Websites in Archaeology
ABZU -- see ETANA
Research Archives of the Oriental Institute, Chicago.
AMAR: archive of Mesopotamian archaeological site reports. (Online)
Digitized versions of "archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf). This will include both out-of-copyright as well as in-copyright and in-print materials."
Ara Pacis Augustae. /ed. by Charles Rhyne. (Online)
This web site is to make available a more comprehensive body of images of the Ara Pacis than previously available in any print or web publication. It includes images of closely related material and photographs of the new Museo dell'Ara Pacis, in which the altar is now newly restored and displayed. It should be seen as a supplement to the 2006/2009 volume, Ara Pacis, by Orietta Rossini, Responsabile Ufficio Ara Pacis. (Fine Arts NB115 R728).
Archnet: Virtual Library of Archaeology. (Online)
The ArchNet website is designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge about archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic. As you browse through ArchNet you are invited to discover links to thousands of web presentations devoted to archaeology, ancient sites, and artifact studies. The content of these presentations is not stored within ArchNet, rather the ArchNet web site provides indexes, searches, and links to this growing body of diverse educational resources.
ARGE: Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe. (Online)
ARGE database contains links to evaluated Internet resources (mainly web pages, but also other resources such as discussion lists) concerning European archaeology. Links indexed by country, subject, and period.
Art and Archaeology of Africa. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Extensive list of links created at Columbia University.
Beazley Archive. (Online)
ed. Donna Kurtz, Reader in Classical Archaeology and Fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford University, and Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, England. Based on Sir John Beazley's personal archive of materials related to the study of classical art and archaeology. Online collections include Athenian pottery, sculpture casts, and gems.
CLAROS: The World of Art on the Semantic Web. (Online)
Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international interdisciplinary research federation using the latest developments in information and communication technologies to bring the art of the Classical world to everyone.
ETANA: electronic tools and ancient Near Eastern archives. (Online)
A portal to ancient Near Eastern web resources, including archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain. Includes ABZU: Guide to resources for the study of the Ancient Near East available on the internet.
LIMC (Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae) France: databases. (Online)
Free registration required for access. Contains three databases:  LIMCicon contains data relating to ancient Graeco-Roman documents bearing a mythological or religious representation.  LIMCbiblio contains recent bibliographical data to complete the information published in the LIMC volumes.  LIMCabrev allows you to find the full names of the bibliographical abbreviations used in the LIMC, in the ThesCRA and on this site.
Supplement to the paper: Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. (LIMC) 8 in 16 vols. text and plate vols. (1981-1997): http://www.rzuser.uni-heidelberg.de/~m99/.
LIMC Covers Mycenaean to Early Christian. Entries in language of author (Eng., French, German, Italian).
Avery Reference N 7760 L59
Nemea Valley archaeological project archaeological survey. (Online)
NVAP-AS was organized in 1983 to investigate through the technique of intensive surface survey an area of approximately 80 square kilometers in the southern Corinthia, Greece. The area extends from Mt. Phoukas and the ridge of the ancient city-state of Phlius, on the north, to the Dervenakia (Tretos) Pass and Mt. Strongylo, on the south. From 1984-86, three teams of archaeologists operating in the field each summer examined a total of 50 square kilometers; in 1989, much of the remainder was inspected using less intensive procedures. The archaeological survey was the first in Greece to take as its most basic unit of analysis not the site but rather the individual artifact: we have been interested in explaining the existence of all traces of activity in the ancient landscape, not only major concentrations of artifacts or those that remain in the places where they were originally deposited." Links to information, publications, and images from the Nemea Valley archaeological survey.
Perseus Digital Library. (Online)
ed. Gregory Crane, Classics Department, Tufts University. "...an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond". Begun as a collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world, it now contains Latin texts and tools and Renaissance materials.
Pompeii Forum Project. (Online)
The Pompeii Forum Project is a collaborative venture that focuses on the urban center of Pompeii. There are three components to the project: documentation of standing remains; archaeological analysis; and urban study that seeks a) to interpret the developments at Pompeii in the broader context of urban history and b) to identify at Pompeii recurring patterns of urban evolution that can be applied to contemporary issues in American urbanism.
Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean. (Online)
by Jeremy Ritter, Classics Department, Dartmouth College. "Through a series of lessons and illustrations, [this site] traces the cultural evolution of humanity in the Aegean basin from the era of hunting and gathering (Palaeolithic-Mesolithic) through the early village farming stage (Neolithic) and the formative period of Aegean civilization into the age of the great palatial cultures of Minoan Crete and Mycenaean Greece."
- American Center of Oriental Research (ACOR)
- American School of Oriental Research (ASOR)
- Archaeological Institute of America (AIA)
- Cyprus American Archaeological Research Institute (CAARI)
- Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI)
- Egypt Exploration Society
- Institut française d'archéologie orientale (IFAO)
- International Center for East Asian Archaeology and Cultural History (ICEAACH)
- International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)
- The Oriental Institute - The University of Chicago