- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on the lives of noteworthy people of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times onwards. Updated periodically. Coverage tends to extend up through persons who died five years ago.
Other Significant Resources
Provides access to a wide variety of records facilitating genealogical and local history research. Includes Census records; birth, marriage, and death records; immigration and travel records, etc. Especially strong in its coverage of records from the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.
- Biography in Context
Provides biographical entries on more than 528,000 individuals — from throughout history and around the world. Various kinds of biographical sources are included: entries from reference books, articles from periodicals, and audio or video files.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, for more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics. Illustrations included.
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Online
WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. For many of the modules, including, British biographical Archive, records include a "View Digitized Article(s) from Archive" link that allows you to access digitized facsimile articles from biographical reference works.