Compiled Guide



Indexes (citations to articles in journals, conference papers, books, etc.) & Bibliographies

NOTE: Core archaeological indexes ONLINE are preceded by an asterisk.

NOTE: Most of the listed indexes and bibliographies DO NOT in themselves contain online full-text articles. If they do not, to find out whether the articles in your citations are available online, search the Journal title (or book title) in CLIO. Be sure to note if the years covered online match the date of your citation. (Also, see section II: Electronic Journals. )

In addition, there is a service, E-Link, within many of the online indexes listed below. E-Link can be found as a button next to the citation. It provides direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article online (if available) and if full-text isn't available, E-Link checks CLIO, our library catalog, to see if the Libraries have what you need in print. E-Link will also help you submit an interlibrary loan request. Just click on the E-Link icon for a menu showing the options available to you.

AATA ONLINE: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature. (Online: 1932-to date)
Indexes journals, reports, conference proceedings, etc. covering the "management and conservation of international material cultural heritage -- broadly interpreted to include works of art, cultural objects, museum collections, archives and library materials, architecture, historic sites, and archaeology." Getty Conservation Institute. (Replaces the print version of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts )
Avery-Fine Arts N35 Ar75 (paper version)

ABIA Index. (Online: 1990-to date)
Bibliographic database on South & Southeast Asian art and archaeology, compiled by IIAS, covering articles, monographs, grey literature published 1990 to present.
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Ab52 (paper version)

AIDA : articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature.  (Online: 1997-to date)
Citation database containing journal articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, classified using the Basis Classification in German and Italian.

America: History and Life. (EBSCO:Online vendor: 1964-to date)
Subject, author, title and keyword index to articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

The ancient arts of western and central Asia: a guide to the literature. by Bernard Goldman, 303 p., (1991).
Classified annotated bibliography (books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, archaeological reports, etc.) on the arts of those who lived anywhere from the eastern shores of the Mediterranean to the eastern borders of Chinese Turkestan and from the Ukraine and southern Soviet Asia to Pakistan and the Arabian peninsula. Chronologically arranged from Neolithic to the coming of Islam.
Avery-Fine Arts N35 G556

*L'Anneé Philologique. (Online: 1924-to date)
The standard index of current literature for classical archaeology and philology.
Butler Reference R016.88 M341 (paper version)

Annuario bibliografico di archeologia. (Istituto Nazionale di Archeologia e Storia dell’Arte, Rome), n.s. 1982-to date.
Classified bibliography of archaeological literature by the library of the research institute in Rome. Includes short abstracts. Indexes of abbreviations, authors, and proper names. (Old series published from 1952-1072.)
Avery AC Is77

Anthropological Index Online. (Online: 1950s to date) (London)
Published by the Royal Anthropological Institute. Indexes anthropological journals currently received by the Museum of Mankind Library (London), which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library; includes bibliographies and obituaries.

AnthropologyPlus. (EBSCO:Online vendor: 19th century to present)
Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the U.K. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Archäologische Anzeiger. 1963 to date.
Bibliographie, published annually since 1970 within Archäologische Anzeiger, lists completed dissertations in the field from German, Swiss, and Austrian Universities.
Avery AC D480105

Archäologische Bibliographie. 1932-1993.
Ceased. Now published in electronic form as Dyabola (1957 to date). Indexes international journals covering Europe, Mesopotamia, and Egypt. References arranged by subject. Separate subject, author, book review, and site indexes. No annotations or abstracts.
Avery AC D48011 (paper version)

ArchiveGrid. (Online)
Indes to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom. Contains both detailed collection guides and records consisting primarily of summary descriptions of archives, manuscripts, and special collections.

*Art Source. (EBSCO:Online vendor)
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for some, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications.  

Article First. (OCLC:Online vendor: 1990-to date)
Citations and abstracts for articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture periodicals.

Articles. (Online:Federated Search Engine:an option within Quicksearch)
Articles allows you to search through a massive collection of mostly full text journal articles, e-books, and conference proceedings. It does not include newspapers, but you can choose to include newspaper articles from the search results page. If you wish to use a Federated Search Engine, I would suggest instead: 1. Custom Search or 2.EbscoHost Research Database or 3. Proquest.  See details below.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Within Web of Knowledge:Scroll down to bottom of first screen and unselect all options but Art & Humanities Citation Index) (Online: 1975 –to date)
Interdisciplinary index to books and articles. Can also search by citation, to allow you to discover who cites whom.

ATLA Religion Database. (EBSCO:Online vendor: 1949-to date)
Indexes periodicals from 1949, multi-authored works from 1960, book reviews from 1975.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO:Online vendor) OR Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Proquest: Online vendor). (19th century  to date, with some earlier citations back to 1741)
Standard architectural periodical index, which also may include archaeology, mosaics, mural painting, architectural sculpture, etc.   EBSCO: Disadvantage-different field terms should be entered in separate search boxes; Advantage-Avery call numbers found at bottom of citation. PROQUEST: Disadvantage: Avery call numbers not in record; Advantage: can put multiple terms in single search box.  Use keyword to retrieve newer and older citations.

BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (Online: 1954-to date)
Incorporates v.1-34 (1955-1997) of Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts. Now it is compiled by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), the International Center for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), and the National Archives of Canada.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art). Getty Information Institute. (Online: 1973-2007)
Indexes books, journals, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs. Covers Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Includes  RAA (Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie, 1973-1989; available in print for the years 1910 to 1989 at Avery-Fine Arts N2 R29). RAA covers late antiquity to the present; excludes Islamic, Far Eastern, and primitive art and archaeology.

*Bibliografia Mesoamericana. (Online)
Jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI), provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethno-history, art history, linguistics, physichumal anthropology, and other related disciplines.

Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale. (Online:choice within Brepols' offerings: 1957-to date)
A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics.

Bibliographie der Deutschsprachigen Arabistik und Islamkunde: von den Anfängen bis 1986 nebst Literatur über die arabischen Länder der Gegenwart.
ed. Fuat Sezgin, 21 vol.(1990-1996).
Classified unannotated bibliographies of German-language literature on the Islamic and Arabic world. Includes materials published up to 1986.
Butler Reference R016.95 B47

Book Review Digest (Wilson:pub; EBSCO:Online vendor (Book Review Digest Plus: Online:  index, abstracts, some full text from 1983 to date and Book Review Digest Retro: Online: index from 1905 to 1982)
Indexes to book reviews of works of fiction and nonfiction, reference works, textbooks, and children's books in the areas of art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, library and information science, music, religion, science and technology, and social sciences.

Book review index plus. (Infotrac:pub.;Gale:Online vendor: 1965 to date)
Index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

British humanities index: BHI. (Proquest:Online: 1962 to date)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries as well as several newspapers published in the U.K.

*Bulletin analytique d’histoire romaine. Association pour l’étude de la civilization romaine. Strasbourg. (Online:within Bases de donées hébergées par la MISHA: 1990-to date)
Bibliography to current periodical literature on ancient Roman history. Citations lack annotations, but do include keyword, geographic, and thematic headings after each entry. Click on French or English version of Bulletin analytique… once at web site.
Butler DG11 .B85 (1975-to date)

Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance. (Part of Projekt Dyabola) (Online:selection within Projekt Dyabola: 1990-to date)
Useful U-Tube tutorial from NYU and a text tutorial from Berkeley)
Database of texts and some images which document links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. (Online: 1922 to date)
Digitized copy of the corpus of antique vases held in collections worldwide. Avery AK3800 In... (Paper version)

*Custom Search. (Online:Federated Search Engine:find by typing “Custom search” in Quicksearch box, click on URL in result)
Local consolidation of many basic databases (online indexes) sorted by subject, which allows you to perform simple searches in multiple databases.  Choose your discipline, then search. Limits results to 30 citations per database, but you can see how many results each database retrieved.  Click on “view retrieved” in upper right, then to see results coherently, click on “citation list” on left side.

Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrhunderts v. Chr. (Online:selection within Projekt Dyabola: 2001(?) to date)
Individual entries allow access to iconographic, epigraphic, social, chronological and geographic aspects. Descriptions of the picture motifs distinguish simple motifs, types and patterns which can be called up individually and in combination. Please also look at the following for help with how to use: www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/attische.html.

*Dyabola (listed as Projekt Dyabola). (Online: 1957-to date)
(There is also a free version available (ZENON.DAI), which, when searched, gives slightly different results: http://opac.dainst.org)
Useful tutorials (linked within catalog record):  U-Tube tutorial from NYU and text tutorial from Berkeley)
Citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. The print version, Archaeologisches Bibliographie ceased in 1993. Projekt Dyabola also includes other databases covering arts of the antiquities, e.g. Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrunderts v. Chr (see below), Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (see above), Corpus der Antiken Denkmaler, etc.

*EbscoHost Research Databases (Online:can be used as Ebsco-only Federated Search Engine: Find by clicking on the tiny word CLIO beneath Quicksearch boc, then click on “Articles” in middle of page, then Ebscohost.)
When you get into this database, ALL of the indexes EBSCO offers are turned on.  It would be best if you choose our own or you will be inundated with Science, Technology and Medical results. Do this by clicking on “Choose Databases.” An alphabetically arranged list of indexes appears. Deselect them all, and then choose those that would make sense for your topic.

Essay & general literature. (Wilson:pub.; EBSCO:Online vendor: 1985 to date)
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. (Another Wilson Index.)

Fasti Archaeologici. (1946-1986) Annual.
[Avery AB F26]
Abstracts of books, periodical articles, book reviews, reports, etc., arranged by subject. Indexed by ancient and modern authors, geographical names, subjects, lexicalia, and literary and epigraphical sources.  Now continued by FastiOnline below.

FastiOnline. (Online: 2000 to date)
Online version has coverage of excavations from 2000, begun in Italy and now expanding to Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Romania and Serbia. This database contains a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, at the discretion of the site director, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century, and reports on restoration projects and new museum displays are also welcomed. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Links will be provided to a project’s web site where possible.

Gnomon Online. (Online)
Bibliographic index to publications in the areas of Classical Philology, Ancient History, and Archaeology including monographs, dissertations (German and US), conference proceedings, etc.

Humanities Full Text. (Wilson:pub; EBSCO:Online vendor) (Humanities Full text: (1984-to date) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
The database indexes, and 1984 to date abstracts feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

*Index Islamicus. (Proquest:Online vendor: 1906-to date)
Indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia.

*International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ = Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur.). (Online: 1983-to date)
Indispensable for interdisciplinary research, this universal index of periodical literature covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 2.5 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the periodicals published on the European continent.

International medieval bibliography. (Online: a choice within Brepols' offering: 1967 to date)
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies from 400 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. (International Medieval Institute & Medieval Academy of America)

Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (Online: 1784-to date)
Bibliographic database of interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Indexes over 1,700 journals published since 1784 as well as 12,000 scholarly collections published since 1874. In addition is has a online version of P.O. Kristeller's Iter Italicum, Baptisteria Sacra: an Iconographic Index of Baptismal Fonts, an International Directory of Scholars and more.

*Nestor: International Bibliography of Aegean Studies. (Online: 2009-to date)
Bibliography of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related areas. Click on “Search the Nestor Database” to bring up search screen.

19th century masterfile. (Online: 1800-1925)
Includes several 19th-century periodical indexes, as well as indexing of the New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905).

OEB: Online Egyptological Bibliography. (Online: 1882 to date)
Combines the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA).

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Online)
This resource offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area planned thus far. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. The site offers introductions to each topic area, and including guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.  These bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Also contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized lists of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Periodicals Index Online. (Proquest:Online vendor: 1770-to date)
An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). (When no corresponding text is available in PAO, an E-link is displayed.)

Proquest (Online: can be used as a Proquest-only Federated Search Engine: Find by clicking on the tiny word CLIO beneath Quicksearch boc, then click on “Articles” in middle of page, then Proquest.)
When you get into this database, ALL of the indexes Proquest offers are turned on.  It would be best if you choose our own or you will be inundated with Science, Technology and Medical results. Do this by clicking on “# Databases” that is to the right of the word “searching at the top left of the screen. An alphabetically arranged list of indexes appears. Unselect them all, and then choose those that would make sense for your topic.

Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Online, indexed 1962-1979, abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date)
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1637. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) are available. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price.  To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (1861-1972 as Comprehensive Dissertation Index)

*TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists. (Online: 1992-to date.)
"TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca 200 journals, and over 75,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. Searches of all data can be made at both sites..." Maintained at the University of Toronto.


Journals & Books Full Text Online

NOTE: Columbia University Libraries subscribes to a substantial number of electronic journals, aggregated in the list of services below, which can be found by searching the journal by title in CLIO. Additionally, Columbia Libraries subscribes to aggregators of electronic books, each of which should be findable in CLIO.

If you wish to see a list of electronic journals in Archaeology, click into Quicksearch, select “catalog” then select “e-journal titles” from the list on the left. Then type in the words archaeolog* OR archeology* OR archaeology* in the search box.  You can limit by language or other elements (see list on left of screen).  Be sure to notice the full text years of coverage listed in each full record in CLIO to make sure it includes what you need before clicking on the URL.

Abbreviations

Journal Abbreviations used in American Journal of Archaeology. (Online: URL: http://www.ajaonline.org/index.php?ptype=page&pid=8)

Selected Full-Text Journal Aggregators & Full-Text Journal Collections

American periodicals series online, 1740-1941. (Proquest:Online vendor)
Digitized reproductions of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III.

AnthroSource. (Online)
Integrates over 100 years of the American Anthropological Associations' publications in a single searchable resource.

British Periodicals. (Proquest:Online vendor: Late 17th to early 20th century)
Provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images. (This is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online -- see below)

Cambridge journals online. (Online)
Presents full text coverage of over 300 electronic journals that are published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), headquartered in Cambridge, England. Lists the current titles that are available. Notes that registration is required. Explains that all users have access to the tables of contents, abstracts, and searching and alerting services. States that only subscribers have access to the full text of articles. Provides online registration and subscription information.

EBSCOhost electronic journal service. (Online)
Gateway to thousands of journals in a variety of disciplines. Dates of earliest issue varies from journal to journal.

Ingenta. (Online: 1988-to date)
Current, multidisciplinary database with keyword searching and journal browsing. Offering online access to selected electronic journals based on institutional subscriptions.

JSTOR. (Online)
JSTOR is in the process of becoming "a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." Complete runs of individual journals are available up to approximately the last five years and some of which cover up to current issues in the following areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. JSTOR provides keyword searching of any number of journals simultaneously. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO

Lexis-Nexis academic. (Online)
Academic Universe is a database of current (generally since the mid-1980's) international newspapers and magazines that can be searched for archaeology news in general, interviews with archaeologists, book reviews, and obituaries.

Oxford journals online. (Online)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years.

Periodicals Archive Online. (Proquest:Online vendor)
Archive of over 700 digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes high-resolution digitized page images Covers journals from the 17th century to the early 20th century. (Use Periodicals Index Online to find specific articles in this database.)

Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online. (Online)
Scholarly full-text journals covering arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Searchable collectively or singly. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO..

ProQuest historical newspapers. (Online)
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1925), Boston Globe (1872-1901), Chicago Tribune (1890-1958), Los Angeles Times (1881-1968), New York Times (1851-2001), Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), Washington Post (1877-1988), and more. Every page from every issue in PDF files.

Science Direct. (Online)
Searchable collectively or browse subject categories. Individual journal titles, such as Journal of Archaeological Science (March 2003-) have been added to CLIO.

Torrossa (a.k.a. Editoria italiana online : EIO). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. Titles here do NOT always appear in CLIO.

University of Chicago Press journals online. (Online)
Multidisciplinary collection of journals published by the University of Chicago Press.

Selected Full-Text Book Aggregators & Full-Text Book Collections

Don't forget to try Google Books. Once on the Google screen, click on "more," choose "Books" in the dropdown menu.

ACLS Humanities E-Book. (Online)
Provides full-text and full-page image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with ten learned societies and 80 contributing publishers. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance. (Online)
Collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (Online:a choice within Projekt Dyabola)
A database of texts and images which documents the links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.

EBRARY. (Online)
Collection of thousands of online full-text books in a variety of subject areas. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

EBSCO e-book collection. (Online)
Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain. WARNING: Only one person can gain access to NetLibrary titles at a time. Books owned by Columbia University Librariesin this collection can be found in CLIO.

*eHRAF. (Online)
A collection of full-text information (e.g. books, journal articles, and dissertations) on archaeological traditions from around the world. The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is unique in that the text is subject-indexed for quick retrieval of information. Every year more archaeological traditions are added to the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online. (Online)
Contains more than 5,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic world.

Torrossa (a.k.a. Editoria italiana online : EIO). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. Titles here do NOT always appear in CLIO.


Library Catalogs

Worldcat (a.k.a.OCLC). (Online)
Comprehensive database that serves as a major union catalog of records held in libraries around the world, including many major research and academic libraries; archives and museum libraries; law, medical, and theological libraries; art and music libraries; area studies collections; public and corporate libraries; historical societies and book clubs. Entries describe books, serials, archival collections, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, electronic resources, and more. The Catalog extends from the advent of printing to the present. New records are added daily.

Arcade / New York Art Resources Consortium. (Online)
Merged library catalogs of the Museum of Modern Art Library, the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum of Art Libraries and Archives.

Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. Library. (Online)
(URL: www.dainst.org/abteilung.php?id=263)

Harvard University Libraries (a.k.a. Hollis). (Online)
Includes Fine Arts Library, Graduate School of Design, Villa I Tatti, Florence. Berenson Library, and more.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Library. (New York, N.Y.) (a.k.a. Watsonline). (Online)

New York Public Library. The Research Libraries. (New York, N.Y.) (a.k.a. Catnyp). (Online)

Regesta Imperii bei der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz. Deutsche Kommission fur die Bearbeitung. Library. (Mainz) (a.k.a. RI Opac). (Online)


Websites in Archaeology

ABZU -- see ETANA
Research Archives of the Oriental Institute, Chicago.

AMAR: archive of Mesopotamian archaeological site reports. (Online)
Digitized versions of "archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf). This will include both out-of-copyright as well as in-copyright and in-print materials."

Ara Pacis Augustae. /ed. by Charles Rhyne. (Online)
This web site is to make available a more comprehensive body of images of the Ara Pacis than previously available in any print or web publication.  It includes images of closely related material and photographs of the new Museo dell'Ara Pacis, in which the altar is now newly restored and displayed.  It should be seen as a supplement to the  2006/2009 volume, Ara Pacis, by Orietta Rossini, Responsabile Ufficio Ara Pacis. (Fine Arts NB115 R728).

Archnet: Virtual Library of Archaeology. (Online)
(URL: http://archnet.asu.edu/default.php)
The ArchNet website is designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge about archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic. As you browse through ArchNet you are invited to discover links to thousands of web presentations devoted to archaeology, ancient sites, and artifact studies. The content of these presentations is not stored within ArchNet, rather the ArchNet web site provides indexes, searches, and links to this growing body of diverse educational resources.

Art and Archaeology of Africa. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Extensive list of links created at Columbia University.

Beazley Archive. (Online)
ed. Donna Kurtz, Reader in Classical Archaeology and Fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford University, and Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, England. Based on Sir John Beazley's personal archive of materials related to the study of classical art and archaeology. Online collections include Athenian pottery, sculpture casts, and gems.

CLAROS: The World of Art on the Semantic Web. (Online)
Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international interdisciplinary research federation using the latest developments in information and communication technologies to bring the art of the Classical world to everyone.

ETANA: electronic tools and ancient Near Eastern archives. (Online)
A portal to ancient Near Eastern web resources, including archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain. Includes ABZU: Guide to resources for the study of the Ancient Near East available on the internet.

LIMC (Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae) France: databases. (Online)
Free registration required for access. Contains three databases: [1] LIMCicon contains data relating to ancient Graeco-Roman documents bearing a mythological or religious representation. [2] LIMCbiblio contains recent bibliographical data to complete the information published in the LIMC volumes. [3]  LIMCabrev allows you to find the full names of the bibliographical abbreviations used in the LIMC, in the ThesCRA and on this site.
Supplement to the paper: Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. (LIMC) 8 in 16 vols. text and plate vols. (1981-1997): http://www.rzuser.uni-heidelberg.de/~m99/.
LIMC Covers Mycenaean to Early Christian. Entries in language of author (Eng., French, German, Italian).
Avery Reference N 7760 L59

Nemea Valley archaeological project archaeological survey. (Online)
NVAP-AS was organized in 1983 to investigate through the technique of intensive surface survey an area of approximately 80 square kilometers in the southern Corinthia, Greece. The area extends from Mt. Phoukas and the ridge of the ancient city-state of Phlius, on the north, to the Dervenakia (Tretos) Pass and Mt. Strongylo, on the south. From 1984-86, three teams of archaeologists operating in the field each summer examined a total of 50 square kilometers; in 1989, much of the remainder was inspected using less intensive procedures. The archaeological survey was the first in Greece to take as its most basic unit of analysis not the site but rather the individual artifact: we have been interested in explaining the existence of all traces of activity in the ancient landscape, not only major concentrations of artifacts or those that remain in the places where they were originally deposited." Links to information, publications, and images from the Nemea Valley archaeological survey.

Perseus Digital Library. (Online)
ed. Gregory Crane, Classics Department, Tufts University. "...an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond". Begun as a collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world, it now contains Latin texts and tools and Renaissance materials.

Pompeii Forum Project. (Online)
The Pompeii Forum Project is a collaborative venture that focuses on the urban center of Pompeii. There are three components to the project: documentation of standing remains; archaeological analysis; and urban study that seeks a) to interpret the developments at Pompeii in the broader context of urban history and b) to identify at Pompeii recurring patterns of urban evolution that can be applied to contemporary issues in American urbanism.

Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean. (Online)
by Jeremy Ritter, Classics Department, Dartmouth College. "Through a series of lessons and illustrations, [this site] traces the cultural evolution of humanity in the Aegean basin from the era of hunting and gathering (Palaeolithic-Mesolithic) through the early village farming stage (Neolithic) and the formative period of Aegean civilization into the age of the great palatial cultures of Minoan Crete and Mycenaean Greece."

Organization Websites


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia. (Garland)
Ed.by  Linda Ellis, 705 p. (2000). Covers analytical technology, legislation, conservation techniques, and research from prehistoric to contemporary periods. Worldwide coverage.
Butler Reference R039.13 Ar22

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Industrial Archaeology. ed. Barrie Trinder, 964 p. (1992).
Monuments, settlements, and landscapes of 31 countries in Europe, Canada, United States, and Australasia from 1650 to 1950. Bibliography of almost 3,000 sources.
Avery AA6210 B56

Cambridge Illustrated History of Archaeology.
ed. Paul Bahn, 386 p. (1996). Explorations of the Middle Ages to the present in eight chapters: archaeology of archaeology; old worlds and new, 1500-1760; antiquarians and explorers, 1760-1820; science and romanticism, 1820-1860; search for human origins, 1860-1920; archaeology comes of age, 1920-1960; new techniques and competing philosophies, 1960-1990, and current controversies and future trends. Chronology of archaeology from 1500 and bibliography. All illustrations are original prints, manuscripts, artistic renderings, and photographs.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 C14

Collins Dictionary of Archaeology.
ed. Paul Bahn, 654 p. (1992). Over 500 pages of short-entry definitions and facts with cross-references. Almost 100 pages of maps and lists of sites. Bibliography by topic. Limited illustrations.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 C69

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology. (Routledge:pub.; E-brary:Online vendor)
Ed. by Graeme Barker. Twenty-nine essays by individual authors are groups under three headings: origins, aims, and methods; themes and approaches; and writing archaeological history. Each essay includes an extensive list of references and a short "select bibliography." Photographs, drawings, tables, and plans.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 C72 2 vols. = 1219 p. (1999).

Dictionary of Archaeology. (Oxford)
Ed. by Ian Shaw and Robert Jameson, 624 p. (1999).
Includes short definitions and longer articles on recent archaeological theory and applications with bibliographies of primary and recent sources. Some maps and drawings. China, Japan, and Oceania are covered.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 D56

Elsevier's Dictionary of Archaeological Materials and Archaeometry in English with Translations of Terms in German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
by Zvi Goffer, 445 p. (1996). Old and New World; origins of civilizations, historical archaeology, 20th-century archaeology. Maps, chronologies/timelines, index.
Avery-Fine Arts N33 G55

Encyclopedia of Archaeology. (Elsever:pub.; Credo:Online vendor)
Ed. by Deborah M. Pearsall. Avery-Fine Arts N5330 En17 : 3 vols. (2008).

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
(ABC-CLIO pub.; Credo: Online vendor)
Ed. by Tim Murray. Comprehensive, world-wide coverage including article bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 En183 : 3 vols. (2001).

Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the world. (Cambridge) 3 vols.=2384 p. (1997).
Ed. by Paul Oliver. Vol. 1: Theories and principles; Vol. 2: Cultures and habitats (Asia, East and Central Australasia and Oceania, Europe and Eurasia, Mediterranean and Southwest Asia); Vol. 3: Cultures and habitats (Latin America, North America, Sub-Saharan Africa, Glossary, Lexicon, Bibliography, Indexes).
Avery AA200 En19

Grove Art Online (an option within Oxford Art Online). (Online)
Ed. by Jane Turner. Covers the prehistorical era to the 1990's with online updates. Includes over 20,000 biographies of artists, collectors, theorists, critics, and scholars. Features extensive survey articles on the cultures and civilizations of the Middle East, Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Australia. The online dictionary has links to images in external websites; interesting sites (people, places, art forms, styles, groups and movements, etc.); and to the Bridgeman Art Library, a comprehensive collection of more than 100,000 images.
Avery Reference N31 D56 (copies available in multiple locations) (34 volume paper version).

International encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages (AKA Lexikon des Mittelalters online). (Online:a selection within Brepols' offerings)
Considered an update to Lexikon des Mittelalters, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. (LIMC) 8 in 16 vols. text and plate vols. (1981-1997)
[Avery Reference N 7760 L59]
Covers Mycenaean to Early Christian. Entries in language of author (English, French, German, Italian). Updated bibliography can be found online on a German website at http://www.rzuser.uni-heidelberg.de/~m99/.  Also see: LIMC (Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae) France. (Online)

Lexikon des Mittelalters. (Onlin:a choice within the Brepols’ offerings: 1977-1999)
The standard encyclopedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online.

Oxford Classical Dictionary. (Online)
Ed. by Simon Hornblower and Antony Sprawforth. (2002) Covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology. (pub.:1996; released Online:2004).
Paper: 844 p. (1996)
Ed. by Brian Faqan. "...covers entire spectrum of human existence" from Australopithecines to modern New York City. All aspects of archaeology from Acheulean tradition to zoology. Signed entries with bibliographies and cross-references. No entries for individual archaeologists, but those mentioned in the text are indexed. Maps and timelines included. Updates and expands the Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology (copies available in multiple locations), but lacks its illustrations of artifacts, architectural forms, and art.
Butler Reference CC70 .O96 2012 (for 2012 edition)

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. (pub.:1988;released Online:2005)

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. (pub.:1991; released Online:2005)
Ed. by Alexander P. Kazhdan. Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. ed. Donald B. Redford. (pub.:2001; released Online:2005)
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. (Online) (2012)
Ed. by Michael Gagarin. This multi-volume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman – from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Butler Reference DE5. O95 2012

Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East. 5 vols. (1997)
[Avery-Fine Arts N 5340 Ox2]

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. ed by David Carrasco.  (2006) (Online)
Chronicles Pre-Hspanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it encompasses the civilizations of the Pe-Columbian era (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods. Treats: art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.

Oxford Islamic Studies online. (Online)
Contains more than 3,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic worlds.

Pauly-Wissova. Brill's new Pauly. (Online)
Intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. See also paper editions:

  • Kleine-Pauly. 5 vols. (1964-1975)
    Avery-Fine Arts  N31 P2811 (copies available in multiple locations)
  • Real-Encyclopaedie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft. 60 vols. +15 vol. suppl. (1894-1978)
    Avery-Fine Arts N31 P281 (copies available in multiple locations)]
  • Index to Suppls.
    Avery-Fine Arts  N31 M95 (copies available in multiple locations)
  • Neue Pauly (1996)
    Avery-Fine Arts  N31 N39 (copies available in multiple locations)
    Best known by the editors' names. The standard classical encyclopaedia.
  • Volume 14+ of Neue Pauly (Rezeptions- und Wissenschafts-geschichte) is useful to not only Ancient historians, but also to historians of the Renaissance through the 18th Century.

Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites. ed Richard Stillwell. (Online)
Ed. by Richard Stillwell. (1976) Avery Reference A31 P93 (1976)
Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations.


Dissertations

Columbia University

Columbia U. Art History and Archaeology and GSAPP Dissertations and Theses.
Stored offsite and paged through Classics (rare books) section of Avery Library. They are found in CLIO by author or title (no subject access). If you don't know the author or title, you can keyword search using the terms "Columbia AND Thesis AND Art History" to retrieve a complete list. There is at least a 2 year gap between the time they are turned in as completed and the time they are released to the library. Dissertations less than two years old may be available in dissertation office. Call to inquire: 854-2854. Abstracts (from 1980-1996) and full text (1990 to date) of our dissertations can be found within Proquest Digital Dissertations.

General

Index to Theses. (Author/title listing (1716-1985), abstracts (1970 to date) (Online)
Index of theses accepted for higher degrees by Universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

Inventaire des Théses de Doctorat. (1893-1986)
Index to French dissertations. Arranged by broad subjects.
Butler Offsite R016.37844 F85

Jahresverzeichnis der Deutschen Hochschulschriften. (Online: 1890-1900, 1904-1909, limited view: 1940-1942)
Index to German dissertations. Arranged by institution.
Butler Offsite R016.37843 J1912 (193701970)

Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Online, indexed 1962-1979, abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date))
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1637. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts   are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present and for masters theses from 1988. In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price.  To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (1861-1972 called Comprehensive Dissertation Index)

Archaeology

Archaologischer Anzeiger. (1963 to date)
End of each year it lists current dissertations in archaeology from Germany and Austria. Arranged by author, gives dissertation title, institution or university and date of completion.
Avery AC D480105

Burt, Eugene. Ethnoart: Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; a Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. (1988)
An example of a subject specific bibliography of dissertations.
Avery-Fine Arts N5313 AB95


Atlases

Ancient World Mapping Center. (Online)
"The Ancient World Mapping Center exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies. The Home page communicates knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, its subject." With support from the National Endowment for the Humanities (2006-2007), the Ancient World Mapping Center has undertaken a major initiative to develop a functioning, international community of scholars, teachers, students and enthusiasts to collaborate in the updating and expansion of the spatial and historical reference information assembled by the Classical Atlas Project. To underpin these efforts, the Center is developing a web-based, multi-lingual, spatially-enabled community support system, built using open-source software and made freely available for reuse by other projects.

Aquae urbis Romae = The waters of the City of Rome. (Online)
Interactive cartographic history of the relationship between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome from 753BC to the present day. Aquae Urbia Romae examines the intersection between natural hydrological elements such as springs, rain, streams, marshes, and the Tiber River, and constructed hydraulic elements such as aqueducts, fountains, sewers, bridges, conduits, etc., that together create the water infrastructure system of Rome.

Atlas of Ancient America. (Facts on File)
Ed. by Michael Coe, Dean Snow and Elizabeth Benson, 240 p. (1986).
Divided by region. Includes chronological table, bibliography by region, gazetteer and index.
Avery-Fine Arts N6501 At65 (copies available in multiple locations)

Atlas of Ancient Archaeology: the most comprehensive atlas of ancient archaeological sites. (O'Mara Books)
Ed. by Jacquetta Hawkes, 271 p. (1994).
Old and New World sites.
Avery Reference AA210 H311

Atlas of classical history. (Prin: Croon Helm; Online vendor: E-brary)
Ed. by Richard J.A. Talbert. (1985)
Maps useful for the undergraduate and an up-to-date scholarly coverage of classical history down to the time of Constantine.
Avery AA260 At647

Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world. (Princeton)
Ed. by Richard J.A. Talbert, 3 vol. (1383 p.) (2000)
Created by the Classical Atlas Project (now, the Ancient World Mapping Center), the Barrington atlas should be useful to anyone with an interest in ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa and Western Asia.
Avery Reference AA260 B27 (copies available in multiple locations)

World Atlas of Archaeology. (G.K. Hall)
Ed. by Michael Wood, 423 p. (1985).
Emphasis on social, economic, and cultural aspects. Maps, reconstructions, photographs. Bibliography, glossary, index.
Avery-Fine Arts N5315 G762 Q


Chronologies & Timelines

Absolute Chronology of the Aegean Early Bronze Age: Archaeology, Radiocarbon, and History. (Sheffield Academic Pr.)
Ed. by Stuart Manning, 370 p. (1995).
Avery-Fine Arts N5620 M31

AlternaTime... A Collection of Timelines on the Web: History and Culture by George Emery. (Online)
(URL: http://www.canisius.edu/~emeryg/time.html#history)

Chronologies du Proche Orient--Chronologies in the Near East: Relative Chronologies and Absolute Chronology 16,000-4,000 B.P.
Ed. by Olivier Aurenche, 2 vol. (1989).
C.N.R.S. International Symposium, Lyon (France) 24-28 November 1986.
Avery Offsite AA963 B7684 no.379

Chronologies in New World Archaeology. (Academic Pr.)
Ed. by Royal Taylor, 587 p. (1978).
Butler E61 .C55

Chronologies in Old World Archaeology. (Univ. of Chicago)
Ed. by Robert Ehrich, 3rd ed, 2 vols. (1992).
Europe, Asia, and Africa. Articles on dating. Illustrations, e.g., of pottery sequences.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 Eh8821 (copies available in multiple locations)

Chronology of Native North American History from Pre-Columbian Times to the Present. (Gale)
Ed. by Duane Champagne, 574 p. (1994).
Butler E77 .C555 1994

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. (Online)
(URL: http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/)


Biographical Sources

American national biography online. (Online)
"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

Archeologia al Femminile: il cammino delle donne nella disciplina archeologica attraverso le figure di otto archeologhe classiche vissute dalla meta dell'Ottocento ad oggi.
Ed. by Laura Nicotra, 304 p. (2004).
Life and work of Ersilia Caetani Lovatelli (1840-1925); Esther Boise Van Deman (1862-1937); Kathleen Mary Kenyon (1906-1978); Raissa Gourevitch Calza (1897-1979); Semni Papaspyridi Karouzou (1898-1994); Gisela Maria Augusta Richter (1882-1972); Luisa Banti (1894-1978); and Alessandra Melucco Vaccaro (1940-2000).
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 N54

Biography and genealogy master index. (Gale:Online vendor)
For nearly thirty years, Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) has been the best place to begin a search for information about people. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.

Biography in Context. (Gale:Online vendor)
The Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 780 volumes of over 130 sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Historic World Leaders, Contemporary Black Biography, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines.

Biography index.
(Wilson:pub.;EBSCO:Online vendor) Biography Index Retrospective (Online: 1946-1983) and to Biography Reference Bank (Online)
Indexes biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews.

Breaking Ground: Pioneering Women Archaeologists. (Univ. Michigan Pr.:publ.; E-brary:Online vendor)
Ed. by Gretzel Cohen and martha Joukowsky. 571 p. (2004) Twelve women including Gertrude L. Bell, Winifred Lamb, and Kathleen Kenyon.
Avery Fine Arts N5335 B74   (copies available in multiple locations)

Directory of North American Egyptologists. (Online)
(URL: http://oi.uchicago.edu/OI/DEPT/RA/ABZU/EGDIR_LIST.HTML)
Sponsored by the Oriental Institute, University of Chicago. Lists individuals, institutions, dissertations

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists. (Online version being ordered 8/13)
Ed. by Tim Murray, 2 vols. (1999).
Essays written by archaeologists on 58 archaeologists presented chronologically from William Camden (1551-1623) to David Clarke (1938-1976) Portraits, illustrations, and both primary and secondary references are included.
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 En18 (copies available in multiple locations)

Makers of Classical Archaeology. (Humanity Bks.)
Ed. by Linda Medwid, 352 p. (2000).
Entries for 119 men and women include education, appointments and awards, excavations, publications, short essay, and sources. Alphabetically arranged from Manolius Andronikos to Robert Wood.
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 M46

Oxford dictionary of national biography. (Online)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, in association with the British Academy is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.

Pastmasters: Eleven Modern Pioneers of Archaeology: V. Gordon Childe, Stuart Piggott, Charles Phillips, Christopher Hawkes, Seton Lloyd, Robert J. Braidwood, Gordon R. Willey, C.J. Becker, Sigfried J. De Laet, J. Desmond Clark, D.J. Mulvaney. (Thames & Hudson)
Ed. by Glyn Daniel, 176 p. (1989).
Avery-Fine Arts N5335 P26

Who's Who in Cypriote Archaeology: Biographical and Bibliographical Notes.by Paul Astrom, 88 p. (1971). (Studies in Mediterranean Archaeology vol. 23.)
Avery AB St93 v.23 (copies available in multiple locations)

Women in Archaeology. (Univ. of Pennsylvania Pr.)
Ed. by Cheryl Claassen, 252 p. (1994).
Forty-one women representing old and new world archaeology are discussed in individually-authored chapters. Biographies of Harriet Boyd Hawes and Edith Hall; Dorothy Hughes Popenoe; Isabel Kelly, Frances Watkins, and Eva Horner; Marian E. White; and Madeline Kneberg Lewis are separate chapters.
Butler CC10 .W66 1994 (copies available in multiple locations)


Cultural Property

International Cultural Property Protection. (Online)
(URL: http://exchanges.state.gov/heritage/culprop.html)
United States State Department, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Links to U.S. and international laws affecting issues of national cultural heritage.

International Directory of Training in Conservation of Cultural Heritage. comp. by Cynthia Rockwell, 5th ed. 167 p. (1994).
International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and the Restoration of Cultural Property, The Getty Conservation Institute.
Avery Reference AA50 In81

Journal of Field Archaeology (Online: 1974 to date and JSTOR 1974 to 2006)
Annual feature column: Antiquities Market, News and Commentary on the Illicit Traffic in Antiquities. 
Avery AB J811



*Thanks in part to the wonderful Boston University Libraries Archaeology Research Guide.

\.