Frank Lloyd Wright Research Guide


Wright at Avery

Starting Monday, September 16, selected materials from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives will be available for research and consultation by appointment only. Wright's project drawings will be the first materials available in our incremental release of materials from this extensive Archive. The Avery Drawings & Archives staff is continuing to organize and prepare other materials in the Archives and will release additional materials (such as correspondence, photography, manuscripts) for consultation as they are processed.

If you are traveling to consult the Frank Lloyd Wright Archives, please confirm the date and time of your appointment with Drawings and Archives staff before making travel arrangements.

Please address all inquiries and requests for an appointment to wrightarchives-info@columbia.edu

Avery Classics, our rare books collection, includes first edition and other rare volumes of Frank Lloyd Wrights’ published works. Please direct inquiries about these materials to:
avery-classics@library.columbia.edu

Research Resources

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

Frank Lloyd Wright Collection, Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University

Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation is a cultural and educational nonprofit institution established in 1940 by Frank Lloyd Wright. Today the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation owns, maintains, protects and operates Taliesin (Wisconsin) and Taliesin West (Arizona).

Columbia Universities Library Catalog
Online catalog of books, journal titles, videos and archival collections owned by Columbia University. Search for books by (author=Wright, Frank Lloyd) and about (subject= Wright, Frank Lloyd). Search for books about specific projects (subject=Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum) or (subject=Robie House) or specific topics such as (subject=organic architecture) or (subject=usonian houses).

WorldCat
Search the online catalog of many libraries at once for books, journal titles, articles, videos, archival collections and then locate them in a library nearby.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.

RIBA Library online catalogue
Catalog of books, journals, drawings, photographs, manuscripts and other material in the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects, and an index to articles from approximately 300 journals.

Work

Books

The following books are a good source for reproductions of Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings and photos of his work.

Frank Lloyd Wright / edited by Yukio Futagawa ; text by Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer. Tokyo : A.D.A. Edita, c1984-1988.
Contents:
Monograph (built works): v.1. 1887-1901; v.2. 1902-1906; v.3. 1907-1913; v.4. 1914-1923; v.5. 1924-1936; v.6. 1937-1941; v.7. 1942-1950; v.8. 1951-1959
Preliminary studies: v.9. 1889-1916; v.10. 1917-1932; v.11. 1933-1959
v.12. In his renderings 1887-1959 (comprises 200 renderings which have been carefully selected to convey the essence of Wright's drawings.)

Frank Loyd Wright selected houses / Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer ; edited and photographed by Yukio Futagawa. Tokyo : A.D.A. Edita, c1989-.
Contents:
v.1. Frank Lloyd Wright, William H. Winslow, Suasan Lawrence Dana, Ward W. Willits, Frank Thomas, Arthur Heurtley, Darwin D. Martin, Frederick C. Robie, Avery Coonley, Meyer May, Frederick C. Bogk; v.2. Taliesin; v.3. Taliesin West; v.4. Fallingwater; v.5. Paul R. and Jean Hanna, Herbert F. Johnson, Leigh Stevens, Gregor Affleck, Lowell Walter, Herman T. Mossberg; v.6. Jacobs, Pew, Goetsch/Winckler, Lewis, Pope, Rosenbaum, Schwartz, Sturges, Baird, Wall, Smith; v.7. Weltzheimer, Friedman, Anthony, Laurent, Walker, Palmer, Zimmerman, Kraus, Reisley, Llewellyn-Wright, Hagan; v.8. Barnsdall, Yamamura, Millard, Storer, Ennis, Lloyd Jones, Wright, Price, Tonkens, Kalil.

Frank Lloyd Wright : the complete works = das Gesamtwerk = l'œuvre complète / Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer. Hong Kong ; Los Angeles : Taschen, c2009.
Contents: v.1. 1943-1959; v.2. 1917-1942; v.3. 1885-1916.



The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content. For a complete list please search the Columbia University Libraries catalog.

The architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright : a complete catalog / William Allin Storrer. Updated 3rd ed. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2007.
The author incorporates a series of key revisions and brings each structure's history up to the present day, as some buildings have been refurbished, some moved, and others sadly abandoned or destroyed. Organized chronologically, it features full-color photographs of all extant work, complete addresses, GPS coordinates, and maps of locations throughout the United States, England, and Japan.

Frank Lloyd Wright collected writings / edited by Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer ; introduction by Kenneth Frampton. New York : Rizzoli ; [Scottsdale, AZ] : Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, 1992-.
Five volume set of writings dating from 1894-1959.

The Frank Lloyd Wright companion / William Allin Storrer. Rev. ed. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2006.
Includes new information about the extent of Wright's work on his buildings, the contributions of his associates, and the details of his business arrangements. Organized chronologically, this book features a description of each building that details the history of its design, construction, and ownership. Black-and-white photographs, elevations, historical images, and floor plans show changes in Wright's preliminary plans.

Frank Lloyd Wright field guide : includes all United States and international sites / Thomas A. Heinz. Evanston, Ill. : Northwestern University Press, c2005.
Complete listing of nearly 500 buildings worldwide with Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates given for each building.

In the nature of materials, 1887-1941 : the buildings of Frank Lloyd Wright / Henry-Russell Hitchcock ; new foreword and bibliography by the author. New York : Da Capo Press, [1975] c1942.
Includes "Chronological list of executed work and projects: 1887-1941", p.105-130.

Writings and buildings. Selected by Edgar Kaufmann and Ben Raeburn. [New York] Horizon Press [1960].
Includes "Frank Lloyd Wright's Executed Works 1893-1959," p.331-346.

 

Images

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

ARTstor
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Great Buildings Online: Frank Lloyd Wright
Each building includes images, drawings, discussion and bibliography.

Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust: Digital Image Collection
Documents the buildings of Wright’s early career, changes made to some of his most important early structures since construction, clients and residents of the homes designed during the architect’s Oak Park years, and the Wright family. The photographs provide visual access to Wright’s impact on the built and social environment of turn-of-the-twentieth-century Chicago.

Library of Congress. American Memory
Includes drawings from the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), photos and data. Type: Frank Lloyd Wright in "Search All Collections" box in upper right corner.

Library of Congress. Photographs & Prints Online Catalog

Society of Architectural Historians. SAH Archipedia
This is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places.

Sahara (via ARTstor)
SAHARA is a digital image archive developed by the Society of Architectural Historians in collaboration with ARTstor. It contains more than 47,000 images of architecture and landscapes that were contributed by SAH members--architects, scholars, photographers, graduate students, preservationists and others who share an interest in the built world.

 

Websites

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Public Sites list
Sites open to the public, offering guided tours, or an exterior view.

List of Frank Lloyd Wright works
Chronological list of houses, commercial building and other works from Wikipedia, including demolished or destroyed buildings; those regularly open to the public; and unverified Wright designs.

Wright & His Circle

Biography

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content. For a complete list please search the Columbia University Libraries catalog.

An autobiography / Frank Lloyd Wright. 1st ed. London ; New York : Longman's, Green and Company, 1932.

Building Taliesin : Frank Lloyd Wright's home of love and loss / Ron McCrea. Madison, WI : Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 2012.
Through letters, memoirs, contemporary documents, and a stunning assemblage of photographs - many of which have never before been published the fascinating story of the building of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin is told. Built for Mamah Borthwick who abandoned her family to be with Wright, the shocking murder and fire that took place at Taliesin in August 1914 brought this first phase of life at Taliesin to a tragic end.

Death in a prairie house : Frank Lloyd Wright and the Taliesin murders / William R. Drennan. Madison : Terrace Books, c2007.
The most pivotal and yet least understood event of Frank Lloyd Wright's celebrated life involves the brutal murders in 1914 of seven adults and children dear to the architect and the destruction by fire of Taliesin, his landmark residence, near Spring Green, Wisconsin.

Frank Lloyd Wright : a bio-bibliography / Donald Langmead. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2003.

Frank Lloyd Wright, a biography. New York, Scribner [1961].

Frank Lloyd Wright; an interpretive biography /Robert C. Twombly. [1st ed.] New York, Harper & Row [1973].

Frank Lloyd Wright: his life, his work, his words. New York, Horizon Press [1966].

My father who is on earth / John Lloyd Wright. New ed. / including comments, responses, and documents by Frank Lloyd Wright and John Lloyd Wright ; edited and with an introduction by Narciso G. Menocal ; postscript by Elizabeth Wright Ingraham. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, 1994.

 

Correspondence

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content. For a complete list please search the Columbia University Libraries catalog.

Frank Lloyd Wright : an index to the Taliesin correspondence / edited with an introduction by Anthony Alofsin. New York : Garland Pub., 1988.

Frank Lloyd Wright & Lewis Mumford : thirty years of correspondence / Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer and Robert Wojtowicz, editors. 1st ed. New York : Princeton Architectural Press, c2001.

Frank Lloyd Wright and Lewis Mumford, two pivotal figures in 20th-century American architecture and letters, were both passionate writers, keenly aware of world events. Their 160 letters from 1926-1958 covered a wide range of topics, including Wright's position on the history of American architecture and contemporary practice, their friends and rivals, the invention and spread of the International Style, and political events in Europe and the United States.

Frank Lloyd Wright, the Guggenheim correspondence / selected and with commentary by Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer. [Fresno] : Press at California State University, Fresno ; Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, c1986.

Letters to apprentices / Frank Lloyd Wright ; selected and with commentary by Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer.[Fresno, Calif.] : Press at California State University, Fresno, c1982.

Letters to clients / Frank Lloyd Wright ; selected and with commentary by Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer. Fresno, Calif. : Press at California State University, Fresno, c1986.

 

Friends and Associates

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content. For a complete list please search the Columbia University Libraries catalog.

About Wright : an album of recollections by those who knew Frank Lloyd Wright / Edgar Tafel. New York : Wiley, c1993.
About Wright offers a uniquely intimate look into the life of Frank Lloyd Wright, his philosophy, his oeuvre and his wide-ranging and often complex family and professional relationships. It includes personal correspondences, anecdotes, and interviews with some of Wright's clients, students, apprentices, and family members.

Building with Frank Lloyd Wright : an illustrated memoir / by Herbert Jacobs with Katherine Jacobs. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, [1986], c1978.

Communities of Frank Lloyd Wright : Taliesin and beyond / Myron A. Marty. DeKalb, Ill. : Northern Illinois University Press, c2009.

The Fellowship : the untold story of Frank Lloyd Wright & the Taliesin Fellowship / Roger Friedland & Harold Zellman. 1st ed. New York : Regan Books, c2006.
Talisin gave rise to one of the most fascinating and provocative experiments in American cultural history: the Taliesin Fellowship, an extraordinary architectural colony where Wright trained hundreds of devoted apprentices, while using them as the de facto architectural practice where all of his late masterpieces  were born.

Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin Fellowship / Myron A. Marty, Shirley L. Marty. Kirksville, Mo. : Truman State University Press, c1999.

Reflections from the shining brow : my years with Frank Lloyd Wright and Olgivanna Lazovich / Kamal Amin. Santa Barbara : Fithian Press, 2004.

Taliesin diary : a year with Frank Lloyd Wright / Priscilla J. Henken ; photographs: David T. Henken ; editor: Sarah A Leavitt ; consulting editor: Elissa R. Henken. First edition. New York ; London : W.W. Norton & Company, 2012.

A Taliesin legacy : the architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright's apprentices / Tobias S. Guggenheimer. New York, N.Y. : Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1995.
Traces the careers of dozens of architects who apprenticed with Frank Lloyd Wright at the Wisconsin and Arizona campuses of Taliesin. Includes such internationally famous architects as E. Fay Jones, John Lautner, and Paolo Solari.

Taliesin reflections : my years before, during and after living with Frank Lloyd Wright and various contacts with other people and places / Earl Nisbet. Petaluma, Calif. : Meridian Press, c 2006.

Working with Mr. Wright : what it was like / Curtis Besinger. Cambridge [England] : New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 1995.
Based on letters written by the author during his two stints at the Fellowship, from 1939 to 1955, he  provides a lively account of daily life in the community of architects established by Wright at its two locations, in Wisconsin and Arizona.

Years with Frank Lloyd Wright : apprentice to genius / Edgar Tafel. New York : Dover Publications, 1985, c1979.

Preservation

Websites

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation is a cultural and educational nonprofit institution established in 1940 by Frank Lloyd Wright. Today the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation owns, maintains, protects and operates Taliesin (Wisconsin) and Taliesin West (Arizona).

Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust
The Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust's mission is to engage, educate and inspire the public through architecture, design and the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright, and to preserve the Trust's collections. and historic sites, the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio in Oak Park, and Wright’s Robie House on the University of Chicago campus.

SaveWright: Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy
An international preservation organization, based in Chicago, Illinois, whose mission is to facilitate the preservation and maintenance of the remaining structures designed by Frank Lloyd Wright through education, advocacy, preservation easements and technical services.

Wright in Wisconsin
Its mission is to promote, protect and preserve the heritage of Frank Lloyd Wright in his native state of Wisconsin.

 

Journals

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content. For a complete list please search the Columbia University Libraries catalog.

Bulletin : the quarterly newsletter of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy

SaveWright : the magazine of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy

Wright angles : newsletter of the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio Foundation

Other FLW Archival Collections

Books

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

Frank Lloyd Wright : a research guide to archival sources / Patrick J. Meehan ; with a foreword by Adolf K. Placzek. New York : Garland, 1983.

 

Websites

The resources below are a selective list based on scholarly and authoritative content.

Wright Archives and Special Collections
List of links to repositories with significant holdings of Frank Lloyd Wright decorative arts, architectural drawings, reference materials, or manuscripts collections.

Archival Resources in Wisconsin
Presents archival finding aids describing collections held at 19 repositories throughout Wisconsin.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. ArchiveGrid data is primarily focused on archival material descriptions for institutions in the United States.

Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust
Special collections at the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust include materials that support the organization's mission to document the work of Frank Lloyd Wright and his collaborators from the Oak Park Studio, as well as serve as a repository for Wright family history.

Ryerson & Burnham Archives, Art Institute of Chicago
Collection of artists' and architects' papers that complement and extend the permanent collections of the museum's curatorial departments. The collections contain a wide range of media, including correspondence, published and unpublished writings, scrapbooks, architectural drawings and prints, business papers, photographs, slides, audio recordings, films, video, and ephemera. The Archives' collections are notably strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest architecture.