Compiled Guide



Literature Guides & Research Methods

General

Balay, Robert. Guide to Reference. (Online (2008)
Online version to Guide to Reference Books, a long respected annotated bibliography on reference tools in all subjects. 

Art History

Freitag, W. Art Books: a Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. (1997)
Avery Reference N35 F881 (copies available in multiple locations)
Notes existence of catalogues raisonnés with a CR.

Jones, L.S. Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It. (1999)
Avery Reference N59 J71 (copies available in multiple locations)
Could be considered a revision of title below, except that it replaces much material with tips for searching for materials on art and art history on the Internet.

Jones, L.S. Art Information Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed.(1990)
Avery Reference N 35 J7211 (copies available in multiple locations)
Good introduction to art resources. Two sections: research methodology and annotated bibliography. Includes definitions of corpora and festschriften (p. 49-50), and catalogues raisonnés and oeuvre catalogues (p. 23-24). Author/title/profession index.

Marmor, Max and Alex Ross. Guide to the literature of art history 2. (2005)
Avery Reference N35 M34
The standard annotated bibliographic guide in art history.
This is a supplement to: Arntzen, E. and R. Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. (1980) [Avery Fine Arts Reference N35 Ar664 (copies available in multiple locations)]


Primary Sources

The following are anthologies of primary literary sources of western art history.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance. (Online)
Collection of treatises on art and architecture from 1470 to 1775. Structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

The books that shaped art history: from Gombrich and Greenberg to Alpers and Krauss / edited by Richard Shone and John-Paul Stonard. (2013)
Collection of sixteen essays on the most influential books in art history from the 20th century. Bibliographical essays follow at the end.
Avery-LC N7425 .S36 2013g

Getty Research Portal. (Online)
An online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.

Schlosser, Julius von. Die Kunstliteratur. (1924; reprint 1985)
Survey of early art literature from late antiquity to the 18th century. Best for the Renaissance. Includes bibliographies. Later editions in French and Italian with updated bibliographies follow.
Avery-Fine Arts N35 Sch952 (copies available in multiple locations)

Sources and Documents in the History of Art Series. (Prentice-Hall, 1965-1983)
Anthologies of sources of Western art history in translation. Each vol. on a specific period, with scholarly introductions by authorities, e.g. C. Gilbert ed., Italian Art 1400-1500; R. Klein and H. Zerner eds., Italian Art 1500-1600; J.J. Pollitt, Art of Rome, c.753BC-AD377: sources and documents. Titles can be found in Avery card catalog and in CLIO by author, title and by series. 

Robertson, Jack S. Twentieth-Century Artists on Art: an Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers. (1996)
Avery-Fine Arts N6490 R5471
See also {Section 16: Archives}


Directories & Biographical Dictionaries

Directories

American Association of Museums. Official Museum Directory. (Online)
Includes all types of museums within the United States.

International Directory of Arts. (Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N50 In81 (copies available in multiple locations)
Directory of Museums, Galleries, Universities, Colleges, Associations, Art Dealers, Auctioneers, etc.

Museums of the World. (Online)
Includes all types of museums.

World of Learning. (Online)
Directory which includes Research Institutions, Libraries, Archives, Museums, Universities, Colleges, etc.

Biographical Dictionaries

(NOTE: Core art historical biographical dictionaries are preceded by an asterisk)

*Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon (AKL). (1983-) (Online)
Avery Reference N40 AL52
In a few decades this will supersede Thieme-Becker. Remarkably international in scope (note all the Arabic names in vol. 1).

American national biography online. (Online) "Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

Arts+Architecture. (Online-a choice within Arts:Search offerings) Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects.

*Bénézit, E. Dictionary of artists. (Online:option within Oxford Art Online offerings)
Avery-Fine Arts N40 B43112
A General biographical dictionary, Benezit is comparable to Thieme-Becker, but smaller, with a French orientation. Includes artists signatures.

Biography and genealogy master index.(Gale:Online vendor) For nearly thirty years, Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) has been the best place to begin a search for information about people. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.

Biography in Context.(Gale:Online vendor) The Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 528,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from over 130 sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Historic World Leaders, Contemporary Black Biography, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines.

Biography index. (Wilson:pub; EBSCO:Online vendor)Biography Index Retrospective (1946-1983) and to Biography Reference Bank (1983 to date)
Indexes biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews.

Dictionary of art historians: a biographical dictionary of historians, museum directors and scholars of art. Ed. by Lee Sorensen, Duke University.
A biographical/bibliographical lexicon of historic scholars of art.

Havlice, P. Index to Artistic Biography. (1973, suppls. 1981, 2002)
Avery-Fine Arts N40 H29...
Directs reader to entries in 134 standard biographical works.

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 vols. (1982)
Avery Reference AA31 M223

Oxford dictionary of national biography. (Online)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, in association with the British Academy is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times until today. It is the product of research instituted at the and funded by the and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 2009.

Savage, David. Cavallini to Veronese: a guide to the works of the major Italian Renaissance painters. (2012-) (Online)
Provides brief artist’s biography, descriptive and location information on the works of eighty Italian Renaissance artists dating from the late thirteenth century to the late sixteenth century.

Seymour, N. An Index-Dictionary of Chinese Artists, Collectors, and Connoisseurs with Character Identification by Modified Stroke Count. (1988)
Starr East Asian Reference N7348 .S48 1988

*Thieme-Becker. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. (Online within AKL) 37 vols. (1907-50)
Avery Reference N40 T34
Known by the editors' surnames. The major biographical dictionary in art history. Signed entries, bibliographies, works lists.

*Vollmer, H. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler des XX. Jahrhunderts. (Online within AKL) 6 vols. (1953-62)
Avery Reference N40 V8
Supplements the preceding.

Who Was Who in American Art, 1898-1947. (1985)
Avery-Fine Arts N6536 F18 (copies available in multiple locations)
For dead or retired American artists.

Who's Who in American Art. Annual.
Avery-Fine Arts N50 Am332 (copies available in multiple locations)
For living American artists.

Who's Who in Art. Annual.
Avery Reference N50 W62 (copies available in multiple locations)

 


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, Multi-volume Surveys, & Corpora

Encyclopedias, Chronologies, & Dictionaries

(NOTE: Core art historical Encyclopedias, etc. are preceded by an asterisk)

*Architectural Publications Society. Dictionary of Architecture. 8 vols. in 5. (1852-92)
Avery Reference AA31 Ar2

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. (Online-an option within Oxford Art Online) Ed. by Michael Clarke.

Dictionary of Japanese Art Terms. (bilingual) (1990)
Starr East Asian Reference NX80 .N53 1990

*Enciclopedia Dell'Arte Antica, Classica e Orientale. Ed. by R. Bianchi-Bandinelli, G. Beccati. 7 vols.;. v.8 Indici; v.9 Atlante dei Complessi Figurati, v.10-11 Atlante delle Forme Ceramiche, 2 vols. (1958-85) and suppls: 1st (1970) 1 vol; 2nd (1994) 2 vols.
Avery-Fine Arts N31 En16 and N31 En161...

*Enciclopedia dell'Arte Medievale. Dir. by Angiola Maria Romanini. 12 vols. (1991-2002)
Avery-Fine Arts N31 En163

*Encyclopedia of World Art. 15 vols., index and suppls: (1959-68) (1983) (1987)
Avery-Fine Arts N31 En19 (copies available in multiple locations)
Was the standard until the publication Grove Art Online (Dictionary of Art) {see 5.6 below}, but this set continues to be an invaluable encyclopedia, but simply not with current literature or interests.

Erlich, R.W. Chronologies in Old World Archaeology. 2 vol. (1992)
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 Eh8821 (copies available in multiple locations)

*Grove Art Online. (Online: an option within Oxford Art Online)
Avery Reference N31 D56  (1996) 34 vols) as Dictionary of Art.
The standard scholarly art historical encyclopedia.

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art. (Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N6505 .G76 2011

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts. (Online)
Avery AK30 G93 (2006)
Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Includes entries on Alvar Aalto, Charles and Ray Eames,  Navajo blankets, etc. . Also included are hundreds of entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art form and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furniture, textiles, and ceramics.

International encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages. (Online: a choice within Brepols' offerings)
Considered an update to Lexikon des Mittelalters, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Lexikon des Mittelalters. (Online: a choice within Brepols' offerings)
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online.

Mayer, Ralph. Artist's Handbook of Materials and Techniques. (1991)
Avery Reference ND1260 M45111
Explains the technical process of creating visual art.

Oxford Art Online. (Online)
Includes: Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Oxford Classical Dictionary. (Online) Ed. by Simon Hornblower and Anthony Spawforth (2002).
Covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology. (Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N5330 Ox2 (1996)

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. (Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N33 Ox211 (2003)

Oxford companion to Western Art. (Online-an option within Oxford Art Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N33 Ox211] (2001)
Ed. by Hugh Brigstocke.

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium.  (Print:2001;released Online:2005) Ed. by Alexander P. Kazhdan. Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (Print:2001;released Online:2005) Ed. by Donald B. Reford. Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East. 5 vols. (1997)
Avery-Fine Arts N5340 Ox2 (copies available in multiple locations)

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures. (Printed:2001;released Online:2006) Ed. by David Carrasco. Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online. (Online)
Ed. by John L. Esposito. Contains more than 5,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic worlds.

Pauly-Wissowa. Brill's new Pauly. (Online)
Intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.

  • Kleine-Pauly. 5 vols. (1964-1975)
    Avery Reference N31 P2811 (copies available in multiple locations)
  • Real-Encyclopaedie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft. 60 vols. +15 vol. suppl. (1894-1978)
    Avery Reference N31 P281 (copies available in multiple locations)
  • Index to Suppls.
    Avery Reference N31 M95 (copies available in multiple locations)
  • Neue Pauly (1996)
    Avery Reference N31 N39 (copies available in multiple locations)
    Best known by the editors' names. The standard classical encyclopaedia.
  • Volume 14+ of Neue Pauly (Rezeptions- und Wissenschafts-geschichte) is useful to not only Ancient historians, but also to historians of the Renaissance through the 18th Century.

Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites. (Online)
Avery Reference A31 P93
ed. Richard Stillwell, 1019 p. (1976). Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations.

Reallexikon zur Byzantinischen Kunst.
Avery-Fine Arts N6250 R22  (1963-97)

Schmitt, Otto. Reallexikon zur Deutschen Kunstgeschichte. (Online)
Avery-Fine Arts N31 Sch5  (1937-)
Despite its title it is not restricted to Germany. For example: W. S. Heckscher's entry on "Emblem, Emblembuch" is authoritative. Covers Middle ages to 1850. Bibliographies at end of each article.

Corpora

Occasionally there exists a published corpus of many or all known works in a given genre (e.g. Byzantine ivories). Two such corpora are exemplified here. Others may be found in the card catalog or CLIO by subject, or refer to appropriate subject bibliographies. Another category of corpora are catalogues raisonnes, which are published efforts to collocate the works of a single artist.  There is a website (the third item below) that has a database of published catalogues raisonnes and those in preparation.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (CVA) (Online)
Avery AK 3800 ... (for exact call numbers see card catalog or CLIO) (1922-)
Summary guide: Avery AK 3800 In84
Photographic survey of classical vases arranged by country and collection. Index not yet published.

Critical and Historical Corpus of Florentine Painting. Over 20 vols. (1930-)
Avery-Fine Arts ND620 F66 0f22
Corpus of Renaissance Italian painting of Florence. Begun by Richard Offner, continued since 1984 by various scholars.

International Foundation for Art Research. Catalogues Raisonnes. (Online:as part of the IFAR website)
A database of published catalogues raisonnes and those in preparation.


Indexes, Current Literature, & Full-Text Online Resources

Indexes

(Note: Core art historical indexes are preceded by an asterisk)

AATA Online. (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts.) (Online: 1932 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts N35 Ar75 (1955-2000)
Compiled by the Getty Conservation Institute. Prior to 1997 also compiled by the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, London and the Canadian Heritage Information Network.
 and also within BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (1955-1997) (see Below)

AIDA: articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature. (Online: 1997 to date)
Citation database containing journal articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, classified using the Basis Classification in German and Italian.

America: History and Life. (EBSCO: Online vendor: 1964-to date)
Subject, author, title and keyword index to articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

L'Anneé Philologique. (Online: 1924-2009)
Butler Reference R016.88 M341 (1924/26 to date) Annual. (copies available in multiple locations)
The standard index of current literature for classical archaeology and philology.

* Art Source. (EBSCO: Online vendor: 1937 to date)
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for some, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications.

ARTBibliographies Modern. (Proquest: Online vendor: 1974-to date)
Index to literature on 19th and 21st century art. (Identified online as CSA Illumina: Artbibliographies Modern)

Article First. (OCLC: Online vendor: 1990-to date)
Formerly known as Contents First, this offers citations and abstracts for articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture periodicals.

Articles.(Online: Federated Search Engine: an option within Quicksearch)
Articles allows you to search through a massive collection of mostly full text journal articles, e-books, and conference proceedings. It does not include newspapers, but you can choose to include newspaper articles from the search results page. If you wish to use a Federated Search Engine, I would suggest instead: 1. Custom Search or 2.EbscoHost Research Database or 3. Proquest.  See details below.

Artlibraries.net : virtual catalogue for art history. (Online) -- See section 16.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (within Web of Knowledge: Scroll down to bottom of first screen and unclick all options but Art & Humanities Citation Index).  (Online: 1975–to date)
Interdisciplinary index to books and articles.  Can also search by citation, to allow you to discover who cites whom.

ATLA Religion Database. (EBSCO: Online vendor: 1949 to date)
Indexes periodicals from 1949, multi-authored works from 1960, book reviews from 1975.

*Avery Index. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO:Online vendor) OR Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Proquest: Online vendor (19th century  to date, with some earlier citations back to 1741)
Standard architectural periodical index, which also may include archaeology, mosaics, mural painting, architectural sculpture, etc.   EBSCO: Disadvantage-different field terms should be entered in separate search boxes; Advantage-Avery call numbers found at bottom of citation. PROQUEST: Disadvantage: Avery call numbers not in record; Advantage: can put multiple terms in single search box.  Use keyword to retrieve newer and older citations.

BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (Online: 1954 to date)
Incorporates v.1-34 (1955-1997) of Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA see above). Now it is compiled by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), the International Center for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), and the National Archives of Canada.

*BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. (Online: 1973-2007)
This includes 1973-1989 of RAA (see below).  Index to books and articles on western art history from late antiquity to the mid-20th century, or non-western art as it influences western art of this period. Ceased in 2007. Continued by International Bibliography of Art.

Bibliographie de civilisation medievale. (Online: a choice within Brepols' offerings: 1957 to date)
A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics.

Book Review Digest  (Wilson:pub.; EBSCO: Online vendor) Book Review Digest Plus (1983 to date)  and Book Review Digest Retro (1905 to 1982)
Indexes to book reviews of works of fiction and nonfiction, reference works, textbooks, and children's books in the areas of art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, library and information science, music, religion, science and technology, and social sciences.

Book Review Index Plus. (Infotrac:pub.; Gale Online vendor: 1965 to date)
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

British Humanities Index. (Proquest: Online vendor: 1962 to date)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.

Contemporary American Art Critics. (1984-1988) (pub.: UMI)
Published titles include Kuspit, D. The Critic is Artist: Intentionality in Art. Titles can be found in CLIO by author, title and by series.

*Custom Search.(Online :Federated Search Engine:find by typing “Custom search” in Quicksearch box, click on URL in result)
Local consolidation of many online indexes broken down  by discipline, which allows you to perform simple searches in multiple databases.  Choose your discipline, then search. Limits results to 30 citations per database, but you can see how many results each database retrieved.  Click on “view retrieved” in upper right, then to see results coherently, then sclick on “citation list” on left side.

Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR). (Online as a part of Arts:Search offerings: 1921-1986)
Ongoing abstracting and indexing service covering many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. When complete it will cover over 70 titles.

*Dyabola. (listed as Projekt Dyabola). (Online: 1958-to date) (There is also a free version available (ZENON.DAI), which, when searched, gives slightly different results: http://opac.dainst.org)   Useful tutorials:  (Linked in CLIO record): U-Tube tutorial from NYU and text tutorial from Berkeley.
Citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. The print version, Archaeologisches Bibliographie ceased in 1993. Projekt Dyabola also includes other databases covering arts of the antiquities, e.g. Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrunderts v. Chr (see below), Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (see above), Corpus der Antiken Denkmaler, etc.

*EbscoHost Research Databases (Online: can be used as Ebsco-only Federated Search Engine: Find by clicking on the tiny word CLIO beneath Quicksearch boc, then click on “Articles” in middle of page, then Ebscohost.)
When you get into this database, ALL of the indexes EBSCO offers are turned on.  It would be best if you choose our own or you will be inundated with Science, Technology and Medical results. Do this by clicking on “Choose Databases.” An alphabetically arranged list of indexes appears. Deselect them all, and then choose those that would make sense for your topic.

Essay & General Literature. (Wilson:pub.; EBSCO: Online vendor: 1985 to date)
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Foster, Hal, ed. Discussions in Contemporary Culture. (1987-1995) (pub.: Bay Pr.)
Avery-Fine Arts N7240 D63
Essays on contemporary issues in the arts. Includes essays by Bernard Tschumi, Gayatri Spivak, Barbara Kruger, Jonathan Crary, Rosalind Krauss, etc.

Garland Reference Library of the Humanities. (pub.: Garland)
Published titles include E. Kaufman and S. Irish, Medievalism: an Annotated Bibliography. Titles can be found in the card catalog or CLIO by author, title, and, since 1976, by series.

Garden Landscape & Horticultural Index. (EBSCO: Online vendor: 1964 to date)
Provides access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.

Humanities Index (Wilson:pub.; EBSCO: Online vendor) (Humanities Full text (1984-to date) and  Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
The database indexes, and 1984 to date abstracts feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

*International Bibliography of Art. (Proquest: Online vendor:1990s to date)
ProQuest database of citations to articles and books in western art beginning in 2008 to present.  Coverage partially mirrors the now frozen Bibliography of the History of Art, and more is being added.

International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ = Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur.) (Online: 1983 to date)
Indispensable for interdisciplinary research, this universal index of periodical literature covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 2.5 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the periodicals published on the European continent.

International Medieval Bibliography. (Online: a choice within Brepols' offerings: 1967 to date)
Butler Reference R016.9401 In86 (1980-2001)
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967 to date, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.

Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (Online: 1784 to date)
Bibliographic databases pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Indexes over 1,700 journals published since 1784 as well as 12,000 scholarly collections published since 1874. In addition is has a online version of P.O. Kristeller's Iter Italicum, Baptisteria Sacra: an Iconographic Index of Baptismal Fonts, an International Directory of Scholars, and more.

19th Century Master File. (Online: 1800-1925)
Includes several 19th-century periodical indexes (including Poole's), as well as indexing of the Harper's Magazine, The New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905).

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Online) and Oxford Bibliographies. Art History (Online)
Spanning multiple disciplines, Oxford Bibliographies presents bibliographic articles on specific subjects with short essays and carefully annotated citations, all compiled by well-respected experts and carefully vetted by their peers in their disciplines.  The site offers introductions to each topic, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journal articles, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.  These bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Also contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized lists of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Periodicals Index Online. (Proquest: Online vendor: 1770 to early 20th century)
An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). (When no corresponding text is available in PAO, an E-link is displayed.)

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online.  (Online)
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy collecting data from journals, books open access archives and personal papers.

Proquest.(Online: can be used as a Proquest-only Federated Search Engine: Find by clicking on the tiny word CLIO beneath Quicksearch boc, then click on “Articles” in middle of page, then Proquest.)
When you get into this database, ALL of the indexes Proquest offers are turned on.  It would be best if you choose our own or you will be inundated with Science, Technology and Medical results. Do this by clicking on “# Databases” that is to the right of the word “searching at the top left of the screen. An alphabetically arranged list of indexes appears. Unselect them all, and then choose those that would make sense for your topic.

Reference Publications in Art History. (also referred to as Reference Publication in Art History (1982-1996) (pub.: G.K. Hall)
Published titles include J. Stubblebine, Dugento Painting: an Annotated Bibliography and C. Karpinski, Italian Printmaking Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries: an Annotated Bibliography. Titles can be found in the card catalog or CLIO by author, title and by series.

*Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie.
Avery-Fine Arts N2 R29 (1910 to 1972)
This title merged with RILA to form BHA. Covers 200AD to early 20th century.
From 1973 is available in Bibliography of the History of Art {see above}

RIBA: British Architectural Library Online Catalogue and Index. (Online: late 1970's to date)
Library catalog and index to approximately 300 current architectural periodicals. Subjects include: architecture, architectural conservation, urban history, construction technology, design, environmental studies, landscape and planning. Periodical citations from the late 1970's. (Identified online as architecture.com. Click on "search the online catalogue.")

Schmidt, M. Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals. (EBSCO: Online vendor)
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Sch551
Index to 42 art journals published between 1800-1899.

Bibliographies about Art Journals

Roberts, Helene. American Art Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century. (1961)
Avery-Fine Arts N35 R543

Robinson, Doris. Fine Arts Periodicals: an International Directory of the Visual Arts. (1991)
Avery-Fine Arts N50 R554

Journals & Books Full Text Online

Selected Full-Text Online Journal Collections & Aggregators

NOTE: Columbia University Libraries subscribes to a substantial number of electronic journals, aggregated in the list of services below, which can be found by searching the journal by title in CLIO. Additionally, Columbia Libraries subscribes to aggregators of electronic books, each of which should be findable in CLIO.

American periodicals series online. (Proquest: Online vendor: 1740-1941)
Digitized reproductions of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III.

AnthroSource. (Online)
Integrates over 100 years of the American Anthropological Associations' publications in a single searchable resource.

British Periodicals. (Proquest: Online vendor: late 17th to early 20th century)
Provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images. (This is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online -- see below)

Cambridge journals online
Presents full text coverage of over 300 electronic journals that are published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), headquartered in Cambridge, England. Lists the current titles that are available. Notes that registration is required. Explains that all users have access to the tables of contents, abstracts, and searching and alerting services. States that only subscribers have access to the full text of articles. Provides online registration and subscription information.

Eastview Universal Databases. (Online)
This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

EBSCOhost electronic journal service. (Online)
Gateway to thousands of journals in a variety of disciplines. Dates of earliest issue varies from journal to journal.

Gu gong qi kan tu wen zi liao ku : Databases of articles and images from the National Palace Museum's periodicals. (Online)
Provides searchable full text for four periodicals published by Taiwan Palace Museum including Gugong wen wu yue kan; Gugong ji kan; Gugong xue shu ji kan; Ying wen ban yue kan (or ban nian kan).

Ingenta. (Online: 1988-to date)
Current, multidisciplinary database with keyword searching and journal browsing. Offering online access to selected electronic journals based on institutional subscriptions.

JSTOR. (Online)
JSTOR is in the process of becoming "a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." Complete runs of individual journals are available up to approximately the last five years, and in selected titles up to the present in the following areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. JSTOR provides keyword searching of any number of journals simultaneously. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO.

Lexis-Nexis academic. (Online)
Academic Universe is a database of current (generally since the mid-1980's) international newspapers and magazines that can be searched for archaeology news in general, interviews with archaeologists, book reviews, and obituaries.

Oxford journals online. (Online)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years.

Periodicals Archive Online. (Proquest: Online vendor)
Archive of over 700 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images Covers journals from the 17th century to the early 20th century. (Use Periodicals Index Online to find specific articles in this database.)

Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online.
Scholarly full-text journals covering arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Searchable collectively or singly. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO.

ProQuest historical newspapers. (Online)
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1925), Boston Globe (1872-1901), Chicago Tribune (1890-1958), Los Angeles Times (1881-1968), New York Times (1851-2001), Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), Washington Post (1877-1988), every page from every issue in PDF files.

ReVIEW. (Online as a part of Arts:Search offerings)
ReVIEW is a service that aims to digitize many of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the nineteenth and early years twentieth centuries. 

Torrossa (a.k.a.Editoria Italiana Online:E.I.O). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. Note: Titles within do not always appear in CLIO.

University of Chicago Press journals online.
Multidisciplinary collection of journals published by the University of Chicago Press.

Selected Full-Text Online Book Collections & Aggregators

Don't forget to try Google Books, particularly for pre-1923 titles. Once on the Google screen, click on "more," choose "Books" in the dropdown menu. Worldcat is also a rich resource for freely available full text books.

ACLS Humanities E-Book. (Online)
Provides full-text and full-page image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with ten learned societies and 80 contributing publishers. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance. (Online)
Collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance. (Online as a choice within Projekt Dyabola offerings)
A database of texts and images which documents the links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.

EBRARY. (Online)
Collection of thousands of online full-text books in a variety of subject areas. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

EBSCO E-book collection. (Online)
Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain. WARNING: Only one person can gain access to NetLibrary titles at a time. Books owned by Columbia University Libraries in this collection can be found in CLIO.

eHRAF. (Online)
A collection of full-text information (e.g. books, journal articles, and dissertations) on archaeological traditions from around the world. The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is unique in that the text is subject-indexed for quick retrieval of information. Every year more archaeological traditions are added to the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology.

FastiOnline. (Online: 2000 to date) Earlier title in print: Fasti Archaeologici (1946-1986) (Avery AB F26)
Coverage of current excavations, begun in Italy and expanding to Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Romania and Serbia. This database contains a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, at the discretion of the site director, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century, and reports on restoration projects and new museum displays are also welcomed. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Links will be provided to a project’s web site where possible.

Internet Archive. (Online)
As a non-profit, this site is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Contains more than 5,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic world.

Torrossa (ak.a. Editoria Italiana Online: E.I.O). (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. NOTE: Titles within do not always appear in CLIO.


Specialized Subject Bibliographies

Eastern Art (Middle East, South Asian, Southeast Asian, & Far East)

Here is a brief list of sources for non-western arts. – be sure to look within the Columbia University Libraries website under Electronic Resources--Subject Guides where individual geographic area subject specialists have developed or connected to web sites. E.g. African studies, East Asian Studies, Latin American studies, Middle East studies, Russian and East European studies, South Asian studies, South East Asian studies.

ABIA Index. (Online: 1990 to date)
Bibliographic database on South & Southeast Asian art and archaeology, compiled by International Institute for Asian Studies, covering articles, monographs, grey literature published 1990 to present.

The ancient arts of western and central Asia: a guide to the literature.
[Avery-Fine Arts N35 G556]  by Bernard Goldman, 303 p., (1991).
Classified annotated bibliography (books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, archaeological reports, etc.) on the arts of those who lived anywhere from the eastern shores of the Mediterranean to the eastern borders of Chinese Turkestan and from the Ukraine and southern Soviet Asia to Pakistan and the Arabian peninsula. Chronologically arranged from Neolithic to the coming of Islam.

Banerjea, Jitendra Nath. The Development of Hindu Iconography. (1956)
Avery-Fine Arts N7655 B22

Bibliographie der Deutschsprachigen Arabistik und Islamkunde: von den Anfängen bis 1986 nebst Literatur über die arabischen Länder der Gegenwart. ed. Fuat Sezgin, 21 vol.(1990-1996).
Butler Reference R016.95 B47
Classified unannotated bibliographies of German-language literature on the Islamic and Arabic world. Includes materials published up to 1986.

Bibliography of Asian Studies. (Online: 1971 to date)
Online version contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since.

C.V. Starr East Asian Library. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
One of the premiere East Asian Libraries in the country, here at Columbia University.

Digital South Asia Library. (Online)
A collaborative effort to make South Asian resources available to the international community. Has bibliography section.

Eastview Universal Databases. (Online)
Provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Gu gong qi kan tu wen zi liao ku : Databases of articles and images from the National Palace Museum's periodicals. (Online)
Provides searchable full text access to four periodicals published by Taiwan Palace Museum: Gugong wen wu yue kan; Gugong ji kan; Gugong xue shu ji kan; Ying wen ban yue kan (or ban nian kan).

Journal of Asian Studies (Online: 1956 to 2-5 years ago).  & (Online: 2004 to date) Association of Asian Studies (1941 to date) (Only in paper 1941-1955)
[Offsite DS 335.J6 & Starr East Asian DS 501.J82]
Each September issue has a classified current bibliography.

Kalasampada : digital library : resource for Indian cultural heritage (DL-RICH) (Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts). (Online)
A digital library project sponsored by Ministry of Communication and Information Technology (MCIT), that offers a variety of cultural information and helps the users to interact and explore the subject available in image, audio, text, graphics, animation and video form.

Middle East: Abstracts and Index. (1978 to date)
Lehman Z 3013 .M54

Middle East and Islamic Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Middle Eastern and Islamic studies available on the Internet.

Online museum resources on Asian art. (Online)
OMuRAA (Online Museum Resources on Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. It's purpose is to make the visual materials now available on the websites of many museums and arts-related educational institutions better known.

Oriental Art. (1948 to date) 
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Or4
Each issue has classified current bibliography.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (Pub.2001;released Online:2005)
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Ed. by John L. Esposito. Offers more than 5,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide useful visual perspectives on Islam. Users can refine the rich array of content to search and browse by era, topic, and geographic region, filter to view a specific type of content, and make use of a variety of search forms to set criteria for locating biographical entries, bibliographic references, primary sources, terms in the Qur'an and Concordance, and much more.

Russian, Eurasian & East European Studies. (Online:within Columbia University Libraries Website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Russian, Eurasian & Eastern European studies available on the Internet.

South and Southeast Asian Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on South and Southeast Asia available on the internet.

Vanderstappen, Harrie A. The T.L. Yuan Bibliography of Western Writings on Chinese Art & Archaeology. (1975)
Avery-Fine Arts N7341 Av28

Pre-Colonial, Latin American, Native American, & African Art

African Studies Internet Resources. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Africa available on the Internet. Organized, in part, by region and country, organization, and topic.

Berlo, Janet Catherine, ed. Early Years of Native American Art History: the Politics of Scholarship and Collecting. (1992)
A substantial bibliography follows each chapter.
Avery-Fine Arts N6501 Ea76 (copies available in multiple locations)

Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art: a digital archive and publications project at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. (Online)
Provides access to primary sources and documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. The uploading of documents to the archive is an ongoing process.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online. (Online: 1970 to date)
Citations to journal articles on Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.

HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies Online) (Online: 1936 to date)
Both an index and print bibliography, humanities volume published every other year with section on art & architecture, organized by country. (Online version has poor interface.)

Latin American & Iberian Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Latin America, Spain and Portugal available on the Internet.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC). (Online: 1940 to date)
Searchable tables of contents to over 500 journals published in Latin America in all subjects, most of which are not indexed by HAPI.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. . (Print pub:2001; released Online:2006)
Ed. by David Carrasco. Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.

 


Festschriften

These commemorative collections of essays in honor of senior scholars and are often the best or only place to find a complete bibliography of an art historian's writings. Many classic essays (e.g. Panofsky's "Imago Pietatis") first appeared in Festschriften, and many of these essays have never been reprinted. (In the pre-LC Fine Arts stacks (those cataloged prior to 2010), they are classed at N 5302...)

Lincoln, B.W. Festschriften in Art History, 1960-1975: Bibliography and Index. (1988)
Avery Reference N35 L63
Covers 1960-1975. {For later art history Festschriften see BHA .}

Rave, P.O. Kunstgeschichte in Festschriften. (1962)
Avery Reference N35 R19
Coverage to 1960.

Rounds, D., ed. Articles on Antiquity in Festschriften. (1962)
Butler Reference R016.93 R76


Dissertations

Columbia University

Columbia U. Art History and Archaeology and GSAPP Dissertations and Theses.
Stored offsite and paged through the Classics (rare books) section of Avery Library. They are found in CLIO by author or title (no subject access). If you don't know the author or title, you can keyword search using the terms "Columbia AND Thesis AND Art History" to retrieve a complete list. There is at least a 2 year gap between the time they are turned in as completed and the time they are released to the library. Dissertations less than two years old may be available in dissertation office. Call to inquire: 854-2854. Abstracts (from 1980-1996) and full text (1990 to date) of our dissertations can be found within Proquest Digital Dissertations.

General

Index to Theses. (Online)
(author/title listing (1716-1985), abstracts (1970 to date))
Index of theses accepted for higher degrees by Universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

Inventaire des Théses de Doctorat. (1893-1986)
Butler Offsite R016.37844 F85 ...
Index to French dissertations. Arranged by broad subjects.

Jahresverzeichnis der Deutschen Hochschulschriften. (Online:1890-1900, 1904-1909, limited view: 1940-1942)
Butler Offsite R016.37843 J1912  (1937-1970)
Index to German dissertations. Arranged by institution.

Proquest Digital Dissertations.
(indexed (1962-1979), abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date))
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (Paper, 1861-1972 as Comprehensive Dissertation Index)
Index to all completed American dissertations. Access by author, subject. Titles from 1997 to date are available to download for free. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price. To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.

Fine Arts & Archaeology

Archaologischer Anzeiger. (1963 to date)
Avery AC D480105
End of each year it lists current dissertations in archaeology from Germany and Austria. Arranged by author, gives dissertation title, institution or university and date of completion.

Burt, Eugene. Ethnoart: Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; a Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. (1988)
Avery-Fine Arts N5313 AB95
An example of a subject specific bibliography of dissertations.

Current Lists in Fine Arts (a sample)

Art Bulletin. (Online 1975 to date JSTOR: 1919 to 4 years ago)
Avery-Fine Arts  N1 Ar751 (Paper, 1919 to date) (copies available in multiple locations)
June issues include selective lists of U.S. dissertations just completed and in progress. Includes dissertation advisors.

Archives of American Art Journal. (Online 1964-to six years ago)
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Ar25 (Paper, 1964 to date) (copies available in multiple locations)
Once a year masters theses and dissertations in progress and just completed in American art are listed.

Histoire de l'Art. (1988 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts N2 H62
Annual list of French dissertations with advisors.

Kunstchronik. (1948 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts N3 K969
Quarterly list of German dissertations and selected sections on dissertations from Austria, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Great Britain and America.


Museum & Exhibition Catalogs

In the Avery Library, most general museum collection catalogs are classed in N 1000 - N 1060. Many are also classed separately by subject. To find exhibition catalogs in CLIO, you can click on the Guided Keyword tab, and insert "exhibitions" as a word in the subject field, then in the next box add either the museum name or a word in the title or a likely subject word. Exhibition catalogs are separately classed by subject. Listed below are a few guides to finding citations to exhibition catalogs.

Bibliography of the History of Art, International Bibliography of Art, Art & Architecture Complete and Art Bibliographies Modern are good indexes to exhibition cats.

Worldcat (OCLC).
Also a good source for finding museum publications.

National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues ...through ... 1876. 6 vols. (1986)
Avery-Fine Arts N5015 Y22


Iconography

General

Hall, James. Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. (2008)
Avery-Fine Arts N7645 H1411
Best small handbook for western art.

Iconclass. (Online)
Avery Reference N7640 Aw11
An iconographic classification system devised by Henri van de Vaal and used in several photographic archives, e.g. the Decimal Index of the Art of the Low Countries, the Marburger Index, the Witt Library, the Getty Photo Archives, etc. The Iconclass system has been published in paper along with a systematic bibliography arranged by iconography, 14 vols. + 3 vol. index (1981-85).

Lurker, M. Bibliographie zur Symbolkunde. 3 vols. (1964-68)
Avery-Fine Arts N7640 AL97
Interdisciplinary. Continued by title below.

Bibliographie zur Symbolik, Ikonographie und Mythologie. (1968- )
Avery-Fine Arts N3 B47
Continues the preceding.

Classical

Bober, P. and R. Rubinstein. Renaissance Artists and Antique Sculpture. (1986)
Avery-Fine Arts NB85 B634
Based on the Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture known in the Renaissance. {In section 12}

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. (LIMC) 8 in 16 vols. text and plate vols. (1981-1997)
Avery Reference N7760 L59 (copies available in multiple locations)
Covers Mycenaean to Early Christian. Entries in language of author (Eng., French, German, Italian). Updated bibliography can be found online on a German website at http://www.rzuser.uni-heidelberg.de/~m99/.

LIMC (Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae) France: databases. (Online)               
Free registration required for access. Contains three databases: [1] LIMCicon contains data relating to ancient Graeco-Roman documents bearing a mythological or religious representation. [2] LIMCbiblio contains recent bibliographical data to complete the information published in the LIMC volumes. [3] LIMCabrev allows you to find the full names of the bibliographical abbreviations used in the LIMC, in the ThesCRA and on this site.

Medieval

Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie. Ed. by E. Kirschbaum. 8 vols. (1968-76)
Avery Reference N7645 L59
Standard dictionary of Christian iconography and the saints.

Index of Christian Art Database. (Online 1991 to date)
A huge photographic archive with a thematic index in card catalog form. Reproduces and indexes all Christian art up to 1400. Online version rarely includes illustrations.
At Princeton University (Paper, 1917 to date )

Réau, Louis. Iconographie de l'Art Chrétien. 6 vols. (1955)
Avery Reference N7640 R23

Schiller, Gertrud. Ikonographie der Christlichen Kunst. 5 vols., index vol. (1966-91)
Avery Reference N7648 Sch33

Schiller, Gertrud. Iconography of Christian Art. 2 vols. (1971-72)
Avery Reference N7648 Sch332 (copies available in multiple locations)
English transl. of vols. 1-2 only of above.

Renaissance

Kaftal, G. Saints in Italian Art. 4 vols. (1952-1985)
Avery Reference N8080 K115-118
By region. Each vol. has separate title.

Rubinstein, R. and P. Bober, eds. Renaissance Artists and Antique Sculpture: a Handbook of Sources. (1986)
Avery-Fine Arts NB85 B634

Tervarent, A. Attributs et Symboles dans l'Art Profane, 1450-1600. 3 vols. (1958-59)
Avery-Fine Arts N7645 T67
Based on The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaisssance {in section 12}

Van Marle, Raimond. Iconographie de l'Art Profane au Moyen-Age et à la Renaissance. 2 vols. (1931)
Avery Reference N7640 M34

Zappella, Giuseppina. IRIDE: Iconografia Rinascimentale Italiana: Dizionario Enciclopedico: Figure, Personnagi, Simboli e Allegorie ne Libro Italiano del Quattrocento e del Cinquecento. (1992-)
Avery-Fine Arts N6915 Z17

Baroque

Pigler, A. Barockthemen. 3 vols. (1974)
Avery Reference N7640 P621
Classical and Biblical iconography only. Illustrated. References to further illustrations.

Non-Western

(Here are samples of books on non-western iconography.)

Eberhard, Wolfram. A Dictionary of Chinese Symbols: Hidden Symbols in Chinese Life and Thought. (1986)
Starr East Asian DS 721 .E32613 1986

Stutley, Margaret. Illustrated Dictionary of Hindu Iconography. (1985)
Avery-Fine Arts N8190 St98


Visual Resources

Indexes to Sources of Illustrations

Bartsch, Adam von. Le Peintre Graveur. 21 vols. (1802-1921)
Avery Reference NE800 B28

Bartsch The Illustrated Bartsch. (TIB) (1978 to date ) Hundreds of vols.
Images also currently available Online within ArtStor {see below this section}
Illustrations to A. Bartsch's classic catalog of prints listed above.
Avery Reference NE800 B2812

Courtauld Institute Illustration Archive.
Series 1: Cathedrals and monastic buildings in the British Isles; Series 2: 15th and 16th century sculpture in Italy; Series 3: Medieval architecture and sculpture in Europe; Series 4: Late 18th and 19th century sculpture in the British Isles.
Scattered parts at Metropolitan Museum of Art, Watson Library

Hollstein, F. W. H. Dutch and Flemish Etchings, Engravings, Woodcuts, 1450-1700. (1949 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts NE662 H72

Hollstein, F. W. H. German Engravings, Etchings, Woodcuts, 1400-1700. (1954 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts NE651 H72

Iconclass Indexes: Italian Prints. (1987 to date)
Avery Reference NE659 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Dutch Prints. (1994 to date)
Avery Reference NE663 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Early German Prints. (1995 to date)
Avery Reference NE651 Ic7Z {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Rembrandt and his School. (2000 to date)
Avery Reference ND653 R28 L35 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Early Netherlandish Prints. (2002 to date)
Avery Reference ND635 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}

Parry, P. Print Index. (1983)
Avery-Fine Arts NE850 P24
Index to reproductions of prints in books.

Wright, C. World's Master Paintings: From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day. 2 vols. (1992)
Avery-Fine Arts N910 W93
Works list of 1,300 painters and a guide to their locations.

Microfiche Archives

Many photographic collections are published on microform. In addition to the titles included below, Avery Library owns microforms sets of: Paintings in the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna; The Archeological Museum of Naples; Trade catalogs in the Avery Library, etc.

Marburger Index.
Avery Microfiche FX3 1207
Handbook: Avery Reference N6861 M32.
Subject access through index of Iconclass {see Iconclass described in section 11}: Avery Reference N7640 Aw11.
Microfiche version of Foto Marburg photographic archive, which is attempting to reproduce all art in German collections. (Much of the Marburger Index appears on www.bildindex.de). Microform project ceased.

Index Photographique de l'Art en France.
Avery Microfiche FX3 1206
Similar to the Marburger above for items in France. Project ceased.

Online Image & QTVR Archives, Sites, & Collections

American Memory. (Online)
A part of the Library of Congress, offers vast array of American historical materials. Organized by thematic collections.

AP Multimedia Archive. (Online: 1844 to date)
Associated Press Photo Archive.

Artcyclopedia: the Fine Art Search Engine. (Online)
Former title: Guide to museum-quality art on the Internet.
Presents a directory of art resources on the Internet, created by John Malyon and searchable by movement, medium, subject, or artist name.

ArtStor. (Online)
Over 1,000,000 images of art and other subjects held by museums, archives, libraries, private collections, as of Fall 2009 includes the Columbia Image Bank (a database of images required for teaching of Western art history from the Neolithic period to the present, including images from major collections such as the Louvre, the Uffizi, the Prado, etc.. and much more.

Artsy.net (http://artsy.net) (Online)
Free image collection to participating galleries with auction information, brief artist’s biographies, and museum news features.

Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Bildarchiv Foto Marburg's Image Index of Art and Architecture). (Online)
Photoarchive of images of art and architecture, a small subset of which are visible at this site. This photoarchive sells its images for publication.

Beazley Archive. (Online:within Univ. of Oxford. Classical Art Research Centre)
Housed at the University of Oxford, Faculty of Literae Humaniores, this database offers photographs, notes, drawings, etc. on ancient Greek and Roman art.

British Museum. Collection Database. (Online)
Presents digitized pictures and records of about half a million two-dimensional works held by the British Museum. Eventually images of all the collections will be included.

CAMIO. (Online)
CAMIO is OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online This new database supports art history, studio art, and design departments, and provides context for history, religion, and other humanities programs. It is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance. (Online)
Director: Arnold Nesselrath. Interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods as well as bibliographic data. The Census is a useful tool of research, not only in the field of art history and archaeology, but also for any discipline focusing on the afterlife of the antiquity.

Columbia Image Bank. (Online:found as a collection within ArtStor)
The Columbia Image Bank covers a broad range of subjects, cultures and periods. Users may access outstanding examples of the visual arts and material culture from the world's major collections; stills of performance pieces; and photographs, drawings and renderings of architecture and sites. The Image Bank is available as a hosted collection in the ARTstor digital image library. Columbia users can search Columbia Image Bank alone or alongside all of ARTstor's content.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. (Online)
Avery AK3800 C... (1922-)
Digitized copy of the corpus of antique vases held in collections worldwide.

Google art project. (Online)
Digital images of art works from over 400 museums, galleries and other cultural collections worldwide.

Grove Art Online. (Online:within Oxford Art Online)
Contains some images from encyclopedia articles and links to images found in museum web sites.

Indianmonuments.org. (Online)
An archive of 35,000 high quality photographs taken by Benoy K. Behl of monuments, paintings and other aspects of cultural history, as well as scenic views all over India and in many places around the world. (Identified online and in CLIO as photographs archive)

Islamic monuments in India. (Online)
A database of photographs of Islamic architecture in India in Japanese and English. These were taken by researchers of the Mission for Indian History and Archaeology, University of Tokyo. Some of the monuments have their basic plans also included.

Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division. Prints & Photographs (P&P) online catalog. (Online)
Contains catalog records and digital images of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Digital Collections. (Online)
Gateway to NYPL's digital collections. Includes historic maps, rare prints and photographs, illuminated manuscripts, unusual printed ephemera, sound files and moving images, original art and more.

UNESCO World Heritage List OTVR Tour. (Online)
The World Heritage List includes 890 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. Nodes are organized on a world map, or they may be reached through the individual site pages of the list itself.

E-Images. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
Site listing Columbia, external fee based and free websites with significant image content useful to art historians.


Geographical & Topographical Sources

Atlases & Gazetteers

Ancient World Mapping Center. (Online)
"The Ancient World Mapping Center exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies. The Home page communicates knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, its subject." With support from the National Endowment for the Humanities (2006-2007), the Ancient World Mapping Center has undertaken a major initiative to develop a functioning, international community of scholars, teachers, students and enthusiasts to collaborate in the updating and expansion of the spatial and historical reference information assembled by the Classical Atlas Project. To underpin these efforts, the Center is developing a web-based, multi-lingual, spatially-enabled community support system, built using open-source software and made freely available for reuse by other projects.

Atlas of world archaeology ed. by Paul G. Bahn (2000)
Avery-Fine Arts N5315 At65 (copies available in multiple locations)

Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world
ed. by Richard J.A. Talbert. (2000)
Avery Reference AA260 B27 (copies available in multiple locations). Double Folio (FF), CD-ROM in Microform Cabinet
1 vol. atlas, 2 vol. directory, and CD-ROM ed. Richard J.A. Talbert, 3 vol. (1383 p.) (2000)
Created by the Classical Atlas Project (now, the Ancient World Mapping Center), Barrington atlas should be useful to anyone with an interest in ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa and Western Asia.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World. (Online)
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

New York City Atlases and Landbooks. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
A chronologically arranged bibliographic list of Atlases and Landbooks from 1852 to date.

Shepherd, William Robert. Shepherd's Historical Atlas. (1973)
Avery-Fine Arts N300 Sh41

Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World. Comprehensive 11th ed. (2003)
Avery AA948 T48113 --Folio behind Reference Desk (copies available in multiple locations)

United Nations Cartographic Section. (Online)
Maps and geographic data.

Guidebooks

Baedecker's Handbook[s] for Travellers.
Avail. in Paper and also on Avery Microfiche FX3 1378
Guidebooks for cities, regions & countries prior to W. W. II.
(Search in CLIO: Baedeckers as title)

Touring Club Italiano. Guida d'Italia.
(Search in CLIO: Guida d'Italia as title)
An example of currently published guidebooks to cities, regions and countries after World War II.

Topographical Inventories

Dehio, Georg. Handbuch der Deutschen Kunstdenkmäler. many vols. (1964 to date)
Example of a currently published topographical inventory of man-made monuments.
Avery-Offsite AA 1061 D361...

Pevsner, Nicolas. Buildings of England. many vols. (1951 to date)
Avery AA 964 to AA 969
(Look in card catalog and CLIO under this series title.)

Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites (Online) ed. Richard Stillwell, 1019 p. (1976).
Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations.

Society of Architectural Historians. Buildings of the United States. (1993 to date)
Inspired by Pevsner's series, the U.S. is now publishing a North American equivalent, state by state.
(Search in CLIO by this series title)

Traulos, Joannes N. Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens. (1971)
Avery AA280 T69 (copies available in multiple locations)

Topographical Indexes

Orbis Latinus: Lexikon Lateinischer Geographischer Namen. (1971)
Avery Reference N29 Latin (on language dictionary shelves)

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae. Ed. by Eva Margareta Steinby. (1993 to date)
Avery AA320 L59


Artists' Signatures

Caplan, H. H. The Encyclopedia of Artists' Signatures, Symbols and Monograms. (1999)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C173

Castagno, John. Abstract artists: signatures and monograms, an international directory. (2007)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C269
(Note: Castagno publishes many other signature directories—some are listed below)

Castagno, John. African, Asian, and Middle Eastern artists: signatures and monograms from 1800: a directory. (2009)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C2695

Castagno, John. American artists I-III: signatures and monograms [from 1800]. (1990-2009)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C27, N45 C271, N45 C2711

Castagno, John. Artists monograms and indiscernible signatures I-III: an international directory, 1800-1991. (1991-2009) 
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C2725, N45 C27251, N45 C272511

Castagno, John. European Artists Signatures and Monograms 1800-1900. (1990)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C273

Castagno, John. Jewish artists: signatures and monograms: an international directory. (2010)
Avery-LC N45 .C384 2010

Castagno, John. Latin American artists’ signatures and monograms: colonial era to 1996. (1997)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C2735

Castagno, John. Old masters: signatures and monograms I-II. (1996-2009)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 C2734, N45 C27343

Jackson, Radway. The Visual index of artists’ signatures and monograms. (1991)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 J13

Lampe, Louis.  Signatures et monogrammes des peintres de toutes les écoles et époques. (2 vol.)  (1999?)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 L19

Pfisterer, Paul. Signaturenlexikon = Directory of signatures. (1999)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 P483

Self, James. Japanese Art Signatures: a Handbook and Practical Guide. (1987)
Avery-Fine Arts AK 3640 Se37

Signatures & monogrammes d’artistes des XIXe et XXe siècles. (1999)
Avery-Fine Arts N45 Si26


Sales/Auction Catalogs & Provenance Indexes

Avery Library generally does not collect auction house catalogs, nor do we have a strong collection of price indexes. Such catalogs are collected extensively by several libraries within New York area museums, most notably the Watson Library of the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Frick Art Reference Library. These two libraries also subscribe to a substantial collection of sales catalog indexes online.  Both libraries are open to graduate students with student identification. Undergraduates need an introductory letter from a faculty member. Call ahead to make an appointment, and confirm their hours.

Guides

Yelde, Nancy H. The AAM guide to provenance research (2001)
Avery-Fine Arts N7436 Y36

Historical

Graves, A. Art Sales. 3 vols. (1918)
Avery-Fine Arts N8680 G78
English paintings, 18th to early 20th cent.

SCIPIO Database.
Back to 1599.
Available online in the libraries of New York University, Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art (Watson Library)

H. Lancour. American Art Auction Catalogues 1785-1942. (1944)
Avery-Fine Arts N3000 AL22

Lugt, F. Les Marques des Collections des Dessins et d'Estampes. (1921; suppl. 1956)
Avery-Fine Arts N8380 L96
Classic dictionary of collectors' marks. Good for provenance studies.

Lugt's Répertoire online. (Online)
Provides access to two different databases: the Répertoire online database and the Libraries database. The Répertoire online is the online edition of the Répetoire des catalogues de ventes publiques, by Frits Lugt. Recently discovered catalogues have been added, and corrections to the original work have been made. The database can be consulted both in French and in English. Corrections and additions to the database will be constantly added. The Libraries database provides the opportunity to search through libraries with holdings of art sales catalogues. We also have in paper: Répertoire des Catalogues des Ventes Publiques:1600-1925. 3 vols. (1938 to date). Avery-Fine Arts N3000 AL96

Provenance Research. (Online)
Website at the J. Paul Getty Center for the History of Art and the Humanities, Santa Monica includes: Getty Provenance Index Database, Provenance Research Resources, Guide to Holocaust-era Research Resources, Project for the Study of Collecting and Provenance.  These databases contain indexed transcriptions of materials from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the periods from late 16th century to the early 20th century.
Search in CLIO as a phrase keyword: Provenence Index to retrieve a list of books we own produced by the Getty Provenence Index.  One example: Index of Paintings Sold in the During the 19th Century. (1989 to date) Avery-Fine Arts N8680 In2

Current

Artfact
Back to the 1980s.
Available online in the libraries of the Frick Museum, Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art (Watson Library), and on CD-ROM at the New York Public Library

ArtNet
Available online in the libraries of the Frick Museum, Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art (Watson Library) and the New York Public Library

Art Sales Index
Back to the 1920s.
Online version held at the Frick Museum Art Reference Library

Gordon's Print Price Annual.
Prints back to 1985, photographs back to 1970.
Online version held at the Frick Museum Art Reference Library and the New York Public Library


Archives

Specific Archives

Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library. Drawing and Archives. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Website covering introductory materials about Avery's Drawing and Archives, an archive of architectural materials which contains about 500,000 items, including drawings, blueprints, photographs, correspondence and other architectural records.
Please make an appointment with the Curator, Janet Parks, to see materials in this collection.

J. Paul Getty Center for the History of Art and the Humanities. Archives of the History of Art: Preliminary Guide to the Collections. (1985)
Avery-Fine Arts N35 Ar254

Pidgeon digital. (Online)
Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon.

Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
A Columbia University Libraries has created an archives portal and an oral history portal for finding archives and manuscript collections.

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art. (Online as a part of SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)
Card Catalog of the Manuscript Collections. 10 vols. (1981) and Suppl. (1985)
Avery Reference N35 Ar253

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art.Card Catalog of the Oral History Collections. (1984)
Avery Reference N35 Ar2533

Union Lists/Directories

ArchiveGrid. (Online)
Index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom. Contains both detailed collection guides and records consisting primarily of summary descriptions of archives, manuscripts, and special collections.

ArchiveFinder. (Online)
A directory of archives and manuscript repositories, with some links to web pages for the repositories and to online finding aids. Indexes the microfilm collection, National Inventory of Documentary Sources, and reproduces the entries in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Searchable by: collection name; city; state; National Inventory of Documentary Sources (NIDS) number; and National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) number.

 


Art Library Catalogs & Directories

Art Library Catalogs

WORLDCAT. (aka OCLC) on Columbia University Libraries website. This is a database that serves as a major union catalog of records held in libraries around the world, including most North American research and academic libraries; archives and museum libraries; law, medical, and theological libraries; art and music libraries; public and corporate libraries; historical societies and book clubs.. Entries describe books, serials, archival collections, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, electronic resources, and more. The Catalog extends from the advent of printing to the present. New records are added daily.

Arcade / New York Art Resources Consortium (Online) Merged library catalogs of the Museum of Modern Art Library, the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum of Art Libraries and Archives. 

Artlibraries net: virtual catalogue for art history. (Online) Based on the interface technology of the Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog, this European specialized meta-catalog allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and other objects from significant art historical databases.  It includes articles in periodicals, conference reports, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, etc.

Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives (Brooklyn, NY) (Online)

Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. (Online)

Frick Museum Art Reference Library Catalog. (New York, N.Y.) (aka Fresco) (Online) 

Harvard University Libraries (aka Hollis) (Online)
Includes Fine Arts Library, Graduate School of Design, Villa I Tatti, Florence. Berenson Library, and more.

KuBiKat: Art Libraries Network: Florence – Munich – Rome: union catalog (Online) Union catalog of the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz, Max-Planck-Institut, the Zentralinstitut für Kinstgeschichte in Munich, and the Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck Institute for Art History in Rome.  Includes coverage of articles in periodicals, proceedings, exhibition catalogues, festschriften etc. as well as intense subject indexing. Since december 2005 the Union Catalogue comprises also articles from E-Journals, they are indexed by ZI within the scope of the project of arthistoricum.net (module ARTicles online) which is promoted by the DFG.   

Metropolitan Museum of Art. Watson Library (New York, N.Y.) (aka Watsonline) (Online)

Museum of Modern Art Library (New York, N.Y.)  (aka Dadabase) (Online)

New York Public Library. The Research Libraries (New York, N.Y.) (aka Catnyp) (Online)

Pierpont Morgan Library (New York, N.Y.) (aka Corsair) (Online)

Regesta Imperii bei der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz. Deutsche Kommission fur die Bearbeitung (Mainz) (aka RI Opac) (Online)

Rijksmuseum (Netherlands). Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek (Rijksmuseum Research Library) (Online)
Catalogus der Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek... . 4 vols.
Avery AZ 100 Am8 (1934-1936)

Royal Institute of British Architects Library Catalog (London) (aka RIBA Library Online Catalog) (Online)

Smithsonian Institution. (Online:the following are a part of SIRIS, the Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)
Archives of American art (Washington, D.C)
Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Design Library (New York, N.Y.)
Freer Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.)
National Museum of African Art (Washington, D.C.)

Victoria and Albert Museum. Library (London). (Online: http://:www.vam.ac.uk/nal/)

Warburg Institute, University of London. Library catalogue. (Online)

Online Union Catalog

Library Directory


Accessing Licensed & Open Online Resources

Once you activate your UNI (University Network ID), you can access resources licensed by the Columbia University Libraries that are not openly accessible online.  Among these licensed resources are indexes such as Art:Source (contains Art Index and others within), Avery Index, Bibliography of the History of Art, encyclopedias such as Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia Britannica Online, full text resources such as LEXIS/NEXIS, Proquest Historical Newspapers, JSTOR, Project Muse, image collections such as ArtStor, AP Multimedia Archive and thousands of other licensed online resources for which we pay a considerable sum per year. Please understand that you will not be able to access most of these materials if you try to get to them through an open web search (e.g. Google, Yahoo, etc.).

On the other hand, here are several extensive, freely accessible online resources for Art History on the Web:

Art history resources on the web (Online)
Presents a collection of art history resources, compiled by Chris Witcombe. Includes the following periods/areas: Prehistoric, ancient Near East, Egyptian, Greek, Roman, late antique, early Europe, Islamic, early Medieval, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th century, 19th century, 20th century, contemporary, prints & photographs, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Southeast Asian, African, the Americas, Pacific cultures, research resources, miscellaneous, museums & galleries.

Arthistoricum.net (Online)
Art and art historical portal realized thanks to financial support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation, DFG), as a common project of the Library of the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich and Heidelberg University Library in co-operation with the Institute for Art History of the LMU Munich (chair Professor Dr. Hubertus Kohle) together with the historical network historicum.net and further partners. arthistoricum.net focuses the core competencies of the co-operating institutions into a fundamental platform for research and teaching.   It includes the following sections: Electronic Journals Library, ARTicles online-Art historical articles from e-journals, artlibraries.net (listed below), Art historical institutes, etc.

Artsy.net (http://artsy.net) (Online)
Free image collection to participating galleries with auction information, brief artist’s biographies, and museum news features.

CODART
An International Council for curators of Dutch and Flemish Art. This site is self-described as the best guide to Dutch and Flemish art in museums worldwide.