Visual Resources


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Indexes to Sources of Illustrations

Bartsch, Adam von. Le Peintre Graveur. 21 vols. (1802-1921)
Avery Reference NE800 B28

Bartsch The Illustrated Bartsch. (TIB) (1978 to date ) Hundreds of vols.
Images also currently available Online within ArtStor {see below this section}
Illustrations to A. Bartsch's classic catalog of prints listed above.
Avery Reference NE800 B2812

Courtauld Institute Illustration Archive.
Series 1: Cathedrals and monastic buildings in the British Isles; Series 2: 15th and 16th century sculpture in Italy; Series 3: Medieval architecture and sculpture in Europe; Series 4: Late 18th and 19th century sculpture in the British Isles.
Scattered parts at Metropolitan Museum of Art, Watson Library

Hollstein, F. W. H. Dutch and Flemish Etchings, Engravings, Woodcuts, 1450-1700. (1949 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts NE662 H72

Hollstein, F. W. H. German Engravings, Etchings, Woodcuts, 1400-1700. (1954 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts NE651 H72

Iconclass Indexes: Italian Prints. (1987 to date)
Avery Reference NE659 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Dutch Prints. (1994 to date)
Avery Reference NE663 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Early German Prints. (1995 to date)
Avery Reference NE651 Ic7Z {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Rembrandt and his School. (2000 to date)
Avery Reference ND653 R28 L35 {see Iconclass described in section 11}
Iconclass Indexes: Early Netherlandish Prints. (2002 to date)
Avery Reference ND635 Ic7 {see Iconclass described in section 11}

Parry, P. Print Index. (1983)
Avery-Fine Arts NE850 P24
Index to reproductions of prints in books.

Wright, C. World's Master Paintings: From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day. 2 vols. (1992)
Avery-Fine Arts N910 W93
Works list of 1,300 painters and a guide to their locations.

Microfiche Archives

Many photographic collections are published on microform. In addition to the titles included below, Avery Library owns microforms sets of: Paintings in the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna; The Archeological Museum of Naples; Trade catalogs in the Avery Library, etc.

Marburger Index.
Avery Microfiche FX3 1207
Handbook: Avery Reference N6861 M32.
Subject access through index of Iconclass {see Iconclass described in section 11}: Avery Reference N7640 Aw11.
Microfiche version of Foto Marburg photographic archive, which is attempting to reproduce all art in German collections. (Much of the Marburger Index appears on www.bildindex.de). Microform project ceased.

Index Photographique de l'Art en France.
Avery Microfiche FX3 1206
Similar to the Marburger above for items in France. Project ceased.

Online Image and QTVR Archives, Sites, and Collections

American Memory. (Online)
A part of the Library of Congress, offers vast array of American historical materials. Organized by thematic collections.

AP Multimedia Archive. (Online: 1844 to date)
Associated Press Photo Archive.

Artcyclopedia: the Fine Art Search Engine. (Online)
Former title: Guide to museum-quality art on the Internet.
Presents a directory of art resources on the Internet, created by John Malyon and searchable by movement, medium, subject, or artist name.

ArtStor. (Online)
Over 1,000,000 images of art and other subjects held by museums, archives, libraries, private collections, as of Fall 2009 includes the Columbia Image Bank (a database of images required for teaching of Western art history from the Neolithic period to the present, including images from major collections such as the Louvre, the Uffizi, the Prado, etc.. and much more.

Artsy.net (http://artsy.net) (Online)
Free image collection to participating galleries with auction information, brief artist’s biographies, and museum news features.

Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Bildarchiv Foto Marburg's Image Index of Art and Architecture). (Online)
Photoarchive of images of art and architecture, a small subset of which are visible at this site. This photoarchive sells its images for publication.

Beazley Archive. (Online:within Univ. of Oxford. Classical Art Research Centre)
Housed at the University of Oxford, Faculty of Literae Humaniores, this database offers photographs, notes, drawings, etc. on ancient Greek and Roman art.

British Museum. Collection Database. (Online)
Presents digitized pictures and records of about half a million two-dimensional works held by the British Museum. Eventually images of all the collections will be included.

CAMIO. (Online)
CAMIO is OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online This new database supports art history, studio art, and design departments, and provides context for history, religion, and other humanities programs. It is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance. (Online)
Director: Arnold Nesselrath. Interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods as well as bibliographic data. The Census is a useful tool of research, not only in the field of art history and archaeology, but also for any discipline focusing on the afterlife of the antiquity.

Columbia Image Bank. (Online:found as a collection within ArtStor)
The Columbia Image Bank covers a broad range of subjects, cultures and periods. Users may access outstanding examples of the visual arts and material culture from the world's major collections; stills of performance pieces; and photographs, drawings and renderings of architecture and sites. The Image Bank is available as a hosted collection in the ARTstor digital image library. Columbia users can search Columbia Image Bank alone or alongside all of ARTstor's content.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. (Online)
Avery AK3800 C... (1922-)
Digitized copy of the corpus of antique vases held in collections worldwide.

Google art project. (Online)
Digital images of art works from over 400 museums, galleries and other cultural collections worldwide.

Grove Art Online. (Online:within Oxford Art Online)
Contains some images from encyclopedia articles and links to images found in museum web sites.

Indianmonuments.org. (Online)
An archive of 35,000 high quality photographs taken by Benoy K. Behl of monuments, paintings and other aspects of cultural history, as well as scenic views all over India and in many places around the world. (Identified online and in CLIO as photographs archive)

Islamic monuments in India. (Online)
A database of photographs of Islamic architecture in India in Japanese and English. These were taken by researchers of the Mission for Indian History and Archaeology, University of Tokyo. Some of the monuments have their basic plans also included.

Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division. Prints & Photographs (P&P) online catalog. (Online)
Contains catalog records and digital images of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Digital Collections. (Online)
Gateway to NYPL's digital collections. Includes historic maps, rare prints and photographs, illuminated manuscripts, unusual printed ephemera, sound files and moving images, original art and more.

UNESCO World Heritage List OTVR Tour. (Online)
The World Heritage List includes 890 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. Nodes are organized on a world map, or they may be reached through the individual site pages of the list itself.

E-Images. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
Site listing Columbia, external fee based and free websites with significant image content useful to art historians.