Geographical & Topographical Sources


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Atlases and Gazetteers

Ancient World Mapping Center. (Online)
"The Ancient World Mapping Center exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies. The Home page communicates knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, its subject." With support from the National Endowment for the Humanities (2006-2007), the Ancient World Mapping Center has undertaken a major initiative to develop a functioning, international community of scholars, teachers, students and enthusiasts to collaborate in the updating and expansion of the spatial and historical reference information assembled by the Classical Atlas Project. To underpin these efforts, the Center is developing a web-based, multi-lingual, spatially-enabled community support system, built using open-source software and made freely available for reuse by other projects.

Atlas of world archaeology ed. by Paul G. Bahn (2000)
Avery-Fine Arts N5315 At65 (copies available in multiple locations)

Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world
ed. by Richard J.A. Talbert. (2000)
Avery Reference AA260 B27 (copies available in multiple locations). Double Folio (FF), CD-ROM in Microform Cabinet
1 vol. atlas, 2 vol. directory, and CD-ROM ed. Richard J.A. Talbert, 3 vol. (1383 p.) (2000)
Created by the Classical Atlas Project (now, the Ancient World Mapping Center), Barrington atlas should be useful to anyone with an interest in ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa and Western Asia.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World. (Online)
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

New York City Atlases and Landbooks. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
A chronologically arranged bibliographic list of Atlases and Landbooks from 1852 to date.

Shepherd, William Robert. Shepherd's Historical Atlas. (1973)
Avery-Fine Arts N300 Sh41

Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World. Comprehensive 11th ed. (2003)
Avery Reference AA948 T48113 --Folio behind Reference Desk (copies available in multiple locations)

United Nations Cartographic Section. (Online)
Maps and geographic data.

Guidebooks

Baedecker's Handbook[s] for Travellers.
Avail. in Paper and also on Avery Microfiche FX3 1378
Guidebooks for cities, regions & countries prior to W. W. II.
(Search in CLIO: Baedeckers as title)

Touring Club Italiano. Guida d'Italia.
(Search in CLIO: Guida d'Italia as title)
An example of currently published guidebooks to cities, regions and countries after World War II.

Topographical Inventories

Dehio, Georg. Handbuch der Deutschen Kunstdenkmäler. many vols. (1964 to date)
Example of a currently published topographical inventory of man-made monuments.
Avery-Offsite AA 1061 D361...

Pevsner, Nicolas. Buildings of England. many vols. (1951 to date)
Avery AA 964 to AA 969
(Look in card catalog and CLIO under this series title.)

Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites (Online) ed. Richard Stillwell, 1019 p. (1976).
Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations.

Society of Architectural Historians. Buildings of the United States. (1993 to date)
Inspired by Pevsner's series, the U.S. is now publishing a North American equivalent, state by state.
(Search in CLIO by this series title)

Traulos, Joannes N. Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens. (1971)
Avery AA280 T69 (copies available in multiple locations)

Topographical Indexes

Orbis Latinus: Lexikon Lateinischer Geographischer Namen. (1971)
Avery Reference N29 Latin (on language dictionary shelves)

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae. Ed. by Eva Margareta Steinby. (1993 to date)
Avery AA320 L59