Dissertations


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Columbia University

Columbia U. Art History and Archaeology and GSAPP Dissertations and Theses.
Stored offsite and paged through Classics (rare books) section of Avery Library. They are found in CLIO by author or title (no subject access). If you don't know the author or title, you can keyword search using the terms "Columbia AND Thesis AND Art History" to retrieve a complete list. There is at least a 2 year gap between the time they are turned in as completed and the time they are released to the library. Dissertations less than two years old may be available in dissertation office. Call to inquire: 854-2854. Abstracts (from 1980-1996) and full text (1990 to date) of our dissertations can be found within Proquest Digital Dissertations.

General

Index to Theses. (Author/title listing (1716-1985), abstracts (1970 to date) (Online)
Index of theses accepted for higher degrees by Universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

Inventaire des Th├ęses de Doctorat. (1893-1986)
Index to French dissertations. Arranged by broad subjects.
Butler Offsite R016.37844 F85

Jahresverzeichnis der Deutschen Hochschulschriften. (Online: 1890-1900, 1904-1909, 1940-1942)
Index to German dissertations. Arranged by institution.
Butler Offsite R016.37843 J1912 (193701970)

Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Online, indexed 1962-1979, abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date))
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1637. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts   are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present and for masters theses from 1988. In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price.  To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (1861-1972 called Comprehensive Dissertation Index)

Archaeology

Archaologischer Anzeiger. (1963 to date)
End of each year it lists current dissertations in archaeology from Germany and Austria. Arranged by author, gives dissertation title, institution or university and date of completion.
Avery AC D480105

Burt, Eugene. Ethnoart: Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; a Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. (1988)
An example of a subject specific bibliography of dissertations.
Avery-Fine Arts N5313 AB95