Urban Planning: Basic Resources for Research
The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at Avery Library, intended to give an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. To view other research guides, return to Avery Library Subject and Research Guides. Ask a librarian if you need reference assistance or have any further questions.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Directory of information sources in housing and urban development. Rockville, Md.: HUD USER, 1993.
Avery Reference HT167 .D57 1993g
Duensing, Edward. Information sources in urban and regional planning: A directory and guide to reference materials. New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994.
Avery Reference Z5942 .D87 1994
The encyclopedia of housing. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1998.
Avery Reference AA31 En197 (copies available in multiple locations)
Encyclopedia of urban America: the cities and suburbs. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Avery Reference AA9105 En19 (copies available in multiple locations)
A Glossary of urban form. Birmingham: Urban Morphology Research Group, School of Geography, University of Birmingham, 1991.
Avery Reference GF125.G56 1991g
Hayden, Dolores. A field guide to sprawl. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
Avery Reference HT321 .H3856 2004
Moskowitz, Harvey S. The latest illustrated book of development definitions. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, 2004.
Avery Reference HT167 .M683 2004
A Planners dictionary. Chicago: American Planning Association. Planning Advisory Service, 2004.
Avery AA9105 Am29 no.521/522
Planning A to Z: a dictionary of planning terminology. New York: City of New York, Dept. of City Planning, 1983.
Avery Reference AA9005 P69
Transportation planning handbook. Washington, DC: Institute of Transportation Engineers, 1999.
Avery Ware HE152.5 .T73 1999
- 100 Essential Books Of Planning
The American Planning Association has created a list of 100 essential books. These books come from every decade starting in 1909, the date of the first national planning conference.
When using CLIO to find books, useful subject headings include:
- cities and towns
- city planning
- housing policy
- land use planning
- regional planning
- urban renewal
- urban transportation
Indexes & Abstracts
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles in architectural and related journals covering architecture, city planning, urban design, and related disciplines.
- HUD USER Bibliographic Database
Dedicated to housing and community issues. It contains full-abstract citations to research reports, journal articles, books and data sources in housing policy, economic development, urban planning and other relevant fields.
- Index to Current Urban Documents
Searchable index of reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies.
- Journal of planning literature.
Online full text , 1999-. Paper, 1985-. (Avery AB J8362)
- LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive online database which provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal and rerence information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Covers a range of political, social, public policy and urban planning issues.
- RIBA Library Online Catalogue
Catalogue of books, journal articles and other material in the British Architectural Library covering architecture, city planning, and urban history. Strong focus on Great Britain, Europe and the British Commonwealth (India, New Zealand, Australia and Canada).
- Sociological Abstracts
Citations to journal articles, conference papers books and dissertations on literature about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Areas of coverage include rural and urban sociology, policy, planning, social development, community development and culture and social structure.
Citations to research reports, books, articles, theses, standards, specifications, conference proceedings, and summaries of research in progress on international air and surface (road, rail and marine) transportation. Content provided by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the National Research Council (U.S). Transportation Research Board, and the European Conference of Ministers of Transport.
- TRANweb Transportation Article File
Produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library. Index to journal articles, conference papers and other material on transportation.
- ULI Development Case Studies
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process.
- Urban Studies Abstracts
Citations to recent literature covering areas related to urban affairs, including community and rural development, housing, transportation, urban history and urban planning.
- Cities Paper, 1983-.
Avery AB C486
- Cityscape: a journal of policy development and research
- Environment and planning A Paper, 1969-.
Avery AB En83
- Environment and planning B, planning & design Paper, 1983-.
Avery AB En832
- Environment and planning D, society & space Paper, 1983-.
Avery AB En834
- Environment and urbanization Paper, 1989-.
Avery AB En82
- European planning studies Paper, 1993-.
Avery AB Eu765
- European urban and regional studies Paper, 1994-.
Avery AB Eu79
- Housing studies Paper, 1986-.
Avery AB H88
- Housing, theory and society Paper, 2003-.
Avery AB Sca631
- International journal of urban and regional research Paper, 1977-.
Avery AB In844
- International planning studies Paper, 1996-.
Avery AB In848
- Journal of housing and the built environment
- Journal of planning history Paper, 2002-.
Avery AB J8223
- Journal of the American Planning Association Paper, 1979-.
Avery AB P679
- Journal of urban affairs Paper, 1981-.
Avery AB J8377
- Journal of urban design Paper, 1996-.
Avery AB J8382
- Journal of urban history Paper, 1974-.
Avery AB J8383
- Papers in regional science Paper, 1955-1991
Avery AC R25; Paper, 1992-.
Avery AC R251 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Places Paper, 1983-.
Avery AB P66
- Planning perspectives Paper, 1987-.
Avery AB P6946
- Planning theory Paper, 2002-.
Avery AB P68444
- Planning theory and practice Paper, 2001-.
Avery AB P6949
- Progress in planning Paper, 1973-.
Avery AA9105 P939
- Review of urban and regional development studies Paper, 1992-.
Avery AC R38
- Town planning review Paper, 1910-.
Avery AB T66
- Transport policy
- Transportation planning and technology
- Urban affairs review Paper, 1995-.
Avery AB Ur1211 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Urban design international Paper, 2000-.
Avery AB Ur1712
- Urban history.Paper, 1992-.
- Urban studies.Paper, 1964-.
Avery AB Ur123
- About Planning
Internet clearing house for information about websites, publications, essays and news related to land use planning, smart growth and new urbanism.
- American Planning Association
Nonprofit public interest and research organization committed to urban, suburban, regional and rural planning. APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, advance the art and science of planning and to foster the activity of planning, physical, economic, and social, at the local, regional, state, and national levels.
- Basic Research Resources for City & Regional Planning
Comprehensive bibliographic guide to city and regional planning sources created by the Environmental Design Library at UC Berkeley. Topics include international planning, history of city planning, urban design, housing, sprawl & new urbanism and transportation.
- Geography Network
A global network of geographic information users and providers. Mostly free access to many types of geographic content including dynamic maps. The site includes population density maps and customizable maps from Census information, downloadable data, and more.
- New Urbanism
Website devoted to this planning movement which promotes the creation and restoration of compact, walkable, mixed-use neighborhoods, towns, and cities. Includes information on smart growth, sustainablity, and transit oriented development.
- New York City Department of City Planning
Information on the physical and socioeconomic planning, including land use and environmental review, of New York City. Includes the online version of the Zoning Resolution.
Public-interest information exchange for the urban planning and development community. A large and comprehensive site with up to date information on planning and development in the news as well as links to important planning and development sites on the web.
- Smart Growth Online
Web-based catalogue of smart growth related news, events, information and resources. Developed through a cooperative agreement between the US Environmental Protection Agency and the Sustainable Communities Network, this tool is designed to advance public understanding of smart growth and how growth can improve community livability.
- Urban Planning, 1794-1918: An International Anthology of Articles, Conference Papers, and Reports
Compiled by Prof. John W. Reps of Cornell University. Full text of 185 selections of primary source material for the study of how urban planning developed up to the end of World War I.
- Global Studies
Region specific information on collections, services and resources for Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia and Eastern Europe, South and Southeast Asia.
- Decennial Census Information
- Data Service
Part of the Digital Social Science Center (DSSC) in Lehman Library. It supports research that involves numeric and geo-spatial data resources. The Data Service maintains a library of data and documentation that covers a wide range of topics, both national and international, including socio-demographic topics, public opinion polls, politics, health, and economics. Includes GIS Spatial Data Resources. See the CU Spatial Data Catalog to locate GIS-compatible datasets from Columbia's spatial data collections.
- Map Collection and GIS
Collection includes topographic maps, thematic maps and geological sciences maps. Located in Lehman Library.
- U.S. Government Documents
Columbia has been a depository for U.S. Federal documents since 1882, and is a microfiche depository for New York State documents, 1983-1994. Located in Lehman Library.
Last updated September 2009.