Landscape Design: Basic Resources for Research
The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at Avery Library, intended to give an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. To view other research guides, return to Avery Library Subject and Research Guides. Ask a librarian if you need reference assistance or have any further questions.
American Horticultural Society A-Z encyclopedia of garden plants. New York, N.Y.: DK Pub., 2004.
Avery Reference AA9552 Am35 [Shelved behind Reference Desk]
Dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Avery Reference AA31 C9231
Dictionary of landscape architecture and construction. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
Avery Reference AA9517 C46
Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. 3 volumes.
Avery Reference AA9552 En19
Digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, colored transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials on architecture, engineering and landscape.
Merges the Oxford Companion to Western Art with the Grove Dictionary of Art, a full-text encyclopedia of art, including landscape architecture and garden design.
Lexicon of garden and landscape architecture. Boston: Birkhauser Publishers for Architecture, 2006.
Avery Reference AA9517 V96
Oxford companion to the garden. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Avery Reference AA9552 Ox23
Pioneers of American landscape design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Avery Reference AA9576 P665
Time-saver standards for landscape architecture: design and construction data. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
Avery Reserves AA9517 T481
The online catalog for the New York Botanical Garden Mertz Library. One of the world's largest and most important research libraries concerned with knowledge about the world of plants.
Columbia University Libraries online catalog. Catalog records for library materials including books, journals, newspapers, online resources, government documents, microfilm, sound and video recordings and archival collections. Does not contain citations to articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.
OCLC catalog of books, journals, sound and visual recordings, internet resources and archival materials in libraries worldwide.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles (not full-text articles themselves) published worldwide on architecture, design and urban planning including landscape architecture and garden design and history. It is sometimes possible to get the full text of an article or the Columbia call number by clicking on the E-Link icon.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticultural Index
Citations to articles (with some full text articles directly linked) on topics including horticulture, garden design and history, landscape, botany, ecology, and garden conservation.
Other Article Sources
- Biological & Agricultural Index
Citations to articles (with some full-text articles) on the life sciences and agriculture, covering topics such as botany, ecology, environmental science, forestry, horticulture and soil science.
Full-text articles in the humanities and social sciences including coverage of landscape design, garden history, botany and ecology.
- LexisNexis Environmental
Collection of five separately searchable environmental databases. A source for articles and other key resources on the environment including land use, biodiversity and sustainable development.
- Avery Library
Hours, services, reference help.
- Borrow Direct
Interlibrary borrowing service that obtains books from participating university libraries. Usually faster than than Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for books unavailable at Columbia University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Service which obtains books and articles from other libraries when they are not owned by Columbia University Libraries.
Last updated September 2009.