Major Full-Text Collections Online
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
"Includes approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from 1500 to 1900, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from 290 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous."
- British History Online
British History Online is a digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Chatham House Online Archive (Gale Cengage Learning)
Contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference. The Institute's analysis and research, as well as debates and speeches it has hosted, can be found in this online archive, subject-indexed and fully searchable.
- Early English Books Online
A digitized version of the Early English Books microfilm collection, this database contains full text page images of over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. A subset of more than 6,000 EEBO titles is now searchable as keyed full text.
- Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO TCP)
A full-text subset of items from Early English Books Online, created by a consortium of academic libraries. While the full text is eventually added to the main Proquest EEBO database, at any given time EEBO TCP is likely to contain a larger number of fully-keyed full-text searchable texts than is EEBO.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- Empire Online (Adam Matthew)
"This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology."
- Gale Artemis : primary sources
Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search: Eighteenth Century Collections Online;Nineteenth Century Collections Online;Indigenous Peoples: North America;Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World;The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926;The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online.
- Global Commodities : Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (Adam Matthew Digital)
Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
- The Grand Tour (Adam Matthew Digital)
These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.
- India, Raj & Empire (Adam Matthew Digital)
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
- Literature Online: The Home of English and American Literature on the World Wide Web (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
- London low life : street culture, social reform and the Victorian underworld. (Adam Matthew Digital)
Full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London; designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond. Will be of interest to students and scholars from a wide range of disciplines, including literature, cultural studies, urban studies, social history and the study of leisure and tourism. There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available.There is also an emphasis on visual material. The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.
- The Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections, The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
- The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.
- Mass Observation Online: British Social History, 1937-1972
(Adam Matthew Digital)
Provides integrated access to approximately 115,000 digital images of social observation materials from the Mass Observation Archive (MOA). In addition, it functions as a finding aid for all MOA material held on Adam Matthew Publications microfilm, and in the MOA itself. The Archive holds all the material generated by Mass Observation (MO) between 1937 and 1949, with a few later additions from the 1950s and 1960s. The materials fall into three main categories: file reports and publications; materials collected by investigators; and materials submitted by volunteers.
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online
A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World.
- Nineteenth Century collections online (Gale Cengage Learning)
"A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Includes twelve in-depth thematic collections, sucha as Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Europe and Africa; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Photography; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
- Past Masters
Provides fully searchable authoritative editions of philosophical, literary, scientific, personal, political, and theological writings by a wide range of British, American, and continental authors. Included among the British and American texts are: collected editions of the letters of Thomas Becket, Thomas Hobbes, Jane Austen, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Charlotte Bronte, Charles Dickens and many others; the journals of Frances Burney, John Henry Newman and others; the works of Aphra Behn, Robert Boyle, Charles Darwin, John Dewey, Eliza Haywood, John Locke, Charles Sanders Pierce, Mary Shelley, Herbert Spencer, Mary Wollstonecraft, and others.
- Perdita manuscripts : women writers, 1500-1700 (Adam Matthew Digital)
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isle during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include account books, advice, culinary writing, meditation, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be indexed by name, place, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.
- The Proceedings of the Old Bailey: London's Central Criminal Court 1674 to 1913
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1690 to 1772. It allows access to over 210,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 3,000 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use.
- Queen Victoria's journals (ProQuest)
"Makes available online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. The Queen Victoria's Journals resource is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Libraries and the Royal Archives, working in collaboration with the online publisher ProQuest.This website reproduces as high-resolution colour images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages." (from publisher's description)
- State Papers Online : The Government of Britain, 1509-1714
A collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch are included as facsimile manuscript documents accessible through fully searchable Calendar entries. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.
- Victorian popular culture (Adam Matthew Digital)
An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.
- Women Writers Online
More than two hundred full-text works in English, or in English translation, by women, covering a period from 1400 to 1850.