Columbia University Buildings: Research Guide & Selected Bibliography



Many descriptions and illustrations of the original King's College and Columbia University can be found in published books, reports, and articles. This guide shows how to find these materials in Avery Library and in other Columbia University Libraries, with a selective bibliography included. Students are generally better off using reproductions for class assignments, since access to and copying of originals are restricted because of their condition. However, a guide to archival collections is included.

How to Find Information in Avery Library

Perform a Subject search in CLIO and look in the Avery card catalog under:

  • BARNARD COLLEGE
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY--BUILDINGS
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY--DESCRIPTION--VIEWS
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY--HISTORY
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY--LANDSCAPING
  • COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY--[names of specific bldgs. or depts. housed in specific buildings]

Remember that the original names of some buildings and departments have changed.

Look up the various architects and architectural firms in CLIO, the card catalog, the Avery Index, or other reference sources cited in the Avery publication "How to Research a New York City Building."

General History

Columbia University. A History of Columbia University, 1754-1904. N.Y.,1904.
Avery AA6623 C728 (copies available in multiple locations)

Lederman, Sarah Henry. Preliminary bibliography of the history of Columbia University. N.Y., 1990.
Butler Reference R378.7 CE AL

McCaughey, Robert A. Stand, Columbia: a history of Columbia University in the city of New York, 1754-2004. N.Y., 2003.
Avery AA6623 C723 M13 (copies available in multiple locations)

Robson, John W. A guide to Columbia University. N.Y., 1937.
Avery Reserves AA6623 C723 R576 (copies available in multiple locations)

Maps and Plans

Columbia University. Columbia University in the City of New York, A.D. 1900. New York, 1900.

Two volumes of drawings, plans, and photographs. Includes King's College, the 49th Street Library, and buildings on Morningside Heights campus.
Avery Classics AA6623 C7233 FF

Columbia University. Department of Buildings and Grounds. Floor plans of academic buildings on Morningside Heights. N.Y., 1941.

Extremely useful small scale plan reproductions.
Avery Reference AA 6623 C7243 (copies available in multiple locations)

Incentra International Inc. Academic acropolis. New York: Incentra International, 1998.

Map of academic and religious institutions in Morningside Heights.
Avery AA735 N4 In233

Ludington Ltd. Columbia University, Teachers College, Barnard College, an axonometric view of Morningside Heights. Hastings-on-Hudson, 1994. Map.
Avery AA6623 C723 L96 FF

Views

Boardman, Fon Wyman. Columbia University on pictures. New York: Columbia University Press, 1954.
Avery AA6623 C7244 (copies available in multiple locations)

Columbia University in the City of New York. New York: The University, 1996.
Butler Rare Book LD1253 C65 1996g

Columbia University. 1897. View book with reproductions of some plans and elevations.
Avery Classics AA 6623 C724

An Index to the microfiche edition of Photographic views of New York City, 1870's-1970's from the collections of the New York Public Library. 3 v. Ann Arbor, MI, 1981.

In vol. II ("Building Index"), look under specific building names, i.e., "Low Library" or "St. Paul's Chapel."
In vol. III ("Subject Index"), look under "Columbia University."
Photographs digitized and available at Photographic views of New York City, 1870s-1970s.
Avery Reference AA 735 N4 In24
Microfiche number Fx3 939

Roth, Ernest David. Columbia etchings. N.Y., 1930?.
University Archives CS R7423

Susi, Michael V. Columbia University and Morningside Heights. Charleston SC: Arcadia, 2007.
Avery Reference AA735 N4 Su81 (copies available in multiple locations)

Architects

Granger, Alfred Hoyt. Charles Follen McKim, a study of his life and work. N.Y., 1972, reprint of 1913 ed.
Avery AA737 M2 G76

A Monograph of the works of McKim, Mead & White, 1879-1915. N.Y., 1973, reprint of 1915 ed.
Avery Reserves AA 712 M191 F

Passanti, Francesco. "The Design of Columbia in the 1890s, McKim and his client." SAH Journal,1977 May, v.36, n. 2,  p.69-84. ill., plans.
Avery AC Am352

Roth, Leland. Architecture of McKim, Mead & White 1870-1920, a building list. 1978.
Avery Reserves AA 712 M2131

Roth, Leland. McKim, Mead & White, architects. N.Y., 1983.
Avery AA 737 M25 R74 (copies available in multiple locations)

Wilson, Richard Guy. McKim, Mead & White, architects. N.Y., 1983.
Avery Reserves AA737 M25 W69

The Campus

There are two interactive tours of the campus available on the Web:  the Virtual Campus Tour and Podcast: Architectural Walking Tour, an audio walking tour of the architecture on Columbia's Morninside Campus guided by Andrew Dolkart.

"Architecture on the Campus." Architectural Forum, 1967 July-August, v.127, n.1, p.46-75,78-85,90-97. ill., plans.
Avery AB B76

Bergdoll, Barry. Mastering McKim's Plan: Columbia's first century on Morningside Heights. N.Y., 1997.
Avery Reference AA6623 C723 B5 (copies available in multiple locations)

Columbia University. Columbia University in Morningside Heights: a framework for planning. N.Y., 1998.
Avery Reference AA6623 C7234 (copies available in multiple locations)

"Columbia University and its new buildings." The Architects' and Builders' Magazine, 1900-01, v.33,  p.11-19. ill., plans.
part of Architecture and Building, Avery microfilm F a3881

"Columbia University Heights: an ivory tower and its communities." in University as urban developer: case studies and analysis. Cambridge, Mass., 2005.
Avery Ware LC238 .U546 2005

Dolkart, Andrew. Morningside Heights: a history of its architecture and development. N.Y., 1998. See chaps. 4-5, p.103-202.
Avery Reserves AA735 N4 D6833 (copies available in multiple locations)

"The New buildings of Columbia University." The Architects' and Builders' Magazine, 1905-06, v.38, p.193-205. ill.
part of Architecture and Building, Avery microfilm F a3881

Pei (I.M.) & Partners. Planning for Columbia University: an interim report. N.Y., 1970.
Avery AA 6623 C7294 (copies available in multiple locations)

Placzek, Adolf. "Design for Columbia College, 1813." SAH Journal, 1952 May, v.11, p. 22-23. ill.
Avery AC Am352

Rappaport, Nina. "Columbia under construction." Oculus, 1996 Sept., v. 59, n.1, p.14-15. drawings, photos.
Avery AB Oc9

Stern, Robert A.M. New York 1880. N.Y., 1999. p.142-155
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 St449 (copies available in multiple locations)

Stern, Robert A.M. New York 1900. N.Y., 1983. p.404-411
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 St45 (copies available in multiple locations)

Stern, Robert A.M. New York 1930. N.Y., 1987. p.109-111
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 St453 (copies available in multiple locations

Stern, Robert A.M. New York 1960. N.Y., 1995 p.735-751
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 St454 (copies available in multiple locations)

Stern, Robert A.M. New York 2000. N.Y., 2006. p.864-882
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 St455 (copies available in multiple locations)

"The Revolution in campus design." copy from Columbia College Today, 1962 Fall, v.10, n.1. ill.
Avery AA 6623 C7247

Thomas, Milton H. "The King's College buildings." Reprint from New York Historical Society Quarterly, 1955 Jan., v.39, n.1
Avery AA 6623 C7245

Wolfe, Kevin. "Visible city: Columbia campus life." Metropolis, 1987 Sept., v.7, n. 2, p.86-89, 90. photos., site plans.
Avery AA735 N4 M55 F

Sculpture

Gayle, Margot. Guide to Manhattan's outdoor sculpture. N.Y., 1988, p.296-306.
Avery Reserves NB236 N42 G25 (copies available in multiple locations)

Wessel, David Paul. A Conservation plan for the outdoor bronzes of the Morningside Campus of Columbia University. 1988.
(Avery Classics Thesis Pres.)

Campus Buildings

Specific Buildings

Columbia University architectural drawings, circa 1888-1957.

Included are architectural drawings, surveys, maps, and site proposals for Columbia's Morning side Heights campus, designed primarily by by McKim, Mead and White.
Avery Drawings & Archives NYDA88-A12

Avery Library

Avery Hall extension: the Avery project at the Graduate School of Architecture & Planning, Columbia University, New York: design manual report, 11 March 1974
Avery AA2302 K84

"Beneath the halls of Ivy: Avery Library extension ..." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n 3, p.60-61. photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB P372

"Campus architecture." Progressive Architecture, 1978 March, v.59, n.3, p.53-75. ill., plans.
Avery AB P372

Placzek, Adolf K. "The Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library." Columbia Library Columns, 1978 Feb., v. 27, n.2, p.23-31. ill.
Butler Z671 .C63 (copies available in multiple locations)

Price, C. Matleck. "The Design of the Avery Architectural Library." Architectural Record, 1913 June, v.33, p.535-549. ill., plans.
Avery AB Ar44

Barnard College

"Barnard College, Charles H. Rich, architect." Architecture, 1904, v.9-10, p.172-175. ill.
Avery Classics AB Ar264

CIC Historic Campus Architecture Project

Features Barnard Hall, Brooks Hall and Hewitt Hall, Greer Memorial Gate, Iphigene Ochs Sulzberger Hall, and Milbank Hall.

"Dormitories, Barnard College, New York, New York." Inland Architect and News Record, 1902 Aug., v.40, plates following p.8. ill.
Avery Classics AB In5 and Avery microfilm F a9784

"Front view: Barnard College, New York, N.Y." American Architect and Building News, 1898 Dec.3, v.62, p.82. plate 1197
Avery AB Am32

"Full exterior plus close-up of entrance." Inland Architect and News Record, 1898 July, v.31, n.6. plate following p.60
Avery Classics AB In5 and Avery microfilm F a9784

"Geer Memorial Gateway, Barnard College, New York." Architecture, 1922, v.46, p.338. ill.
Avery Classics AB Ar264

Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates. Barnard College, New York, New York: executive summary: architectural campus master plan: November 2002. New York, N.Y.: The Associates, 2002.
Avery Classics AA 6623 C723 B25

"Holding court: Centennial Hall, Barnard College, New York City. Architectural Record, 1989 Oct., v.177, n.12, p.112-115. drawings, photos., plans.
Avery AB Ar44

"Library facilities, Barnard College, New York." Progressive Architecture, 1960 Sept., v.41, n.9, p.160-161. ill.
Avery AB P372

"Mut der Lucke: Studentenwohnheim "Centennial Hall", Barnard College, New York." Bauwelt, 1992 Jan.31, v.83, n.5, p.198. photos, plans.
Avery AB B326

"Side view." Inland Architect and News Record, 1898 Oct., v.32, n.3. plate following p.30
Avery Classics AB In5 and Avery microfilm F a9784

"Special feature: James Polshek." Architecture and Urbanism, 1990 Nov., n.11
(242), p.62-126. axonometric views, models, photos., plans, sections, site plans.
Avery AB K34

 

Broadway Residence Hall

"A Great place to call home." Columbia, 2001 Winter, p.6-7, photos.
University Archives CQ3 C721

Butler Library

Rappaport, Nina. "Columbia under construction." Oculus, 1996 Sept., v.59, n.1, p.14-15. drawings, photos.
Avery AB Oc9

Casa Italiana

Bosoni, Giampiero. "La Casa Italiana a New York = The Casa Italiana in New York." Domus, 1996 Dec., n.788, p 46-52. photos., ill., drawings, sketches, elevations, sections., plans.
Avery AB D711

"La Casa Italiano = The Italian House." Ottagono, 1996 Sept.-Nov., v.31, n.120, Sept-Nov., p.65-69. photos, drawings, sections, plans.
Avery AB Ot8

Kliment, Stephen A. "Rescue transforms Columbia landmark: Case Italiana, Columbia University, New York City." Architectural Record, 1996 July, v.184, n. 7, p.80-83. photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB Ar44

Merkel, Jayne. "In the streetscape: the Casa and the Convent." Oculus, 1996 Apr., v.58, n.9, p.6-7. photos.
Avery AB Oc9

New York (City). Landmarks Preservation Commission. Casa Italiana. N.Y., 1978.
Avery AA6623 C7248 F

Quinn, Raymond. "Il progetto di recupero della Casa Italiana a New York = The renovation of the Casa Italiana in New York." Lotus International, 1999, n. 103, p.78-89. photos, sketches, drawings, plans, details.
Avery AB L91

"Ein Studienhaus in New York: Umbau der ehemaligen Casa Italiana der Columbia University." Bauwelt, 1997 May 30, v.88, n.21, p.1192-1193. photos., plans, sections
Avery AB B326

Center for Engineering and Physical Science Research

"Columbia University Center for Engineering and Physical Science Research, New York, New York, USA, 1991. A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, 1990 Dec., n.12 extra edition, p.178-181. drawings., plans.
Avery AB K34

Chandler North

"Autour des projets recents de James Stirling et Michael Wilford." AMC, 1984 Oct., v. 5, p.14-17. ill.
Avery AB Am19

"Chandler North, the extension of the Chemistry Department, Columbia University, New York." Architectural Design, 1983, v.53, n.3-4, p.10-15. drawings., plans, elevations.
Avery AB Ar455

Filler, Martin. "The Stirling standard." House & Garden, 1985 May, v.157, n.5, p.170-181,236-240. photos, elevations
Avery AB H81

"Three buildings by James Stirling, Michael Wilford & Associates..." Architectural Review, 1983 Amr., v.173, n.1033, p.22-41. drawings., elevations., plans, sections., photos.
Avery AB Ar51

Wilford, Michael. "Responding to context." UIA International Architect, 1984, v.5, p. 28. drawings., photos., plans.
Avery AB Un373

Computer Science

"Computer Science Building, Columbia University." A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, 1984 Sept., n.9 (168), p.39-48. photos, plans, elevations., sections.
Avery AB K34

Gaskie, Margaret. "Classical complexity..." Architectural Record, 1984 Mar., v.172, n.3, Mar., p. [126]-133. drawings., elevations, photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB Ar4562

Ryder, Sharon Lee. "Building threaded between neighbors."Architecture: the AIA Journal, 1987 May, v.76, n 5, p.144-146. photos., plans.
Avery AB Ar4562

"Waltzing to the CRT..." Interior Design, 1984 Mar., v.55, n.3, p.226-[231]. photos., plana.
Avery AB In83

Diana Center (Barnard College)

Giovannini, Joseph. "Diana Center, New York." Architect (Washington, D.C.), 2010 June, v.99, n.6, p.113-123. photos, sections, details, site plans.
Avery AB Ar4562

Gordon, Alastair Gordon. "Site specific: rejecting object-driven architecture, Weiss-Manfredi create functional work of great beauty." Metropolis, 2004 Feb., v.23, n.6, p.82-87,106-107. photos, ill., computer drawings.
Avery AA 735 N4M55 F

Henderson, Justin. "Freeform neon lights up a cost-conscious renovation of a student center at Barnard College." Interiors, 1988 Dec., v.148, n.5, p.41-41. photos, isometric drawings.
Avery AB In832 

Silverberg, Michael. "Broadway opening." Metropolis, 2010 June, v.29, n.11, p.88-95,117. photos, sections, plans, diagrams, axonometric drawings, site plans.
Avery AB M5635

"Weiss Manfredi: Barnard Nexus, New York, 2003-09. Lotus International, 2009 June, n.138, p.63-68. sketches, elevations, sections, plans, computer drawings, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB L91

"Weiss Manfredi Architects: Barnard Nexus, New York City." Architecture, 2003 Dec., v.92, n.12, p.82. drawings.
Avery AB Ar4562

"Weiss Manfredi: Barnard College Nexus." Architecture, 2008 Jan., v.97, n.1, p.76-79. sections, drawings, plans, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB Ar4562

"Weiss-Manfredi: the Diana Center at Barnard College, New York, New York, USA 2003-2010." A+U: Architecture and Urbanism, 2010 May, n.5(476), p.104-109. photos, sections, details, site plans, diagrams, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB K34

Ziegler, Mimi. "Chroatic scale." Architectural Lighting, 2010 Nov.-Dec., v.24, n.7, p.19-21. photos, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB Ar2445

 

Earl Hall

Dunn, William. "The Principles of dome construction. pts. I-II." Architectural Review, 1908, v.23, p.63-73,108-112. ill., plans, sections
Avery AB Ar51

"Plans, front and south elevations of students hall [Earl Hall] Columbia University." Architectural Review, 1901, v.8, pl.26-28.
Avery AB T221

East Campus

"Academics [high-rise residences]." Process: Architecture, 1986 Jan., n.64, p.[133]-153. ill.
Avery AB P941

"Columbia University, student housing and academic center, New York, New York USA, 1982." A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, 1983 May, n. 5 (152), p. [72]-77. photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB K34

"East Campus Complex, Columbia University." GA Document, 1981, n.4, p.68-79. photos, sections, plans.
Avery AB G514

"East Campus Complex, Columbia University by Gwathmey Siegel Associates." Space Design, 1982 July, n.7 (214), p.59-66. photos, site plans, plans, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB Sd12

"Expanding horizons: the East Campus Complex." Architectural Record, 1982 Feb., v.170, n. 2, p.65-71, photos, sections., plans.
Avery AB Ar44

"Gwathmey Siegel: East Campus Complex ..." Skyline, 1982 Jan., p.18-19. photos., plans.
Avery AB Sk79

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill. Columbia University: East Campus development. N.Y., 1990.
Avery Classics AA 6623 C7295 F

Faculty Club

"Faculty Club, Columbia University." Architecture and Building, 1923, v.55, pl.170-172.
Avery microfilm F a3881

Fairchild

"Campus Architecture." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p.53-75. ill., plans.
Avery AB P372

"Hail Columbia." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p54-59. photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB P372

"Sherman Fairchild Center for the Life Sciences." Parametro, 1978 Nov., v.9, n,7, p.57-58. photos, plans, elevations.
Avery AB P217

Ferris Booth Hall

[demolished, see also Lerner Hall]

Knobel, Lance. "Three interiors by Robert Stern." Architectural Review, 1982 July, v.172, n.1025, p.52-[58]. axonometric views, photos., plans.
Avery AB Ar51

Wilk, Christopher. "Renovating Columbia interiors." Skyline, 1982 Jan., p.19-21. photos, plans.
Avery AB Sk79

Havemeyer Hall

Gottlieb, Stephen E. "Preventing limestone spalls: two McKim, Mead and White buildings at Columbia University." Association for Preservation Technology. Bulletin. 1988, v.20, n.3, p.23-27.
Avery AC As75

Hogan Hall

"Campus architecture." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p.53-75. ill., plans.
Avery AB P372

"Saving traces." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p.62-63. photos., plans.
Avery AB P372

Johnson Hall

Johnson Hall, women's residence hall, 1937-1938. N.Y., 1937.
Avery AA 6623 C723

Journalism

"Toni Stabile Student Center, Columbia University, Graduate School of Journalism, New York, 2008." Architectural Design, 2009 Mar.-Apr., v.79, n.2, p.106-109. photos, diagrams, computer drawings.
Avery AB Ar455

Lamont Doherty

Melvin, Jeremy. "Building profile: Climate Prediction Center." Architectural Design, 2002 Jan., v.72, n.1, p.113-117. details, photos., plans, sections, site plans, sketches.
Avery AB Ar455

Kent Hall

"Kent Hall, Columbia University, McKim, Mead & White, architects." Architects' and Builders' Magazine, 1910-1911, v.43 (new series v. 12), p.172-175. ill.
part of Architecture and Building, Avery microfilm F a3881

Law School (Jerome L. Greene Hall)

"Campus Architecture." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p.53-75. ill., plans.
Avery AB P372

"Making it legal." Progressive Architecture, 1978 Mar., v.59, n.3, p.64-65. photos., plans.
Avery AB P372

Slessor, Catherine. "Grove of academe." Architectural Review, 1997 Aug., v.202, n.1206, p.56-59. photos., plans, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB Ar51

Lerner Hall (Alfred Lerner Hall)

[see also Ferris Booth Hall]

"Bernard Tschumi: Alfred Lerner Hall at Columbia University, N.Y." GA Document, 1999 Nov., n.60, p.24-33. details, photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB G514

"Bernard Tschumi, Gruzen Samton: Lerner Student Center, Columbia University." Domus, 1999 June, n 816, p.35-38. axonometric drawings, photos., plans, sections, sketches.
Avery AB D711

"Bernard Tschumi-Gruzen Samton Associated Architects: Alfred Lerner Hall, Columbia University, N.Y., N.Y., USA." Praxis, 1999 Fall, v.1, n.0, p.66-81. details, models, photos., plans, sections, sketches.
Avery AB P893

"Bernard Tschumi with Gruzen Samton Associated Architects: Lerner Student Center, Columbia University, New York, USA, under construction." A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, 1997 Sept., n.9
(324), p.10-29. computer drawings, plans, details.
Avery AB K34

Campbell, Robert. "Modernism and contextualism meet at Bernard Tschumi and Gruzen Samton's Lerner Hall with provocative results." Architectural Record, 1999 Nov., v.187, n.11, p.94-101. photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB Ar44

Capurso, Rossana. "Centro per studenti della Columbia University, New York." Industria delle Costruzioni, 2001 Apr., n.354, p.40-453, photos., plans, sections.
Avery AB In315

"Una cittadella dinamica = A dynamic hub." Arca, 1997 May, n.115, p 8-11. axonometric drawings, computer drawings, sections.
Avery AB Ar14

"Desviacion de la norma: Lerner Hall en el campus de Columbia, Manhattan." Arquitectura Viva, 2001 Feb., n.76, Feb., p.42-45, photos., plans.
Avery AB Ar6886

Quinton, Maryse. "Circulations: Alfred Lerner Hall." Moniteur Architecture AMC, 2002 Oct., n.128, p.112-114. details, photos., plans.
Avery AB Am738

Sowa, Axel. "Bernard Tschumi, Ove Arup et Hugh Dutton, Eiffel: Students Center, Lerner Hall." Architecture d'Aujourd'hui, 2000 July-Aug., n.329, July-Aug., p.60-65. drawings, details, photos., plans, site plans.
Avery AB Ar473

Stickells, Lee. "Conceiving an architecture of movement." Arq: architectural research quarterly, 2010, v.14, n.1, p.41-51. photos.
Avery AB Ar6622

Tschumi, Bernard. Glass ramps/glass wall: derivations from the normative. London, 2001.
Avery AA 1353 T78

Tschumi, Bernard. "Lerner Student Center." Zodiac, 1999 Jan.-June, n.20, p.104-111. photos., plans, sections, site plans, sketches.
Avery AB Z751

Low Library

Carley, Rachel. Low Memorial Library Interior. New York, N.Y.: Landmarks Preservation Commission, 1981.
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 ZL19 (copies available in multiple locations)

Linn, Charles. "Nondestructive testing probes done's safety." Architectural Record, 2003 Mar., v.191, n.3, p.181-184. computer drawings, graphs, photos., sections.
Avery AB Ar44

Low Memorial Library. New York, N.Y.: Landmarks Preservation Commission, 1966.
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 ZL95 F

Nakahara, Mari and Kobayashi, Katsuhiiro. "Analysis on geometric composition of McKim, Mead & White's Low Library." Nihon Kenchiku Gakkai Keikakukei ronbun hokoku shu = Journal of Architecture, Planning and Environmental Engineering, 1993 Dec., v.12, n.12 (454), p.189-195.
Avery AB N57

Schweinberg, Lindsey A. Low Memorial Library: and argument for the restoration of lived experience. New York: Columbia University, 2007.
(Avery Classics Thesis Pres.)

Mathematics

Gottlieb, Stephen E. "Preventing limestone spalls: two McKim, Mead and White buildings at Columbia University." Association for Preservation Technology. Bulletin, 1988, v.20, n.3, p.23-27.
Avery AC As75

Manhattanville Campus (West Harlem Campus)

Brown, Ed. "Renzo Piano Building Workshop and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill: Columbia University expansion, New York City." Architecture, 2004 Sept., v. 93, n.9, p.46. sections, site plans, computer drawings.
Avery AB Ar4562

Columbia University. Columbia and Mahattanville: building for the future. New York: Columbia University, 2005.
Avery AA 6623 C723 C73

Craig, David J. "Smart growth: a report from Manhattanville." Columbia, 2006 Summer, p.8-15. photos, site plans, drawings.
University Archives CQ3 C721

Davis, Dorian. "Columbia's controversial expansion okayed." Architectural Record, 2008 Feb., v.196, n.2, p.36
Avery AB Ar44

Davis, Dorian. "Piano, Som's Columbia plan stirs controversy." Architectural Record, 2007 July, v.195, n.7, p.36. photos, site plans.
Avery AB Ar44

Dheere, Jessica. "Columbia takes Manhattanville." Urban Land, 2004 Sept., v.63, n.9, p.123. photos, site plans.
Avery AB Ur1

Huntsman, Daniel. "Nontraditional sites for academic campuses." Urban Land, 2008 Mar., v.67, n.3, p.87-91. photos, drawings, site plans.
Avery AB Ur1

Irace, Fulvio. "Renzo Piano: un italiano in America = Renzo Piano: an Italian in America." Abitare, 2004 May, n.439, p.151-154. aerial photos., ports., elevations, sections, site plans.
Avery AB Ab59

Lewis, Ricahrd C. "Collegial conflicts: Columbia University's Manhattanville plan shows challenges, opportunities in urban expansion." Urban Land, 2008 Apr., v.67, n.4, p.148-150.
Avery AB Ur1

Levinson, Nancy. "Campus planning is breaking new ground." Architectural Record, 2004 Aug., v.192, n.8, p.86-90,92,94. photos., sketches, models, site plans, computer drawings
Avery AB Ar44

Litt, Steven. "Big man off campus: universities are revamping their college towns in an effort to stay competitive." Planning, 2005 Aug.-Sept., v.71, n.8, p.42-45. photos, aerial phots, maps, site plans.
Avery AB P683

"Manhattanville Campus, Columbia University." A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, 2010 May, special issue, p.202-203. sections, site plans, photos. Avery AB K34

Martin, Jean Marie. "Renzo Piano a New York." Casabella, 2005 Nov., v.69, n.738, p.6-35. aerial photos, sketches, models, elevations, sections, details, plans, site plans, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB C26

Millard, Bill. "The university as laboratory for urban design." Oculus, 2008-2009 Winter, v.70, n.4, p.34-37. photos, drawings, site plans, computer drawings.
Avery AB Oc9

"Nuevo campus de la Universidad de Columbia = Columbia University campus plan, 2002." AV Monografias = AV Monographs, 2006 May-June, n.119, p.134-137. photos, sketches, models, sections, plans, aerial photos.
Avery AB Ay98

Prestinenza Puglisi, Luigi. "Renzo Piano: due sfide: in New York and Genoa." Arca, 2007 Feb., n.222, p.18-29. photos, aerial photos, drawings, models, sections, site plans.
Avery AB Ar14

"Renzo Piano Building Workshop 1989-2010." A+U: Architecture and Urbanism, 2010 May, special issue, p.202-203. sections, photos, site plans.

Roberts, Bob. "Open university." City Limits, 2004 Dec., v.29, n.10, p.15-17, ports.
Avery AA 7545 C51 (copies available in multiple locations)

Taylor, Marilyn. "Crossing beyond the boundaries: Columbia University in West Harlem." Places, 2005 Spring, v.17, n.1, p.50-53. aerial photos., sections, site plans, computer drawings.
Avery AB P66

Zack, Stephen. "I'll take Manhattanville." Architectural Record, 2010 Aug., v.198, n.8, p.23-24. ill.
Avery AB Ar44

Medical Center

"Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center." The Architect, 1928, v.10, p. 442-3,448-450, 459-481. ill.
Avery Microfilm F a5691

Morganti, Renato. "Edilizia ospedaliera a New York = Hospital buildings in New York." Industria delle Costruzioni, 1992 Sept., n.251, p.38-49, details, drawings, photos., plans, site plans, aerial photos.
Avery AB In315

Raymond, Betty. "Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center invests in the future." Contract Interiors, 1978 Mar. v.136, n. 8, p.[78]-81. ill., plans.
Avery AB Up3

Northwest Corner Building

Columbia University Northwest Science Building: design, construction, technologies. Porto: GEQUALTEC, 2011. photos, plans, sections, elevations, site plans, models
Avery LC-NA1313 .M55 C65 2011g

Hart, Sara. "Northwest Corner Building, New York." Architect (Washington, D.C.), 2011 July, v.100, n.7, p.106-114. photos, sections, plans.
Avery AB Ar4562

Laboratorio de Ciencas Noroeste: Universidad de Columbia, Estados Unidos." Arkinka, 2011 May, v.15, n.186, p.16-45. photos, plans, sections, elevations, axonometric drawings.
Avery AB Ar5967

Lamster, Mark. "Moneo's modern masterpiece falls foul of fickle prejudice." Architectural Review, 2011 Jan., v.229, n.1367, p.29. photos.
Avery AB Ar51

Martin, Jean-Marie. "Rafael Moneo: N.W. Corner Building, Columbia University, New York." Casabella, 2011 May, v.75, n.801, p.26-41. axonometric drawings, elevations, plans, photos, sections.
Avery AB C26

Ramos Castro, Luis Miguel. "Od sputanosti do domisljatosti = From contraint to invention." Oris, 2011, v.13, n.71, p.8-17. photos, plans, site plans, axonometric drawings, sketches, sections.
Avery AB Or35

Reinsch, Daniela. "Schwebende Ecke: Institutsgebaude der Columbia-Universitat in New York von Rafael Moneo." Baumeister, 2011 Apr., v.108, n.4, p.22-23. photos.
Avery AB B325

Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Farr, Douglas. "The Light at the end of the tunnel: Columbia's new rare book library." Columbia Art Review, 1985 Winter, p.3-6. photos, plan, secns.
Avery N1 C717

Truppin, Andrea. "Rare example: Cain, Farrell & Bell carry on the McKim, Mead and White tradition ..." Interiors, 1985 Aug., v.145, n.1, p.148-155, photos, plans, sections.
Avery AB In832

St. Paul's Chapel

Dunn, William. "The Principles of dome construction." pts. I-II Architectural Review, 1908, v.23, p.63-73,108-112. ill., plans, sections.
Avery AB Ar51

Goodyear, William H. "The Columbia University Chapel." Copy from The Brickbuilder, 1906, v.15.
Avery Reserves AA 6623 C7253; also Avery microfilm F a4400

St. Paul's Chapel. New York, N.Y.: Landmarks Preservation Commission, 1966.
Avery Reserves AA 735 N4 ZSa21

Schapiro Hall

Hirsh, Jennifer, "A good neighbor in the Columbia tradition." Columbia Art Review, 1986 Winter, p.8-9, drawings., plans.
Avery N1 C717

Liebman, Rosanna G. "West side study: Morris A. Schapiro Residence Hall, Columbia University, New York City, Gruzen Samton Steinglass Architects." Architecture: the AIA Journal, 1990 Jan. ,v.79, n.1, p.[90]-91. photos, plans.
Avery AB Ar4562

Schermerhorn Hall

Boles, Daralice D. "Teaching architecture: Wallach Fine Arts Center ..." Progressive Architecture, 1986 Sept., v.67, n.9, p.128-131. photos., plan, sections.
Avery AB P372

Karliner, Leah. "Schermerhorn Hall renovated." Columbia Art Review, 1985 Spring, p.19. photos.
Avery N1 C717

Union Theological Seminary

"The Burke Library renovation, Union Theological Seminary, New York, New York, 1982." Process: Architecture, 1989 Mar., n.81, p.68-73. axonometric drawings, elevations, photos., plans.
Avery AB P941

Doubilet, Susan. "Let there be light: Union Theological Seminary Library renovation, New York." Progressive Architecture, 1984 June, v.65, n.6, p.84-87. photos., plans.
Avery AB P372

Gorman, Jean. "Gothic revisted." Interiors, 1991 Mar., v.150, n.8, p.80-83. photos.
Avery AB In832

Schuyler, Montgomery. "Architecture of American colleges: New York City colleges." Architectural Record, 1910 June, v.27, p.443-469. photos., ill.
Avery AB Ar44

"Tower of Union Theological Seminary." Architectural Record, 1911 May, v.29, p.391.
Avery AB Ar44

Uris

"Business as more than usual: addition to Uris Hall ..." Architectural Record, 1986 Apr., v.174, n 4, p. 120-125. drawings., maps, photos., plans, sections
Avery AB Ar44

Hamilton, R. Douglas. "A new facade for modernism." Columbia Art Review, 1985 Spring,  p.10-12. drawings, photos., plans.
Avery N1 C717

"Reasserting a Beaux-Arts tradition: an expansion plan for Columbia's business school." Architectural Record, 1985 Feb., v.173, n. 2, p.61. drawings
Avery AB Ar44

"Uris Hall addition at Columbia University." Building Stone Magazine, 1986 Jan.-Feb., p.[40]-43. drawings., photos., sections.
Avery AB B8625

Archival Material In Other Libraries

Columbia University has no central archive. Materials concerning its buildings and history are housed in several library and administrative collections.

Please note: ALL the archival collections require appointments scheduled IN ADVANCE. All have weekday hours only, some limited. Requests for copies of original material also require advanced arrangements and payments. Use of fragile materials may be restricted.

Barnard Archives, Barnard Library (103 Lehman, 212-854-4079)

Repository for all records of the college. Includes prints, maps, drawings and photos.

Department of Design and Planning, Facilities Management (B230 East Campus, 212-854-4678)

Responsible for the maintenance and development of the University campus. A wide range of drawings of the Morningside Campus.

Drawings & Archives Collection, Avery Library (121 Avery,  212-854-4110)

Some drawings by McKim, Mead and White; Stokes and Howell; and James Gamble Rogers for selected buildings on campus. For holdings see the Drawings & Archives Collection List or consult the Curator of Drawings or the Assistant to the Curator.

New-York Historical Society Library (170 Central Park West, New York, NY, 212-873-3400)

The McKim, Mead and White collection includes drawings, photos, and documents on Columbia University buildings.

University Archives (Butler Library, 6th Floor East 212-854-3786)

The central repository for materials relating to Columbia University and the University community. Collection includes historical records, photos, clippings, some plans, scrapbooks, etc.


Last updated August 2012