronikos to Robert Wood.
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 M46

Oxford dictionary of national biography. (Online)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, in association with the British Academy is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.

Pastmasters: Eleven Modern Pioneers of Archaeology: V. Gordon Childe, Stuart Piggott, Charles Phillips, Christopher Hawkes, Seton Lloyd, Robert J. Braidwood, Gordon R. Willey, C.J. Becker, Sigfried J. De Laet, J. Desmond Clark, D.J. Mulvaney. (Thames & Hudson)
Ed. by Glyn Daniel, 176 p. (1989).
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 P26

Who's Who in Cypriote Archaeology: Biographical and Bibliographical Notes.by Paul Astrom, 88 p. (1971). (Studies in Mediterranean Archaeology vol. 23.)
Avery AB St93 v.23 (copies available in multiple locations)

Women in Archaeology. (Univ. of Pennsylvania Pr.)
Ed. by Cheryl Claassen, 252 p. (1994).
Forty-one women representing old and new world archaeology are discussed in individually-authored chapters. Biographies of Harriet Boyd Hawes and Edith Hall; Dorothy Hughes Popenoe; Isabel Kelly, Frances Watkins, and Eva Horner; Marian E. White; and Madeline Kneberg Lewis are separate chapters.
Butler CC10 .W66 1994 (copies available in multiple locations)