Journals & Books Full Text Online


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

NOTE: Columbia University Libraries subscribes to a substantial number of electronic journals, aggregated in the list of services below, which can be found by searching the journal by title in CLIO. Additionally, Columbia Libraries subscribes to aggregators of electronic books, each of which should be findable in CLIO.

If you wish to see a list of electronic journals in Archaeology, click into Quicksearch, select “catalog” then select “e-journal titles” from the list on the left. Then type in the words archaeolog* OR archeology* OR archaeology* in the search box.  You can limit by language or other elements (see list on left of screen).  Be sure to notice the full text years of coverage listed in each full record in CLIO to make sure it includes what you need before clicking on the URL.

Abbreviations

Journal Abbreviations used in American Journal of Archaeology. (Online: URL: http://www.ajaonline.org/index.php?ptype=page&pid=8)

Selected Full Text Journal Aggregators & Full Text Journal Collections

American periodicals series online, 1740-1941. (Proquest:Online vendor)
Digitized reproductions of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III.

AnthroSource. (Online)
Integrates over 100 years of the American Anthropological Associations' publications in a single searchable resource.

British Periodicals. (Proquest:Online vendor: Late 17th to early 20th century)
Provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images. (This is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online -- see below)

Cambridge journals online. (Online)
Presents full text coverage of over 300 electronic journals that are published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), headquartered in Cambridge, England. Lists the current titles that are available. Notes that registration is required. Explains that all users have access to the tables of contents, abstracts, and searching and alerting services. States that only subscribers have access to the full text of articles. Provides online registration and subscription information.

EBSCOhost electronic journal service. (Online)
Gateway to thousands of journals in a variety of disciplines. Dates of earliest issue varies from journal to journal.

Ingenta. (Online: 1988-to date)
Current, multidisciplinary database with keyword searching and journal browsing. Offering online access to selected electronic journals based on institutional subscriptions.

JSTOR. (Online)
JSTOR is in the process of becoming "a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." Complete runs of individual journals are available up to approximately the last five years and some of which cover up to current issues in the following areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. JSTOR provides keyword searching of any number of journals simultaneously. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO

Lexis-Nexis academic. (Online)
Academic Universe is a database of current (generally since the mid-1980's) international newspapers and magazines that can be searched for archaeology news in general, interviews with archaeologists, book reviews, and obituaries.

Oxford journals online. (Online)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years.

Periodicals Archive Online. (Proquest:Online vendor)
Archive of over 700 digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes high-resolution digitized page images Covers journals from the 17th century to the early 20th century. (Use Periodicals Index Online to find specific articles in this database.)

Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online. (Online)
Scholarly full-text journals covering arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Searchable collectively or singly. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO..

ProQuest historical newspapers. (Online)
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1925), Boston Globe (1872-1901), Chicago Tribune (1890-1958), Los Angeles Times (1881-1968), New York Times (1851-2001), Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), Washington Post (1877-1988), and more. Every page from every issue in PDF files.

Science Direct. (Online)
Searchable collectively or browse subject categories. Individual journal titles, such as Journal of Archaeological Science (March 2003-) have been added to CLIO.

Torrossa (a.k.a. Editoria italiana online : EIO). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. Titles here do NOT always appear in CLIO.

University of Chicago Press journals online. (Online)
Multidisciplinary collection of journals published by the University of Chicago Press.

Selected Full Text Book Aggregators & Full Text Book Collections

Don't forget to try Google Books. Once on the Google screen, click on "more," choose "Books" in the dropdown menu.

ACLS Humanities E-Book. (Online)
Provides full-text and full-page image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with ten learned societies and 80 contributing publishers. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance. (Online)
Collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (Online:a choice within Projekt Dyabola)
A database of texts and images which documents the links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.

EBRARY. (Online)
Collection of thousands of online full-text books in a variety of subject areas. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

EBSCO e-book collection. (Online)
Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain. WARNING: Only one person can gain access to NetLibrary titles at a time. Books owned by Columbia University Librariesin this collection can be found in CLIO.

*eHRAF. (Online)
A collection of full-text information (e.g. books, journal articles, and dissertations) on archaeological traditions from around the world. The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is unique in that the text is subject-indexed for quick retrieval of information. Every year more archaeological traditions are added to the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online. (Online)
Contains more than 5,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic world.

Torrossa (a.k.a. Editoria italiana online : EIO). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. Titles here do NOT always appear in CLIO.