Archives


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Specific Archives

Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library. Drawing and Archives. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Website covering introductory materials about Avery's Drawing and Archives, an archive of architectural materials which contains about 500,000 items, including drawings, blueprints, photographs, correspondence and other architectural records.
Please make an appointment with the Curator, Janet Parks, to see materials in this collection.

J. Paul Getty Center for the History of Art and the Humanities. Archives of the History of Art: Preliminary Guide to the Collections. (1985)
Avery-Fine Arts N35 Ar254

Pidgeon digital. (Online)
Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon.

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art. (Online as a part of SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art. Card Catalogue of the Manuscript Collections. 10 vols. (1981) and Suppl. (1985)
Avery Reference N35 Ar253

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art.Card Catalogue of the Oral History Collections. (1984)
Avery Reference N35 Ar2533

Union Lists/Directories

ArchiveGrid. (Online)
Index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom. Contains both detailed collection guides and records consisting primarily of summary descriptions of archives, manuscripts, and special collections.

Archives & Manuscripts Collections. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
A Columbia University Libraries assembled selective guide to finding archives and manuscript collections. It includes catalogs and finding aids at Columbia, as well as national catalogs and databases. It also includes a list of national archives and libraries, college and university collections, and historical society archives.

ArchiveFinder. (Online)
A directory of archives and manuscript repositories, with some links to web pages for the repositories and to online finding aids. Indexes the microfilm collection, National Inventory of Documentary Sources, and reproduces the entries in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Searchable by: collection name; city; state; National Inventory of Documentary Sources (NIDS) number; and National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) number.