British Government Documents
- BOPCRIS Ford Collection
This database has now been incorporated into the University of Southampton Library OPAC. In order to approximate a BOPCRIS search: Go to the Advanced Search Screen
location: Ford Collection
material type: British Official Publications
Then enter terms and search.
- The Cecil Papers (ProQuest)
"The Cecil Papers are a privately held archive of approximately 30,000 sixteenth and seventeenth-century manuscripts, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612). These two men dominated the administration of government during the reign of Elizabeth I and the first eight years under her successor, to the extent that critics suggested that England was becoming a regnum Cecilianum.... In addition, the collection contains documents acquired by Robert Cecil that had belonged to his rival, Robert Devereux, the 2nd Earl of Essex.The papers span the period 1520-1668."
(from publisher's description, viewed Feb 16, 2014)
- Colonial State Papers (ProQuest)
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Colonial State Papers integrates two important research tools as one service: Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers); and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. All of the documents from CO 1 have been reproduced as full-colour, high quality images. Users can limit their searches to records that include scanned documents or can search all documents recorded in the Calendar.
- Documents on British policy overseas : diplomacy in the twentieth century (ProQuest)
A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century. It is based on three distinct print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War (1898-1914), Documents on British Foreign Policy (1918-1939) and Documents on British Policy Overseas (1946- ). Documents are selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, with many documents specifically declassified for inclusion.
- GOV.UK : Departments and Policy
The websites of all government departments and many other agencies and public bodies are being merged into GOV.UK. Provides access to recent and current policies, announcements, publications, statistics and consultations.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1688- ) (ProQuest)
Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, "showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Many contributors to the papers were found outside the official world, providing evidence or supplying memoranda to committees and commissions." Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes those Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.
- State Papers Online : Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe (Gale Cengage Learning)
A collection of English government documents originating from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. The office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch are included as facsimile manuscript documents accessible through fully searchable Calendar entries. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.
- Government Publications - Great Britain
An explanatory Butler Library Reference guide to different types of British government publications. It identifies key reference books and online sources.