NEW & EXPANDED DATABASES 2012 - 2014


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

The databases listed below have been either newly acquired or significantly expanded since January 2012.


New Databases

  • Chatham House Online Archive (Gale Cengage Learning)
    Contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference. The Institute's analysis and research, as well as debates and speeches it has hosted, can be found in this online archive, subject-indexed and fully searchable. (acquired December 2012)
  • The Economist historical archive (Gale Cengage Learning)
    Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault
    (Acquired April  2014)
  • Financial times historical archive 1888-2010 (Gale Cengage Learning)
    Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault (Acquired April  2014)
  • Gale Artemis : primary sources.
    Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search an enormous range of source materials from the 16th through the 20th centuries. Includes the following databases in a single search platform: Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples: North America; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online. (acquired March 2014)
  • Global Commodities : Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange  (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. (Acquired December 2013)
  • The Grand Tour  (Adam Matthew Digital)
    These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. (Acquired April 2012)
  • Lexicons of Early Modern English: LEME  (University of Toronto Press)
    "A a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods." (from publisher's description) (Acquired May 2013)
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online    (Gale Cengage Learning)
    "A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Now includes nine in-depth collections -- Asia and the WestBritish Politics and SocietyBritish Theatre, Music, and LiteratureEurope and AfricaEuropean Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey CollectionPhotographyScience, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II;  and Women: Transnational Networks. (Acquired beginning June 2012; parts 5 - 8 added June 2013; parts 9 - 12 being added in 2014 )
  • Queen Victoria's journals   (ProQuest)
    "Makes available online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. The Queen Victoria's Journals resource is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Libraries and the Royal Archives, working in collaboration with the online publisher ProQuest.This website reproduces as high-resolution colour images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages." (from publisher's description) (Acquired November 2012)

Expansions of Existing Databases

  • Archives Direct : Sources from The National Archives, UK
    has been expanded to include Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1948; and The Nixon Years, 1969-1974. (added December 2013)
  • British History Online
    has been expanded to include premium content, which consists of the Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (Edward I to Henry VII), all the volumes of the Calendar of State Papers, Domestic 1537-1714, the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland, plus the Calendar of Close Rolls. (added November 2013)
  • Gale Newsvault
    has been expanded to include several new components: 19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 2; British Newspapers, Part 3: 1780-1950; The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006; Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004; and The Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957. (added December 2013)
  • Mass Observation Online 
    has been expanded to include Mass Observation III, which further supplements coverage of the war-years and for the first time includes personal writing material from the post-war years. (added December 2013)
  • State Papers Online : Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe
    has been expanded to include Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council. (added July 2013)
  • Victorian Popular Culture 
    has been expanded to include a new module on Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema. (Added November 2012)