Finding Articles in Journals or Magazines
Start out with
- Bibliography of British and Irish history (BBIH)
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present . Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, books, and dissertations. Covers more than 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
- Note: Researchers who wish to be thorough should consult BOTH of the above resources.
Branching out in Your Research
Depending on the nature of your British history research, there is a wide range of additional resources that may be useful to you.
In order to assist you in branching out in your research, some of the core databases in various disciplinary areas are listed below. For help in identifying further resources, consult the appropriate Subject Guide.
- America: History and Life
Covers writings about the history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations, along with brief summaries of journal and book articles. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL
For the areas of English literature, English language, and English philology, covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.
- Art Full Text
Indexes art periodicals in English and other Western European languages. Subjects covered include: archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
- ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS
An international index of religion and theology journals, festschriften, and essay collections, with some links to full-text articles.
- Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes.
- British Humanities Index: BHI
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.
- The Economist Historical Archive
Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010. New full- colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault
- Financial times historical archive 1888-2010
Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault
- Humanities Full Text
Provides listings, brief summaries, and in some cases full text, of articles in a wide variety of humanities fields, including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology. Types of articles covered include: feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
- MLA International Bibliography
For the areas of literature, linguistics, language, and folklore, provides international listings of journal articles, book articles, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
- The Music Index
Covers topics in "every aspect of classical and popular" music as reflected in more than 670 international music periodicals.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and areas of general popular interest. Each periodical is covered back to its first issue, regardless of when it began publication. International in scope, Periodicals Archive Online covers periodicals in a number of Western languages.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Provides listings of, or access to, articles from a wide range of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: "Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Global Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies."
- The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2009
A fully searchable resource containing every page of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2009. NOTE: for listings of articles appearing in TLS subsequent to 2009, see Humanities Full Text.
- Victorian Database Online
Searches over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to the present on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.