Biblical Studies, Church History, Christian Theology, Special Collections


Biblical Studies

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database
Search for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, as well as Scripture citations.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Search a wide range of resouces for the study of the Bible.

Old Testament Abstracts
Search indexes and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, book reviews, and software related to Hebrew Bible studies.

New Testament Abstracts
Search indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-authored books, book reviews, and software related to New Testament studies.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR)
Offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible.

New Testament Virtual Manuscript Room
Search and explore important NT mss. online

Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.

Vetus Latina Database: Bible Versions of the Latin Fathers
An index to all patristic citations to pre-Vulgate Christian Bible.

 

Church History

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

Encyclopedia of Christianity Online (Brill)
Search standard 5 volume describing Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Search citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.

Acta Sanctorum
Lives of the Saints Full Text Database (Latin Hagiography).

Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi Digitalia
Search texts of hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400

Library of Latin Texts
Search texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).

Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM)
A bibliography of books on the subject of the Middle Ages.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Search a large collection of works of Christian history, theology, and devotion in English.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Provides information about the religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century.

Religion Past and Present
Search an updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive Encyclopedia of Religion, relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies, and including the latest research on subjects connected with religion.

Christian Periodical Index
Provides indexing for evangelical Christian journals providing both articles and review indexing.

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques (DHGE)
Comprises extensive articles on the history of the Church.

Global Christianities

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

World Christian Encyclopedia
Search detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world.

World Religion Database: International Religious Demographic Statistics and Sources
Search detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.

American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database
Search for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, as well as Scripture citations.

Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History
A general online history of relations between the faiths.

Brill Dictionary of Religion
Helps to map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.

Religion Past and Present
Search an updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitiveEncyclopedia of Religion, relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies, and including the latest research on subjects connected with religion.


History of Missions

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

Global Missions and Theology
Documents the broad range of 19th Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States.

IndoChina1911
This digital library contains hundreds of historical documents pertaining to the churches in Indochina over the past 100 years.

Practical Theology and Ministry

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

ARDA: American Religion Data Archive
Search data on data on religious groups and affiliations in the United States.

Guide to Social Science and Religion in Periodical Literature
Indexes 115 periodicals emphasizing religion and social work.

Revised Common Lectionary


Theology and Ethics

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database
When searching for journal articles, essays, and book reviews in Theology and Ethics and related areas (many of which are in full text), scripture citation searches can be done on this database.

Digital Karl Barth Library
Features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe.

Global Missions and Theology
Documents the broad range of 19th Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States.

EthxWeb
Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University


Rare Books and Special Collections Research

For most of the resources below, access is available from The Burke Library and other Columbia University Libraries. For external access to the majority of electronic resources, you will be asked for your Columbia UNI and password. For more information, please see Access Restrictions.

Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC)

Gesamtkatalog der Wiesendrucke (GW)

Index Possessorum Incunabulorum (IPI)
Search 32,000 entries of personal names, institutional names, monograms, and arms pertaining to the ownership of incunabula. 

Material Evidence in Incunabula (MEI)
Search database specifically designed to record and search the material evidence (or copy specific, post-production evidence and provenance information) of 15th-century printed books: ownership, decoration, binding, manuscript annotations, stamps, prices, etc. (Linked to ISTC, see above.)

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Search full-page images of most books published in English and the English-speaking world prior to 1700.

English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)
Search bibliographic information for publications published 1473-1800.

Heritage of the Printed Book (HPB)
Search bibliographic information about books printed ca.1455-1830 held in European libraries.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Search full-text and full-page-image collection of British and American imprints, 1701-1800.

Early American Imprints (Evans)
Search full text and full page images of works printed in America from 1639-1800.

Can You Help?
Search for information on provenance evidence in printed books.

Orbis Latinus
Search Latin place names and printing towns.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.