Specialized Subject Bibliographies


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Contemporary American Art Critics. (1984-1988) (pub.: UMI)
Published titles include Kuspit, D. The Critic is Artist: Intentionality in Art. Titles can be found in CLIO by author, title and by series.

Foster, Hal, ed. Discussions in Contemporary Culture. (1987-1995) (pub.: Bay Pr.)
Avery-Fine Arts N7240 D63
Essays on contemporary issues in the arts. Includes essays by Bernard Tschumi, Gayatri Spivak, Barbara Kruger, Jonathan Crary, Rosalind Krauss, etc.

Garland Reference Library of the Humanities. (pub.: Garland)
Published titles include E. Kaufman and S. Irish, Medievalism: an Annotated Bibliography. Titles can be found in the card catalog or CLIO by author, title, and, since 1976, by series.

Oxford Bibliographies Online. (Online)
This resource offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area planned thus far. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. The site offers introductions to each topic area, and including guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.  These bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Also contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized lists of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Reference Publications in Art History. (also referred to as Reference Publication in Art History (1982-1996) (pub.: G.K. Hall)
Published titles include J. Stubblebine, Dugento Painting: an Annotated Bibliography and C. Karpinski, Italian Printmaking Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries: an Annotated Bibliography. Titles can be found in the card catalog or CLIO by author, title and by series.

Russian, Eurasian & East European Studies. (Online:within Columbia University Libraries Website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Russian, Eurasian & Eastern European studies available on the Internet.

Web Resources for American Art. (Online)
Founded. By Jeffrey Weidman. A compilation of website addresses for over 320 subject categories, accumulating more than 14,000 sites, with an international selection of art librarians, art historians, scholars and interested individuals.  Latest developments have focused on sites related to American art before 1945. Registration required

..............................

Here is a brief list of sources for non-western arts. – be sure to look within the Columbia University Libraries website under Electronic Resources--Subject Guides where individual geographic area subject specialists have developed or connected to web sites. E.g. African studies, East Asian Studies, Latin American studies, Middle East studies, Russian and East European studies, South Asian studies, South East Asian studies.

Eastern Art (Middle East, South Asian, Southeast Asian & Far East)

ABIA Index. (Online: 1990 to date)
Bibliographic database on South & Southeast Asian art and archaeology, compiled by International Institute for Asian Studies, covering articles, monographs, grey literature published 1990 to present.

The ancient arts of western and central Asia: a guide to the literature.
[Avery-Fine Arts N35 G556]  by Bernard Goldman, 303 p., (1991).
Classified annotated bibliography (books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, archaeological reports, etc.) on the arts of those who lived anywhere from the eastern shores of the Mediterranean to the eastern borders of Chinese Turkestan and from the Ukraine and southern Soviet Asia to Pakistan and the Arabian peninsula. Chronologically arranged from Neolithic to the coming of Islam.

Banerjea, Jitendra Nath. The Development of Hindu Iconography. (1956)
Avery-Fine Arts N7655 B22

Bibliographie der Deutschsprachigen Arabistik und Islamkunde: von den Anfängen bis 1986 nebst Literatur über die arabischen Länder der Gegenwart. ed. Fuat Sezgin, 21 vol.(1990-1996).
Butler Reference R016.95 B47
Classified unannotated bibliographies of German-language literature on the Islamic and Arabic world. Includes materials published up to 1986.

Bibliography of Asian Studies. (Online: 1971 to date)
Butler Reference R016.95 AM3, Starr East Asian Z 3001 .B47 (Paper, 1971 to date) (copies available in multiple locations)
Online version contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since.

C.V. Starr East Asian Library. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
One of the premiere East Asian Libraries in the country, here at Columbia University.

Digital South Asia Library. (Online)
A collaborative effort to make South Asian resources available to the international community. Has bibliography section.

Eastview Universal Databases. (Online)
Provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Gu gong qi kan tu wen zi liao ku : Databases of articles and images from the National Palace Museum's periodicals. (Online)
Provides searchable full text access to four periodicals published by Taiwan Palace Museum: Gugong wen wu yue kan; Gugong ji kan; Gugong xue shu ji kan; Ying wen ban yue kan (or ban nian kan).

Journal of Asian Studies (Online: 1956-5 years ago).  & (Online: 2004 to date) Association of Asian Studies (1941 to date) (Only in paper 1941-1955)
[Offsite DS 335.J6 & Starr East Asian DS 501.J82]
Each September issue has a classified current bibliography.

Kalasampada : digital library : resource for Indian cultural heritage (DL-RICH) (Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts). (Online)
A digital library project sponsored by Ministry of Communication and Information Technology (MCIT), that offers a variety of cultural information and helps the users to interact and explore the subject available in image, audio, text, graphics, animation and video form.

Middle East: Abstracts and Index. (1978 to date)
Lehman Z 3013 .M54

Middle East and Islamic Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Middle Eastern and Islamic studies available on the Internet.

Online museum resources on Asian art. (Online)
OMuRAA (Online Museum Resources on Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. It's purpose is to make the visual materials now available on the websites of many museums and arts-related educational institutions better known.

Oriental Art. (1948 to date) 
Avery-Fine Arts N1 Or4
Each issue has classified current bibliography.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (Pub.2001;released Online:2005)
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Ed. by John L. Esposito. Offers more than 5,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide useful visual perspectives on Islam. Users can refine the rich array of content to search and browse by era, topic, and geographic region, filter to view a specific type of content, and make use of a variety of search forms to set criteria for locating biographical entries, bibliographic references, primary sources, terms in the Qur'an and Concordance, and much more.

South and Southeast Asian Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on South and Southeast Asia available on the internet.

Vanderstappen, Harrie A. The T.L. Yuan Bibliography of Western Writings on Chinese Art & Archaeology. (1975)
Avery-Fine Arts N7341 Av28

Pre-Colonial, Latin American, Native American, & African Art

African Studies Internet Resources. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Africa available on the Internet. Organized, in part, by region and country, organization, and topic.

Berlo, Janet Catherine, ed. Early Years of Native American Art History: the Politics of Scholarship and Collecting. (1992)
A substantial bibliography follows each chapter.
Avery-Fine Arts N6501 Ea76 (copies available in multiple locations)

Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art: a digital archive and publications project at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. (Online)
Provides access to primary sources and documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. The uploading of documents to the archive is an ongoing process.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online. (Online: 1970 to date)
Citations to journal articles on Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.

HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies Online) (Online: 1936 to date)
Both an index and print bibliography, humanities volume published every other year with section on art & architecture, organized by country. (Online version has poor interface.)

Latin American & Iberian Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Latin America, Spain and Portugal available on the Internet.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC). (Online: 1940 to date)
Searchable tables of contents to over 500 journals published in Latin America in all subjects, most of which are not indexed by HAPI.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. . (Print pub:2001; released Online:2006)
Ed. by David Carrasco. Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.