Library Catalogs


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Library Catalogs

WORLDCAT. (aka OCLC) on Columbia University Libraries website. This is a database that serves as a major union catalog of records held in libraries around the world, including most North American research and academic libraries; archives and museum libraries; law, medical, and theological libraries; art and music libraries; public and corporate libraries; historical societies and book clubs.. Entries describe books, serials, archival collections, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, electronic resources, and more. The Catalog extends from the advent of printing to the present. New records are added daily.

Arcade / New York Art Resources Consortium (Online) Merged library catalogs of the Museum of Modern Art Library, the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum of Art Libraries and Archives. 

Artlibraries net: virtual catalogue for art history. (Online) Based on the interface technology of the Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog, this European specialized meta-catalog allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and other objects from significant art historical databases.  It includes articles in periodicals, conference reports, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, etc.

Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives (Brooklyn, NY) (Online)

Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. (Online)

Frick Museum Art Reference Library Catalog. (New York, N.Y.) (aka Fresco) (Online) 

Harvard University Libraries (aka Hollis) (Online)
Includes Fine Arts Library, Graduate School of Design, Villa I Tatti, Florence. Berenson Library, and more.

KuBiKat: Art Libraries Network: Florence – Munich – Rome: union catalog (Online) Union catalog of the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz, Max-Planck-Institut, the Zentralinstitut für Kinstgeschichte in Munich, and the Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck Institute for Art History in Rome.  Includes coverage of articles in periodicals, proceedings, exhibition catalogues, festschriften etc. as well as intense subject indexing. Since december 2005 the Union Catalogue comprises also articles from E-Journals, they are indexed by ZI within the scope of the project of arthistoricum.net (module ARTicles online) which is promoted by the DFG.   

Metropolitan Museum of Art. Watson Library (New York, N.Y.) (aka Watsonline) (Online)

Museum of Modern Art Library (New York, N.Y.)  (aka Dadabase) (Online)

New York Public Library. The Research Libraries (New York, N.Y.) (aka Catnyp) (Online)

Pierpont Morgan Library (New York, N.Y.) (aka Corsair) (Online)

Regesta Imperii bei der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz. Deutsche Kommission fur die Bearbeitung (Mainz) (aka RI Opac) (Online)

Rijksmuseum (Netherlands). Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek (Rijksmuseum Research Library) (Online)
Catalogus der Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek... . 4 vols.
Avery AZ 100 Am8 (1934-1936)

Royal Institute of British Architects Library Catalog (London) (aka RIBA Library Online Catalog) (Online)

Smithsonian Institution. (Online:the following are a part of SIRIS, the Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)
Archives of American art (Washington, D.C)
Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Design Library (New York, N.Y.)
Freer Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.)
National Museum of African Art (Washington, D.C.)

Victoria and Albert Museum. Library (London). (Online: http://:www.vam.ac.uk/nal/)

Warburg Institute, University of London. Library catalogue. (Online)