Dissertations


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Columbia University

Columbia U. Art History and Archaeology and GSAPP Dissertations and Theses.
Stored offsite and paged through the Classics (rare books) section of Avery Library. They are found in CLIO by author or title (no subject access). If you don't know the author or title, you can keyword search using the terms "Columbia AND Thesis AND Art History" to retrieve a complete list. There is at least a 2 year gap between the time they are turned in as completed and the time they are released to the library. Dissertations less than two years old may be available in dissertation office. Call to inquire: 854-2854. Abstracts (from 1980-1996) and full text (1990 to date) of our dissertations can be found within Proquest Digital Dissertations.

General

Index to Theses. (Online)
(author/title listing (1716-1985), abstracts (1970 to date))
Index of theses accepted for higher degrees by Universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

Inventaire des Th├ęses de Doctorat. (1893-1986)
Butler Offsite R016.37844 F85 ...
Index to French dissertations. Arranged by broad subjects.

Jahresverzeichnis der Deutschen Hochschulschriften. (Online:1890-1900, 1904-1909, 1940-1942)
Butler Offsite R016.37843 J1912  (1937-1970)
Index to German dissertations. Arranged by institution.

Proquest Digital Dissertations.
(indexed (1962-1979), abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date))
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (Paper, 1861-1972 as Comprehensive Dissertation Index)
Index to all completed American dissertations. Access by author, subject. Titles from 1997 to date are available to download for free. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price. To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.

Fine Arts and Archaeology

Archaologischer Anzeiger. (1963 to date)
Avery AC D480105
End of each year it lists current dissertations in archaeology from Germany and Austria. Arranged by author, gives dissertation title, institution or university and date of completion.

Burt, Eugene. Ethnoart: Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; a Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. (1988)
Avery-Fine Arts N5313 AB95
An example of a subject specific bibliography of dissertations.

Current Lists in Fine Arts (A Sample)

Art Bulletin. (Online 1975 to date JSTOR: 1919 to 4 years ago)
Avery-Fine Arts  N1 Ar751 (Paper, 1919 to date) (copies available in multiple locations)
June issues include selective lists of U.S. dissertations just completed and in progress. Includes dissertation advisors.

Archives of American Art Journal. (Online 1964-to six years ago)
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Ar25 (Paper, 1964 to date) (copies available in multiple locations)
Once a year masters theses and dissertations in progress and just completed in American art are listed.

Histoire de l'Art. (1988 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts N2 H62
Annual list of French dissertations with advisors.

Kunstchronik. (1948 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts N3 K969
Quarterly list of German dissertations and selected sections on dissertations from Austria, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Great Britain and America.