Entertainment


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Entertainment Industry Directories

  • AV Market Place
    LB1043 .A8171 (Butler Stacks)
    Lists 7,500 audio-visual companies, which are indexed by 1,250 specific product classifications and within each classification, by state. Includes Multimedia Program Producers.
  • Billboard International Buyers Guide
    ML18 .B5 (Reference stacks)
    Worldwide directory of record labels, music and audio book publishers, recording industry service companies, distributors and manufacturing plants.
  • Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast Media
    Contains descriptive and directory information for more than 64,000 newspapers, periodicals, newsletters, directories, television and radio stations, and cable TV companies in the U.S. and Canada.
  • International Motion Picture Almanac
    PN1993.3 .I5 (Butler Stacks)
    This publication supplies industry statistics such as theater grosses and admissions, attendance demographics, marketing costs, employment and wages, and number of releases. Directory information of film producers and distributors, theater circuits, buying and booking services, equipment suppliers, guilds, and unions, along with an alphabetical list of films produced from 1980 complete the volume.
  • Information Industry Directory
    Z674.5 .E531 (Butler Stacks)
    Contains detailed descriptions of electronically accessible information, including database producers and online services (and their products), as well as industry suppliers and services.
  • International Television and Video Almanac
    HE8698 .I551 (Reference Stacks)
    Provides lists of US and international television and cable networks, production companies, distributors, cable system operators, video retailers, TV stations and industry associations. Industry statistics, such as Nielsen Ratings of the top programs, television usage, advertising expenditures, and television set sales, are detailed.
  • Television and Cable Factbook
    TK6540 .T451 (Reference Stacks)
    One volume is a directory of every commercial TV station in the US and Canada, including a list of key personnel. A second volume covers cable stations. The third volume is a directory of TV and cable services, such as associations, consultants and public relations firms.
  • Variety International Film Guide
    PN1993.3 .I5441 (Butler Stacks)
    Directory of the film industry, arranged by country and line of business. Includes lists of producers, distributors and film festivals.

Selected Reports

  • Communications Industry Forecast
    HE202.5 V471 (Reference Stacks)
    Contains five-year historical and five-year forward forecasting by segment of advertiser, specialty media & marketing, consumer and institutional end-user spending patterns. Provides demographic, economic, technological, institutional, behavioral and competitive served-market data.
  • Intermedia Dimensions
    HF5801.I584 (Reference Stacks)
    Statistics on newspapers, the Internet and out-of-home media, in addition to data on TV, magazines, and radio.  Areas covered include reach, demographics, user profiles, ad recall and receptivity, R&F and media planning implications.
  • International Motion Picture Almanac
    PN1993.3 .I5 (Butler Reference)
    This publication supplies industry statistics such as theater grosses and admissions, attendance demographics, marketing costs, employment and wages, and number of releases. Directory information of film producers and distributors, theater circuits, buying and booking services, equipment suppliers, guilds, and unions, along with an alphabetical list of films produced from 1980 complete the volume.
  • Radio Dimensions
    HF6146.R3 R33 (Reference Stacks)
    Statistics on the consumer radio industry, demographics of audiences, time spent listening, location of listening, reach and frequency, ad exposure and impact, and intermedia comparisons.
  • TV Dimensions
    HE8700.8 T917 (Reference Stacks)
    Statistics on TV Basics, Viewing Patterns, Cable, Out-of-Home, Home Video, Solitary Viewers,  Reach and Frequency, Commercial Impact.

Selected Journals

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 10,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes many industry and trade publications, company financials and much more.