New York City Atlases & Land Books


These resources are grouped by year (the range covers 1819 - present).  The guide includes resources from Avery Library and the New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Collections.  

After connecting to items in the NYPL Digital Collections please scroll down to the middle of the page to see the "View as Book" link to see the entire atlas or landbook.

1819-1820:

Sackersdorff. Map of farms, commonly called the Blue book, 1815.
Drawn from the original on file in the Street Commissioner's office in the city of New York, together with lines of streets and avenues, laid out by John Randel, Jr. 1819-1820 [1868]. 
NYPL Digital Collections

1852-1856:

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (6v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 1st-4th (1852)--v.2 Wards 7th, 10th & 13th (1856)--v.3 Wards 5th, 6th, 8th & 14th (1853)--v.4 Wards 11th, 17th and part of 18th (1853)--v.5 Wards 9th, 15th and part of 16th (1854)--v.6 Wards 18th & 21st (1854)
Avery AA735 N4 P4211 FFF
Avery Classics AA735 N4 P42 FF

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (7v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 1st-4th (1852)--v.2 Wards 7th, 10th & 13th (1852)--v.3 Wards 5th, 6th, 8th & 14th (1853)--v.4 Wards 11th, 17th and part of 18th (1853)--v.5 Wards 9th, 15th and part of 16th (1854)--v.6 Wards 18th & 21st--v.7 19th & 20th Wards (1854)
NYPL Digital Collections

1855:

Perris. Maps of the city of Brooklyn.
Contents: v.1 & v.2 
NYPL Digital Collections

1857-1862:

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (7 v.) (3rd. ed)
Contents: v.1 (1857)--v.2 (1857)--v.3 (1859)--v.4 (1859)--v.5 (1859)--v.6 (1859)--v.7 (1862)
NYPL Digital Gallery

1861:

Perris. Insurance maps of the warehouses & c., in Brooklyn from the Navy yard to Partition Street.
NYPL Digital Collections

1867:

Dripps. Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 D831 FFF 

Dripps. Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek.
NYPL Digital Collections

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
Avery Classics AA730 N48 B393 F

1868:

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
NYPL Digital Collections

Dripps.  Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 D83 FFF 

Higginson. Higginson's insurance map of the city of Brooklyn.
Contents: v.4
NYPL Digital Collections

Perris & Browne. Insurance maps of the City of New York.
Contents: v.2
NYPL Digital Collections

Sackersdorff. Map of the City of New York part 1: showing the streets, avenues, roads, public squares & places.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa1 FF

1869:

Dripps. Map of the city of Brooklyn; being the former cities of Brooklyn & Williamsburgh and the town of Bushwick.
NYPL Digital Collections

1873:

Atlas of Long Island, New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1874:

Beers. Atlas of Staten Island, Richmond County, New York.
Avery Classics AA735 N4St2 B391 F 

Beers. Atlas of Staten Island, Richmond County, New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

Fulton. Farm line map of the city of Brooklyn (Atlas of the City of Brooklyn).
Avery Classics: AA735 N4B7 F95 FF

Beers. Farm line map of the city of Brookyn(drawn by Henry Fulton)
NYPL Digital Collections

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 V673 FF

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1876:

Cornell. Property atlas of the City of Yonkers, N.Y.: including a portion of the twenty fourth ward of New York City.
Avery Classics AA735 Y8 C815

1879:

Bromley. Atlas of the entire city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B78 1879 F

Dripps. Map of Kings County, New York: based on the recent official survey showing new arrangement of boulevards, streets, railroads, etc.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B7 D83

1880:

Bromley. Atlas of the 19th & 22nd wards, city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B773 FF

Bromley. Atlas of the entire city of Brooklyn, complete in one volume.
Avery AA9127 N4 B7831 F 
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B7831 F

Bromley. Atlas of the entire city of Brooklyn, complete in one volume.
NYPL Digital Collections

Hopkins. Detailed estate and old farm line atlas of the city of Brooklyn. (6v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 23,24 & 25--v.2 Ward 18--v.4 Wards 8 & 22--v.6 Wards 13,14,15,16,17 & 19
NYPL Digital Collections

1881:

Speilmann & Brush. Certified copies of original maps of property in New York City.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 Sp4 FF

1882:

Bromley. Atlas of the 24th ward, city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 G975 FF 

1885:

Robinson. Robinson’s atlas of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 R561 FF

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1886:

Robinson. Robinson’s atlas of the City of Brooklyn, New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 R56 FF

Robinson. Robinson's atlas of the City of Brooklyn, New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1887:
Beers. Atlas of Staten Island, Richmond Co.
Avery Classics AA735 N4St2 B39 F

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York. (6v.) (2nd.ed.)
Contents: v.5 23rd Ward (1887)
NYPL Digital Collections

1888-1897:

Robinson. Certified copies of important maps appearing to the 23rd and 24th wards, city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1890:

Robinson. Robinson's atlas of King's County, New York. [Brooklyn]
NYPL Digital Collections

1890-1893:

Robinson. Atlas of the City of New York. 3rd ed. (4 v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 19th and 22nd --v.2 Ward 12th--v.3 Wards 16th, 18th and 21st--v.4 South of 14th Street
Avery AA735 N4 R56 FF

Proquest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition 1867-1970 [New York/New Jersey].

For New York City five categories are available:

Brooklyn [Kings Co.]
Contents: 1886-1888; 1893-1895; 1901; 1904-1908; 1905; 1909; 1915-1933; 1915-1951; 1915-Apr.1951; New and additional sheets.

New York City : Special Atlases. These are unique maps.
Contents: 1903 Street cleaning, Bronx; 1913 Dry goods district, Manhattan; 1919-1921 Warehouse map, Hoboken, Manhattan, Bronx; 1922 Pier map of New York harbor; 1928 Pier map of New York Harbor

New York City [Bronx] [Kings (Brooklyn)] [Queens] [Richmond (Staten Island)].
This includes Manhattan, even though it is not listed.
Contents: 1890-1902; 1903-1919; 1908-1947; 1908-1952; New and additional sheets.

Queens County
Contents: 1898-1903; 1911-1917; 1925-1943; 1925-1934; 1947-1949; 1914-May 1951

Richmond Borough of New York City (Staten Island)
Contents: July 1885; 1898; 1910; 1917; 1937-1938; 1937-June 1951; New and additional sheets.

LibraryWeb (under Databases).
This is a digitized version of the New York State maps in Fire insurance maps in the Library of Congress: plans of North American cities and towns located at MICROFILM F a7772

1891:

Beers. Map showing improved pavements in the City of Brooklyn in The City of Brooklyn in 1891.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B7 J33 FFF

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York, Manhattan Island.
Avery AA9127 N4 B78 1891 FF

Wolverton. Atlas of Queens Co., Long Island, New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1892-1895:

Maps or plans and profiles, with field notes and explanatory remarks, showing the location, width, grades...of the 23rd and 24th wards of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1893:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of Brooklyn, New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 B783 FF

1897:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Manhattan Island.
NYPL Digital Collections

1898:

Hyde. Atlas of the Brooklyn borough.
Contents: v.1 Wards 2nd & 5th and part of 1st & 4th
Avery Classics AA735 N4B7 At1 FF

1898-1899:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York… Manhattan. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St. (1899)--v.2 14th St. to 59th St. (1899)--v.3 59th St. to 110th St. (1898)
NYPL Digital Collections

Ullitz. Atlas of the Brooklyn borough of the City of New York.
Contents: v.1 first 28 Wards--v.2 Flatbush and New Utrect, 29th & 30th Wards--v.3 Gravesend and Flatlands, 31st & 32nd Wards
NYPL Digital Collections

1899:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York… Manhattan. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St.--v.2 14th St. to 59th St.--v.3 59th St. to 110th St.--v.4 110th St to 145th St.
Avery AA9127 N4 B78 1898-99 FF

1901:

Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the borough of the Bronx, city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1901-1904:

Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Queens. City of New York complete in Three Volumes. (3v.)
Contents: v.1 Fourth and Fifth Wards. Jamaica and Rockaway (1901)--v.2 First and Second Wards. Long Island City and Newtown (1903)--v.3 Third Ward. Flushing (1903)
NYPL Digital Collections

1905:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of the Bronx, annexed district from actual surveys and official plans.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4B8 B782 FF

1907:

Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Queens. City of New York complete in Three Volumes. (3v.)
Contents: v.1 Fourth and Fifth Wards. Jamaica and Rockway

Robinson. Atlas of the Borough of Richmond, City of New York. (Staten Island) 
NYPL Digital Collections

1909:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York, Borough of Queens, Long Island City, Newtown, Flushing, Jamaica, Far Rockaway, from actual surveys and official plans. 
NYPL Digital Collections

1910:

Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough on Manhattan, City of New York, complete in one volume.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H99 FF 

1911:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan.
NYPL Digital Collections

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Borough of the Bronx.
Contents: v.2. Sections 11-13
Avery Classics 131064

1911-1913: 

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Borough of the Bronx. (3v.)
Contents: v.1. Sections 9-10 (1911)--v.2. Sections 11-13 (1911)--v.3. Annexed district: Section 14-18 (1913)
NYPL Digital Collections

1912:

Belcher Hyde. Miniature atlas of the borough of the Bronx complete in two volumes.
Contents: Vol. 1. 23rd and 24th Ward  
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 M66
Digital copy 

Bromley. Atlas of the borough of Manhattan.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 B7833 
Avery Offsite AA735 N4 B7833 
Digital copy

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9,10,11,12, & 13
Avery Classics G1254.N4:3B7 G83 1912 
Avery Offsite G1254.N4:3B7 G83 1912 
Digital copy

1913:

Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Queens. City of New York complete in Three Volumes. (3v.)
Contetnts: v.2 First and Second Wards. Long Island City and Newtown (orig. publ. in 1908)
NYPL Digital Collections

1913-1918:

Ullitz. Atlas of borough of Queens city of New York.
Contents: v.1 Westerly Part of Jamaica Part of Ward 4 (1913)--v.1A Easterly Part of Jamaica Part of Ward 4 (1918)--v.2 Long Island City. First Ward (1913)--v.2A Newtown Ward 2 (1915)
NYPL Digital Collections


1914:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan.
Contents: v.4  110th St. to 145th St.
NYPL Digital Collections

1916:

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan.
NYPL Digital Collections

1917:

Bromley. Atlas of The City of New York, Borough of Richmond Staten Island. (2v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 1, 2, & 3--v.2 Wards 4 & 5
NYPL Digital Collections

1920:

Comstock. Block book of Twenty-Third Ward, New York City. (Bronx)
Avery AA9127 N4B8 L49 FF 
Avery Offsite AA9127 N4B8 L49 FF 

1920-1922:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan. (5v.)
Contents: v.2 14th St. to 59th St. (1920)-- v.3 59th St. to 110th St. (1921)
NYPL Digital Collections

1921:

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, city of New York.
Avery AA735 N4 B78 FF
Avery Classics AA735 N4 B78 FF

Bromley. Atlas of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13
Avery AA9127 N4B8 B783 FF
Avery Classics AA9127 N4B8 B783 FF 

Bromley. Atlas of borough of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13
NYPL Digital Collections

1922:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan. (5v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St.--v.2 14th St. to 59th St.--v.3 59th St. to 110th St.--v.4 110th St. to 145th St.--v.5 145th St. to Spuyten Duyvil
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B7851 FF

Sanborn. Pier map of New York harbour, including Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Long Island City, Staten Island and New Jersey shore.
Avery Classics 131516

1923:

*Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v.3 From 72nd St. to 125th St. (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 Eb32 FF

1924:

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of the city of New York: Sectional plans of the city of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 N48595 FF

1925:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York: Borough of the Bronx. (2v.)
Contents: v.2 North of 172nd St.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 G13 FF

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 F
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 F

1927:

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1927a F

1929:

Hyde. Desk atlas, borough of Brooklyn, city of New York. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Sections 1-7--v.2 Sections 8-14--v.3 Sections 15-19-- v.4 Sections 20-25. Shows zoning restrictions and bus lines in operation.
Avery Classics 131642

1930:

Bromley. Manhattan land book.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 F

1931:

Map of the borough...City of New York: map of Topographical Bureau.
Contents: Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Richmond
Avery AA9127 N4 M32 FFF

1932:

*Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York Manhattan. (orig. publ. in 1913)
Contents: 14th St. to 59th St. Part 1 & 2
Avery Classics 626273 FF

1933:

*Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v.4 From 125th St. to Spuyten Duyvil (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 Eb32 FF

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 N4861 FF

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City. (orig. publ. in 1924)
Avery AA9127 N4 N486 FF

1934:

Bromley. Manhattan land book. (with some corrections)
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F
Avery Offsite AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F

1935:

*Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v. 1 From Battery to 23rd St. (orig. publ. in 1907)--v.2 From 23rd St. to 72nd St (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 Eb32 FF

*Belcher Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of the Bronx, City of New York. (5v.)
Contents: v. 1. The 23rd Ward (orig. publ. in 1907)--v. 2. Lower part of the 24th Ward (orig. publ. in 1901)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Eb32 FFF

1936:

Sanborn. Borough of Richmond Insurance maps Staten Island, New York.
Contents: v. 1 (orig. publ. in 1917)
NYPL Digital Collections

1938:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York: Borough of the Bronx. (2v.)
Contents: v.2 North of 172nd St.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 G131 FF

1941-1994:

Sanborn. Fire insurance maps from the Sanborn Map Company Archives. New York City: late 19th century to 1990.
Most maps are from the 1970s and 1980s. Contents note for set on each reel.
MICROFILM F d4417

1943:

*Sanborn. Atlas of the City of New York…Manhattan. (orig. publ. in 1930)
Contents: v.3 59th St. to 110th St.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa54 FF

1959:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book. (orig. publ. in 1955)
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1955 F
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 F

1962:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book. (orig. publ. in 1955)
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1955 F c.2

1963:

New York (N.Y.). City Planning Commission. Sectional map of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 N488711 FFF

1965:

Sanborn. Land use 1964-65 [map of the City of New York].
Avery AA9127 N4L1 Sa5 FFF

1975:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book of the City of New York. (orig. publ. in 1970)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 B782 1970F

1979:

*Bromley. Bronx land book. (2v.) (v.1 orig. publ. in 1965, v.2 orig. publ. in 1963)
Avery AA9127 N4 B7821 FF

1983:

*Sanborn. Atlas of the City of New York…Manhattan.
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St. (orig. publ. in 1959)--v.2 14th St. to 59th St. (orig. publ. in 1957)--v.4 110th St. to 145th St. (orig. publ. in 1932)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa54 FF

1990-2014:

Sanborn. Manhattan land book of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 Sa535 FF

2002:

Sanborn. Sanborn CitySets.
Digitized Sanborn maps for New York City (south of 60th Street) and some of downtown Brooklyn. Layers of data include building footprints (with heights and data), streets and bridges, orthophotos, and TIN elevation (for 3D mapping)
Electronic Data Service, Lehman Library, SIA

2005:

Sanborn. New York boroughs.
Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island.
MICROFICHE Fx3 4118

2007-2008:

Sanborn. Sanborn building & property atlas of Brooklyn.
Avery AA9127 N4B7 Sa532 F

2012-2013:

Sanborn. Sanborn landbook, the Bronx, New York.
Avery AA9127 N4B8 Sa55 FF

2013:

Sanborn. Sanborn building & property atlas of Brooklyn.
Avery AA9127 N4B7 Sa532 F

2014:

Sanborn. Sanborn building & property atlas of Brooklyn.
Avery Reserves AA9127 N4B7 Sa532 F

2014:

Sanborn. Sanborn landbook, the Bronx, New York.
Avery Reserves AA9127 N4B7 Sa55 FF

2014/2015:

Sanborn. Manhattan land book of the City of New York.
Avery Reserves AA9127 N4 Sa535 FF

*The Sanborn Map Company had a correction service which kept the books up to date with the hundreds of changes that took place every year. The service made necessary changes in buildings, lots, zoning, etc. as officially recorded by New York City .

                                                                    last updated July 2015